ANTIlSLAM: Good that you said "When God sent the prophets, He supported them with miracles and evidence which proved that they were truly prophets sent by God and hence that the religion they came with is true. " Sir no vex ooo this question wey I wan ask.
Bro, tell us miracle(s) Muhammad performed while alive
You're welcome always sir. there are many of them sir and I'll review them in this series In Sha Allah. But you might want to download the book here and read in interim.. it's an 80 pages book sir:
This week alone, I've come across these two questions online (both translating to the fact that some people still have some doubts about the existence of Allah (God) and His words - May He save us from disbelieving Him after we've believed) : 1. "How did it all begin?" i.e stylishly asking the question of "who created God?" 2. "Since Iblis (Satan) is evil and pointing people towards evils and falsehood, why did God leave him and not just kill him" (ki kaluku o sin mi)?
Motivated by this type of questions (and the related) with doubts people (Muslims and non-muslims) have about the only God, In Sha Allah, starting from this week, I'll be reviewing a book entitled "a brief illustrated guide to understanding Islam" written by I.A Ibrahim. It is an 80 pages interesting book that clarifies some of these doubts with evidences from Sciences and logic.
This is the abstract of the book attached:
"If we would like to know if a religion is true or false, webshould not depend on our emotions, feelings, or traditions. Rather, we should depend on our reason and intellect. When God sent the prophets, He supported them with miracles and evidence which proved that they were truly prophets sent by God and hence that the religion they came with is true. "
ANTIlSLAM: Let me address your dilemma, you asked "So when Jesus was on earth, who was in heaven? The answer is his FATHER, his father sent him to die for you and I
You asked this too "When Jesus was baptised and a voice said "This is my beloved son in whom I'm well pleased". Who was talking here? The answer still remains his FATHER
Stop saying and shouting allahu akbar when killing, beheading, when causing havoc against Christians and innocent citizens, that's what the guy is telling you
Sound confusing sir. Can you also read this over again and see how it sounds smelling and confusing
It is not permissible for a Muslim to say “Jesus!” when he is astonished or amazed or startled, as the Christians do, because what they mean when they say it is “Oh my God!”, because they believe that Jesus (‘Eesa – peace be upon him) is God, but Jesus is not God; rather he is the slave and Messenger of Allah. Whoever believes that ‘Eesa is in any way divine is a disbeliever.
Qur'an must be read and memorized the way it was revealed to the Prophet (may the peace of Allah be upon him) using Tajweed rule. Those reciting or memorizing Qur'an should take note of the following
"Even though we are to beautify our voice during recitation, a sweet melodious voice does not automatically imply that the reciter is using the tajwīd rules.
The alphabet ع sounds nice but avoid replacing the أ with it. Some brothers recite الحمد لله as علعمد لله! They are the type who greet you by saying علسلام عليكم
Avoid memorizing the Qur'ān without tajwīd. Renovation is sometimes difficult than building a house afresh! Ask any hāfidh of the Qur'ān. They always prefer a fresh student to the one whose tongue and mind are already tied to a particular wrong recitation. May Allāh subhānahu wa ta'āla make us among those who understand and make use of the lessons taught in the book of Allāh. May He make us good reciters and memorizers of the Qur'ān."
During the annual Hajj pilgrimage on April 15, 1997, a massive fire ripped through the tent city of Mina (Makkah), killing over 340 pilgrims and wounding over 1,500 others.
An estimated 2 million people assembled in Mina on the first day of Hajj. A canister of cooking gas (gas stove) exploded around 11:45 a.m. on that day, triggering a massive fire in the camp. Winds of over 40 miles per hour (64 kilometers per hour) drove the fire out of control, causing it to spread to nearby tents. An estimated 70,000 tents were destroyed in all.
The Saudis employed helicopters and 300 fire engines to put out the fire. Trucks fired powerful water jets into the camp, filling the air with black smoke, according to television news sources.
Following the Mina fire, King Fahd bin Abdulaziz sent condolences to the families of the dead from Saudi Arabia and overseas on behalf of himself and his country. The majority of the pilgrims, according to diplomats, were Indian and Pakistanis.
Following the incident, the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Fahad (May Allah mercy upon him) issued orders to take measures and prevent such an incident from reoccurring.
The majority of tents in Mina were made fireproof within a year and a comprehensive fire plan was introduced, since then not a major fire incident has taken place and during small incidents, the fire has been controlled with no casualties or injuries
IJOBA11: ACTUALLY MURIC IS VERY IN SUPPORT OF WHAT IS HAPPENING IN NIGERIA.
LUKGAF IS A MUNAFIKAI FOR NOT RESPONDING TO MY QUESTION.
THERE’S A CHAPTER FOR PEOPLE LIKE HIM IN THE HOLY QURAN
Honored brother IJOBA11, may Allah forgive you and us and guide us all to the right path, kindly note that I just have access to your messages/comments and not that I intentionally ignore them (I'm sorry for any inconveniences). Concerning your question, it is not part of Islam and Sunnah to publicly criticise leaders (Muslim or not) or incite people against them. If there's opportunity to meet them privately and advise, that's good and nice!
Also, why would you expect me to incite people against our leaders honoured brother, when I'm not a politicians. Let's pray for a good leaders and leave politics for the politicians!
Lastly with due respect Sir, it is not good to tag a bad name to a someone e.g Munafiki when you do not have a proof that confirms. Also, try and give people excuse before reaching a conclusion.
"As Muslims, we need to draw a balance and be governed by fairness, justice and the truth – however unpalatable it may be to us. It is high time that we relook at the whole equation and realise that every Prince charming also requires a gracious Princess charming who is an embodiment of Sayyidatina Fatimatus RA and also emulates her noble habits of hayaa, modesty, virtues, truthfulness, service to her husband, loyalty, chastity, tolerance, forbearance, dedication, perseverance, gentleness, respect, dignity and decorum among so many of her other great and noble qualities. Society needs to revisit this whole equation, stop the blame game, and stop always blaming the sometimes very often innocent husband."
Whilst our society generally places all, if not most blame, squarely on the husband when it comes to a breakdown of a marriage, the stark reality is that many a times the wife is equally guilty or even far more guiltier than her husband. The perception of society needs to be adjusted in this regard. It will be beneficial to keep in mind that in any conflict situation, whether marriage or war, the first casualty is generally always the truth. This is the reason many an Aalim and Social Worker maintain that there are always three sides to every story: his, hers and the truth!
Instead of playing the blame game, the sad truth is that many a parent has failed to make the proper tarbiyah (character development) of their children. They have failed to train their sons and daughter as to the realities of married life, the ups and downs of life. Many a naive daughter who then goes on to be a wife, understands marriage through a fantasy rose spectacled world of Mills & Boons, Hollywood, Bollywood and those romantic movies that paint a fairy tale and unrealistic ‘picture’ of practical married life, devoid of life’s challenges. So the naive Princess goes into a marriage with superficial and unreasonable expectations that are totally unrealistic in day to day life. The same applies to a son.
When the harsh realities of life are experienced, when the couple have differences of opinion and difficult decisions to make – all of which are part of everyday life, instead of dealing with the issues, the SOS is made to parents to cart the Princess back home far from her now ‘uncharming’ Prince. In such a situation, parents more often do untold harm and irreparable damage by way of character assassination, backbiting and slander to the marriage, instead of dealing maturely with issues and resolving differences with dignity and decorum.
