Stats: 3,325,417 members, 8,421,849 topics. Date: Sunday, 07 June 2026 at 07:52 AM

Laredojohn's Posts

Nairaland ForumLaredojohn's ProfileLaredojohn's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 (of 174 pages)

Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Meet New Cool People And Just Make Friends by Laredojohn(m): 8:57pm On Sep 05, 2016
Mzflexydeeva:
Elo people
Hii miss... hello all how u all doing?
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Meet New Cool People And Just Make Friends by Laredojohn(m): 8:55pm On Sep 05, 2016
Mzflexydeeva:
life's good o! How u?
Hello everyone
Life is nice...we are coping
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Meet New Cool People And Just Make Friends by Laredojohn(m): 5:27pm On Sep 05, 2016
Mzflexydeeva:
Am good. How are you doing?
Am fine, thank God, howz life and all
Christianity EtcRe: Why Do "Born Again" Christians Still Commit Sin? by Laredojohn(m): 7:19am On Sep 04, 2016
Hmmm 2015 post just making fp, anyways the topic nice, it takes the grace of God to be strong, the ability to sin or not to sin lies not being born again or not, there are people who are not born again, and will still not sin because they believe some things are not just morally right, it takes determination and the grace of God to stay holy and righteous
CareerRe: Help Nairalanders, My Work Place Dilemma. by Laredojohn(m): 7:14am On Sep 04, 2016
First of all you claim it's a family biz, are u related to themhuh If not, your case is just a gang up, they see you as a threat to the business, u just need to let go and move on involving police and the likes could even cause more issues, just move on as said earlier your field IT is sort after...you will get a new job soon..
PropertiesRe: My House Hunt Experience In Lagos by Laredojohn(m): 7:02am On Sep 04, 2016
Hello, use reputable estate agents, like jide taiwo&Co. Etc, sure u will get a high brow area as lekki, ikoyi and Festac are not high...
PoliticsRe: Rotimi Akeredolu Emerges As APC Governorship Candidate In Ondo State by Laredojohn(m): 6:49am On Sep 04, 2016
He said Asiwaju will b socked by the result of the primary election, will Asiwaju still support himhuh Since his own preferred candidate didn't win, can he face the candidate of an incumbent Governor? Anyways Ondo people it's in your hands.
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Meet New Cool People And Just Make Friends by Laredojohn(m): 9:19am On Sep 03, 2016
Mzflexydeeva:
Am good. How are you doing?
Am fine, being a while...Howz life and all
Dating And Meet-up ZoneRe: Meet New Cool People And Just Make Friends by Laredojohn(m): 11:13pm On Sep 02, 2016
legalspices:
Flexydeeva, where is shegxi,Laredo John,sarima dem??
Am ere...wassup
FashionRe: My Gallery Of Beaded Jewellry by Laredojohn(m): 2:53pm On Sep 01, 2016
Nice beads she gat, got one from her of recent...she is recommended for all who what lovely beads of different designs and styles...
Christianity EtcRe: Anthony Okogie's Open Letter To Buhari by Laredojohn(m): 5:44pm On Aug 29, 2016
Nice one from a respected man of God, writing from the view of a common Nigeria who isn't politically pushed to write...hope the president takes time to read this, not all things are passed to aides, he too should at least read some and this is an example...
Jobs/VacanciesLagos Government Recruiting For News/Video Editors & Reporters by Laredojohn(op): 12:25pm On Aug 29, 2016
Job Reference No
DIRECTOR OF PRODUCTION SERVICES
Job Title
DIRECTOR OF PRODUCTION SERVICES
Closing Date
9/5/2016 12:00:00 AM
Summation
A Degree in Mass Communication/Communication Arts/Journalism. Candidate must be versed in Digital Designs, Graphic Arts with at least 15 years cognate experience in Television production, 5 of which must be at Management level.
Employment Status
PERMANENT
Job Detail Information

A Degree in Mass Communication/Communication Arts/Journalism. Candidate must be versed in Digital Designs, Graphic Arts with at least 15 years cognate experience in Television production, 5 of which must be at Management level.

Candidates must be able to work as correspondents in different beats.

In addition to the above criteria, all candidates must possess strong work ethics, desire to work in a result driven environment and must have completed the Compulsory National Youth Service Scheme (NYSC).

