Stats: 3,165,411 members, 7,861,159 topics. Date: Saturday, 15 June 2024 at 04:18 AM

Maternal's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Maternal's Profile / Maternal's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) ... (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) (of 37 pages)

Travel / Re: Nigerians Are Walking Into Canada From U.S. Seeking Asylum - Washington Post. by maternal: 12:20pm On May 02, 2018
bettyLad:

please tell me more , I will explain to my husband and refer him to this post , he is a nairalander too, I copied this post and sent to him but he claim its not for those going to Canada direct through visit visa and most people on nairalander don't ve experience and he got his info from people that left Nig through that means and are there

Your husband is one of those know it all. So people who live in Canada, who are Canadian citizens, don't know anything about the process. But his illegal friends who are problem calling him from an immigration jail know everything. Refugee claims are processed the same way, regardless of how the person came to Canada. Giving a group of people who came through X vs another which came through X is illegal. That's discrimination. You have a blind man leading the household.

Travel / Re: Nigerians Are Walking Into Canada From U.S. Seeking Asylum - Washington Post. by maternal: 4:33am On May 02, 2018
Travel / Re: Why Are Middle Class Nigerians Relocating To Canada? by maternal: 12:55pm On Apr 25, 2018
ell77:

I understand @Saintp. It really is very frustrating and it makes me angry and cautious of returning too. And I don't blame people for relocating at all. Afterall, I am the same ell77 who started the most popular thread helping people obtain tier 4 student visas in the UK!

The point I was just making is that making yourself comfortable in Nigeria by installing a solar panel is no more selfish than relocating (as long as you are not destroying the lives of others by doing so like politicians in Nigeria or Nigerians who turn to crime here). In both scenarios, it doesn't mean you are helping anyone outside of your household. Nigerians in diaspora or at home can help Nigerians.

Right now, I weep for Nigerians abroad who did not plan well and ran with emotion instead of planning with logic, there are ladies in Italy doing unspeakable things and people in Libya and other countries being sold . These are worse case scenarios and extremes but those people would have been better in Nigeria. We must remember that not everyone can leave Nigeria as professionals, if the next government does not improve Nigeria and if all the professionals go and don't help improve back home one of two things will happen:
(1) Nigeria will plummet into a downward spiral (God forbid)
(2) Poor Nigerians will run to countries that are easier to emigrate to and fall into the same traps as those being sold in modern day slavery.

If you really feel you need to leave Nigeria to become empowered to help Nigeria by all means do so. But don't think that you can run from your problems have your country fall apart or let the world know you for being a nation of 419ers, prostitutes and slaves and think this will nor taint your own image amongst other nationalities who have invested back in their own kind. The truth is it will unfortunately. If you must leave, plan well, have a view to invest back home and encourage others to invest back home also. If we cannot return to Nigeria as a paradise, at least our children should have it as an option/choice. The absence of that choice to me is scary!

If you hold another passport other than a Nigerian one, you're not fully a Nigerian. You're simply a Nigerian by convineance. These dual citizens need to stay in their lane. If you won't stand infront of these revolutionary changes you're suggesting, nobody will take you seriously suggesting them in the back of the line. In short come full ground to naija and start the movement or be quiet. It's easy to be positive while in a well developed U.K. And abroad is sweet; at least Canada.

20 Likes

Travel / Re: Why Are Middle Class Nigerians Relocating To Canada? by maternal: 6:42pm On Apr 24, 2018
ell77:
Relocating is fine, but where does it end?

You move with your wife and kids.

Then what about your parents back home? They will need medical care as they grow older, if all the doctors are leaving for the UK (and hospitals are a death trap) that is a worrying scenario. Will you import 4 grandparents to stay with your children. What about uncles and aunties, cousins etc. Those who have reached positions of success are uniquely placed to change Nigeria. I firmly believe the private sector can change Nigeria, and in fact, that may be our only hope for now!

Why do you think it seems so impossible for us to simply work together (irrespective of government)?

Did you give all these advice to your parents? You do know there's a reason you were born abroad ? Do you think it was a mistake ?