Dirty linen, slander and inflamed emotions are plastered all over social media to vent a one sided story, thereby escalating a small problem into a ‘world war’. The immaturity of parents very often becomes so stark that it overshadows their immature daughter as well. Instead of acknowledging their Princesse’s flaws due to their own inadequacy and lack of marital preparation from childhood, the tirade and character assassination begins. Battle lines are drawn not only by the parents and spouses, but even by the extended families!
Tragically, Children born of a broken marriage bear the greatest brunt of such actions. Any reasonable attempt at reconciliation is dismissed without the slightest foresight. Sadly, the secular mindset which has become the norm of our society has become the hallmark of our Muslim marriages. As Muslims, we need to draw a balance and be governed by fairness, justice and the truth – however unpalatable it may be to us. It is high time that we relook at the whole equation and realise that every Prince charming also requires a gracious Princess charming who is an embodiment of Sayyidatina Fatimatus Zahra RA and also emulates her noble habits of hayaa, modesty, virtues, truthfulness, service to her husband, loyalty, chastity, tolerance, forbearance, dedication, perseverance, gentleness, respect, dignity and decorum among so many of her other great and noble qualities. Society needs to revisit this whole equation, stop the blame game, and stop always blaming the sometimes very often innocent husband.
Remember, It takes TWO patient, tolerant, mature, reasonable, accommodating, forgiving, realistic, enduring, caring, pious, gracious and loving individuals to form a bond of marriage which can then practically translate into a bliss of Heaven on Earth!
"Success in this world is directly related to the strength of your relationship with Allah Ta’ala. The further one is from Allah Ta’ala and the teachings of Nabi Muhammad ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him), the less likely one is to achieve success in this world and, even less likely to achieve success in the hereafter. It is necessary for us to reflect upon our Islamic teachings and become a highly successful Muslim youth.
Here are seven habits which are essential for a Muslim youth to be highly successful, derived from the Qur-aan and the teachings of Nabi Muhammad ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him)."
1. BE TRUTHFUL
Being truthful is the greatest quality of a Muslim. Nabi ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him)was known as As-Saadiq (The Truthful) even before he became a Nabi. The highest position on the Day of Qiyaamah will be afforded to those who are TRUTHFUL. Many a times we feel it difficult to speak the truth especially when we make a mistake. We worry over whether or not to disclose exactly what happened. We are often afraid that if we speak the truth about what we have done or said, we will be in trouble with our parents or friends. What we forget is that Allah Ta’ala knows exactly what took place, whether the people around us know or not. A person is immediately relieved when he speaks the truth even if he will be punished for what he did. Allah Ta’ala tells us in the Qur-aan “This is a day in which the truthful will benefit from their truth. For them is Jannah, with rivers flowing beneath their eternal Home: Allah is well-pleased with them, and they with Allah. That is the great salvation, (the fulfilment of all desires).” (Al-Ma’idah 5:119)
One who speaks the truth is always respected by people whereas a liar is always disgraced in the sight of people. He will have to keep on lying to cover up for his first lie. Being truthful is not an option for Muslims. It is an obligation, because our goal in being truthful is Jannah. Rasulullah ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him) has said, “Truthfulness leads to righteousness, and righteousness leads to Jannah. And a man keeps on telling the truth until he becomes a truthful person. Falsehood leads to Fujoor (wickedness, evil-doing), and Fujoor leads to Jahannam, and a man may keep on telling lies till he is written before Allah as a liar.” (Sahih Bukhaari, Hadith #116) Ultimate success is therefore achieved by living one’s entire life as a truthful person.
2. BE TRUSTWORTHY
Are you considered a trustworthy person? Nabi Muhammad ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him) was known in Makkah to be the most trustworthy person. If you want to progress in life you have to become trustworthy and reliable. The Ambiyaa (Prophets) of Allah Ta’ala were all trustworthy people. Practice developing the habit of being trustworthy daily. Accept responsibility and then fulfil it. When others trust you, do not betray their trust. You can read in the beautiful biography of our Nabi Muhammad ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him) how people used to entrust him with their valuables, knowing that upon their return they would find their valuables safe and unharmed. His personal and business practices were commendable to such an extent that he was known for it in his community. Even before he became aware that he was the Nabi of Allah Ta’ala, he was known as the one who is most truthful and trustworthy.
3. HAVE TAQWA (Self-restraint and be Allah-conscious)
Perhaps the most difficult challenge while passing through youth is to restrain oneself from one’s evil desires. Our success in life depends to a great extent on how well we are able to restrain ourselves from what is impermissible. Shaytaan’s goal is to make man a slave of his desires.
To become a highly successful Muslim youth, that is, a youth deserving of the greatest fortune, it is important that you develop self-restraint. How wonderful it will be if in your old age you can look back at your life and say to yourself, “All praise is due to Allah Ta’ala that I did not succumb to my desires and instead adopted Taqwa.
4. BE SYSTEMATIC AND ORGANISED
A Muslim youth must be systematic and organised in everything that he does. We should never get into the habit of doing things haphazardly. If we are entrusted to do some work by our elders, we should make sure it is done correctly and respectably. Rasulullah ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him) liked people to be organised and systematic in what they did. He praised those Sahaabah (radiyallahu anhum) who were organised in their work.
5. BE FOCUSED
A Muslim youth must always be focused on what he is doing. One should never allow his mind to wander around and day dream. This then takes his focus away from his goals. Developing the habit of being focused ensures that you are awake, alert, and totally motivated to work on and complete the task at hand, whatever it may be. Being distracted by video games and constantly changing scenes on television shows, makes one unable to concentrate and focus. Among the best ways to develop focus is to perform ones salaah with deep concentration focusing on the Greatness of Allah Ta’ala. Do your best to develop focus, no matter what activity you are engaged in whether it is Ibaadat, in studies, at work or with your family. Nowadays it has become a trend for people to be glued to their phones in such a way that they cannot focus on anything else around them.
6. BE PUNCTUAL
Punctuality is the stepping stone to success in any field. Due to us always being late we are made to understand that Muslims are always late. Successful people understand and appreciate the value of not only their time but the time of everyone else with whom they interact. Keeping people waiting for hours on end is neither something to be proud of nor a habit that has a place in the mind-set of a person who tries to be successful. One of the central pillars of Islam is Salaah, and Allah Ta’ala and Nabi Muhammad ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him) have given us clear reminders that we are to establish Salaah at their due times. When `Abdullah (radiyallahu anhu) asked, “Which deed is the dearest to Allah?” Nabi Muhammad ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him) replied, “To offer the Salaah at its fixed time” (Sahih Bukhaari, Hadith #505). If indeed your day is to be considered successful, you must have performed all the Salaah at their prescribed times and as many voluntary Salaah as possible. If your day is planned around the times of Salaah, you should perform Salaah exactly at its time. Being punctual is a habit which, when perfected, demonstrates to others the tremendous value that Islam places on time — not only ours but that of everyone else with whom we interact.