Job Reference No
ENG CAMERA OPERATORS
Job Title
ENG CAMERA OPERATORS
Closing Date
Summation
Candidate must possess a Degree and certification in Electronics News Gathering (ENG). Candidate must have Eye for aesthetics, Graphic visual sequence and ability to identify news. He/she must have a good mastery of the use of ENG/Camera. Candidates must be able to work as correspondents in different beats. In addition to the above criteria, all candidates must possess strong work ethics, desire to work in a result driven environment and must have completed the Compulsory National Youth Service Scheme (NYSC).
Employment Status
PERMANENT
Job Detail Information

Candidate must possess a Degree and certification in Electronics News Gathering (ENG). Candidate must have Eye for aesthetics, Graphic visual sequence and ability to identify news. He/she must have a good mastery of the use of ENG/Camera.

In addition to the above criteria, all candidates must possess strong work ethics, desire to work in a result driven environment and must have completed the Compulsory National Youth Service Scheme (NYSC).
Job Reference No
NEWS CORRESPONDENTS/REPORTERS
Job Title
NEWS CORRESPONDENTS/REPORTERS
Closing Date
Summation
Candidates must possess a Degree in Mass Communication or Journalism, Higher National Diploma in Journalism, with over 7 years in practice.
Employment Status
PERMANENT
Job Detail Information

Candidates must possess a Degree in Mass Communication or Journalism, Higher National Diploma in Journalism, with over 7 years in practice.

Job Reference No
CHIEF TECHNICAL OFFICER
Job Title
CHIEF TECHNICAL OFFICER
Closing Date
Summation
Candidate must possess a Degree in Broadcast Engineering, Broadcast Technology/ Electrical/Electronic or Computer Science, Multimedia, ENG etc with at least 7 years experience in Television Broadcast, of which 5 years must be at management level. Candidate will coordinate on Air, OB Van activities and relevant IT support services.
Employment Status
PERMANENT
Job Detail Information

Candidate must possess a Degree in Broadcast Engineering, Broadcast Technology/ Electrical/Electronic or Computer Science, Multimedia, ENG etc with at least 7 years experience in Television Broadcast, of which 5 years must be at management level. Candidate will coordinate on Air, OB Van activities and relevant IT support services.

Summation
Candidate must possess a Degree in: (i) Electrical/Electronic Engineering with 15 years' post qualification experience. Candidate must be COREN Certified with other professional bodies' certification.
Employment Status
PERMANENT
Job Detail Information

Candidate must possess a Degree in: (i) Electrical/Electronic Engineering with 15 years' post qualification experience. Candidate must be COREN Certified with other professional bodies' certification.

SOURCE: http://jobs.lagosstate.gov.ng/JobDetail.aspx?id=35
http://jobs.lagosstate.gov.ng/JobDetail.aspx?id=34
http://jobs.lagosstate.gov.ng/JobDetail.aspx?id=32
http://jobs.lagosstate.gov.ng/JobDetail.aspx?id=37
http://jobs.lagosstate.gov.ng/JobDetail.aspx?id=36
http://jobs.lagosstate.gov.ng/JobDetail.aspx?id=33

we should have some experienced people who seek a career in a govt Establishment for the following roles listed above
Science/TechnologyRe: HEAVY RAIN DOWNPOUR IN LAGOS: What Is The Situation Of Things In Your Area? by Laredojohn(m): 5:13pm On Aug 28, 2016
beedam:
@Laredojohn, back2sender, udysweet...you have all succeeded in making EKEDC take our light abi?

No wahala, God dey cry
We gat light now...lemme wire ours to u...
Science/TechnologyRe: HEAVY RAIN DOWNPOUR IN LAGOS: What Is The Situation Of Things In Your Area? by Laredojohn(m): 3:17pm On Aug 28, 2016
beedam:
@Laredojohn, back2sender, udysweet...you have all succeeded in making EKEDC take our light abi?

