Stats: 3,165,412 members, 7,861,159 topics. Date: Saturday, 15 June 2024 at 04:21 AM

Limamintruth's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Limamintruth's Profile / Limamintruth's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (of 34 pages)

Crime / Re: Julius Gospel Inalegwu Kidnapped In Kano by limamintruth: 8:48am On Jun 24, 2016
Dauraking:
This is a deliberate act against the Idoma nation. First the Buhari Libyans massacred the Idomas. Then they kidnapped and killed the first Idoma Catholic priest. Now another priest has been kidnapped. Folks, please read the handwriting on the wall.

Well, the Idoma nation did vote for apc'CHAIN', hence 'CHAIN' is what they are now getting. Unfortunately they should expect more of it.
Politics / Re: FG To Borrow To Pay N165bn Salaries Of Civil Servants - Adeosun by limamintruth: 8:03am On Jun 24, 2016
Activa:

You're moving into an opaque area.

Which capital projects were those?

2. What was their value?

3. Were they PAYING for them?

4. What percentage of the budget was capital expenditure? What was the absolute figure?

5. Does it make sense to borrow for salaries while able to afford capital expenditure?

6. By what percentage has the price of crude fallen?

7. Can the recovered loot be spent now?

8. Is there no capital project going on now?

It's good to be fair to all.

At least you've accepted that Okonjo Iweala borrowed to pay salaries, answer these too.

Why then did your apc decieve nigerians into believing that they were coming in to bring CHANGE, rather than maintaining the status quo of the past administration on same issues they vehemently criticized as opposition party
Just admit it that we have never had it so bad as we now have in this buhari regime; simple!
At least, I can vividly remember how we had much better power supply as at the time pdp handed power to your buhari last year. But now, the same ministry of power has suddenly turned to the ministry of darkness; courtesy apc government. undecided
Politics / Re: Civil Servants Salaries Not Sustainable - Adeosun by limamintruth: 3:51pm On May 06, 2016
“Last year, we spent N64 billion on travelling and only N90 billion on roads. Travelling does not grow the economy and this must also stop,’’ she said.
The minister said that the compound GDP of the country had been growing negatively in the last 10 years and the administration was working to correct the trend."

Hope Buhari will accept the above recommendation sha?
Family / Re: I Made A Horrible Mistake With My Lovely Wife by limamintruth: 9:38pm On Jan 30, 2016
harveyspec:

I kinda of understand you, I'm not an advocate for violence but certain occasions, hiting someone will be justified.

There is a way you flog a child it shows love/correction & in another way it will become child abuse. You don't flog to inflict injuries or cause bodily harm so also you are not to beat up a woman as though you are dealing with another man, neither are you to hit with your might!!!

At the end of the day, it comes down to adopt the model that best rocks your boat. A lady that tells you she NEVER SAW HER DAD HIT THE MUM, will equally tell you when probed further that, SHE NEVER SAW HER MUM EMASCULATE/INSULT/CONDESCEND HER DAD.

for such a lady, she won't condone violence & will rarely do things that will call for a slap excerpt she ends up with a naturally occurring abusive man.

I still stand by this:IF YOU DON'T WANT TO BE SLAPPED, DON'T EMASCULATE/INSULT/CONDESCEND

Are you inferring that it is ok to slap anyone that insults you, be it your fellow man, or your boss in the office? undecided

And does it mean that a wife whose husband uses
terrible words on(jst like the o.p admitted he did) is also justified to slap the offending spouse as well

Education / Re: ABU Produced A President, 3 VPs, 25 Governors & Others In Nigeria by limamintruth: 8:41pm On Nov 27, 2015
Ahmadabd:
ZARIA: CENTRE OF LEARNING

Ahmadu Bello University belongs to the First generation Universities in Nigeria, it was officially launched on October 4th 1962 in a colourful
ceremony presided over by it's first Chancellor, Sir Ahmadu Bello.

Today, Ahmadu Bello University has turned out to be the largest university in Nigeria, sub-saharan Africa and second largest to Al-Azhar University in Africa covering a land area of about 7,000 hectares. The University embraces 12 Faculties, a Postgraduate school, 94 Departments, 6 Institutes, 6 Specialized centres, a Division of 4 Agricultural colleges (DAC), a School of Basic and Remedial Studies (SBRS), a Demonstration Secondary School (DSS), and a Primary School.

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) has produced over 800,000 graduates in the last 50years (1962 - 2012). Among our alumni are President,
Governors, Speakers, Chief Judges, SGFs, Ministers, Academicians, Technocrats, Human right activists and others.

If your university no get president, ABU get Yar'adua If your university no get first lady, ABU get Turai
and Aisha Buhari If your university no get Governor, ABU get 10 out of the current 36 governors

This small Article is compiled and written by a 300 level student of the Ahmadu Bello University, Department of Human Anatomy, Faculty of
Medicine.

