Stats: 3,325,403 members, 8,421,758 topics. Date: Saturday, 06 June 2026 at 11:51 PM

Akinalabi's Posts

Nairaland ForumAkinalabi's ProfileAkinalabi's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 (of 77 pages)

SportsRe: Sepp Blatter Is Daft! by akinalabi(m): 1:44pm On Jul 12, 2008
Sepp Blatter? Who still listens to him?

I'll prefer to listen to my 6 year old niece.

I remember him saying the future of football is women football. . .
SportsRe: Mickel Obi Out Of Chelsea! by akinalabi(m): 9:11am On Jul 10, 2008
tosinadeda:
more like leaving out your greatest warrior when going to battle because he is undisciplined!!!!!!
u guys should think!!!!!!!!
una dey back siasia now, when the guy fails u will be the ones to castigate him!!!!
Greatest warrior?

Do you honestly think Obi's magic can deliver the gold for us?

I dont even think there is any Nigerian that believes that the gold
is surely ours so the issue of failure does not arise.
SportsRe: Who Will U Vote As Ur World Best Dis Yr: C. Ronaldo Or Who? by akinalabi(m): 8:13am On Jul 10, 2008
I thought the ballon d'or was for the European footballer of
the year.

Let's see if either of them can win the world footballer of the
year which this discussion is all about.

No story. We knew from Jan 2 that Ronado world win the world
player of the year this year. cheesy

We knew before Man Utd won the chamipons league. We knew
before the Euros. We still know and we are still in July.

The first post on this thread was made in April.

I can't remember the last time we had such a clear "winner".

That boy Ronaldo. . .
SportsRe: Mickel Obi Out Of Chelsea! by akinalabi(m): 7:47am On Jul 10, 2008
dayokanu:
I am really behind Siasia on this even if we lose all our games
Me too.
TravelRe: Who's Scared Of Going To Naija? by akinalabi(m): 10:42pm On Jul 09, 2008
Don't worry, you will not be kidnapped. grin

At least, me I've not been kidnapped yet. cheesy grin
SportsRe: Which One Is Better? The World Cup Or The Euros by akinalabi(m): 7:45pm On Jul 04, 2008
davidif:
You said that the Turkey was boring!!! are you serioushuh scoring two goals within a space of the last 20 seconds of extra time? let's see Cameroun do that.
Did you see Cameroun England game at Napoli in 1990? That match is 20 times better than the Turkey game. Go watch the Turkey game again. I dare you not too fall asleep.
SportsRe: Which European Team Can Eagles Beat? by akinalabi(m): 8:13am On Jul 03, 2008
@ folahann,

There is nothing gone in those days. It can still happen
today. Our players are even more exposed to some extent.

I remember we used to have players without clubs starting
for the Eagles in the 90s.

We can beat Spain joo smiley

@ Akola,

What these guys fail to acknowledge is that Eagles will surely
raise their game when they get to the big stage.

People say we can only square up with the likes of Moldova
and Malta but I didnt see us shake against Austria 2 months
ago.

I'm not saying Austria is a powerhouse but what we can't deny
is the fact that they raised their game.

There are very few teams out there that will faze the likes of
Kanu, Yobo, Yakubu, Obi (I dont like that boy), Osaze etc.

We fit beat them joooo.
SportsRe: Which European Team Can Eagles Beat? by akinalabi(m): 10:43pm On Jul 02, 2008
I agree with Akola.

We can beat Spain. We've only met once in the past and we
hammered them.

So why not now?

Remember the likes of Raul and Luis Enrique were in their prime then
and the Nigerian players that hammered them were not the top players
in the world.

The likes of Amokachi (Turkey) Jay Jay (Turkey) Garba Lawal (God knows
where) Adepoju (I think second division in Spain) came out tops.

Anybody is beatable. wink
SportsRe: Who Will U Vote As Ur World Best Dis Yr: C. Ronaldo Or Who? by akinalabi(m): 4:34pm On Jul 01, 2008
dayokanu:
After the Euro's I now feel its going to be C. Ronaldo since nobody was really outstanding in The Spanish team that won. It was more of a collective effort.

To me Senna was the best.

I really think C. Ronaldo this year.
I can't believe you typed that. grin

I thought you would say since Torres scored the winning goal in
the final or Schweisteger and Ballack since they outshone Ronaldo
in the quater finals. cheesy

It would have taken a Maradona display at the Euros for anyone
to stand a chance alongside Ronaldo.