No wahala, God dey cry
Hmm not me ooo
Science/TechnologyRe: HEAVY RAIN DOWNPOUR IN LAGOS: What Is The Situation Of Things In Your Area? by Laredojohn(m): 2:58pm On Aug 28, 2016
beedam:
Na wa o. Nuru Oniwo isn't flooded at all at all and there has been light since yesterday.
That's far to the canal....they took light since yesterday nite ere...and proximity to th canal caused the flood ere
Science/TechnologyRe: HEAVY RAIN DOWNPOUR IN LAGOS: What Is The Situation Of Things In Your Area? by Laredojohn(m): 2:40pm On Aug 28, 2016
sulaimanabolanl:
You mean that same aguda in surulere? Where do you stay in Aguda cuz it's not like that in my area
Aguda surulere, Adetola, sanya, irone Avenue, solo ogun marayesa, odogbolu, all floodded
Science/TechnologyRe: HEAVY RAIN DOWNPOUR IN LAGOS: What Is The Situation Of Things In Your Area? by Laredojohn(m): 2:36pm On Aug 28, 2016
beedam:
Aguda? Flooded? Where exactly in Aguda, madam? I live in Aguda too but no water for our road o. I cum dey wonder if na still the one in lagos you are referring to.
Aguda, Adetola, irone Avenue, sanya, pix as at 8am

PoliticsOsinbajo Preaches Hope As Ambode, Kerry Urge FG To Restructure Econom by Laredojohn(op): 6:24am On Aug 26, 2016
Chiemelie Ezeobi in Lagos and John Shiklam in Kaduna

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo on Tuesday urged Nigerians not to despair over the prostate state of the economy, saying that with the measures being taken by the federal government, speedy recovery from recession was on the way.

He spoke in Kaduna at the 4th Progressive Governance Lecture Series organised by governors of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with the theme, “Building the Economy of States: Challenge of Developing Inclusively Sustainable Growth.”

He assured Nigerians that government was on top of the situation, hinting that some policies to be unveiled shortly would reverse the prevailing economic hardship faced by Nigerians.

The vice-president’s hope raiser coincided with the United States Secretary of State John Kerry’s and Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode’s interventions on Nigeria’s dwindling fortunes advocating separately that the nation needed to restructure and diversify its economy in order to realise its great potential.

While Ambode recommended that the federal government should play the lead role in encouraging states to unbundle their potential by concentrating on their areas of comparative economic advantages, Kerry called for an urgent diversification of the economy, particularly at these times of low oil prices.

Ambode spoke in Kaduna at the Progressive Governance Lecture Series, stating that the federal government had a critical role to play in addressing the fundamental structural challenges undermining sustainable and inclusive economic growth in the states of the federation, among which is unbundling the potential of each of the federating units.

He said the federal government should allow states to develop natural resources within their domain and create the necessary infrastructure that would attract investors.
Ambode, who spoke on the Lagos experience of de-emphasising reliance on oil, said governors should also be encouraged to tap into multiple streams of income in their respective states.

The governor said it was absurd that governors had power over land but could not exploit the resources, including water that is under it, arguing that the law must be amended to empower states to have control of their resources.

He said: “We need to start looking at some changes that we need to make within and among ourselves as a government irrespective of whether it is federal, state or local government – that will now unbundle the potential of each state, which is the cornerstone of the whole message we are talking about.

“There is a great need for all of us to decide once and for all to unbundle the potential of each state; take the comparative advantages of each state and fuse them together for the benefits of our people.
“Governors are the owners of the land in their states but underneath the land and even inside the water, the federal government is structured in a way that it controls those potential.”

Ambode said the spoon-feeding of states through the monthly allocation from the Federation Account should stop, contending that it was a disincentive to the unlocking of the potential of the states.

“In a situation where the states are being spoon-fed, because I call the federation account more or less like spoon-feeding. The federal government collects total revenue on Value Added Tax (VAT) and various revenues on behalf of all of us and makes us to come to Abuja and more or less share it to us as peanuts thereby not allowing us to reach our potential as competitive states individually,” he said.

While alluding to the fact that the insignia of progressivism in Nigeria should be first seen in the APC states, Ambode said all critical actors must work together in the common interest of the people.

He said: “There is just one economy in this country and so we need to first of all accept the fact that there is nothing like private sector as against public sector; there is nothing like federal government as against state governments. We are collaborating together to drive the economy of this country. So if that describes what Nigeria is and what it ought to be, we also want to say that government should be seen as an enabler; a platform that more or less creates the enabling environment for the public sector to thrive.”