7. BE CONSISTENT
Apart from all the habits listed above, the one that is sure to help you become a highly successful Muslim youth is that of being consistent. Be consistent on what you do. Don’t be a shirker. Let your elders have trust in you knowing full well that they can be rest assured you will fulfil all the necessary tasks correctly and accurately. Rasulullah ṣallallāhu 'alayhi wa sallam (peace and blessings of Allāh be upon him) has said that the action that is most beloved to Allah Ta’ala is the one that is done with consistency, though it maybe a little.
We urge you to be as consistent as possible, especially in those areas of your life which need constant improvement, such as your Salaah, your fasting, your manners, your studying habits, etc.
O Youth………
- Stay away from debt and borrowing money. Learn to live within your means. - Don’t violate the rights of others. - Try and stay in the state of wudhu at all times. - Try to secure a place for yourself under the shade of Allah’s throne on the Day of Qiyaamah by staying in the obedience of Allah Ta’ala in your youth. - Always think good, see good, hear good, have good desires and urges, good intentions, good deeds, manners and habits, character, good friends.
BREAKING | #Hajj1442 Announcement: Ministry of Hajj & Umrah announces Hajj 1442 (2021) will be limited to residents and citizens of Saudi Arabia. Number of pilgrims totalling 60,000 pilgrims, for residents of all nationalities and citizens inside the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia who have been vaccinated with 1 or 2 doses.
Last week, we explored some accounts on how many married people (men and women) engaged in extramarital relationships and the position of Islam on it (read here). This week we are discussing some steps to avoid extra-marital affairs in the workplace (and elsewhere).
The following are some tips adapted from various Islamic sources, many work and spouse counseling sites, and Nina Chen for preventing unIslamic behavior and affairs in the workplace.
Avoid what is doubtful. “On the authority of Abu Abdullah al-Nu’maan ibn Basheer (may Allah be pleased with them both) who said: I heard the Messenger of Allah (s say, ‘That which is lawful is clear, and that which is unlawful is clear, and between the two of them are doubtful [or ambiguous] matters about which not many people are knowledgeable. Thus, he who avoids these doubtful matters certainly clears himself in regard to his religion and honour. But he who falls into the doubtful matters falls into that which is unlawful, like a shepherd who pastures around a sanctuary, all but grazing therein. Verily every king has a sanctuary and Allah’s sanctuary is His prohibitions. In the body there is a morsel of flesh which, if it be sound, all of the body is sound and which, if it be diseased, all of the body is diseased. This part of the body is the heart.” (Recorded in Bukhari and Muslim)
Have honest, trusting and transparent communication with your spouse. Do you “edit” information out about how you spent your day when you talk to your spouse? Do you exclude information about how you spent time with someone else you may be attracted to? If you find yourself engaging in such secrecy, ask yourself why and put an end to it. When in doubt, discuss the situation with your spouse. If you are unwilling to do so, you may stepping into a dangerous and un-Islamic area. Commit to honest and transparent relations with your spouse, and schedule private times for yourself and him/her so that you can reconnect emotionally. Most importantly, talk to your spouse if you sense yourself slipping. Unless one is shameless, extra-marital affairs are shrouded in secrecy, and discussing the issue makes it clear whether there is a marital problem, a problem of incompatible personalities, a sexual or emotional problem, or something else in the marriage that needs to be resolved. “And among His signs is this, that He created for you mates from among yourselves, that you may dwell in tranquility with them, and He has put love and mercy between your hearts. Verily in that are signs for those who reflect.” (Qur’an 30:21)
Stay committed to your marriage. Strengthen your commitment to your marriage–a blessed act in Islam. Studies show that couples who commit to one another think less often about being with someone else. Keeping your marriage strong needs investment and commitment. Treat your wife (husband) with respect. (Muhammad).) said ‘I am the best amongst you and I am the best to my wife’ Address your spouse with the best of names. Prophet Mohammed (s) called Khadija ‘Ya Khadija’ as an endearment. The following hadith has relevance for all those brothers who work 12-16 hour days neglecting their marriage and their wife. In hadith 88, in the book of Marriage, Abu Juhayfa quoted it from the Prophet (s): 4903. It is related that ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Amr ibn al-‘As said, “The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said to me, ‘Have I not been told that you pray at night and fast in the day?’ I answered, ‘Yes, Messenger of Allah.’ He said, ‘Do not do it. Fast and break the fast. Pray and sleep. Your body has rights over you. Your eyes have rights over you. Your wife has rights over you.'” Honor your marriage publicly and tangibly. Frame a picture of your wedding/and of your kids and position it in your office where you (and anybody else who you may be wary of) can see it. Keep it as a constant reminder of your marital and family status. Bring your spouse with you to office parties, company picnics and dinners so that anyone who may be attracted to you gets the message loud and clear that you are married and committed to your marriage bifadlillah.
Stifle fantasies about co-workers. Monitor and control your thoughts and keep your thoughts on a professional level. Don’t entertain fantasies/thoughts about an extra-marital relation with a co-worker since Allah knows at all times what you are thinking. Indeed, Allah is always near and is all aware– as mentioned in a number of Qur’anic verses such as, ‘He is with you, wherever you are…’ [Surah al-Hadid (57): 4]. Again, Allah emphasizes his closeness to each of us in the Qur’an: ‘And indeed, We have created man, and We know what his own self whispers to him. And We are nearer to him than his jugular vein.’ [Surah Qaf (50): 16] Similarly, Allah states that, in the case of the dying person, ‘But We are nearer to him than you, but you see not.’ [Surah al-Waqi’ah (56): 85]
Do work at work, and keep intimate/personal information for your spouse. If you share more of your personal information with a co-worker than with your spouse and spend more time with him/her than in your marriage, this is a big warning sign, and you need to desist and re-examine that relationship.
Do not work alone with coworkers of the opposite sex. The Prophet (s) said: “No man is alone with a woman but the Shaytaan is the third one present.” Narrated by al-Tirmidhi (1171) and classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh al-Tirmidhi. Al-Nawawi (may Allah have mercy on him) narrated in Sharh Muslim (14/153) that there was consensus among the scholars that it is haram for a man to be alone with a woman who is not his mahram Being alone with each other opens the door to haram opportunities. If you have to do work with someone of the opposite sex, arrange to have someone else present or leave the door to your office open or do it in an open and public area. The more you do work together alone, the more likely you are to build a connection that may lead to fornication or zina.
When talking with coworkers of the opposite sex, stay focused on work-related topics. [/b]When the conversation digresses to a more personal level, stop and leave. Conversations of a personal nature are between you and your spouse and is nobody else’s business. Don’t succumb to peer pressure. Your co-workers may try to make you feel vulnerable especially if you are feeling lonely or depressed while away on a business trip. Peer pressure may be exerted on you in the form of statements such as “Are you a saint? Everyone at our firm does this when away on business.” or “If you don’t do it, you are not one of us.”, etc. Stand by your Islamic principles, and if such peer pressure becomes intolerable, either go to the Human Relations Department and register a complaint or find a job with another company where marital fidelity is more valued.
[b]Travel in groups rather than in a pair. Since jobs often involve traveling, often with male and female colleagues going on business trips or trade shows together, protect your marriage by not spending time alone with any person of the opposite gender and never ever bring that person to your hotel room. If you must attend a social event, do so in groups. Be disciplined about your behavior in working relationships. A good tactic of preventing an affair is to ask yourself “would I be doing or saying this if my spouse was here?” of “What would Prophet Muhammad (s) do if he were in this situation right now?”