15 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 6:11pm On Apr 22, 2018
Jejebaba:

Thanks for taking time to analyze this bro. Your analysis are well appreciated. You are absolutely spot on about the citizenship issue as regards Arab countries as they don't offer something of such. This was the reason i decided to start having a good structure in Nigeria in case of being sent home. We decided to start a biz in Naija and therefore asked my company to change my job contract to a Rotator instead of resident as this will avail me the opportunity of cutting cost and focus on investment in Naija whenever i am days off.
There is no job security in the oil sector as you rightly said, when advised by my mentor, he asked me to first concentrate on having liquid assets worth of 100M NGN before thinking about immigration, so in case things don't pan out as planned in the Express entry, i can still have my family survive on return of investments, ROI of the 100M, which can give average of 12% p.a (12M yearly of 100M investment). In view of this, we made changes to our life, relocate back to Naija, reduced vacations to twice a year (New year and summer only) which avail us the opportunity to invest 12M in 2017 and we plan to replicate this in 2018 till we reach the financial goal of 100M.
Job in the middle East don't give pensions, they only give you terminal benefits once fired.
This issue has been giving me sleepless night for some time now anytime my wife brings the issue of Canada Express entry up as i am afraid to loose all our life savings/ investments and not being able to get a worthwhile job after migrating because the stories i read on Quora about experiences of Canada PR immigrant is so scary and i am afraid to subject my family to any hardship they never experienced before.
I will need to sit down and crunch the numbers again except if some of the people i contacted about take home pay in Canada are not telling me the truth because they told me, they had serious pay cut due to the oil crises and their pay package is yet to be restored to their old package pre-oil crises.

Your friend is a slowpoke. What does he mean liquid assets of 100M Naira ? If he means liquid cash of 100 M naira, then that's like 354k Canadian dollars. Who has such liquid cash here ? Stop listening to that guy. Even if things don't pan out right away, there's a big safety net here. The government has a lot of programs to help newcomers, believe me. You won't go without the essentials here, no way. But like others have said, apply for the program, come here with your family and get them settled. After they're settled and you have all the important Canadian documents (PR card, health card, etc), go back there to work. Be going back and forth until you find something worthwhile in Canada, or before your residency obligation is about to expire. Really whats your other option ? Continue living on eggshells in an Arab country which won't give you citizenship. And when they tell you to leave the country (And they will one day), comeback to naija to this "business" which is a naija code word for there's no job in this country so let me try to generate wealth myself. If or when you inevitable return to naija and your savings finish, your quality of life will drastically reduce, and your wife will have a hatred for you, nor will she respect you again. She'll forever be thinking what me and the kids life would be if my (insert insult) actually had the courage to come to Canada. Believe me, I know guys currently in naija going through such a situation. You're taking the risk to maybe one day return to naija because of 70k USD you take home per year ? That 70k is worth playing with your wife and kids future and prosperity ? Think about that. Just my 2 cents.

21 Likes 1 Share

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 5:52pm On Apr 22, 2018
overcomer296:
Please I have been following this thread for encouragement for a while now. I'm a tired banker of 10yrs, 2 children with a spouse unwilling to relocate. (He blivs naija will get beta etc etc) I've gone ahead with my PR applications hoping he'll change his mind. Now I want to find out, for those who did short landing, how many years is the validity of PR for you to come back?
I mean can you do short landing, go back then decide to fully relocate after 2, 3 years? What's the maximum period pls?

Pls help me out on this enquiry

You need to be in the country for 2 years out of 5 to be able to retain your PR card I believe.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 1:15pm On Apr 22, 2018
Jejebaba:
Good job, you guys are doing here. I have been considering this Canada express of a thing for over 2 years and my wife is really disturbing me about it as some of her friends are living in Canada but i have some challenges which i will need a sincere advice from the gurus in this forum. Below is my case,
I have been working for almost 6 years as a Drilling Engineer in an oil coy in Middle East with annual take home in the range of $62-70k USD (no taxable income in the country) and i am married with 2 kids. I have been trying to consider this Canada express entry but my research on it is not giving me a convincing reason to do it based on the following, there is job insecurity in oil sector in Canada due to the fluctuation in the crude oil prices as cost of oil production in Canada is quite high and IOC's cut back on workforce and drilling activities whenever there is oil price crash. Also, the salary i see online and based on my discussion with my colleagues working there is too low compared to what is obtainable in the middle East. I tried to have a lengthy discussion with a Nigerian friend working in the same comapny with me but Nisku branch and he told me, i shouldn't consider migrating to Canada due to job insecurity and other factors but could it be, he doesn't want me to enjoy the benefit of PR and Citizenship he enjoys there as this guy was laid off and at home for almost 2 years during the last oil crises but was just called back few months ago when oil prices started picking up. I will need an objective response from the gurus in the house so as to take an informed decision in order to be part of you guys.