Below is a list of ABU alumni team #NaturallyAhead

As you read may the spirit of NaturallyAhead be with You

Greatest Abusite team #NaturallyAhead

PRESIDENT

1. Umaru Musa Yar'adua, GCFR

VICE PRESIDENTS

1. Oladipo Diya, GCON
2. Atiku Abubakar, GCON
3. Namadi Sambo, GCON

SPEAKER

1. Ghali Umar Na'Abba

CHIEF JUSTICE OF NIGERIA, CJN

1. Alouysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu, SAN
2. Idris Legbo Kutigi, GCON
3. Dahiru Musdapher, SAN
4. Muhammad Lawal Uwais, GCON
5. Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad
6. James Ogenyi Ogebe
7. Saifullahi Muntaka Coomassie
8.Mahmud Muhammed - Current

ECRETARY TO THE GOVERNMENT OF THE FEDERATION

1. Dr. Gidado Idris
2. Mahmud Yayele Ahmed
3. Engr. Babachir David Lawal - current

HEAD OF SERVICE FEDERATION

1. Dr. Danladi Irmiya Kifasit

GOVERNORS

1. Nasir Ahmad El-rufai, Current KAD
2. Abdullahi U. Ganduje, Current KAN
3. Samuel I. Ortom, Current BENt
4. Umaru T. Al-makura, Current NAS
5. Ibrahim H. Dankwambo, Current GOM
6. Ibrahim Geidam, Current YOB
7. Badaru Abubakar, Current JIG
8. Darius Ishaku, Current TAR
9. Muh'd A. Abubakar, Current BAU
10. Simon Lalong, Current PLA
11. Ahmad M. Makarfi, Fmr. KAD
12. Ibarhim S. Shema, Fmr. KAT
13. Donald Duke, Fmr. CRS
14. Patrick I. Yakowa, Fmr. KAD
15. Isa Yuguda, Fmr. BAU
16. Danbaba D. Suntai, Fmr. TAR
17. Mukhtar R. Yero, Fmr. KAD
18. Bukar A. Ibrahim, Fmr. YOB
19. Ibrahim N. D. Gari, Fmr. KEB
20. Mohammed Bawa, Fmr. EKT
21. Adamu A. Muazu, Fmr. BAU
22. Ibrahim Shekarau, Fmr. KAN
23. Umaru Yar'adua, Fmr. KAT
24. Barnabas Gemade, Fmr. BEN
25. James B. Ngillari, Fmr ADA

MINISTERS

1. Aisha Jummai Alhassan - women aff
2. Muh'd Bello Adoke - Justice
3. Jerry Gana - Information
4. Shamsudeen Usman - National Planning
5. Rilwanu Lukman - Petroleum
6. Nenadi Esther - Finance
7. Maryam Ciroma -
8. Umaru Dembo - Petroleum
9. Nasir el-Rufai - FCT
10. Samuel Ioraer Ortom - Trade/Investment
11. Darius Ishaku - NDDC
12. Ruqayya A. Rufai - Education
13. Ibrahim Shekarau - Education
14. Hadiza Mai-Lafiya - Environment

NNPC General Managing Directors

1. Shehu Ladan, GMD NNPC
2. Andrew Yakubu, GMD NNPC
3. James T. Dawha, GMD NNPC

IGP/DSS/EFCC

1. Solomon Arase - current IGP
2. Lawal Daura - Acting DG SSS
3. Ibrahim Lamorde - current DG EFCC
4. Afakriya Gadzama - Fmr DG SSS
5. Nuhu Ribadu - Fmr DG EFCC

ACADEMICIANS

1. Prof. Ayodele Awojobi, Scientist at UNILAG
2. Prof. Ibrahim H. Umar, fmr. VC BUK & VC
FUTMinna
3. Ussif Rashid Sumaila, Economist
4. Prof. Isa Marte Hussaini, Professor of
pharmacology
5. Dr. Aminu Safana, Neuro-surgeon
6. Prof. Abdullahi Mustapha, Pharmacist
7. Prof. Andrew J. Nok, Biochemist &
Commissioner of Health Kaduna State
8. Prof. Ibrahim Garba, Geologist
9. Prof. Ango Abdullahi, Chairman ACF, Agronomist
& fmr. VC
10. Prof. Lawal Khalid, CMD ABUTH

OTHERS

1. Attahiru Jega, Fmr. Chairman INEC
2. Gen. Azubike Ihejirika, Fmr. CoAS
3. Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, Fmr. CBN Governor &
Emir of Kano
4. Aisha Buhari, First Lady
5. Turai Yar'adua, Fmr. First lady
6. Ibrahim Boyi, CEO Peugeot Automobile Nigeria
Limited
7. Suleiman Barau, Deputy Governor CBN
8. Mansur Mukhtar, Fmr. Executive Director World
Bank
9. Rilwanu Lukman, Fmr. President OPEC

and many more

cc: lalastica

It feels good to be an abusite! grin

Family / Re: My Sister Is Making Her Success A Curse To Our Family by limamintruth: 3:00pm On Nov 27, 2015
Brugge:

You are right that life is not black and white. About @ Demainman's questions, I told him in my last response to him,

Yes it is true that a times plan fails but it is better to make a plan and no plan at all. Of course you could make a plan and at the end this didn't work out as planned. Let us be honest with ourselves, take a head count around you and you will noticed that most families ain't even considering that. Most of us are still stuck in the mentality that children are investment, thereby we can afford to bring as many as we want into this world without recourse to their future and how our actions/inactions will impact them.