Avoid online relationships with co-workers (or anybody else). These are just as toxic as an actual extra-marital affair because they may desensitize you, and act as a precursor to one. Remember the fiqh rule: Whatever leads to haram is itself haram. Prevent online affairs by placing the computer in a common room such as a family room or kitchen where you cannot hide the computer screen from your spouse. Stay away from chat rooms and never bring up or discuss sensitive topics and personal or marital issues with co-workers or anybody else over the Internet.
Educate your co-workers about Islamic etiquette. One of my female co-workers was always wondering why I refused to stare at her face while speaking to her. This provided me with an opportunity to explain the concept of awra and modesty in Islam. Ever since, she makes sure that to let me know what parts of a meal at a company picnic or dinner has pork or alcohol.
Use spiritual examples of Muslim men and women who faced similar tests. The story of Yusuf (Joseph) (a) and Zulaika in the Qur’an (Chapter 12) is a very moving one and a testimony to his spiritual fortitude. Similarly, the story narrated by Ibn Umar of the three men trapped inside cave is very moving, especially the part narrating the story of the second man who did not take advantage of a female relative after she tried to dissuade him from seducing her. Spiritual strength and growth correlate with one’s ability to resist temptation. Do not let you eyes stray and behave with Islamic humility as required in the Qur’an (Al-Hishmah).
Techreliance: Jazaakallau kair, but pls brother be cautious of kind of picture you upload like d one on this Topic.
Wa iyyakum. Please note that the moderator added the picture without my knowledge. My original post did not include any picture. I am not happy when I saw it too. Thanks for your observation
Several accounts have shown that many married people (men and women) engaged in extramarital relationships. What is the position of Islam on this?
The Islamic Position on Extra-Marital Affairs
Islam is very clear on the topic of extra-marital affairs, and considers it as one of the major sins. In The Qur’an in (Surah 17, al Isra,, verse 32), Allah says: Do not go near adultery, .surely it is an indecency, and an evil way [of fulfilling sexual urge]. (17:32) Fornication and adultery have severely been condemned in the hadiths of the Prophet (s). While describing the believers, the Qur’an says, “The believers are… those who protect their sexual organs except from their spouses… Therefore, whosoever seeks more beyond that [in sexual gratification], then they are the transgressors.” (23:5-6) Again Allah says, regarding His true believers: “Those who invoke not, with Allah, any other god, nor slay such life as Allah has made sacred except for just cause, nor commit fornication; – and any that does this deserves punishment.” [Sûrah al-Furqân: 68]
The Prophet (s) said: “The fornicator does not commit fornication while he is a believer” [Sahîh al-Bukhârî and Sahîh Muslim]
A young man once came to our Prophet (peace be upon him) and said: “O, Messenger of Allah give me a permission to commit fornication.”
The Companions were angry with the way that young man who dared to ask such a thing from the Prophet (peace be upon him), but the Prophet (peace be upon him) did not grow angry and immediately asked him: “Would you like a man to fornicate with your mother?”
The young man replied: “No.”
The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “Hence other people do not like it for their mothers. Would you like it for your daughter?”
The man said: “No.”
The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “Hence people do not like it for their daughters….” [Musnad Ahmad]
Moreover, those who engage in fornication and do not repent are the most maligned of people. Allah says: “The adulterer cannot marry any but an adulteress or an idolatress, and the adulteress, none mary her but an adulterer or an idolater; to the believers such a thing is forbidden” [Sûrah al-Nûr: 3]
"Please note that extra-marital affairs may not involve any sex. It could be an emotional affair via the internet, and that may itself be equally problematic and dangerous."
Today is the 23rd day of Shawwal and by implication, only 6 or 7 days left in the glorious month of Shawwal 1442AH. Have you started or completed the six fastings of Shawwal?
It is recommended for us (Muslims) to fast six days of Shawwaal, and in this, there is a great virtue and an immense reward. Whoever fasts these six days will have recorded for him a reward as if he had fasted a whole year, as was reported in a Saheeh hadeeth from the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him). Abu Ayyoob (may Allaah be pleased with him) reported that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever fasts Ramadaan and follows it with six days of Shawwaal, it will be as if he fasted for a lifetime.”
So, you might want to start tomorrow, you still have the opportunity. May Allah make it easy for you (Ameen)
On the first of Muharram, 1377 H., it was evident that the ceiling of the Holy Kaaba was in need of repair. This was decided by a technical council commissioned by His Late Majesty King Saud (may his soul rest in peace). A royal decree was issued at the end of Muharram of the same year instructing the Director of the Public Works, his Excellency Al-Sheikh Muhammad Bin Awad Bin Laden, to rebuild the two ceilings of the Holy Kaaba and make the necessary repairs. The following work was implemented:
The work commenced on 21st Jumad AI-Thani, 1377 H. by erecting a high wooden screen around the Holy Kaaba except at the sites of the Black Stone, Yemeni corner and Hijir Ismail (peace be upon him). They set up the scaffolding leading to the ceiling from Hijir Ismail (peace be upon him).
The wood, mortar and all equipment for the repair of the Holy Kaaba was available before the work started.
In the forenoon of Friday 18th Rajab 1377, the then Crown Prince, Faisal Bin Abdul Aziz arrived on behalf of his brother, King Saud. He climbed to the roof of the Holy Kaaba accompanied by some guests and officials, and demolished a small portion of the roof, thus announcing the commencement of the work.
The upper ceiling was totally removed and lintels were set up on the four walls and the wood of the ceiling was put on them from east to west, and was firmly fixed with the best mortar. Two wooden support beams were put on top, one was on the eastern wall and the other on the western wall. Under these wooden beams, a girder was put with its edges on the northern and southern walls to support the upper ceiling. Another girder was laid to support the lower ceiling. Wooden beams were also laid on the ceiling. A short wall eighty centimetres high was built. This is called the cornice. Four strong iron bars were fixed on the four walls to hang the kiswah on, instead of the previous wooden beams. The wood of the ceiling was painted with silicon. A layer of stones smeared with wax, a layer of mixed local mortar and a layer of AI-A'qul red bricks from Madinah were laid. This was covered with the previous white marble after cleaning it. The slope of the waterspout that pours into Hijir Ismail (peace be upon him) was taken into consideration. The melted lead was then cast in between the edges of the marble to strengthen them and prevent the leakage of rainwater. The marble of the cornice was laid vertically on the four sides at the height of twenty-five centimetres. The opening of the stairs at the top of the roof was renovated and its cover was replaced by a new one coated with a beautiful, strong metal.
Useful pieces of the old wood were utilized in addition to the new ones.
The lower ceiling was renovated by replacing the broken wood that was laid on the three pillars extending from the east to the west. Only the middle pillar was completely replaced.
Slight renovations were made by plastering the interior wall of the Holy Kaaba, and the marble floor and the walls.
Two large boxes, 150 centimetres long and 80 centimetres high, were made to store the lanterns and the inner curtains of the Holy Kaaba.
The waterspout of the Holy Kaaba was the same
one fixed by Al-Sultan Abdul Majeed Khan in 1273 H. It was made of pure silver coated with gold. It was so strong that it remained as it was, and therefore it was put in its original place after repairing its wooden base and re-hammering the nails that prevent the pigeons and birds from standing on it.