Also speaking at the event, a former governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Charles Soludo, said Nigeria was facing unprecedented and tremendous political and economic challenges with global and local dynamics.

He also said for the current war against corruption to be successful and enduring, it must be tackled from the systemic level rather than dealing with the symptoms.
According to him, economic growth in Nigeria would not be inclusive unless poverty is broken and states take advantage of their comparative and competitive edges.

He noted that politicians and elected officials were under pressure to deliver quick short term benefits to the people while in reality what might be needed to address the economy were painful long term solutions.
“There seem to be a potential conflict with what the people want and what the country needs to survive sustainably,” he said.

Speaking on the topic “Fragile State with a Failing Economy, Making Progressive Change Work for Nigeria”, the former CBN governor maintained that the APC must move from a coalition of political parties that won election to that of a coalition of governance.

He said Nigeria was not secured and made politically sustainable especially through the de-strangulation of the hold of the federal government over states.
He warned that the global economy was unravelling and the burst might be there for a while, stressing that there was need to look at the long term solution.

According to him, the realities in the Nigerian economy is marked by localised trapped economies plagued by terrorism, kidnapping, militancy and other social vices which also threatened opportunities for attracting investments.

Soludo recommended the restructuring of the economy from consumption driven to production with consistent micro economic policies. He advocated fiscal federalism in ways that allow states to have greater control of their resources as well as the evolution
of a master plan for mass export oriented industrialisation that answers the economic questions of today’s realities.

In Abuja, the US Secretary of State, Kerry, urged the federal government to, as a matter of urgency, strive to diversify the economy, especially with the global reduction in the price of crude oil.
Kerry said this at a meeting with the staff and families of the US Embassy in Abuja, reiterating the commitment of the US government to curbing forced child marriages and Female Genital Mutilation (FGM).

He said the free fall of the price of oil had challenged the economy, adding that the way forward was for the country to diversify its economy, promising that the US would be a willing ally in that direction.

“We will also do everything in our power to help adjust the economy to a change. No country should be single-resource dominated in its economy, and the lesson is you’ve got to diversify,” he said.
Speaking on female genital mutilation and child marriages, he said: “I just came from an amazing meeting with a group of young women, Nigerian women. We know that there are 6 to 8 million, 10 million girls who aren’t in school in Nigeria.

“And we know the difference that educating young women can make to the capacity to build a future for a country. And I quoted the Egyptian poet, Hafez Ibrahim, who said, ‘educate a woman, you build a nation’.
“That is so true. You cannot have a country that works leaving half of your population on the side lines.

“So we are committed, deeply committed, to helping girls to be able to go to school, to helping girls to be able to have opportunity, to trying to change this notion of forced marriage in childhood – 10, 11, 12 years old – and also trying to deal with the problem of female mutilation, which we really need to see stopped.
“So there’s so much on the table here. This is a country that has enormous capacity, enormous potential, and we want to help tap into it.”
Source: http://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2016/08/26/osinbajo-preaches-hope-as-ambode-kerry-urge-fg-to-restructure-economy/
BusinessLagos To Wait For Crude Export To Enjoy 13% Derivation by Laredojohn(op): 5:59am On Aug 26, 2016
Monthly allocation drops by N115.369bn

Ndubuisi Francis in Abuja
In spite of the commencement of production from its newly discovered oil wells, Lagos State may have to wait until crude oil export commences before it joins the league of states benefitting from the 13 per cent derivation principle.

This clarification was made yesterday at Federation Account Allocation Committee (FAAC) meeting.

This emerged just as allocation available for sharing by three tiers of government for the month of July dipped by N115.369 billion to N443.663 billion as against June’s allocation of N559.032 billion.

The reduction was caused by sustained attacks on oil installations by Niger Delta Avengers (NDA) leading to disruptions both in oil production and sales.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Dr. Mahmoud Dutse-Isa, who spoke with journalists after the FAAC meeting, said Lagos would begin to enjoy 13 per cent derivation when crude export commence from its oil wells.

“Lagos state is yet to start enjoying from derivation principle. When crude oil export commences from the wells, the revenue realised from such wells will be allocated to them,” he said.

For the month of August, the gross statutory revenue stood at N287.819 billion, an amount lower than N538.788 billion received in previous month by N250.970 billion.