If you work in the health sector one especially in the rural area you will understand why am hammering on it. My brother it is time we call a spade a spade. Trying to do things just the way our fathers did when it is obvious that it isn't working is nothing but foolishness. That there exist a slight possibility that one may be unfortunate to loos all they have acquired and worked hard for does not mean we should not encourage others to plan for the future.

The Demainman sounds as if because a plan could fail, hence the needs to breed as many children as possible without recourse on how to raise, just so that parents would have someone to look after them at old age.

Yea very true. Being a northerner who has been living in the north since childhood, I completely understand the point you made.

However, lets give the O.P the benefit of doubt that his family's case doesnt fall within the situation you raised.
Considering that the supposed breadwinner of the house(the dad) is late and the mom is sick.
We all know that some sicknesses are capable of running dry an individual's entire investment; and thats where family support comes in. Remember no man is an island; thus, certain emergency circumstances do require all hands on deck for a headway to be achieved.
Infact just last week, we were sadly informed that a colleague of ours and his wife both died in a ghastly motor-accident on their way to their hometown. And this couple have 3 small children(the eldest barely 13). So you can only imagine the fate of these kids cos relatives can really be unpredictable.
Note that these couple are doing financially well in their respective fields. Thus, the wealth of any family can be lost unexpectedly at anytime. That is why we do need each other.

Crime / Re: Man Shot Dead In Hotel In Lagos by limamintruth: 1:14pm On Nov 27, 2015
ijustdey:

www.pmnewsnigeria.com/cult-war-man-shot-dead-in-hotel/

I really smh for these lowlife ignorant youths. It is well sha. embarassed
Family / Re: My Sister Is Making Her Success A Curse To Our Family by limamintruth: 1:09pm On Nov 27, 2015
Brugge:

It is not a must that one most have kids, more especially when it is obvious that you can't take care of them. Do you know that the worst thing any adult could ever do is to give birth to a child you are well aware that you can't cater for.

If you lived in Lagos am sure you must have heard about young boys robbing people at traffic. I am sure because their parents needed someone to take care of them when they get old, they decided to give births to kids, kids they never had the intention to raise properly. What are the odds that kids like that will not get killed in their prime while engaging in robbery, and live long to take care of their parents at later years?

If only you have visited the North and seem with your eyes the menace of almajiri to the society. The danger of giving birth to children you are not capable of raising over rides any benefit that you could imagine from situation like that.

At your age you should know it is one thing to plan and at the end it didn't work out and a different ball game altogether not to make any plan. It is quite a shame you still allow emotions to becloud your judgment, when I listen to people like you talk and base your argument on mere emotions and sentiment eugenic is the only thing that comes to my mind.

I understand the point you are trying to make bro, but remember also that this life is not all in black or white. The point you rightly raised is just one out of several other different situations that exist in african societies today.

And @Demainman did ask you one salient question which you'v continously ignored; & that is: What about instances where the parents were financially doing so well and adequately trained their kids through school; but unfortunately, their 'great' financial empire later crumbled, leaving them with absolutely nothing other than their now-successful kids. Would you then advise these kids not to assist their parents financially whenever their help is sought? undecided

At least, we have been told that the O.P's dad is late; hence, It might be that the dad was the financial backbone of the family b4 his death, while the mom a fulltime housewife. And it might also be that most of the dad's saved-up money/investment were all spent on the deceased's medical treatments (thereby leaving behind next to nothing for the family).

Well my candid advise to the O.P is to ignore the sister's inconsiderate attitude and put more effort into making life easy for both himself and other family member cos you can only take a horse to the river, but you can never force it to drink water. I believe with God, nothing is impossible. smiley
Crime / Re: Photos: Nigerian Aviation College, Zaria. by limamintruth: 9:54pm On Nov 23, 2015
Paretomaster:
I don't think there is any state in Nigeria endowned with federal institutions like Zaria kaduna state...ABU, army depot, school of MILITARY
police, NUT, school Of aviation, NDA, NITT, air force base to mention but few....

... NARICT, NILEST, F.C.E, Polytechnic(State), NMS, e.t.c.
Politics / Re: Lawyers To INEC: Death Of APC Candidate Does Not Invalidate Election by limamintruth: 1:08pm On Nov 23, 2015
agabusta:

I understand what you are saying but I disagree.

Not too worry, the supreme court will soon give the final binding verdict.

But to think there is going to be a fresh election is a long thing.

Lol, alright then. Lets wait for the supreme court's interpretation. cool
Family / Re: Changing The Name Of A Property You Bought,before You Married Him To His Name? by limamintruth: 12:49pm On Nov 23, 2015
BIGkoboko:

But if he dies you would want to inherit his own.

For Christ sakes must everything related to relationships & marriage on nl always be turned into a battle of sexes. Haba mana!
Family / Re: Changing The Name Of A Property You Bought,before You Married Him To His Name? by limamintruth: 12:39pm On Nov 23, 2015
peeparty:

@the word willingly.

The two shall become one na...shebi its for
better and for worse? including properties.