And we know such displays don't come all the time. . .
BusinessRe: Nigerian Banks That Advertise On CNN by akinalabi(m): 10:04am On Jun 30, 2008
@ Jarzinho,

How is another company's ads a problem for you? huh

When did it become their jobs to eradicate poverty? huh huh

This is a business outfit so they are free to run their company
and spend their advertising budget as they deem fit as long
as they are within the laws.
BusinessRe: How Do I Make Money Writing Articles Online? by akinalabi(m): 10:00am On Jun 30, 2008
I'll pay you $5 per article.

Let me know the topics you can write on and point to some
samples so I can see how prolific you are.

You can reach me on akin @ akinalabi.com
SportsRe: Which One Is Better? The World Cup Or The Euros by akinalabi(m): 8:25am On Jun 30, 2008
The Euros. . .

2004 winners: Greece

2008 winners: Spain

That will be a taboo at the world cup.
SportsRe: The Problem With Wayne Rooney! by akinalabi(m): 4:34pm On Jun 26, 2008
@ ritchboy,

I didn't ignore anything. Read what I wrote.

I said: "Afterall, we didnt win all the matches he played in"

@ dayokanu,

That is YOUR OWN ANALYSIS and I can bet with my new car grin that
you didn't watch up to half of Man Utd's matches I watched. How can
I reckon with your list?

@ Ibime,

Rooney has not improved a jot since 17? We must be talking about another
Rooney here.

I mean Man Utd's Wayne Rooney. Oko Coleen. cheesy

At 17, at Everton, he was averaging less than 10 goals a season. His last
season at Everton, he scored 9 goals in 40 appearances. The least he's
scored a season since joining Man Utd is 17 a season.

2006/2007 he scored 23 goals in 55 appearances. That is almost a goal
in 2 games.

And you said he has not improved a jot. shocked

Armchair analysis don't cut it with me. tongue
SportsRe: The Problem With Wayne Rooney! by akinalabi(m): 9:36am On Jun 26, 2008
@ dayokanu,

Come on mate. How can you bring JS Park into this?

How many matches did Park start for us to bring him into this
analogy.

And besides, I was talking about the matches he missed and
not the ones he played. Afterall, we didnt win all the matches
he played in.

But the ONES HE DID NOT PLAY IN, we lost. That means we
missed his contribution soo much. That shows he is invaluable
to us.
SportsRe: The Problem With Wayne Rooney! by akinalabi(m): 5:21pm On Jun 25, 2008
Wayne is a player we cannot do without at Old Trafford.

The 5 matches we lost last season, he was not there. That is
an amazing statistics.

If he is a failure, we'll like more failures in our team.
SportsRe: Nigerian Football Players' Real Ages by akinalabi(m): 8:30am On Jun 25, 2008
dayokanu:
Pele, ronaldo Lima, Owen, Messi, Lars Ricken, Patrick kluivert, Cesc Fabregas, Anelka, Sergio Aguero, Iker Cassilass, C.Ronaldo, ,
Thats what I'm saying.

You won't find them in Africa.
SportsRe: Calderon: £80m Too Much For Ronaldo by akinalabi(m): 2:21pm On Jun 24, 2008
We will manage 70 million.

Or 40 million plus Robinho.
SportsRe: Nigerian Football Players' Real Ages by akinalabi(m): 2:00pm On Jun 24, 2008
Ibime:
Our players must be really fit then. Look at Olofinjana. His football age is 28. So his real age may be 32. Afterall, he finished University before he started playing. Yet the man still runs around like a 20 year old. Joseph Yobo is also 28 in football age, yet he is still producing week in, week out.
The african man gets better with age. grin

Hardly will you find an eighteen year old storm the world
the way the likes of Rooney did.

You know we don't feed well in Africa. cheesy grin
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Manchester United Fan thread: Forever Reds by akinalabi(m): 8:54am On Jun 24, 2008
David Gill said Ronaldo will not be coming to Nigeria. He said it
in the interview when he confirmed Utd will be coming.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Manchester United Fan thread: Forever Reds by akinalabi(m): 4:25pm On Jun 23, 2008
To be honest, if Real can pay the amount we're hearing they
are willing to pay, then I think we should flog him to Madrid
straight.
SportsRe: Which One Is Better? The World Cup Or The Euros by akinalabi(m): 10:31am On Jun 23, 2008
Yes you need to say more.  cheesy

You conviniently stated a period that suits your argument. Why not say from 1994? Knocked out in the quater finals in 1994 and they went on to
win the Euros two years later.

Besides, how can we explain the fact that "minnows" like Denmark and Greece can win the Euros while they can't grow cold feet at the world stage?

Need I say more?
SportsRe: Kanu Challenge Lagos Govt Over Rio Ferdinand's Visit To Nigeria by akinalabi(m): 10:46pm On Jun 22, 2008
I don't see anything wrong with bringing Rio to Lagos. Not
at all.
SportsRe: Ince Is Blackburn's New Manager by akinalabi(m): 10:16pm On Jun 22, 2008
I wish him well. . .