“Crude oil export volume decreased by 2.8 million barrels in April 2016 partly because of a subsisting force manjeur declared at Forcados terminals. Also, shut-in and shut down of pipelines at other terminals due to the activities of vandals and for maintenance impacted negatively on production. There was a revenue decrease of $102.17 million in federation export revenue despite the increase in average price of crude oil from $38.64 in March to $42.21 per barrel in April, 2016”, the permanent secretary explained.

From the statutory revenue of N258.151 billion shared, federal government got highest amount N129.212billion, states got N65.538 billion, local government N50.527 billion while oil producing states got N 12.874 billion as 13 per cent derivation.
The balance in Excess Crude Account stood at $3.03 billion.
Source: http://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2016/08/26/lagos-to-wait-for-crude-export-to-enjoy-13-derivation/
RomanceRe: Dear Beautiful Lady, Empower Yourself!!! by Laredojohn(m): 3:41pm On Aug 22, 2016
Nice write up op, if a woman is empowered a nation is empowered, I fill pity for women who after struggling to get a degree and they still allow men to relegate them to the kitchen...ladies catch some point ere, your love for him should go beyond cooking, doing house chores etc...your love for him is equally your love for yourself...get something doing, develop yourself and get empowered.
RomanceRe: Is Being Single In My Twenties A Bad Thing ? by Laredojohn(m): 3:23pm On Aug 22, 2016
Bro,nothing bad, it's always better you take your time, marriage and relationships are not worth rushing into, open your eyes and let God lead you, there is no late comer...when it your time you will definitely get yours.
CelebritiesRe: Throwback Photo Of Pasuma And His Daughter Wasila In 1991 by Laredojohn(m): 2:27pm On Aug 22, 2016
That's nice, he followed his dream, he never gave up, he took up the challenge unlike some peeps who would have either asked the gal to abort, or dumped the baby in a dustbin.. nice one Oganla 1
Christianity EtcRe: Can You Rock This Jesus And Mary Bathroom Slippers? (photos) by Laredojohn(m): 7:15am On Aug 22, 2016
Hmm, I see nothing in wearing this, those are mere images, they do not represent who they truly are, how they look, these are mere pictures some people drew many years ago and a lot of people have come to accept it as the true image of Jesus and Mary, in Christianity only church denominations who see images and accept them, bow to them adore them as Jesus Christ or Mary will find this offensive and call it blasphemy, but denominations who never portray any image or adore any image as Jesus Christ or Mary will see no issue with this...what my scripture says is you shall not bow to any image, irrespective of what the image is made to represent. I can wear it, it's a mere image.
Car TalkRe: Lagos State Ministry Of Transportation Introduces The Electronic Billing System by Laredojohn(m): 6:34am On Aug 22, 2016
The fear of VIO is..... the beginning of having your vehicle papers complete...the Electronic collection is commendable, but the fine needs to be worked on, and there should be some sensitization via the popular media means, radio, print, electronic and visual before implementation...
PhonesRe: 6 Reasons Why People Unfriend, Block Or Unfollow You On Facebook by Laredojohn(m): 1:44pm On Aug 20, 2016
Quite true, some have turned fb to different things...peeps should let their personal life b personal and social life social
Car TalkRe: Help! V.I.S Officials Just Meted An Injustice On Me (pics) by Laredojohn(m): 7:23am On Aug 19, 2016
Drabeey:
I call on all well meaning Nigerians to come to my aide...
I was stopped under the mile2 bridge by officers of V.I.S, and as i was about to make way to park, they officer in front of me banged my hood still demanding i park. I had to tell him not to bang my vehicle again, that he should see im already finding a way to park. I saw that anger in his face but i don't mind since all my documents are complete.
Immediately i parked, he demanded for my documents and driver's license and i gave them to him. He later asked that i 'roger' him as i was with a ''delivery van''. I had to tell him im not in place to give out money, and that my company doesn't provide for such miscellaneous. He became more angrier and left me to speak with a man ( who i believe is of a higher rank ). I came down to demand for my papers when the man told me why i decided not to stop when i was told to stop? I couldn't believe my ears and i had to explain what happened to him, all i said fell on his deaf ears. He started writting a ticket and the next thing i saw a #20,000 fine given to me. I stood there still imagining all the scenario when i saw a man telling me i should find them something, that don't i know they also have to meet a target.