And I dont see 'compulsion' anywhere in the above biblical quote you cited.

The question is will you sincerely do same for her if reverse was the case? undecided
Politics / Re: Lawyers To INEC: Death Of APC Candidate Does Not Invalidate Election by limamintruth: 12:28pm On Nov 23, 2015
agabusta:

you are still getting it wrong. There is no transfer of votes. The votes are owned by both of them. Atiku Vs Obasanjo's case comes in here as declared by the Supreme Court.

The votes are owned by them as governorship candidate & deputy governorship candidate respectively. Do not confuse yourself pls.
Same way the votes that brought obasanjo & atiku to power was in their separate positions as presidential & vice presidential candidate respectively. smiley

Therefore whoever will represent apc as substitute has to contest afresh the entire election in his/her new capacity/position as apc's substantive/rightful governorship candidate. Understand?
Politics / Re: Kogi Scenario: AGF Should Head To Supreme Court by limamintruth: 9:54am On Nov 23, 2015
Dotng:
Kogi scenario: AGF should head to Supreme Court

LAGOS—The death of the Kogi State governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Abubakar Audu, weekend, has brought to fore the need for drafters of the country’s constitution and Electoral Act to be more forward looking in preparing those documents to ensure that all scenarios are captured in the documents.

Today, the Electoral Act only provides that in case a candidate dies before an election, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, is mandatorily required to postpone the poll.

It stated in section 36 “(1): “If after the time for the delivery of nomination paper and before the commencement of the poll, a nominated candidate dies, the Chief National Electoral Commissioner or the Resident Electoral Commissioner shall, being satisfied of the fact of the death, countermand the poll in which the deceased candidate was to participate and the Commission shall appoint some other convenient date for the election within 14 days.”

But no provision was made for a situation, where a candidate dies during election like what has happened in Kogi State. The Electoral Act and constitution did not give the electoral body the power to pursue a specific line of action in this kind of situation, particularly where an election is inconclusive as it is in Kogi State today.
It will be recalled that INEC had declared the Kogi gubernatorial election inconclusive following the cancellation of the results of the poll in 59 polling units from 18 of the 21 local government areas of the state.
Announcing the decision on Sunday in Lokoja, the state capital, the Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Emmanuel Kucha, said the cancellation of 49,453 votes in 18 local government areas.

The issues that arose from of the Kogi scenario include, should the electoral body substitute the governorship candidate with his deputy, who only emerged a deputy by being selected by the gubernatorial candidate?

It must be remembered that the deputy did not emerge the candidate of the party and his ascending to the substantive position of governor is only when he has been sworn-in alongside the governor and death comes knocking or the governor is incapacitated, as provided by section 181 of the constitution, which provides: (1) If a person duly elected as Governor dies before taking and subscribing the Oath of Allegiance and oath of office, or is unable for any reason whatsoever to be sworn in, the person elected with him as Deputy governor shall be sworn in as governor and he shall nominate a new Deputy-Governor who shall be appointed by the Governor with the approval of a simple majority of the House of Assembly of the State.”
Interestingly, the Kogi election was declared inconclusive before Abubakar Audu’s death, as no winner was announced by INEC.

So, what should INEC do?
The quickest and perhaps the most viable, which will placate any form of protest and to serve as a precedence is for the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, to approach the Supreme Court straight away with an application for the interpretation of the constitution, so that the apex court can clear the coast on what should be done in the immediate, whether a fresh election should be held in the state or the APC deputy candidate should stand in place for Abubakar Audu or proffer the way forward in the interim.

Then afterwards, the National Assembly should amend the Electoral Act on what should happen, since amending the constitution is far more problematic given the processes that must be followed.

Also, to ensure that all scenarios are captured in the Electoral Act, so that we are not left gasping again, when some other thing happens in the course of election, the Federal Government, should also propose an amendment of the Act, which can be presented as an executive bill to the National Assembly proposing the required amendments to the Act.

The makers of our laws must start being broad and forward looking and make laws that will stand the test of time, so that we don’t repeat the Rotimi Amaechi’s case against Celestine Omahia, which the apex court after adjusting warned should not be cited as precedent.

News Analysis by Innocent Anaba, Head, Judiciary, Law and Human Rights

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2015/11/kogi-scenario-agf-should-head-to-supreme-court/

I agree with this submission 100%. cool

Cos if inec takes any step without obtaining legal advice or directive from the supreme court, the body will have to contend with stiff opposition, criticisms & possibly legal battle from one or more political parties participating in the election.
Politics / Re: Lawyers To INEC: Death Of APC Candidate Does Not Invalidate Election by limamintruth: 9:43am On Nov 23, 2015
agabusta:

Independent candidacy is nonexistent in Nigeria.

The mandate is jointly owned by the party and the candidates. The party takes the prority here followed by the candidates.

According to the electoral Act, If the major flag bearer dies before the election, then the election will be cancelled and another election conducted.

According to the constitution, If an elected candidate dies before assuming office, the Deputy is sworn in as replacement.

The constitution/electoral Act is silent on what happens when the election is still in progress and the lead candidate of one of the parties dies.