Apologies for my lengthy post.
Gracias to you all.

I can answer these questions. I use to work in the oilfields in Northern Alberta. I'll organize them in numbers, my post may be long.

1. If you're married with 2 kids, your main focus should be STABILITY instead of money. A real hustler can make it anywhere, especially in a organized country like Canada. I always said one should chase stability before money. The money will inevitably come. With a wife, 2 kids, and no chance of getting citizenship in these Arab countries, you could be easily sent back to naija tomorrow, and then what ? Your wife's female sense are kicking in. She knows stability, getting Canadian citizenship especially for the children, and the amazing perks that comes with it, is more important than any amount of money you're making. Listen to her!

2. Oil is a commodity based on supply and demand. I don't care if the production cost is higher in Canada, when there's an oil crash everyone feels it. If it's job security you're worried about, one can do what I did and go work for the government. For example you can work for the provincial government (state gov't); in this case for the Alberta government, which does work and has projects in the oil industry. You have many Nigerians (Igbo's and Yoruba's) who use to work in the oilfield for private contractors, then decided to work for the Alberta government due to the fear of job security. Some ended up doing what they did for the private contractors they worked for, while some went into something completely different. But in the government it's hard to get fired as they're unionized, they'll always have a sizable budget, and if there's no work they'll move you to a different department as they can't just let you go. My guy worked for a private company but switched into government. He now works for Alberta Regulators and makes sure oil companies follow regulations created by the Alberta government.

3. You really need to sit down and do the math. You may think you're taking home more money, but I'm sure your yearly expenses are more than a typical Canadian. Therefore, I guarantee you a typical worker in the oilfield here takes home more per year. "No taxable income in the country" is usually fools gold. The taxes we pay here offers us a pension at retirement, medical care till the day we die, kids school fees until University, you'd get money every month per kid, for just having kids, etc. And at the end of the year, you'd get money back again when you do your taxes for claiming your kids on your tax return. If you sit down and do the math, I'm sure it's cheaper to live in Canada. But like I said, stability is more important than all that.

4. Always be skeptical of someone who says you shouldn't do X, but yet continues to do X. You should said it yourself. If Canada was so bad why hasn't he left ? Na by force ? His ass was sitting around all day collecting free money every month from the gov't, while he was laid off (see why we pay taxes here) for the first year. The 2nd year he probably got a lot of money back after doing his taxes.

5. Compared to some of these Arab countries, Canada's economy is pretty diverse. Open your mind to other things. Oil and money is not the only thing in life. You may come here and decide to get into another industry. Balance everything out. Me personally my children's well being would be my top priority. Once them and their future is on the right track, I'd go out and hustle. Success in Canada most of the times is based on merits. If you stay focus and hustle, you'll inevitably achieve your goals. I'm not saying it'd be easy or come overnight either. I wouldn't even think twice of doing this. That Canadian citizenship for me and my children is worth more than any money you're making in the middle east.

79 Likes 18 Shares

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 3:45am On Apr 20, 2018
brainwave:
@ALL, please permit me to vent a bit....
I received an email - an IRCC newsletter today - and was surprised that our people - "Nigerians" - were singled out for mention in the news on the issue of new waves of refugees / asylum seekers coming to Canada through the US border...this really saddens me I must say...so wealthy a country Nigeria is but it seems unable to get her acts together...although some may argue that Nigerians just love 'short-cuts' reasoning that many of these people skilled or qualified enough to legally obtain valid US visit-visas from Nigeria with the hidden intent of eventually crossing over to Canada as asylum seekers could very well have successfully gone through the more rigorous process of provincial or federal (Express entry) PR application well...maybe right line of thought or not, the indisputable fact in all this I think, is that the country Nigeria, seems to be one in which the overwhelming 'push' factors contribute significantly to the human capital flight or brain-drain as some call it...so sad sad

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/news/2018/04/members-of-the-ad-hoc-intergovernmental-task-force-on-irregular-migration-meet-to-discuss-latest-influx.html

They wouldn't be qualified to come as a PR. It's easier to get a U.S. visiting visa than a PR here. Close to 500 illegal Nigerian immigrants crossed the border on Easter weekend. That's close to 500 Nigerians claiming refugee in 2 days.