I like Paul Ince very much. As a footballer, as a manager and
as an individual.

As a player, he was a titan in United's midfield before he moved
to Inter and who can forget his bloodied, bandaged head at the
Olympic stadium in Rome during the world cup qualifier between
England and Italy in 1997?

As a manager, he did very well with MK Dons, winning the St
Johnstone Paint Trophy at Wembley a few months ago and winning
promotion in style.

As an individual, I was priviledged to meet him at Central Milton
Keynes and his simplicity and warmth really impressed me.

This is a big chance for him to step into the big time.

I really hope he succeeds. . .
SportsRe: Which One Is Better? The World Cup Or The Euros by akinalabi(m): 9:37am On Jun 22, 2008
davidif:
mr. jackal and everybody else
Did you guys see what the Cardiac kids (The Turkish team) did yesterday, or did you watch today's holland game. Tell me if you have ever seen anything like that in the world cup
The Turkey game was one of the most boring European games I've see in many years.

So you can't compare that game and Holland's game to any world cup game? That means we've never even had a world cup classic.
SportsRe: Who Is The Most Overrated Footballer? by akinalabi(m): 10:02pm On Jun 20, 2008
dayokanu:
Do you remember that Rooney went for almost 3 seasons in the Champions league without a goal.
Haba dayokanu,

Iro ojukoroju !!!
SportsRe: European Nations Cup 2008 Discussion Thread by akinalabi(m): 7:24am On Jun 20, 2008
@ jackal,

We have to give it to dayokanu today.

Whatever he dishes out to us, we have to accept and
swallow it. grin

@ dayokanu,

Fantastic and professional performance by the Germans. It
was awesome (although that Portuguese defence was worse
than Derby's own
)

@ debosky,

Maybe I should have come to you before the match. Do you
know how much your prediction could have fetched us at the
bookies? wink
SportsRe: Who Is The Most Overrated Footballer? by akinalabi(m): 10:27am On Jun 19, 2008
@ dayokanu,

No you agree Ronaldo is special. wink

I thought you said his goals did not matter as they were
scored against Derby and Newcastle.
SportsRe: Who Is The Most Overrated Footballer? by akinalabi(m): 8:33am On Jun 19, 2008
We have to differentiate an over rated player from a bad player.

Very good players can be overrated. Real Madrid are currently
overrating Ronaldo if it's true they are ready to pay the kind of
money we are hearing.

Most top players are overrated.
SportsRe: Which One Is Better? The World Cup Or The Euros by akinalabi(m): 8:21am On Jun 19, 2008
@ folahann,

Only a live match going on is present stuff. Euro 2004 is past so is Mexico 1970. The match between Spain and Greece (last night) is past. It's not different from a match from Nigeria 1980.  cheesy

Then, are you saying that you will be okay with the world cup if it has only the European teams with Brazil and Argentina?
SportsRe: Which One Is Better? The World Cup Or The Euros by akinalabi(m): 11:42pm On Jun 18, 2008
I still don't understand this. How can we ever compare the world cup with the Euros. Are "we" alright at all? The Euros and the World cup? It's like comparing sleep with death.

In terms of excitement and world acclaim, compare the world cup with the olympics. Not with the Euros.

Compare the Euros with the Ashes! (Australia V England cricket) tongue tongue tongue

And what is wrong with talking aboout old matches? So in 30 years time, no one should talk about Ronaldo, Kaka, Messi and so on. Come to think of it. Most of the matches we watch today are also on tube. I've not seen any of the matches at Euro 2008 live. I've been watching the tapes.

How is that different from watching old tapes and reading old journals?
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: F.C. Internazionale Milano Fans Zone by akinalabi(m): 11:45am On Jun 18, 2008
dayokanu:
Thank God for age long fans who support their club through thick and thin even in UEFA cup. You know I always ask where were the numerous Chelsea fans Which club they were supporting 7 years ago? I would like to ask where the numerous Real Madrid fans of 2000-2002 have gone to.
They were everywhere then. I know one of them. Today, he
sings "Chelsea For Life"
SportsRe: Which One Is Better? The World Cup Or The Euros by akinalabi(m): 10:45am On Jun 17, 2008
The Euros can never be like the World Cup. Never will it be as good. The world cup is all about everyone from every corner of the world being able to square up against each other. Its not about elitism.

World Cups are about matches like the opening match of Italia 90 Cameroun shocking Argentina (No European Team) and the opening match of Japan/Korea 2002 with Senegal shocking France.

@ davidif,

What a biased comparison.

Iran V Angola and Holland V France.

The worst of the world cup and the best of the Euros.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 (of 77 pages)