From my own opinion, as the mandate is also owned by the party, the votes gotten so far cannot be voided as it is a vote for APC, Audu and Faleke.

As APC and Faleke are still available, the votes gotten so far rightly belongs to them and they should go on to complete the process with Faleke as the Flag bearer.

Faleke will then nominate someone as a running mate.

Still wishful thinking mister. Casted votes cannot be transferred from one individual to another whether or not both are of the same political party.

And though both the constitution & the electoral act are silent on this particular scenerio/case, the following section of the constitution seems most related to the case at hand:

"178(3)Where in an election to the office of Governor of a State one of the two or more candidates nominated for the election is the only candidate after the close of nomination, by reason of the disqualification, withdrawal, incapacitation, disappearance or death of the other candidates, the Independent National Electoral Commission shall extend the time for nomination."

Note that Faleke cannot be declared as the 'rightful candidate' for apc at this point cos he is neither the rightful winner of apc's primaries nor has inec declared apc's governorship flagbearer as winner of kogi state governorship election.

The phrase "It is the political party that is the beneficiary of an election & not the candidate" was erroneously cited by Barr. Abayomi(as culled from the op) in isolation. The position of law must always prevail over & above any party's supposed benefits (Rotimi Amaechi's case comes to mind). Amaechi was declared winner of Rivers state 2007 governorship election by the supreme court solely because in the eyes of the law, he was the 'rightful candidate' of pdp (being the winner of the party's governorship primaries at the time).

Hence simply put, Abubakar Audu's votes cannot be transferred to Faleke cos in the eyes of the law, Faleke is still apc's deputy governorship candidate & not the party's substantive governorship candidate.

The only viable way out is to cancel the inconclusive election & fix a new date for a fresh election wherein apc will field a new governorship candidate for the election.

B.T.W, I wonder why all apc members seem apprehensive & scared of having fresh elections conducted by inec. grin
Politics / Re: What The Electoral Acts Says About The Death Of A Candidate by limamintruth: 9:01am On Nov 23, 2015
NgeneUkwenu:

You didn't mention others SANS who have contrary views?

Culled from nl frontpage today:-
DONSMITH123:
Lawyers yesterday told the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) that the death of the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) does not invalide the on-going election in the state.

They urged INEC to allow the deputy governorship candidate of the APC, Abiodun Faleke, to conclude the on-going election.

The former Chairman of Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Ikeja Branch, Monday Ubani; a member of the Ogun State Judiciary Service Commission, Abayomi Omoyinmi and a lecturerý of Law at University of Lagos (UNILAG), Akoka, Wahab Shittu said the process should be concluded.

Ubani said: “Since the Electoral Act didn’t specifically provide for things like this happening in the course of an election, we would have to make recourse to the judicial pronouncement in the case of Rotimi Amaechi where the Supreme Court said in an election, it is the political party that is the beneficiary of election and not the candidate. That is why Amaechi that didn’t contest elections was sworn in.

“In this situation, the deputy governorship candidate would have to step in to conclude the process. If he wins the election, the APC would then decide on another deputy for him”.

According to Ubani, the time to choose a candidate through primary election had lapsed for all the political parties and it is not possible for any of the parties to go for primaries anymore.

Omoyinmi said: “In the eyes of the law, the deputy should ordinarily conclude the re-run election for the office of the governor and it is now left for him to pick a new running mate”.

Omoyinmi said the kind of situation in Kogi was not envisaged.

Shittu said the matter could be viewed from different perspectives.

Shittu said since the election was declared inconclusive, the running mate should be allowed to step in and conclude the process of the supplementary election.

This, he said, has become necessary because the electoral law did not envisage such an incident–Audu’s death.

On the other perspective, he said since it is the ýparty that fields the candidate, and that since the election has turned this way, the party would have to replace the governorship candidate.

“Which means that election might be conducted afresh. The death of a candidate during the process of an election automatically voids the election. It is not a question of an election being inconclusive. The entire electoral process is now altered with the death of the governorship candidate,” he said.

Constitutional lawyer and Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) Malam Yusuf Ali said the situation in Kogi is “very complex, because the election has been declared inconclusive”.

He said: “If he had won the election outright, it would have been a different matter, but with the way things are, it is very delicate.”

Chief Niyi Akintola (SAN) said: “There can be fresh election. INEC can only conduct supplementary election in the 91 polling units. The death of Audu cannot nullify the election. It was APC that contested the governorship election not Audu as an individual.”

Akintola explained that it is left to the APC to pick another candidate from among those that contested the governorship primary with Audu or ask the deputy governorship candidate, James Faleke to take over.

“The decision lies with the APC,” he added.

The presidential candidate of the United Progressive Party (UPP) in the last general elections, Chief Chekwas Okorie, said it was a very shocking development that threw everybody off-balance.

He said: “ From every indication, it is a political party that wins an election; the result so far released suggests that the people of Kogi State are favourably disposed to an APC government to be in-charge of affairs in the next four years. What it therefore means is that the APC still has a chance, even his death, to govern the state, based on the result already declared.

“So, they should follow up the supplementary election with the same atmosphere of peace that we witnessed in last Saturday’s election. If their choice is the APC, then let the APC rule them in the next four years.”

