Stats: 3,329,850 members, 8,442,577 topics. Date: Friday, 10 July 2026 at 11:15 AM

Davidif's Posts

Nairaland ForumDavidif's ProfileDavidif's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 (of 287 pages)

SportsRe: Government To Disband Eagles by davidif: 8:13pm On Jun 24, 2010
CarlosVent:
DIS SHULD REALY BE DONE.
IS LARGERBACK STIL D HEAD COACH?
If this guys cannot run the country well? what makes you think that they can run the FA well? I don't have confidence in the govt. to do anything at all.
SportsRe: Italy Vs Slovakia [2 - 3]: 24 June, 2010 @ World Cup by davidif: 8:11pm On Jun 24, 2010
buzugee:
grin grin grin who is watching the japan game ? these japanese boys dont play. they knocking free kicks into the net like no tomorrow. 2 goals by free kick grin abeg no thread for this match ?
omo, i dey watch the game, those japanese guys are very very good. Two goals from two set pieces.
SportsRe: Italy Vs Slovakia [2 - 3]: 24 June, 2010 @ World Cup by davidif: 8:09pm On Jun 24, 2010
Mardi Gras:
And here i was thinking Marcello Lippi had a plan we didnt know about. . . kiss
He had a plan, and that plan was Fabio Quagliarella. He was the wild card and he changed the game but unfortunately they were robbed by the refree.

qwest:
well, this is good. after the robbery of the Aussies at the 2006 w'cup (through the award of a penalty, to which Blatter apologized) and the soft penalty they were gifted at the last game, I thought it will be business as usual.
WHAT?!?!?! did you watch what happened to the Italians in 2002? They were robbed in two games. Against Croatia and against South Korea.
SportsRe: Government To Disband Eagles by davidif: 7:38pm On Jun 24, 2010
[b]A LOT OF PEOPLE WHO TALK ABOUT FOOTBALL ON THIS WEBSITE ABSOLUTELY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT FOOTBALL. FOOTBALL IS MUCH MUCH TACTICAL THAN YOU AND I KNOW, ITS VERY METHODICAL AND PROCEDURAL, ITS NOT LIKE THE "KICK AND FOLLOW" THAT WE GREW UP PLAYING. ITS NOT ALL ABOUT YELLING AT THE PLAYERS OR MAKING ANIMATED AND EMOTIONAL REACTIONS ON THE SIDE LINE JUST TO SHOW THAT YOU CARE. AS A COACH YOU MUST KNOW THE STRENGTHS AND WEAKNESSES OF YOUR PLAYERS, KNOW THERE PSYCHOLOGICAL STATE AND HOW TO INTERACT WITH THEM AND GET THE BEST OUT OF THEM. IN OTHER WORDS, WHAT IS GOOD FOR "GOOSE MIGHT NOT BE GOOD FOR THE GANDER".
YOU HAVE TO BE ABLE TO MAKE TOUGH CHOICES. For example, let's say your best striker is misfiring, what do you do knowing that even the best strikers go through rough patches? Do you continue playing him and hope that he fights through it or do you bench him instantly and ruin his confidence. This is what happened to Italy in the world cup in 1982. The coach decided to stick with Paolo Rossi and he went on to win the world cup for them despite the fact that rossi had been worse than yakubu in the first few games. As a coach, you can't afford to be impatient. You can't make substitutions because you are angry or you might miss an opportunity to win.

WHEN IT COMES TO TACTICS, THERE IS A REASON BEHIND EACH FORMATION, OR SUBSTITUTION. FOOTBALL IS NOT LIKE THE silly "MONKEY POST" THAT WE GREW UP PLAYING, ITS LIKE A CHESS MATCH, ONE HAS TO BE ABLE TO READ THE GAME PROPERLY AND ANTICIPATE YOUR OPPONENTS YOUR OPPONENTS MOVES THIS COMES FROM HAVING WATCHED YOUR OPPONENTS VERY VERY WELL AND KNOWING THERE WEAKNESSES, THEN COME UP WITH A STRATEGY TO WIN THE GAME AND THE TACTICS TO USE TO CARRY OUT THE STRATEGY. AS A COACH, YOU MUST NOT ONLY BE ABLE TO READ THE GAME PROPERLY BUT BE ABLE TO MAKE ADJUSTMENTS ON THE FLY. IN THE PREMIERSHIP, YOU MUST AT LEAST HAVE GOTTEN YOUR UEFA PRO LICENSE AND YOUR UEFA A-LICENSE BEFORE YOU CAN EVEN BEGIN TO COACH AND YET VERY FEW PEOPLE ARE AS GIFTED AS THE WENGER AND CO.