Travel / Re: No Menial Jobs Abroad Can Build Mansions In Nigeria. True Or False? by maternal: 10:06pm On Apr 15, 2018
londoner:

Please explain the ignorant part. It's the truth.

What part are you disputing?

I addressed it to justwise. You can answer what I'm disputing there.
Travel / Re: No Menial Jobs Abroad Can Build Mansions In Nigeria. True Or False? by maternal: 9:57pm On Apr 15, 2018
justwise:

You just made an ignorant comment.

Londoner was spot on.

Every province pays 13% sales tax ? What about the tax write off one can get by having children, certain investments, etc. Lastly, what about the monthly payments one can get again for having children? He's simplify such a complex tax system which can be skewed in ones favour if they know what they're doing. His comments were ignorant and doesn't tell the full story. Also in a unioned environment, a janitor can easily make 100k Canadian dollars per year. 14 an hour is for small kids who work for McDonald's.

Travel / Re: No Menial Jobs Abroad Can Build Mansions In Nigeria. True Or False? by maternal: 2:50pm On Apr 15, 2018
londoner:
People seem to think you take home 100% of what you earn abroad and that you have no additional expenses. That's not the case.

Also people are talking about Canada but 14 Canadian Dollars is 11 USD and about £7.80 per hour.

What about rent, food travel?

The tax rate in Canada on taxable income is 15%, then 20.5% then 26% then top rate is 45.7%
There is also a 13% sales tax at the cash register and let's not forget paying for the health system through taxes just like most working countries in the West. There are probably a number of rates and taxes they pay for local amenities and the road infrastructure if they drive.

Also mansion is different from a house imho. The same way a Peugeot is different from a Porsche although they are both cars. The claim was about building mansions as the quoted comment says at the start of this thread.

This is a very ignorant post.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 9:41pm On Apr 07, 2018
kachikapor:

Yes, i'm also interested in this particualr conversation. I'm moving to Montreal with my husband soon and from research, the city seems more affordable than Toronto. The only drawback is the language policy.I would appreciate if those in Quebec and especially Montreal can shed more light to this topic. Thank you

There's an English community in Montreal. You can do well in Montreal as an English speaking person.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 9:41pm On Mar 31, 2018
Affordablerent:

Canadians pay higher tax but earn lower salaries compared to Americans. The US dollar has more value than CAD.

Not true. Overall canadians are actually richer. The higher taxes pay for healthcare and post secondary education which are both cheaper in Canada. The U.S. dollar is higher but so is the pounds, which is higher than the USD.

https://mobile.nytimes.com/2014/04/23/upshot/the-american-middle-class-is-no-longer-the-worlds-richest.html

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 12:34am On Mar 29, 2018
Fortissimo502:

You too, what's RPRF?

Nothing is absolute. The Canadian govt can change their laws tomorrow and revoke whatever status even naturalized citizens have there. Everything and anything be stretched and blown up unreasonably.

Wrong. The Canadian government can revoke anything except for Canadian citizens. In reality everyone is an immigrant period. The last admin tried that. Harper was voted out and the supreme court would have ruled against his administration any way. This argument has no weight.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 12:29am On Mar 29, 2018
Fortissimo502:

Have you read section 6 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Commonly known as the Canadian Charter or the Constitution Act, 1982?

Section 6 is freedom of mobility. That is a citizen or PR (unless you're a provincial sponsor) has the right to live and work in any province. The right to enter Canada at any time only applies to Canadian citizens. Its really not hard to understand. The immigration and refugee act applies more to foreign nationals (FN). And everyone who isn't a citizen is a FN, even PR. Read below and tell me what it is. My friend, like I said, this is my line of work. Stop it.

http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/I-2.5/section-34.html

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 9:37pm On Mar 28, 2018
Fortissimo502:

It's in Canadian law. PR grants you right of entry. You can be deported yes. Your pr can be revoked yes. But if you are a PR at Canada's gates, you are guaranteed entry. Simple. It's the law.