Cc: lalasticlala

http://thenationonlineng.net/lawyers-to-inec-death-of-apc-candidate-does-not-invalidate-election/

However, note that Amaechi's case cited by Barr. Abayomi Omoyinmi above does not in anyway relate to Abubakar Audu's case & the Barrister also erred in quoting a single submission by the supreme court in isolation.
The determining issue is 'who the party's rightful governorship candidate is as at the time of election'.
Note that the 'rightful candidate' here is that contestant who lawfully wins his party's primary election to become the gubernatorial flagbearer.
Note also that Rotimi ameachi was the winner of pdp gubernatorial primaries in his time (making him the rightful candidate). And this was solely why the supreme court confirmed him as the
governor.
{The facts of Rotimi Amaechi's supreme court case is available online for all to read & understand}.

Therefore, these two scenarios cannot be compared cos while a amaechi was the rightful candidate of his (then) party by virtue of him being the winner of the primaries; Abubakar Audu's deputy cannot be regarded as the 'rightful candidate' candidate of apc in this partly conclusive election since he is not the lawful winner of apc's governorship primaries.

Hope you understand my post? undecided
Politics / Re: Lawyers To INEC: Death Of APC Candidate Does Not Invalidate Election by limamintruth: 8:28am On Nov 23, 2015
DONSMITH123:
Lawyers yesterday told the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) that the death of the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) does not invalide the on-going election in the state.

They urged INEC to allow the deputy governorship candidate of the APC, Abiodun Faleke, to conclude the on-going election.

The former Chairman of Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Ikeja Branch, Monday Ubani; a member of the Ogun State Judiciary Service Commission, Abayomi Omoyinmi and a lecturerý of Law at University of Lagos (UNILAG), Akoka, Wahab Shittu said the process should be concluded.

Ubani said: “Since the Electoral Act didn’t specifically provide for things like this happening in the course of an election, we would have to make recourse to the judicial pronouncement in the case of Rotimi Amaechi where the Supreme Court said in an election, it is the political party that is the beneficiary of election and not the candidate. That is why Amaechi that didn’t contest elections was sworn in.

“In this situation, the deputy governorship candidate would have to step in to conclude the process. If he wins the election, the APC would then decide on another deputy for him”.

According to Ubani, the time to choose a candidate through primary election had lapsed for all the political parties and it is not possible for any of the parties to go for primaries anymore.

Omoyinmi said: “In the eyes of the law, the deputy should ordinarily conclude the re-run election for the office of the governor and it is now left for him to pick a new running mate”.

Omoyinmi said the kind of situation in Kogi was not envisaged.

Shittu said the matter could be viewed from different perspectives.

Shittu said since the election was declared inconclusive, the running mate should be allowed to step in and conclude the process of the supplementary election.

This, he said, has become necessary because the electoral law did not envisage such an incident–Audu’s death.

On the other perspective, he said since it is the ýparty that fields the candidate, and that since the election has turned this way, the party would have to replace the governorship candidate.

“Which means that election might be conducted afresh. The death of a candidate during the process of an election automatically voids the election. It is not a question of an election being inconclusive. The entire electoral process is now altered with the death of the governorship candidate,” he said.

Constitutional lawyer and Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) Malam Yusuf Ali said the situation in Kogi is “very complex, because the election has been declared inconclusive”.

He said: “If he had won the election outright, it would have been a different matter, but with the way things are, it is very delicate.”

Chief Niyi Akintola (SAN) said: “There can be fresh election. INEC can only conduct supplementary election in the 91 polling units. The death of Audu cannot nullify the election. It was APC that contested the governorship election not Audu as an individual.”

Akintola explained that it is left to the APC to pick another candidate from among those that contested the governorship primary with Audu or ask the deputy governorship candidate, James Faleke to take over.

“The decision lies with the APC,” he added.

The presidential candidate of the United Progressive Party (UPP) in the last general elections, Chief Chekwas Okorie, said it was a very shocking development that threw everybody off-balance.

He said: “ From every indication, it is a political party that wins an election; the result so far released suggests that the people of Kogi State are favourably disposed to an APC government to be in-charge of affairs in the next four years. What it therefore means is that the APC still has a chance, even his death, to govern the state, based on the result already declared.

“So, they should follow up the supplementary election with the same atmosphere of peace that we witnessed in last Saturday’s election. If their choice is the APC, then let the APC rule them in the next four years.”

Cc: lalasticlala

http://thenationonlineng.net/lawyers-to-inec-death-of-apc-candidate-does-not-invalidate-election/

Lol; wishful thinking by apc legal apologists. grin

I can see that in their desperation, apc newspaper 'the nation' went around interviewing their legal apologists to mislead people.

But whether apc likes it or not, no party can participate in any election without a flagbearer; a party's candidate is just as important as the party sponsoring him/her.

Note that no party can succeed without fielding a candidate, but its possible to have an independent candidate(who is not contesting on the platform of any political party) participate in election.
Politics / Re: What The Electoral Acts Says About The Death Of A Candidate by limamintruth: 8:06am On Nov 23, 2015
NgeneUkwenu:

I asked you a question regarding time limit for party's nomination of candidate and you are talking about fixing the election...