THIS IS ONE OF THE REASONS WHY I LAUGH WHEN PEOPLE SAY THAT AMODU WAS BETTER THAN LAGERBACK OR THAT WE SHOULD OVERHAUL THE ENTIRE TEAM AND PUT IN AN U-17 TEAM. WHICH SERIOUS FOOTBALLING COUNTRY DOES THAT? ARE THOSE YOUNG PLAYERS ABLE TO STAND UP TO THE PHYSICAL RIGORS OF THE MORDERN GAME OR ARE THERE SKILLS GOOD ENOUGH YET? SOME OF THIS GUYS HAVE NOT EVEN STARTED PLAYING REGULARLY FOR THERE CLUBS.  FOR THOSE WHO ARE ALWAYS SCREAMING FOR HOME BASED PLAYERS, DO YOU KNOW HOW BACKWARD OUR LOCAL LEAGUES ARE? THIS GUYS HAVE NO FACILITIES, THE LEVEL OF COACHING AND INSTRUCTION IS POOR, THEY ARE NOT EVEN WELL CONDITIONED OR WELL TRAINED ENOUGH, NO TACTICAL UNDERSTANDING, NOTHING AT ALL. LOOK AT BRAZIL WITH ONE OF THE BEST LEAGUES IN SOUTH AMERICA AND YET HOW MANY LOCAL PLAYERS DID DUNGA BRING? NONE. NOW COMPARE THAT TO OUR OWN PATHETIC LEAGUE. UNA THINK SAY FOOTBALL IS ALL ABOUT DRIBBLING 4 PLAYERS THEN LOSING POSESSION TO THE FIFTH PLAYER. YOU GUYS ARE JUST IGNORANT.[/b]
SportsRe: Government To Disband Eagles by davidif: 7:38pm On Jun 24, 2010
ONE THING THAT MOST NIGERIANS DON'T KNOW IS THAT [size=18pt]YOU SHOULD NEVER (EVER!) MAKE DECISIONS WHEN YOU ARE ANGRY [/size] BECAUSE YOU END UP MAKING RASH DECISIONS AND YOU MIGHT END UP REGRETTING THAT DECISION.
PoliticsRe: Aondokaa,barred From Entering The United States by davidif: 7:35pm On Jun 24, 2010
I respect Sahara reporters, [size=18pt]BUT THEY SHOULD LIVE THE KIDS OUT OF THIS.[/size]
SportsRe: Africa Needs Local Coaches e.g. Kanu - Lagerback by davidif: 7:16pm On Jun 24, 2010
[b]A LOT OF PEOPLE WHO TALK ABOUT FOOTBALL ON THIS WEBSITE ABSOLUTELY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT FOOTBALL. FOOTBALL IS MUCH MUCH TACTICAL THAN YOU AND I KNOW, ITS VERY METHODICAL AND PROCEDURAL, ITS NOT LIKE THE "KICK AND FOLLOW" THAT WE GREW UP PLAYING. ITS NOT ALL ABOUT YELLING AT THE PLAYERS OR MAKING ANIMATED AND EMOTIONAL REACTIONS ON THE SIDE LINE JUST TO SHOW THAT YOU CARE. AS A COACH YOU MUST KNOW THE STRENGTHS AND WEAKNESSES OF YOUR PLAYERS, KNOW THERE PSYCHOLOGICAL STATE AND HOW TO INTERACT WITH THEM AND GET THE BEST OUT OF THEM. IN OTHER WORDS, WHAT IS GOOD FOR "GOOSE MIGHT NOT BE GOOD FOR THE GANDER".
YOU HAVE TO BE ABLE TO MAKE TOUGH CHOICES. For example, let's say your best striker is misfiring, what do you do knowing that even the best strikers go through rough patches? Do you continue playing him and hope that he fights through it or do you bench him instantly and ruin his confidence. This is what happened to Italy in the world cup in 1982. The coach decided to stick with Paolo Rossi and he went on to win the world cup for them despite the fact that rossi had been worse than yakubu in the first few games. As a coach, you can't afford to be impatient. You can't make substitutions because you are angry or you might miss an opportunity to win.