The inner stairs of the Holy Kaaba, the threshold and the wall of the door buttress were renovated.
The inner stairs of the Holy Kaaba were mended without any significant changes.
The three pillars supporting the ceiling made by Abdullah Ibn AI-Zubair were slightly repaired. They were still in good condition in spite of a lapse of more than thirteen hundred years. These pillars had decorated capitals and square, decorated bases. The exposed part of each pillar was seven metres long, with a diameter of about forty-four centimetres each.
On the second of Sha'ban, 1377 H., it was officially announced that the renovation of the ceiling of the Holy Kaaba was completed, together with some minor repairs.
We ask too, 'why is it permissible to eat pouched rat; oh, glutton?' According to the Shari'ah, the same ruling which applies to the rats applies to pouched rats. The Prophet (sollaLloohu 'alayhi wa sallam) asked us to kill rats whenever we see them. The same thing applies to pouched rats. Any animal we are asked to kill whenever we see it is not permissible to eat. That's it. Besides, these pouched rats eat dead humans. Don't you know? They dig the graves to the extent that they get to the deceased and eat their fleshes. May Allah save us from eating impermissible things! That is it.
Dr Sharafuddeen Gbadebo Raji [SOURCE: "QUESTION AND ANSWER SESSION OF JUSTICE IN ISLAAM"; TIME: 03:18 to 04:01; VENUE: "OJA'GBO OGBOMOSO"; DATE: 06/05/2017] Translated by Aboo Aaishah Al Odeomeey
Ramadan has come and gone! Do you wonder how you could retain spirituality in Ramadan? This thread provides an answer
We enrolled 30 days in a course called Ramadhaan to reach “Taqwah”(Fear/Awareness of Allah Ta’ala). It was a time of renewal and re-establishment of our commitment to our Beloved ALLAH TA’ALA and HIS beautiful Deen-ul-Islaam. Al-Hamdulillah! Many have graduated with flying colours – embracing them with positive Deeni (Islamic)changes. Now is a crucial time to put it into practice!
Beloved Reader! We fasted, gave charity, read the Qur’aan Kareem and performed the night especially the last ten, standing in prayer before ALLAH TA’ALA. We avoided gossip, slander and every evil that would invalidate our fasting. But now that Ramadhaan has bid us farewell, many of us, regrettably, will put the Qur’aan Kareem back on the shelves, will suspend fasting until next year and will abandon the night prayer. This is not the way it should be, because all of these acts of worship carry rewards and are of benefit to us throughout the year, in addition to the fact there is no divine prescription limiting them to Ramadhaan.
What is it that happens in Ramadhaan to make you so motivated to change your life around and how can you get that spirit back to make long lasting, sustainable changes in your life? What is it that ALLAH TA’ALA puts into your life to enable you to make all those changes in Ramadhaan? If we could examine that, maybe we’ll find clues to work out how we can make the Ramadhaan spirit last for more than 30 days, so you can make major sustainable changes in your life!
RAMADHAAN CHANGES
1. Purpose ALLAH TA’ALA TA’ALA give us an amazing purpose, a powerful reason for fasting, HE says it so beautifully: “All the deeds of the son of Aadam (Alaihis Salaam) are for him: the good deeds will be multiplied ten times to seven hundred times, except fasting, which is for ME and I will reward it accordingly.”(Al-Bukhari and Muslim) Al-Hamdulillah! He gives us all hope of His Reward for abandoning food, drink and intimacy for HIS Sake in Ramadhaan.
2. Long Term Vision HE also gives us a long-term vision of what we will achieve if we follow HIS Orders and avoid the things that HE has forbidden – HE could grant us, according to our intentions, the highest place in Jannah.
3. Structure and Organization HE gives us clear rules and a daily structure for Ramadhaan to give us a specific rhythm to the month – with a few exceptions and some flexibility such as a change in the pattern of the days for the last 10 nights – but there are definite targets that we have to fulfil throughout.
4. Challenging and Slightly Unrealistic Goals The non-Muslims often look at what we do in Ramadhaan and say that we are being extreme, that we shouldn’t be as harsh on ourselves as we are. But we are able to rise above their criticism and not pay attention to what they say, because we know that ALLAH TA’ALA never asks us to do anything that would be harmful for us. We are convinced of the value and benefits of our fasting and Qiyaam and that enables us to stretch ourselves.
5. Balance
In Ramadhaan, it’s not only our bodies that are cleansed through fasting, our spirituality is also improved through increased Salaah and reading of the Qur’aan Kareem. Our finances are cleansed through Zakaah, our social relationships are improved through coming together for Iftaar, and our social contribution is increased through extra Sadaqah. The Ramadhaan spirit is developed through a balanced increase in every area of life, with each aspect having its own timing, amount, and purpose.
In welcoming Ramadhaan and bidding it farewell are some points of reflection for the Mu’mineen: Is there for us in fasting an abundance portion of effort to reform ourselves and mend our ways? Yes! It is indeed an excellent period of reflection if one ponders over the sincerity of his/her intention and appropriateness of his/her acts of worship during the blessed month.
Gentle and Discerning Reader! A whole new beautiful chapter in your life has opened – of peace, happiness, blessings and mercy with an elated feeling of spirituality, connecting with ALLAH TA’ALA and being immersed in HIS love, Subhaan-ALLAH. Fear ALLAH TA’ALA as HE should be feared for, the fear of ALLAH TA’ALA is the best treasure for you. Obey ALLAH TA’ALA and keep away from HIS restrictions, you will achieve HIS pleasure and be saved from HIS torment. On tasting the sweetness that comes with obedience, there is no desire to return to any form of disobedience. A sinful desire is like a rose from afar, we get allured by its fragrance, become blinded by its beauty, and overlook the thorns.
Don’t allow Shaitaan to be an anchor and halt your spiritual journey. Raise the sails of Imaan to reach the beautiful shores of Jannah. Would you rather invest for short term returns, or would it be more sensible to invest for everlasting returns? Don’t let the chains of desire (naffs & shaitaan), bind us to Dunya whilst restraining our soul from pursuing Jannah. May ALLAH TA’ALA make our hearts the throne upon where our Imaan will sit, and let it rule over our Naffs before it tries to enslave us…
WAYS TO MAINTAIN THE GOOD HABITS YOU PICKED DURING RAMADHAAN:
► Make Du’a It was ALLAH TA’ALA who gave you the ability to keep the good habit in Ramadhaan, and only HE can help you maintain it afterwards. Make Du’a that ALLAH TA’ALA helps you not only keep the habit, but that HE accepts it and makes it a way for you to grow in closeness to HIM. ► Make it a Habit If you want to keep good habits, you’ve got to make sure they remain part of your daily schedule. For instance, fasting. Our beloved Messenger (Sallallaahu Alaihi Wa Sallam) encouraged fasting on Mondays and Thursdays? He said: “A man’s deeds are reported (to ALLAH TA’ALA) on Mondays and Thursdays and I prefer that I should be fasting when my deeds are reported.” (Tirmidhi) ► Evaluate yourself Weekly This helps you see the bigger picture. You’ll be able to evaluate on a more long-term level how well you’ve been keeping your habit in practice. You can do the same thing on a monthly and yearly basis. ► Don’t fall apart once you make one Mistake The beauty of Taubah (repentance) in Islaam, is that ALLAH TA’ALA blesses us with this opportunity to return back to HIM after doing something wrong. We should remember that we are humans and that we will err. Only ALLAH TA’ALA is Perfect. ► Ask yourself WHY you kept the habit Niyyah or intention is a key to ALLAH TA’ALA’S acceptance of our good deeds. If we developed a habit to impress others, for instance, we may be able to keep the momentum for a while, but most probably it’ll wear out afterwards. But if we maintained a habit sincerely for the sake of ALLAH TA’ALA, Inshaa-ALLAH , not only will we be rewarded for it, but our intention will help us maintain the necessary motivation to continue to do good. ► Work your Way up slowly Aa’ishah (RadhiAllah Ta’alau Anha) reported that Rasulullah said: “Do good deeds properly, sincerely and moderately, and remember that you shall enter Paradise only through ALLAH TA’ALA’S Mercy, and also remember that the most beloved deed to ALLAH TA’ALA is that which is regular and constant even if it is little.” (Al-Bukhari) The wisdom in this Hadith is tremendous and it is one way of keeping up good habits you have picked up in Ramadhaan. For example, let’s say you were motivated to read Qur’aan Kareem for half-an-hour on a daily basis in Ramadhaan. But now that it’s over, you feel sluggish, lazy and want to give it up. Yet, you had wanted to maintain this habit after the blessed month was over. Instead of trying to read Qur’aan Kareem for the same amount of time, reduce the time period to as much as you are initially able to do, even if it’s just ten or twenty minutes a day.