How on earth would someone fine me because i couldn't pay him a tip?

This is the highest form of corruption i have ever seen.

I call on all well meaning Nigerians to come to my aide and please work out justice for me.
I wish this matter be investigated thoroughly, i will accept the consequence if truly i'm guilty, but if not, please do fight my cause. Help me, i have no voice, but i believe you guys do.

Im a man who makes myself at the good hands of the law.
How could i run when all my documents are complete?

Lalasticlala please help me!

below is the pics of the vio vehicle, my bus and the ticket.

20,000 naira is not a joke in this harsh economy. Despite the fact that, i am suffering a cause i'm not guilty of
Hello bro sad you going through this, if you can find a lawyer or your company lawyer to write a petition in this regards asap to the PS lagos state Ministry of transportation, copy the head lagos state vis, sure it will be investigated, though it might not be as quick as you think, but sure you will get a solution, you can decide to write the petition to the Gov. And copy the ps transportation and head vis lagos, also if u have a popular blogger who can help push this story, sure u will get justice, u can use giditraffic on twitter, or any other u know, also tweet the lag state governor too, sure u will get justice,
Christianity EtcRe: "Is Abstinence Before Marriage A Realistic Message?" by Laredojohn(m): 3:26pm On Aug 18, 2016
I have always thought of this too,but to be sincere its realistic for those who have the grace too,i know some peeps will come and quote scriptures etc, but to be realistic even those who preach it must have fallen before(though not all) ,but whosoever has kissed, had lust by mere looking at a woman , masturbated , or done any sexual act thats not even penetration is a good as having sex , we truly have those who can abstain and i salute them because it takes the grace of God too, i once spoke with a lady friend, she told me she was abstaining from sex till marriage , but when we spoke further she said she only kisses , i was like , u fink a guy will just always be interested in kissing u always and will not wanna go further someday ..anyways it takes the grace of God .
PoliticsAvengers Split Over Planned Dialogue With FG by Laredojohn(op): 6:24am On Aug 18, 2016
Olalekan Adetayo, Jude Owuamanam and Ovie Okpare

The Niger Delta Avengers on Wednesday appeared divided over whether or not to engage in a dialogue with the Federal Government over the crisis in the geopolitical zone.

While a self-acclaimed spokesperson for the Avengers, Mr. Ballantyne Agiri, said in a statement on Wednesday that the NDA was ready to enter into dialogue with the Federal Government for a possible ceasefire in the region, the Avengers in a counter-statement by Mudoch Agbinibo, denied the claim.

Agiri had in a statement mailed to one of our correspondents in Jos, the Plateau State capital on Wednesday, said that it had constituted a contact and dialogue group to engage the Federal Government in meaningful dialogue as part of the initiatives to resolve the crisis.

Agiri said that the group was determined to come out with results that would yield a lasting peace, equity, justice and harmony among all ethnic nationalities in Nigeria.

While urging Nigerians and the international community to follow developments on the issue closely and watch out for which side would violate the terms, rules and spirit of the dialogue, Agiri said, “The body has collectively and willingly agreed to heed the clarion call of eminent Nigerians and international community to hold dialogue with the Federal Government.”

The statement added, “The Federal Government should from the inception of the dialogue rule out from the agenda any monthly monetary inducement or stipend for the NDA.

“The Federal Government should be ready for structural changes that should be human and development-oriented.

“Members of the Avengers’ group (who will participate in the dialogue) have already been selected, each based on his integrity, forthrightness, honesty and life track records.”

The group said that the names of members of the group for now would not be made public for personal reasons, until they begin functioning in few days ahead.

But the spokesman for the NDA, Agbinibo, while replying an enquiry by one of our correspondents, dismissed the idea, saying there was no iota of truth in Agiri’s claim.

It stressed that, “We are not going into any peace or dialogue talk.”

It added, “That report is not from us. We are not in any form of dialogue agreement with anybody. It’s like the government wants to dialogue with themselves.”

The group later went on to their twitter handle, operated by the spokesperson, Agbinibo, to also deny the purported agreement for talks.

The NDA also denied knowing Agiri, saying, “Who is Mr. Ballantyne Agiri, the claimed dialogue group spokesman? We don’t know you. And please, stop fooling the general public.

“We are not ready for any negotiation or dialogue with the Federal Government.”