WHEN IT COMES TO TACTICS, THERE IS A REASON BEHIND EACH FORMATION, OR SUBSTITUTION. FOOTBALL IS NOT LIKE THE silly "MONKEY POST" THAT WE GREW UP PLAYING, ITS LIKE A CHESS MATCH, ONE HAS TO BE ABLE TO READ THE GAME PROPERLY AND ANTICIPATE YOUR OPPONENTS YOUR OPPONENTS MOVES THIS COMES FROM HAVING WATCHED YOUR OPPONENTS VERY VERY WELL AND KNOWING THERE WEAKNESSES, THEN COME UP WITH A STRATEGY TO WIN THE GAME AND THE TACTICS TO USE TO CARRY OUT THE STRATEGY. AS A COACH, YOU MUST NOT ONLY BE ABLE TO READ THE GAME PROPERLY BUT BE ABLE TO MAKE ADJUSTMENTS ON THE FLY. IN THE PREMIERSHIP, YOU MUST AT LEAST HAVE GOTTEN YOUR UEFA PRO LICENSE AND YOUR UEFA A-LICENSE BEFORE YOU CAN EVEN BEGIN TO COACH AND YET VERY FEW PEOPLE ARE AS GIFTED AS THE WENGER AND CO.

THIS IS ONE OF THE REASONS WHY I LAUGH WHEN PEOPLE SAY THAT AMODU WAS BETTER THAN LAGERBACK OR THAT WE SHOULD OVERHAUL THE ENTIRE TEAM AND PUT IN AN U-17 TEAM. WHICH SERIOUS FOOTBALLING COUNTRY DOES THAT? ARE THOSE YOUNG PLAYERS ABLE TO STAND UP TO THE PHYSICAL RIGORS OF THE MORDERN GAME OR ARE THERE SKILLS GOOD ENOUGH YET? SOME OF THIS GUYS HAVE NOT EVEN STARTED PLAYING REGULARLY FOR THERE CLUBS.  FOR THOSE WHO ARE ALWAYS SCREAMING FOR HOME BASED PLAYERS, DO YOU KNOW HOW BACKWARD OUR LOCAL LEAGUES ARE? THIS GUYS HAVE NO FACILITIES, THE LEVEL OF COACHING AND INSTRUCTION IS POOR, THEY ARE NOT EVEN WELL CONDITIONED OR WELL TRAINED ENOUGH, NO TACTICAL UNDERSTANDING, NOTHING AT ALL. LOOK AT BRAZIL WITH ONE OF THE BEST LEAGUES IN SOUTH AMERICA AND YET HOW MANY LOCAL PLAYERS DID DUNGA BRING? NONE. NOW COMPARE THAT TO OUR OWN PATHETIC LEAGUE. UNA THINK SAY FOOTBALL IS ALL ABOUT DRIBBLING 4 PLAYERS THEN LOSING POSESSION TO THE FIFTH PLAYER. YOU GUYS ARE JUST IGNORANT.[/b]
SportsRe: Government To Disband Eagles by davidif: 6:53pm On Jun 24, 2010
DON'T THIS GUYS HAVE MUCH BIGGER PROBLEMS LIKE FIXING THE COUNTRY'S INFRASTRUCTURE, EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM, JUDICIARY AND THE SECURITY SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY.
EducationRe: Asian Education: Better Than Western Education? by davidif(op): 6:40pm On Jun 24, 2010
[quote author=oyinda. link=topic=154714.msg6271148#msg6271148 date=1277329655]and for Asian undergraduate school, I think there is only so much you can memorize and at some point, you have to learn how to think to be smart.
I think American undergrad is better in that sense.[/quote]That's a lie jare, there is nooooooooooooo way that American undergrad is better than Asian undergrad and your assertion that Asians only memorize is just a stereoype. If you are right, then how come the best students in yanki universitities are the Asians uhn huh? The Indian institute of technology (IIT) is better than MIT and the Indian institute of Management (IIM) is better than Harvard Business school (HBS). The acceptance rate in these [indian] schools is around 2% while MIT and Harvard are around 20%. The funny thing is that the Indian students that are not even good enough to go to IIT or IIM get into the Harvard's and the MIT and are the best students there. Just look at the graduate schools in Yanki, who do you think make up a huuuuuuuuuuuuuge majority of the students? This are the same students doing all this groundbreaking research.
Look at the formidable Chinese schools like the legendary Tsinghua university or Beijing University. The guys from this school go to yanki and they do much better than the yanki students by far. YOU KNOW WHAT THE SCARY THING IS? THIS GUYS ARE NO LONGER COMING TO THE U.S IN DROVES ANYMORE BECAUSE THERE ARE MORE OPPORTUNITIES OPENING UP FOR THEM IN THERE NATIVE LANDS. THIS IS VERY VERY SCARY FOR THE AMERICANS THAT HAVE GOTTEN BY ON RECRUITING HUMAN TALENT FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD.
SportsRe: Italy Vs Slovakia [2 - 3]: 24 June, 2010 @ World Cup by davidif: 5:31pm On Jun 24, 2010
GAME OF THE TOURNAMENT ALONG WITH CAMEROUN DENMARK.
SportsRe: Italy Vs Slovakia [2 - 3]: 24 June, 2010 @ World Cup by davidif: 4:52pm On Jun 24, 2010
WHY DIDN'T THE ITALIANS PLAY LIKE THIS EARLIER?
SportsRe: Italy Vs Slovakia [2 - 3]: 24 June, 2010 @ World Cup by davidif: 4:49pm On Jun 24, 2010
NA WA OOOOOOOOOO, ITALIANS DON'T QUIT.
SportsRe: Italy Vs Slovakia [2 - 3]: 24 June, 2010 @ World Cup by davidif: 4:47pm On Jun 24, 2010
[size=28pt]WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE ITALIANS??[/size]
SportsRe: Government To Disband Eagles by davidif: 3:59pm On Jun 24, 2010
[quote author=paddy_lo link=topic=468122.msg6274873#msg6274873 date=1277390805]All of u calling for NFF to be Disbanded are retarded