If you keep up this ‘ten minutes a day’ habit, Inshaa-ALLAH TA’ALA, you will see the amount of Qur’aan Kareem you read will increase slowly but gradually, perhaps even surpassing your Ramadhaan maximum in the long-term, Inshaa-ALLAH !
Beloved Reader! Be steadfast and upright upon the Deen of ALLAH TA’ALA at all times, for you do not know when you’ll meet the Angel of Death. Beware of him taking you while you are in a state of sin. Forgiveness are always billowing around us, but we must raise the sails of remorse and repentance, to feel it. Now is the time to reprogram your life, rise up and get rid of the negativities, develop your potential, plan and execute, change and get changed, and you will become one of those gain happiness and blessings in this life and enjoy the bliss of the Hereafter, Inshaa-ALLAH TA’ALA! Be sure that reform is possible, seek help from our loving ALLAH TA’ALA, and do not feel unmotivated or lacking in strength.
May ALLAH TA’ALA accept our fasting, our Ibaadah and other righteous actions, that our condition after Ramadhaan be a better one, the state of our Ummah improves and that we are granted honour and submit to HIS obedience. ..Aameen
Enjoy your Eid by remaining consistent on the those good deeds and keep away from undesirable things that are capable of removing ALLAH TA’ALA’S favours from you. One of our righteous predecessors said:
“Each day in which no act of disobedience to ALLAH TA’ALA is committed is Eid and each day a believer spent in acts of obedience to his Lord is Eid.”
Anger is a misunderstood emotion; it is what you do with it that matters. It can be destructive like a storm, but can act as motivation for change. It tells us when our boundaries are being crossed and can deter adversaries. The Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) directly offers techniques that can be used to help when a person is angry. The tips below are a compilation of contemporary therapeutic techniques that are also directly from the Sunnah.
1) Catch it early The Prophet (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said, “If a man gets angry and says, ‘I seek refuge with Allāh,’ his anger will go away.”[1]
In order to seek refuge in Allāh from anger, a person must first be aware that they are becoming angry. Catching your anger at the earliest point can make it easier to manage and prevent it from snowballing into rage.
Become familiar with the early signs of anger that manifest within your body. It may be a slight increase in your heart rate, the raising of your voice, the clenching of your fist, or the frustrated tapping of your foot. Paying attention to the early signs of anger will increase your consciousness whilst angry.
When conscious of your feelings of anger, seek refuge in Allāh. In Arabic, say the following:
A‘ūdhu billāhi minash shayṭānir rajīm – ‘I seek refuge in Allāh from Satan the accursed.’
Truly connect to these words and their meanings, and surrender your anger to Allāh.
2) Change your state When you become angry, your brain sends signals to your body to prepare it for battle. However, if you can relax your body, you can then begin to take control of the situation – this is because a person cannot be both relaxed and tense at the same time. So, when you have identified the early signs, do the opposite. If your heart rate is increasing, then take deep breaths to slow it down. If your voice is rising, make a conscious effort to speak in a lower and calmer tone. Relax the muscles that have become tense throughout your body, including your jaw, shoulders, and hands.
The Messenger of Allāh (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) advised:
“If any of you becomes angry and he is standing, let him sit down, so his anger will go away; if it does not go away, let him lie down…if the anger still does not go away, make wuḍū’.”[2]
The physical agitation that one experiences when angry can be overwhelming. When we act upon the above hadith, we see that our physical state changes, whether it is our blood flow due to the moving of positions, or the change in state of mind that can come from doing wuḍū’.
3) Take deep breaths Taking deep breaths is effective in changing your state and calming the physiological symptoms of anger. When you are angry, you need to breathe. Take a deep breath in through your nose for four seconds, allowing the air to fill up your stomach. Then, exhale with pursed lips in a controlled manner through your mouth for eight seconds. The exhalation part of the exercise is where your muscles relax, so make sure this is controlled, and be aware of what you are feeling physically. Make a conscious effort to relax your muscles as you breathe out.
4) Pause The Messenger of Allāh (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said: “If any of you becomes angry, let him keep silent.”[3]
We usually believe that we have to react immediately when confronted with an issue. This is often not the case. Pause, take a breath, walk away, and say, “I need some time to think about this.” Allow yourself time to gather your thoughts and cool down. Reacting straight away when angry is almost always problematic.
5) Identify your emotions The great thing about deep breathing is that it takes us back into our bodies rather than our clogged-up minds when we start to get agitated. As your body begins to relax, ask yourself: what is it that you are really feeling? Think of anger as a secondary emotion and ask your gut: what lies underneath the anger? Do you feel sad? Rejected? Disrespected? Devalued? Embarrassed? Stupid? Scared? It could be one or a combination of the above, but identifying what we feel will allow us to understand what we need.
So, the next time someone cuts in front of you whilst you are driving, explore the feelings underneath the anger – fear, disrespect, embarrassment, and the like. If you need a moment to pull over and re-calibrate, then do so. It is better to be late than to drive disorientated – imagine how disastrous that could be!
6) Increase your emotional intelligence With time, I have grown more sceptical of the old saying that was taught to us as children, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me,” or some other variation depending on what part the English-speaking world you may be from. This saying could not be further from the truth. Words can hurt. They can leave deep scars and plant seeds of insecurity. If you were raised in an environment that did not fully accept emotions, chances are that you have a limited emotional vocabulary and may find it hard to name your feelings. Seeing a therapist can really help to identify your feelings better in order to heal wounds and repair old damage. The following saying comes to mind:
“If you don’t heal what hurt you, you’ll bleed on those who didn’t cut you.” – Unknown
7) Categorise your anger Ask yourself: on a scale of 1-10, how angry do I really feel? When anger becomes habitual and our go-to emotion, we can often reach 10 on that scale without realising it. Categorising anger allows you to be more objective and question the anger. How serious is this issue? Is it worth it?