The militant group has claimed responsibility for major attacks on oil facilities in the region in recent times.

Agiri had in a statement issued on Wednesday in Abuja claimed that the group had agreed to enter into a dialogue with the Federal Government.

Meanwhile, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina, the Presidency, on Wednesday said dialogue had always been an option by the Federal Government in its efforts aimed at resolving the crisis in the Niger Delta.

“Dialogue had always been an option in resolving the Niger Delta issue,” the Presidential spokesman said
source :http://punchng.com/avengers-split-planned-dialogue-fg/
BusinessTelecoms Operators Fret Over Proposed 9% Communication Services Tax by Laredojohn(op): 6:09am On Aug 18, 2016
Telecoms Operators Fret over Proposed 9% Communication Services Tax
from ICT service tax
Crusoe Osagie in Lagos and Dele Ogbodo in Abuja

The Organised Private Sector (OPS) has expressed concerns over the proposed plan by the federal government to impose a special tax of nine per cent for the use of communication services, noting that this move would only succeed in worsening the prevailing high cost of doing business in the country.

The operators under the telecommunications arm of the Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry (LCCI) said the economic implications of this bill would affect consumer purchasing power which they say negates the principle of neutrality, maintaining that it would also discourage investment and impede development of the telecommunications sector.

They posited that the bill potentially creates and raises the issue of double taxation since Value Added Tax (VAT) Act already imposes tax of five per cent on the supply of goods and services, calling for the suspension of the bill to allow for the rapid growth of the telecommunications sector in line with the Nigerian National Broadband Plan.
However, the Minister of Communications, Mr. Adebayo Shittu, stated that the bill which is before the Senate and House of Representatives, have commenced the legislative process to enact the bill which he said has passed its first reading.

The minister during the private sector dialogue session on the proposed communication services tax bill organised by the LCCI, stated that according to many schools of thought, the bill seeks to impose additional charges on users of electronic communication services in Nigeria.

He added that the proposed national ICT roadmap is poised to set out the intent and commitment of the government to continue the development of the ICT sector and implement the sector policies and plans in an integrated, focused and innovative manner that aligns with the change mantra of the current administration.

Shittu pointed out that the present administration’s goal is to provide cost effective, ubiquitous ICT access for overall national development, stating that as government plans to increase revenue, makes the bill worthy of consideration.

“I have been reliably informed that the projected earnings from this effort is over N20 billion every month, which is an attraction to the government in funding our budget deficits. I must be quick to say that this government has got a human face twined around its decisions,” he said.

The president, LCCI, Dr. Nike Akande, acknowledged the fact that the government is seeking to diversify its revenue base in the light of the dwindling oil revenue, but stressed that the private sector players would like to see an investment friendly tax environment, especially in the light of the prevailing high cost of doing business in the country.

She said the ICT sector is very strategic to sustainable growth and development, adding that the sector has witnessed an impressive growth over the last one decade.
She said according to the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Nigeria has become the largest telecoms market in Africa and the Middle East.

Meanwhile, the Partner, West Africa Tax Leader, PWC, Mr. Taiwo Oyedele, said the timing and the concept behind the bill could have been better, saying that making decisions without empirical evidences will only lead to wrong decisions.

He added that engagement with stakeholders in the industry and the users of the services have not been taking into consideration, saying that stakeholders must give their views before such bill is passed into law.
In another development, Shittu has said government would realise N240 billion annually from the proposed Information Communications and Technology (ICT) service tax to be introduced by government.

The ICT service tax bill which is currently pending before the National Assembly will apply to voice calls, SMS, MMS, data and pay viewings channels.

While urging for support for the quick passage of the bill, he said, the money generated from the tax will be used by government in funding its deficit budget.

He said: “Our appetite as a government to increase revenue makes this bill worthy of our consideration.
“I have been reliably informed that the projected earnings from this effort is over N20 billion naira every month, which is an attraction to the government in funding our budget deficits.

“I must be quick to say that this government has got a human face twined around its decisions.”
This was contained in a statement signed by Mr. Victor Oluwadamilare, on behalf of the minister, in Abuja, said the extra 9 percent tax to be paid by subscribers of telecommunications service.