GOVT cannot Disband the NFF. . because FIFA will ban Nigeria for up to 3yrs
Then u same ppl will start complaining

The thing to be done is to Disband the team
We all know they are all over 30yrs old
Look at KAITA claiming 24lol. .dude looks like he is 38

Get the likes of Chukwudi,Ramon Azeez,stanley okoro,and co
They will form the nucleus of the new team
Together with Anichebe,Ideye and others

Also sack LAGERBEER. .and get a NIGERIAN coach
This white coaches have no passion or emotion

Compare MARADONA to LAGERBEER
U will see that Maradona is passionate about Argentina
while Lagerbeer is Passionate about his bank account
[/quote]paddy lo,
O boy, you should stick to economics and don't ever comment about football again.
EducationRe: Asian Education: Better Than Western Education? by davidif(op): 8:29pm On Jun 23, 2010
SEFAGO:
Hmm . . . it depends. I am sure you are referring to the sciences and engineering, and a bit to business- but at the undergraduate level asians do not focus on humanities a lot. Infact, Nigeria has produced a significant number of notable writers than the Asians.

Also I feel the US has probably the best undergraduate education if you consider individual and departmental strengths of schools instead of focusing on the popular ones. That is understand that CMU is better than Harvard for engineering instead of focusing on the fact that Harvard is number one. In my own opinion, the school you attend does not really matter as much as your drive- its just that there is a high concentration of driven people at certain schools.
Humanities are overrated.
EducationRe: Asian Education: Better Than Western Education? by davidif(op): 6:46pm On Jun 23, 2010
SEFAGO:
I think the major advantage "western" countries have over Asia is the curricula development especially at the undergraduate level.
ori e pe jare. Asia is excellent from the undergraduate level down to the elementary school level, in which the American schools are terrible.

[quote author=oyinda. link=topic=154714.msg6263810#msg6263810 date=1277231637]americans are definitely way more innovative.