And I duly answered if only you'll carefully read my post without bias. smiley

Any date less than 3months is a short period madam. On the average, it takes political parties at least a year to chose their party's flagbearer (via primaries), submit the candidate's name to inec & then conclude the campaigning stage.
Hence, if any party is given less than 3months to carry out all the aforementioned, that to all, is a 'SHORT PERIOD'. Comprend'e? undecided

janellemonae:

Tunji braithwaithe & Afenifere are PDP members, who have everything to GAIN from this death. They wld have lost this election.

Unless you can prove otherwise, Abubakar Audu died of natural causes. So no need to infuse si.lly sentiments the issue at hand. smiley

Or is Hassan Liman(S.A.N) also a pdp member Cos he said the same thing as Tunji Braithwaite on channels tv(yesterday).
Politics / Re: Audu Vomited Blood Before His Death - Daily Post by limamintruth: 12:24am On Nov 23, 2015
lalasticlala:

http://dailypost.ng/2015/11/22/how-audu-repeatedly-vomited-blood-before-his-death/

Abubakar Audu's case just reminds me of Umaru Yar'adua's case as well.

These old men know they are sick (with failing health) but still insist they must contest for election, haba! sad

Greed no good gaskiya. R.I.P.
Politics / Re: What The Electoral Acts Says About The Death Of A Candidate by limamintruth: 12:15am On Nov 23, 2015
NgeneUkwenu:

Why would INEC give the APC short time to nominate? Does INEC have their own constitution? So the new candidate will not have enough time to campaign? INEC will be creating a bigger constitutional issue, if they go ahead to cancel the election!

Providing a period within which a fresh election shall hold is solely for inec to decide. But note that election is required to be held not earlier than 60days & not later than 30days before the expiration of the term of office of the last holder of that office; hence the new election date must be in accordance with the aforestated proviso.

And controversy will occur only if the electoral body decides to proceed with the partly concluded election by transferring Abubakar Audu's votes to the new governorship flagbearer apc will chose. Thus, holding a fresh election as soon as practicable is the only viable alternative.

Also, the constitutional provision below is indeed of interest:

"178(3)Where in an election to the office of Governor of a State one of the two or more candidates nominated for the election is the only candidate after the close of nomination, by reason of the disqualification, withdrawal, incapacitation, disappearance or death of the other candidates, the Independent National Electoral Commission shall extend the time for nomination."

Notable lawyers have also shared same view on the issue as seen thus,:

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2015/11/kogi-lawyers-divided-over-fresh-polls-or-conclusion-of-inclusive-exercise/

"There should be fresh election – Braithwaite
Speaking on the issue Sunday, Second Republic politician and legal icon, Dr Tunji Braithwaite said the demise of Prince Abubakar calls for a fresh governorship election in Kogi.

Dr Braithwaite’s views were shared by Barr Bisi Adegbuyi, a stalwart of the Afenifere Renewal group, ARG.
”There is nothing other (than) holding another election. APC should be allowed to present another candidate. Since the election has not been concluded, the Deputy Governorship candidate cannot take his place, he is not the candidate,” he said."

(Hassan Liman S.A.N also gave same legal view during his interview on channels tv today). Goodnight.

Family / Re: Islam And Polygamy by limamintruth: 11:20pm On Nov 22, 2015
MrOlai:

No! Even though some men hide under excuses for personal desires, there are genuine reasons for men to marry more than one wife! We can't be wiser than God! That husbands should not marry another wives is just an excuse from women for fleshy desires too like you accused men. Majority of women don't want their husbands to marry another wives yet they wouldn't mind if their husbands sleep with other women outside as in boyfriend/girlfriend relationship!

And were you personally there when the supposed 'God' passed that law or injunction? undecided

We need to maintain the religious neutrality this family section possesses. ThankU! cool

Politics / Re: What The Electoral Acts Says About The Death Of A Candidate by limamintruth: 11:05pm On Nov 22, 2015
Alphaoscar:

the section you are quoting clearly says before the commencement of the poll but the candidate voted and his vote was counted . the rescheduled election is not a fresh election but the continuation of the one already conducted.

And that was why I stated that the said section(as quoted by the O.P) does not apply to Abubakar Audu's case. Its obvious you didnt understand my post; lol.

The only viable & legally appropriate alternative is for inec to cancel the whole election, fix a new date for a fresh election & give apc a short period of time within which to chose(& submit to inec the name of) a new governorship candidate for the party.
This is the only acceptable way out. cool
Politics / Re: What The Electoral Acts Says About The Death Of A Candidate by limamintruth: 10:55pm On Nov 22, 2015
yommen:

How did Jonathan become president? Not similar? Did anybody raise eyebrow? Or are there not indigenous Yoruba people in Kogi? Can't they governor?

Its not similar cos Abubakar Audu(late) has neither been declared the winner by inec nor has he & his deputy been sworn in by the Chief Judge of the state as such. smiley
Politics / Re: What The Electoral Acts Says About The Death Of A Candidate by limamintruth: 10:51pm On Nov 22, 2015
Realdeals:
What The Electoral Acts Says About The Death Of a Candidate

http://www.newsheadlines.com.ng/latest-news/2015/11/22/what-the-electoral-acts-says-about-the-death-of-a-candidate/

cc: lalasticlala, Ishilove

Unfortunately this doesnt apply to 'marigayi' Abubakar Audu's case.