People that haven't met residency requirements are still let in. Then cbsa proceeds with the process of revoking the PR. which involves attending a hearing etc.

It's possible for the us citizen baby to be denied entry but extremely low chance.

That's false. This is my line of work. How can you be granted rights to enter, but at the same time can be subjected to deportation or your PR card be revoked ? Can a Canadian citizen be deported or have their citizenship revoked ? See the difference ? My friend it's not the law to grant a PR entry once he or she shows up at the Canadian border. So if you commit murder outside of Canada as a PR and try to enter canada, do you honestly think you'll get in ? You would never step foot inside Canada again. You can appeal all you want. People who haven't met residency are let in for their appeal. If it's a loss they're automatically subjected to deportation. Remember they may not give you a work permit or healthcare. Nothing is guaranteed.

You've also went from your baby can come in as a U.S. citizen to there's a extremely low chance they can be denied entry. Which one is it ? But that has been my point all along. Stop saying non citizens have certain rights which is false. Instead tell them certain things could or may happen. Only a citizen can do things or has full fledge rights. Everyone else can be deported or denied certain things. That's all I'm saying.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 11:06am On Mar 28, 2018
Fortissimo502:

You're being unnecessarily alarmist.

Sponsored kids are EDE. Excessive demand exempt.

By the way, not just citizens have right of entry. PRs do too.

They're not always EDE. They've been cases on the news. Also we both know they can look for other avenues to reject the applicant if they want. Furthermore, PR's could enter only if they meet residency requirements. They can also be subjected to deportation due to criminality. Don't not compare a PR's right to a citizens. I'll repeat, only a Canadian citizens has the right to enter Canada and can never be denied or deported.

Remember one is not a PR because they got the visa. The customs officer can still deny it at anytime. Only once their passport has been stamped and paperwork processed are they a PR. My point is if she comes at the border with a U.S. born baby and her story sounds fishy, they can deny her and her baby entry.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 3:34am On Mar 28, 2018
Fortissimo502:

They can easily bring the child into Canada as a visitor when they are ready to move to Canada, and then apply for the kid's PR from there.

That's not true. Nobody has a right to enter canada unless they're a citizen. Furthermore if her child is born with a disability he/she may be denied PR. Immigration is never black and white, even if you're a citizen. This woman should have her baby in Canada and stop playing with fire.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 12:53am On Mar 26, 2018
ray78:
Almost two months here in Canada and still without a job.I refused a sales/marketing commission based role though.This wait is getting tiring now.
Canadian recruiters are OBSESSED with 'canadian work experience' .It is a huge red flag if none of your previous work or education was done in Canada.They are also obsessed with you having performed the exact same role as they advertised,they dont even try to deduce your skill set from similar roles you've performed.Very risk averse people,no wonder they are not known for Foreign Direct Investment abroad.

So instead of doing a sales/marketing job, making some money and getting some Canadian experience on the resume, you decide to remain unemployed? Also your resume must be customized to fit the role they want or need. Hence why they want the exact role as advertised. Do you realize the networking opportunities you could have had if you took that job ? You are your worst enemy.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 8:14pm On Mar 25, 2018
easyzworld:

Really? I guess life and time are in your hands?

If I kill myself, isn't taking my life, deciding whether I live or not, in my hands ? If everything na God, why don't people stay in naija and wait for that miracle when God will make everything work in naija ?

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 5:04pm On Mar 25, 2018
easyzworld:
For those waiting ... keep faith, God is going to manifest is glory in our case.

This one no be God matter.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 5:03pm On Mar 25, 2018
salford1:
As per the long post. My believe is that jobs are just very competitive, that's all. I am sure the Nigerian woman that has spent 8 years in Canada is aware of points the original content owner listed and has attended several career bridging programs.

It's also important to know that some occupations are in demand more than others, while some professions have a "catch 22" condition which might not be easy to overcome.

All in all, na networking sure pass. I have been in meetings at work with foreign trained Engineers that speak very bad english and accent, that i often wondered just like the op how they passed Ielts. My only conclusion is that they must have been succesful in getting that job via networking.

As an immigrant without Canadian education or work experience, there is really no manual available for securing an awesome job here. Apply to multiple jobs you qualify for (sometimes, it is a game of numbers and luck), attend all bridging program if possible, network aggressively and pray for the best.