asians rely more on rote learning but i hope that's changing. if they can learn to be more creative and innovative, they will surpass the west.
but they instill good study and work ethics in their pupils that the west lacks.[/quote]Yep, the Asians focus on rote memorization but they are deviating from that.
SportsRe: U.S.A Vs Algeria [1 - 0] On June 23 @ Worlc Cup 2010 by davidif: 6:39pm On Jun 23, 2010
BOY, FOR THOSE OF US WHO WATCHED THE US-ALGERIA MATCH IN THE US, THE COMMENTARY WAS AWFUL, ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. NEVER IN MY LIFE HAVE I SEEN COMMENTATORS SOOOOOO ONE SIDED AND DISRESPECTFUL OF OTHER TEAMS. THE COMMENTATORS WHERE VIRTUALLY ROOTING FOR THE USA. I WOULD HAVE LOVED TO SEE THEM GET KNOCKED OUT SO THAT NOBODY WOULD BE TALKING ABOUT THEM AGAIN.
PoliticsRe: We Have No Money To Fix Power Sector – Jebba Power Chief by davidif: 6:12pm On Jun 23, 2010
[size=18pt]IF YOU DON'T HAVE THE MONEY, ISSUE BONDS OR USE TAXES. GEEZ, THE LEVEL OF FINANCIAL ILLITERACY ON THE PART OF OUR GOVT. IS INCREDIBLE.[/size]
SportsRe: U.S.A Vs Algeria [1 - 0] On June 23 @ Worlc Cup 2010 by davidif: 5:54pm On Jun 23, 2010
ALGERIA IS USELESS! ABSOLUTELY USELESS. YOU NEED TO SCORE A GOAL TO WIN AND YET YOU ARE PLAYING A DEFENSIVE GAME AND YOU ARE PLAYING WITHOUT URGENCY.
BusinessRe: Are There Venture-Capitalists In Nigeria? by davidif: 5:51pm On Jun 23, 2010
Sagamite:
You are assuming Universities are the only source of innovations or business ideas?
No, but most innovation comes from universities and research institutions. Look at California, they have one of the highest concentrations of VC's in the world because California has some of the best universities and research institutions in the world. Have you forgotten that one of the richest companies in the world, Google was started at Stanford by two PhD students who were writing there thesis on search engines.
SportsRe: Sacking Amodu Was A Mistake - Odemwingie by davidif: 5:45pm On Jun 23, 2010
WHAT A POLITICIAN!!! HE SPEAKS FROM BOTH SIDES OF HIS MOUTH.
SportsRe: South Korean Coach Thanks Yakubu For Goal Miss by davidif: 5:41pm On Jun 23, 2010
shadrach77:
We also knew that Nigerian goalie is not good at set piece[/b]s and that was what we practiced in training.
[size=28pt][b]THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I HAVE BEEN SAYING FOR A LONG TIME, AFRICAN TEAMS ARE NOT GOOD WITH SET PIECES.[/size]
SportsRe: South Korean Coach Thanks Yakubu For Goal Miss by davidif: 5:39pm On Jun 23, 2010
queenafric:
they definitely wont go far in this tournament, so his 'thanks' is useless.
omo, you fine o shocked shocked
PoliticsRe: House of Reps Show of Shame: Watch the Video! by davidif: 6:00am On Jun 23, 2010
ha ha ha.
SportsRe: Yakubu: A New Word Added To Oxford English Dictionary by davidif: 5:39am On Jun 23, 2010
They yakubued alot at their defence, but yakubu yakubued all of them! This is TRAGIC
nearest,
you need to check in to a mental institution grin grin grin grin grin grin
SportsRe: Nigeria Vs South Korea: 2 - 2 @ World Cup 2010, June 22 by davidif: 9:23pm On Jun 22, 2010
[size=18pt]HARD FOUGHT GAME. [/size]
SportsRe: Argentina Vs Greece: (2 - 0) June 22 @ World Cup 2010 by davidif: 9:22pm On Jun 22, 2010
pokerface,
Na you fine like this?
SportsRe: Nigeria Vs South Korea: 2 - 2 @ World Cup 2010, June 22 by davidif: 8:49pm On Jun 22, 2010
THE EAGLES SHOULD PRESS SOUTH KOREA WHENEVER THE KOREANS GET THE BALL. THE KOREANS ARE JUST TAKING TIME KNOCKING THE BALL AROUND. THE EAGLES SHOULD PLAY WITH MORE URGENCY AND ENERGY. THEY ARE TRYING TO HIT US ON THE COUNTER-ATTACK.
SportsRe: Nigeria Vs South Korea: 2 - 2 @ World Cup 2010, June 22 by davidif: 8:46pm On Jun 22, 2010
GOOD WORK YAKUBU JUST KEEP TRYING HARDER, THE CHANCES WILL COME.
SportsRe: Nigeria Vs South Korea: 2 - 2 @ World Cup 2010, June 22 by davidif: 8:44pm On Jun 22, 2010
[size=18pt]WHY IS THE REF CALLING EVERY SMALL THING? WHY CAN'T THE EAGLES INCREAS THE TEMPO OF THE GAME? AND BY THE WAY, WHY CAN'T WE DEFEND SET PIECES? THANK GOD, KANU IS LEAVING, HE IS SLOWING DOWN THE TEMPO OF THE GAME.[/size]
SportsRe: Nigeria Vs South Korea: 2 - 2 @ World Cup 2010, June 22 by davidif: 8:36pm On Jun 22, 2010
WHY IS THE REF CALLING EVERY SMALL THING? WHY IS THE REF BLOWING EVERY UNNECESSARY THING?
SportsRe: Nigeria Vs South Korea: 2 - 2 @ World Cup 2010, June 22 by davidif: 8:15pm On Jun 22, 2010
AYILA IS GETTING CARELESS, HE MIGHT GET A SECOND YELLOW CARD.

WHY IS THE REF CALLING EVERY SMALL TIME THING?

WHERE IS OUR MIDFIELD?

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 (of 287 pages)