"SECTION 36 - Death of a candidate - (1) If after the time for the delivery of nomination paper AND BEFORE THE COMMENCEMENT OF THE POLL, a nominated candidate dies, the Chief National Electoral Commissioner or the Resident Electoral Commissioner shall, being satisfied of the fact of the death, countermand the poll in which the deceased candidate was to participate and the Commission shall appoint some other convenient date for the election within 14 days." cool
Politics / Re: Missing Soldier:Nigerian Army Officials In Contradictory Claims-Sahara Reporters by limamintruth: 5:39pm On Nov 21, 2015
100+ nigerian soldiers missing? shocked

Lalle kam! This is indeed a big dent on buhari's administration cos its first of it kind!! lipsrsealed

Career / Re: I Work With A Dead Man's Certificate: I Need Help..please HELP A Nlder by limamintruth: 5:28pm On Nov 21, 2015
Konzent:
[color=#990000][/color]With due respect, i think nairalanders are intertwining law with morality. Both are not necessarily coterminous. An act may be unlawful but morality has nothing against it. This is one of such. If we use the clothes, houses and vehicles left behind by a dead man, i don't think anything is wrong with using his certificate. He couldn't have used it in the grave, it does him no harm that OP is using it. In fact the deceased may be happy that even in the grave, his achievement still puts food on someone's table. Go ahead op, the dead is not angry,rather happy that you are promoting his name. But don't be caught up with the law, your act is illegal.

The O.P is guilty of impersonation and that is a crime provided for in our laws.

Inheriting the property of a deceased person is completely different from pretending to be someone(whether living or dead).

For what its worth, I'd advise the O.P to come clean & confess his sin before God, resign from the job he got through impersonation & return to his true self. Because wealth built on lies & fraud can never last or end well. smiley
The O.P can still build on his real 3rd class degree & achieve greatness at the end of it all in truth.

I also applaud that pious lady who turned down his offer when she found out he was an unrepentant impersonator. If it where some money-drunk ladies, they will go ahead to marry such criminal since there is enough money to spend.
Crime / Re: Man Hangs Self After Raping Brother’s Wife by limamintruth: 4:37pm On Nov 21, 2015
Islie:

http://thenationonlineng.net/man-hangs-self-after-allegedly-raping-brothers-wife/

What is going on in the south of naija naaa

If its not igbo crime related story, it will be yoruba crime related story, nawaooo.

Anyways, God dey sha. cool
Crime / Re: Man Cuts Off Wife's Ears During Domestic Violence (Graphic Photos) by limamintruth: 4:31pm On Nov 21, 2015
Well, I find it hard to believe that the young lady was completely unaware of the man's monstrous traits before walking down the aisle with him. sad

Its a pity sha.
Religion / Re: How Do I Reconcile With My Parents? by limamintruth: 4:22pm On Nov 21, 2015
quincybee12:
I was born into a catholic family. My parents especially my mom is a die-hard catholic. I did all the catholic sacraments, baptism, confirmation, holy eucharist, except matrimony which would come by God's grace. I was known in my parish for being a devout member of some societies.

Fast forward to this day, I'm no more a catholic, I attend bible believing churches like faith baptist/rccg. This is because upon completion of my university education, I was inspired by the Holy spirit to know the truth, I couldn't prove so many catholic beliefs in the bible, and I care a lot about my eternity. It caused a lot of dispute between I and my parents and even up till today, they've stopped calling me or asking about my welfare. All efforts to convince them beyond reasonable doubt have proved abortive. Pls I need your advice nlanders coz I need to reconcile with my family.

I'd advise you obey your parent's words by returning to catholicism (especially when you are home with them), until you become fully financially independent from them pls.

Cos no need for any unnecessary rancour my sister. smiley

Nairaland / General / Re: Photos: Truck Crashes In Jos, Covers Almost The Entire Road by limamintruth: 2:25pm On Nov 21, 2015
Accidents occurring on nigerian roads since 1900s.. shocked

I really hope no casualty sha.. cool
Nairaland / General / Re: Photos: Truck Crashes In Jos, Covers Almost The Entire Road by limamintruth: 2:25pm On Nov 21, 2015
Accidents occurring on nigerian roads since 1900s.. shocked

I really hope no casualty sha.. cool
Foreign Affairs / Re: Popular Quotes By Idi Amin Of Uganda by limamintruth: 2:18pm On Nov 21, 2015
Rotimi47:
State the good that Amin did to his people; Africans like you are the reason African countries make up most of the least developed countries in the world due to your reasoning.

True talk bro.
You dont have to waste your time replying the likes of '@thot' who solely defend idi amin simply cos he is a muslim like them; thats all.

These same religious apologists are always quick in accepting negative stories about 'infidel' George Bush, while they shamelessly reject damning articles on 'believer' idi amin; lol. grin

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (of 34 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 123