After 8 years and you can't get a job ? This woman must be a fool. The problem with people is that they don't respect themselves when they come here. A "nonsense job" in naija would pay them more than they ever make in Canada. But pride won't allow them to do it. Then they come here crying that they haven't found a job in 8 years. Let's hear!

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 2:57pm On Mar 12, 2018
Awemo:
Hi everyone. I just want to know how easy is it for a family of 3 to live in Canada without a car for the first year/beginning considering the rules of licence and not having a valid driver's licence from Nigeria

It'll be very tough. It can become expensive as well.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 6:06pm On Mar 05, 2018
TheCabal:

LoL @ better life. If only people know what they want from life. But, hey steady electricity and GMO chicken will do. grin

No electricity and bush meat sounds better. Because canadians are flocking to migrate to naija.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 5:18pm On Mar 05, 2018
Canadianfly:

You need to let this go. Nobody came for you, how you got that from Vcole's response to you is surprising. And to be honest all this story about not finding job and finding no, and holding on blah blah blah is PLAYED OUT.
Except you're a complete JJC with no access to the Internet and zero acumen for research, how would one expect to land today and become manager of a company? It happens, yes but be realistic and pray.
I have been reading the back and forth about job this job that. And I ask myself what sorta people are these that took time to submit application to become PR of a foreign land? Some of y'alls applications took 9 months before it was approved. Y'all didn't come posting and lamenting quotes from the bible, now na small thing like finding job is what we have spent 20 pages on. Yet y'all lived in Naija alllll this while with no power and fuel scarcity, una no go back and forth with yalls government about that. I believe that positivity gets one far. No need to write a post about it sounding like a pastor to convince people to believe. DO YOU! Everybody's struggle in life is different. Everybody's experience is different. Y'all need to grow up.
If you are on this thread and actually need to read a post about someone's experience with job search and menial job blah blah blah to "connect" to the struggle, then you should have sat back down in Nigeria.

**leaves the room**

Well said. They'll put up with nonsense in naija then have the mouth to critize the government/country of a 1st world country who gave them a chance to come get a better life here. Then you have the entitled one with no Canadian work experience, education, etc yet feel they should get a big boy job over others who have been here longer with those qualifications. At times this board can be comical. Again well said.

16 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 1:08pm On Feb 24, 2018
pleasureosondu:

A travel agent told me that one of the major required skills to quickly get a PR was via truck driving. According to him, they are in high demand, especially in BC.He said it takes 3-4months and the visa is out.How valid is this claim?

Not only is this a lie, it's laughable. This is the biggest nonsense I've ever heard. The government of Canada will give you papers if you can drive a truck ? The whole Nigeria would be lining up.

15 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 12:02pm On Feb 24, 2018
Kmgb:

Really interested in the answer to this question. Seniors pls shed more light

Just to add. For those trying to move to Canada just for the blue passport (visa free travel), the government will make you invest a significant amount of time here before giving you that blue passport.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 11:24pm On Feb 23, 2018
salford1:

Spot-on...

My thoughts from my experience so far:

Canada's diversity is sort of limited to large urban centres though. Alot of smaller cities are still very white except for a few philipinos here and there.

Not sure about Montreal being one of the worst job market in the world. Alot of large industries are located in Quebec, I mean world large not Canadian large... There are professionals in Calgary that have being underemployed/unemployed for over two years cos of the downturn, but this doesn't make it one of the worst place on earth to get jobs in the world. Jobs only became more competitive.

Provinces do engage in dispute alot. Alberta and BC are not in good terms at the moment. Just last week, BC would not allow a pipeline from Alberta to run through it to access the coast. Alberta retaliates by banning importation of wine from BC. Suprisingly, both provinces are governed by NDP. 2 or 3 weeks before that. Alberta work vehicles were not allowed on Sask construction sites and vice versa. Quebec would rather buy crude from Saudi instead of letting Alberta run a pipe to their province, yet they get the largest share of the equalization payment lol.

Yes. Heavily regulated industries and the job market is small. Jobs are also spread out. Not uncommon to leave your province to work where the job is located even if it's 15hrs drive away. Small population, big country.

Residents of smaller cities or provinces seems to be a lot friendlier than residents of bigger cities. Genuine friendliness still exist in smaller town/cities.