Communicate Express your anger. Many people learn coping mechanisms and eventually become overwhelmed by the intensity of their emotions, as they have not communicated their needs. Our anger is trying to communicate to us. It is telling us that we need something or that a boundary has been crossed. Learning to communicate our needs more effectively is a key part of long-term anger management. Identify what it is that you are really feeling, and use ‘I’ statements to express it, accompanied by a clear request.
Observe the situation and what is bothering you Say how it makes you feel Identify and state the need that is connected to the feeling Make the request. For example:
“Adam, when I see your jacket on the chair with your shoes and socks in the middle of the hallway, I feel irritated as I am needing more order in the house. Would you be willing to put your jacket and shoes in the closet and your socks either in the washing basket or your room?”
9) Empathise Try to understand the perspective of the other party. They, too, have needs and feelings. Trying to understand their side will take you out of your own mind. Often in times of conflict, the ability to communicate effectively to another person who we understand and whose feelings we value can be a powerful technique to de-escalate problem situations. This does not mean that we agree with them or discount our own needs, rather it spares the person from the frustrations of not being heard. By modelling empathy, we hope to receive it from the other party too and, in turn, reach a comprise that is a win-win for both.
10) Brace yourself Be prepared to not receive the response that you wanted, so that you are not caught off guard. If this happens, then identify the signs of anger again and repeat the steps previously mentioned. We must learn to become comfortable—or at the very least less aggravated—by the physiological changes that takes place within our bodies whilst we are angry. Sometimes, things will not go our way even if it is completely unjust. We do not have a divine right to have things our way, so we need to learn to sit in the uncomfortable feeling, knowing well that it will pass eventually, rather than giving in or falling into the trap of anger.
Remember the following:
The Prophet (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said: “The strong man is not the one who can overpower others (in wrestling). Rather, the strong man is the one who controls himself when he becomes angry.”[4]
11) Think of the consequences Reflect on the consequences of your anger, that which you have already felt and also that which may happen if you continue responding in an angry way. Has it led to jail time? Has you partner left you? Have you pushed away family members or friends? Have you lost a job or other opportunities in your life? Get a piece of paper and write down the following:
What happened? How has it impacted you? How has it left you feeling? What you could have done in hindsight? Allow your imagination to go into the future as well, and think about what could happen if you continue. The more detailed and personal you can make it, the better the deterrent it will be for you when things do not go your way and when anger raises its ugly head.
Abū Bakrah reported: The Prophet (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said, “If two Muslims confront each other with swords, both the killer and the killed will be in Hellfire.” It was said, “O Messenger of Allāh, we understand for the killer, but why for the one killed?” The Prophet said, “Verily, he intended to kill his companion.”[5]
Jābir b. ‘Abdullāh reported: A man came to the Messenger of Allāh (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) at Al-Ji’ranah from Hunayn and there was some silver in the pocket of Bilāl. The Messenger of Allāh took a handful from it and distributed it among the people. The man said to him, “O Muhammad, be just!” The Prophet said, “Woe to you! Who will be just if I am not just? You would fail and lose if I were not just.” ‘Umar b. al-Khaṭṭāb said, “O Messenger of Allāh, let me kill this hypocrite!” The Prophet said, “I seek refuge in Allāh that the people would say I am killing my companions…” In another narration, the Prophet said, “Leave him alone, lest people say Muhammad is killing his companions.”[6]
12) Remembering the reward Resisting the pull of anger is one of the signs of righteousness. Reminding yourself of the reward of not getting angry and earning the pleasure of Allāh should be a motivation for any believer.
“Those who spend (benevolently) in ease as well as in straightness, and those who restrain (their) anger and pardon men; and Allāh loves the doers of good (to others).”[7]
Anas reported that the Prophet (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) passed by some people who were wrestling. He asked, “What is this?” They said: “So-and-so is the strongest, he can beat anybody.” The Prophet (sall Allāhu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said, “Shall I not tell you who is even stronger than him? The man who, when he is mistreated by another, controls his anger, has defeated his own shayṭān and the shayṭān of the one who made him angry.”[8]
“Whoever control his anger when he has the means to act upon it, Allāh will fill his heart with contentment on the Day of resurrection.”[9]
13) Progression, not perfection Losing your temper after you have tried hard not to can feel really disheartening, and can even make you angrier – but do not stop trying. Learning to control your anger can be like learning to skate on ice. At first, you are just about holding on to the sides, trying not to fall. Eventually, this becomes easier and you become more comfortable, but every now and then, even the best skaters fall. You have to dust yourself off and try again. Similarly, stopping the urge to not lash out, scream, or hit something can feel like you are just about holding on, but over time, you will get better at it, in shā’ Allāh. “Whatever [pleasure] you have been given is [no more than a fleeting] enjoyment of this worldly life, but what is with Allāh is far better and more lasting for those who believe and put their trust in their Lord. Those who avoid the major sins and immoralities, and when they are angry, they forgive.”[10]
Today is the 15th day of Shawwal and by implication, 14 or 15 days left in the glorious month of Shawwal 1442AH. Have you started or completed the six fastings of Shawwal?
It is recommended for us (Muslim) to fast six days of Shawwaal, and in this, there is a great virtue and an immense reward. Whoever fasts these six days will have recorded for him a reward as if he had fasted a whole year, as was reported in a Saheeh hadeeth from the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him). Abu Ayyoob (may Allaah be pleased with him) reported that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever fasts Ramadaan and follows it with six days of Shawwaal, it will be as if he fasted for a lifetime.”
So, you might want to start tomorrow, you still have the opportunity. May Allah make it easy for you (Ameen)
Is it permissible for one to fast the six days of Shawwaal with the same intention as making up the days he or she did not fast in Ramadaan e.g because of menstruation?
Praise be to Allah.
That is not valid, because fasting the six days of Shawwaal can only be done after fasting Ramadaan in full.
Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen said in Fataawa al-Siyaam (438):
Whoever fasts the day of ‘Arafah, or the day of ‘Ashoora’, but still owes days from Ramadaan, his fast is valid, but if he intends to fast this day to make up for a missed Ramadaan fast, he will have two rewards: the reward for the day of ‘Arafah or ‘Ashoora’ along with the reward for making up the missed fast. This has to do with voluntary fasts in general that are not connected to Ramadaan. With regard to fasting the six days of Shawwaal, they are connected to Ramadaan and can only done after making up missed Ramadaan fasts. If he fasts them before making up missed Ramadaan fasts he will not attain that reward, because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever fasts Ramadaan then follows it with six days of Shawwaal, it will be as if he fasted for a lifetime.” It is well known that whoever still owes days from Ramadaan is not regarded as having fasted Ramadaan until he makes up the days he missed.
For women who missed some days of fasting during Ramadan due to their menstruation or other accepted excuses, which one should they make first, their missed days of Ramadan or 6 days of Shawwal? Below sheds light on the question
Praise be to Allah.
If she wants to earn the reward mentioned in the hadeeth of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), “Whoever fasts Ramadaan then follows it with six days of Shawwaal, it will be as if he fasted for a lifetime”
(reported by Muslim, no. 1984), then she should complete her Ramadaan fasts first, then follow it with six days of Shawwaal, so that the hadeeth will be applicable to her too, and she will gain the reward mentioned in it.