While admitting that the proposed tax has generated some concern, he said: “The proposed bill said a section of the stakeholders have extrapolated that the bill seeks to impose additional nine per cent charges on users of electronic communication services which is to be remitted to the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), on a monthly basis.

According to him, the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) gave Nigerian the mandate to achieve 30 percent broadband penetration by 2018, adding that the target is only two years away.
“In spite of the huge investment by the government and industry operators, Nigeria has achieved only 10 per cent broadband penetration at the moment.

“If we are to catch up with lost ground and meet up with the expectations of the global community in the area of affordable broadband service, we have to incentivize the populace by helping to aid access to low cost data service subscription.” he said.

Shittu, however urged stakeholders in the sector to have a holistic deliberations on the communication services tax as being proposed in the ICT bill pending before the National Assembly.

The minister, said the goal of the ministry is to provide cost effective ubiquitous ICT access for overall national development, adding that the proposed solutions are the passage of the Critical National ICT sector infrastructure bill, hastening of the rollout of metro fibre networks, use of NIGCOMSAT Satellites to bridge the rural penetration gap and hosting of critical National Data within the country.
Source :http://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2016/08/18/telecoms-operators-fret-over-proposed-9-communication-services-tax/
BusinessCBN Reviews Weekly Dollar Sale To Bdcs To $50,000 by Laredojohn(op): 6:28am On Aug 17, 2016
· To disburse special intervention fund to real sector at single digit

James Emejo in Abuja

The Central Bank of N resolved to raise the amount of weekly foreign currency which banks are authorised to sell to Bureau de Change operators (BDCs) to $50,000 from the initial $30,000.

Also, the bank said the special intervention fund drawn from banks’ cash reserves sometime ago would now be disbursed to support the real sector, particularly primary agricultural projects and core manufacturing.

The CBN said the release of the funds would ease liquidity crunch, and allow for financing of critical projects at low interest regime.

Addressing journalists on the outcome of the Bankers’ Committee meeting in Abuja, CBN Director, Banking Supervision, Tokunbo Martins, alongside other bank chief executives, said the special intervention fund had remained idle for a long time and the committee reached an agreement that it be disbursed to support the real sector.

She, however, explained that projects that would benefit from the disbursement must strictly be the ones that support import substitution and help preserve foreign exchange by ensuring that whatever was being imported before would now be manufactured in the country,

She said: “So it would only be released to those kinds of projects and not any kinds of projects. Once those funds are released, we see some ease in the industry- there will be more liquidity and important projects will be able to get financing at lower interest rate and at single digit.”

However, Group Managing Director, United Bank for Africa (UBA), Kennedy Uzoka, said following the feedback from the market, the committee decided to effect an upward review in dollar sale to BDCs.

He said the increase would make more cash available to BDCs and increase the supply which would help to drive down price.
Accessing forex had been a topical issue for Nigerians in recent times and the CBN had been evolving various methods to douse the situation.

The Managing Director, Jaiz Bank Plc, Hassan Usman, said the committee deliberated on the need to promote financial inclusion through financial literacy programmes.
He said a two-day financial literacy workshop was being planned for media practitioners in order to enhance the awareness campaign as it seeks to achieve the 80 per cent financial inclusion target by 2020.

Group Managing Director, Zenith Bank Plc, Peter Amangbo, said discussions also centred on the forthcoming 2016 World Savings Day, adding that all banks would mobilise to cover all the 774 local government areas in the country to inculcate in Nigerians, the need to save massively.
Source: http://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2016/08/17/cbn-reviews-weekly-dollar-sale-to-bdcs-to-50000/

RomanceRe: How I Lost 6,000 Naira To A 19 Year-old Girl Yesterday by Laredojohn(m): 7:37pm On Aug 14, 2016
Hmmm u have been technically scammed....girls sha, that's why atime to pity girls who get treated bad by some guys is difficult, because it's likely payback for their past deeds....seed time and harvest time shall not cease, we have them ere too on NL, scammers association of Nigeria , NL branch
RomanceRe: This Pre-Wedding Photoshoot Of "Buy Gala" That Got People Talking by Laredojohn(m): 5:56pm On Aug 14, 2016
legalspices:
Its probably the way they met..... grin mine too will look like this cos its related

That's if I will do anypre wedding photo shoot with MR right cheesy
U must do oooo smiley

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 (of 174 pages)