Canadians are laid back compared to other developed countries. That could be also be termed "not ambitious" by some. Alot of canadians are educated to atleast diploma level. Diploma holders earn good money, so they most times do not bother to get a degree. Trades even earn much more. When you study up to Msc level in Canada, you could easily become over qualified for alot of jobs; hence highly educated professionals tend to move south of the border where highly educated professionals are more appreciated.

Things are very expensive due to the cost of shipping goods around. It's even more expensive in remote locations up north. A jug of milk would easily cost $10 or more in yellowknife or somewhere in NWT. Canada also protects it markets by making it difficult for foreign (especially US companies) to move in. Alot of Canadian home grown companies would go under if US companies find it easy to move here. To put things into perspective, the economy of California ($2.4 trillion) is larger than that of all provinces in Canada combined ($1.5 trillion), and American companies are aggressive, always seeking to expand. The protective regulations by the Canadian government indirectly creates a monopoly which allows price fixing among Canadian companies. (WestJet and Air Canada are notorious for price fixing). Telecoms are not better off too.

In terms of the nationalism. It's not easy to give your 100 percent to a country when you are a dual national. Alot of Canadians hold dual nationality.

As per the Canadian experience. People have different interpretation to it. It's just natural for alot of recruiters to have more confident in a tested product than an untested one. Just as I mentioned some pages back, if the economy is booming, no one really cares if your resume was submitted in Ibadan or Aba format. They would make do with the people they have on ground.

Still, I cannot think of a better country to immigrate to at the moment, except maybe Australia. Once an immigrant integrates fully into the system, all listed above would seem just normal.

Really, couldn't you say this about every developed nation ?

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 11:20pm On Feb 23, 2018
double08:
For those looking for jobs, you know you have to tailor your resume according to the job description Cos if you keep sending off one generic resume for every opening chances are you won’t get that call from HR. Cos most company seive our resume with the keyword software. (Forgotten the name) anyways I used this website; jobscan.co and it helped me immensely hopefully it helps another person. Greetings from The 6ix!!

Resume scanning system. It looks for keywords. You can have the best resume in the world, if key words aren't on there, HR won't probably see it.

Travel / Re: U.S Bans A Female Nigerian Banker For Life Over Fake Visa by maternal: 2:54am On Feb 18, 2018
mekaboy:
90% of Nigerians in America got there with fake documents. It's no big deal. Most times you go with genuine one they deny you and give to the fake ones.

If she told them she had not travelled, they will say she does not have travel history.

If she said she was not yet working, they will say she is looking to run.

If she has job, they will say she is not married and won't come back.

If she is married and has job, they will say she does not own property in Nigeria.

They are telling us about the one with fake documents, what about the millions of genuine applications rejected for no reason?

I know a lady who is a manager in a telecom industry in Nigeria. Travelled to dubai, UK and other countries. Currently has 10 years UK VISA, but was denied as not having ties because she was not married.

Who talks about them?

Statistical data shows she would most likely overstay. However you put it she needs America, America doesn't need her.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 5:09am On Feb 12, 2018
czaratwork:
Hello everyone.

I have noticed that we only share our success stories here and this doesn't give a true picture of situations. We make people yet to move to think that jobs are so waiting for them and those who are here and have not gotten something or managing some small jobs to feel God has forgotten them.

I remember someone shared her struggles and challenges in getting job last year here and we all came for her. Some said there must be something she is not doing right. My humble self though still in naija at that time told her it may be village people after her. This could have stopped others from sharing theirs.

Please let's be open to sharing and encouraging people who have challenges settling in.

What prompted this post is my phone conversation with someone going through her struggles. By the time i shared mine, she was relieved. Someone else chatted me that my story encouraged her.

Mine may not be that i got that big job but that i am able to still hold it together and appreciate God for thus far He has led me.

I will share one experience that i shared with them that lifted them when i come back from chirch. Right now service mode activated. It's also one of those Sundays that we sit down to mingle and chop after service so i came with an empty stomach. There is an adage in my place that says "Open your eyes like fish". My eyes are wide open now. No dulling. shocked shocked

If you post something that isn't favourable to the masses, you are put down. Called enemy of progress, or the usual religious narrative how someday God will bless them. Which I don't doubt but one has to be on the right track. The point is people choose to live in fantasy land on this thread.

11 Likes 1 Share

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) ... (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) (of 37 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 137