Today is the 9th day of Shawwal, Have you started the 6th day fasting in Shawwal?
It is recommended for the Muslim to fast six days of Shawwaal, and in this, there is a great virtue and an immense reward. Whoever fasts these six days will have recorded for him a reward as if he had fasted a whole year, as was reported in a Saheeh hadeeth from the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him). Abu Ayyoob (may Allaah be pleased with him) reported that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever fasts Ramadaan and follows it with six days of Shawwaal, it will be as if he fasted for a lifetime.”
So, you might want to start today. May Allah make it easy for you (Ameen)
But honoured brother, be aware that all prophets of Allah including Prophet Sulaiman (Solomon) were Muslims during their lifetime and Allah send them all to the earth to spread His Gospel which is to worship Him (Allah) alone. This is the primary responsibility of all the prophets (Isa, you called Jesus inclusive etc). They were sent to people from time to time when to pass this message to them, Allah send another when one die and people revert to disbelief after sometime. So, Quran was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad, him, being the last and zeal of all the prophets (May Peace and blessings of Allah be with him and all prophets). So, tell me which account do you think will be correct sir? Sure, you'll agree with me it is the latest which is Quran. So, there is no falsity in the Holy Quran. I'm happy you said you are reading it. I encourage you read to an end and also worship Allah alone by being a Muslim.
Also, honoured bro, I think you are getting things wrong sir because you are comparing the prophet of Allah with we normal human being. They are special creatures of God and they were given a unique miracle (Muslim call it muujisah) which they use to challenge their people, that Allah is Great. He (Allah) gave them power to perform these miracles and so they challenge their people that if they think Allah is not powerful, they should bring what is equivalent or more than their miracles. So, Allah endowed Solomon with this kind of muujisah. In his case, Allah give him the ability to control and talk to other creatures (e.g birds and Jinn). Jesus was also endowed with muujisah during his lifetime. All prophet of Allah were given their own unique muujisah.
Kindly refer to the Quran for full details about how Allah endowed His prophet with miracles for the sole purpose of challenging their people - that, if they think Allah is not a powerful creator, they should bring the equivalent of what they brought.
So, if all other books are adulrated, not the word of Allah - Quran
peggywebbs: I am an open minded person and that is why I went ahead to read the story of Solomon according to the Islamic version. There are also stories in the bible I find hilarious too so I think it's equal.
However my bone of contention is why the Qur'an is talking about the story of King Solomon. I don't think anyone can best describe the life of their King other than their people. Its like asking a Calabar man about Sango.
The account is obviously conflicting with a lot of questionable things. The isrealites believe Solomon was blessed with wisdom, knowledge and understanding. He was the author of the book of proverbs.
But the Qur'an made it look like he was a jihadist threatening Queen of Sheba that he would raise her kingdom down if she didn't serve God. That version also made it look like he was consorting with magicians or psychics which is forbidden even among the people of Israel.
I compared the two accounts and that was really something else making a chair magically appear from another kingdom. God is not known for magic. Whatever he does, he does for a reason. Solomon's wisdom was not magic. Then where did the talking to animals come from. I understand you can study the nature of animals but nobody can speak to them at least not on this earth.
I invite you to be a Muslim first because the partisan lens you're wearing might not let you believe and understand that. The first thing is to believe in Allah as the one and only God. BTW, I encourage you to read the whole Quran
peggywebbs: I was forced to read their account of Solomon and I totally lost it...when I got to the part of the ants talking, I was looking to see if there was a WiFi speaker installed.
The bird part reminded of snow whites step mother. Then there was also the part where they talked about jinns.
Apparently they are some kind of sorcerers and where under some punishment with their Solomon. Like they literally turned Isreal's king to a joke. It's so hilarious, I felt I was reading a bedtime story.
enilove: You have been bewitched for believing that someone could die for a year without being noticed by thousands of people around him trying to communicate with him on a daily basis
He was standing in a spot without talking , moving , eating , sleeping , having his birth , not urinating etc for a whole year without being noticed ?
Since you can believe this , it means you can drink from the well of buda'ah .
Hadith Narrated Abu Sa'id al-Khudri: The people asked the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ): Can we perform ablution out of the well of Buda'ah, which is a well into which menstrual clothes, dead dogs and stinking things were thrown? He replied: Water is pure and is not defiled by anything.
Sahih (Al-Albani) Sunan Abi Dawud 66 In-book : Book 1, Hadith 66 English translation : Book 1, Hadith 66 Abu Dawood
Yes, we believe this is one of the simplest thing Allah can do. Is your breathing in and out not even complex than this you just narrated. As for the buda'ah, explicit commentary below"
"Sunan Abi Dawud 67 Narrated AbuSa'id al-Khudri:
I heard that the people asked the Prophet of Allah (ﷺ): Water is brought for you from the well of Buda'ah. It is a well in which dead dogs, menstrual clothes and excrement of people are thrown. The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) replied: Verily water is pure and is not defiled by anything.
Abu Dawud said I heard Qutaibah b. Sa'id say: I asked the person in charge of the well of Bud'ah about the depth of the well. He replied: At most the water reaches pubes. Then I asked: Where does it reach when its level goes down ? He replied: Below the private part of the body.
Abu Dawud said: I measured the breadth of the well of Buda'ah with my sheet which I stretched over it. I them measured it with the hand. It measured six cubits in breadth. I then asked the man who opened the door of garden for me and admitted me to it: Has the condition of this well changed from what it had originally been in the past ? He replied: No. I saw the color of water in this well had changed."
sagenaija: Islam's Strange Account of Solomon's Death Q.34:14 states: "When We decreed Solomon’s death, nothing indicated to the ˹subjected˺ jinn that he was dead except the termites eating away his staff. So when he collapsed, the jinn realized that if they had ˹really˺ known the unseen, they would not have remained in ˹such˺ humiliating servitude."
According to Ibn Kathir, Solomon died leaning on his stick, which was staff and stood like that for nearly a year. It was not until insect ate his stick and it became weak that he fell to the ground. That was when everyone around him knew that he had died.
Now, this was a king. Not an ordinary person. So, are we to believe that for about a year no family member or servants or officials of his kingdom recognized that he had died standing? Are we to believe that no one attempted to communicate or speak with him throughout this period?
Maybe Empiree, Lukgaf, Rashduct4luv, Antichristian, motayoayinde, mhmsadyq, haekymbahd or Realismailakabir can explain this to us.
That's very possible! On the account you quoted from ibn Kathiir, yes, no one was aware of his death for that period. What is special in this? Do you know Ashabul khaf spent over 300 years sleeping too?
Why did their entire generation fail to locate them when they were indeed looking for them?
That's one of the power of Allah. As a Muslim, we believe in the word of Allah Subhanahu wa taa'la(Quran).
Fasting six days of Shawwaal after the obligatory fast of Ramadaan is Sunnah Mustahabbah, not waajib. It is recommended for the Muslim to fast six days of Shawwaal, and in this there is great virtue and an immense reward. Whoever fasts these six days will have recorded for him a reward as if he had fasted a whole year, as was reported in a saheeh hadeeth from the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him). Abu Ayyoob (may Allaah be pleased with him) reported that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever fasts Ramadaan and follows it with six days of Shawwaal, it will be as if he fasted for a lifetime.”