Wirinet's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Wirinet's Profile › Wirinet's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 (of 467 pages)
LordIsaac:No way o, how does another man (you dont know) drilling another man's (you don't know) anus in the comfort and secrecy of their homes affect you or your children? I am not understanding all these obsession with anuses. How is it a national health issues affecting you? Are they soliciting for your funds? Pornography, whether gays or straight should be kept of our screens, our streets and our views. Our children should be completely insulated. But that does not have any thing to do with what sexual acts people do in their private spaces. Non of my children understand what sex means before you even start talking of straights or gays. |
vaxx:Wrong definition! Most crimes are not specified by the constitution. Some crimes are simply laws enacted by the national or state assemblies and interpreted as such the judiciary. A national or state assembly can enact a law and the judiciary can interprete such law as unconstitutional. A good example is the environmental sanitation law enacted by the lagos state assembly. The judiciary found such law against the constitutional guaranteed rights of movement. |
nonhuman:Can you please quote relevant sections of the Nigerian constitution that deals with homosexualism? |
BruncleZuma:Conservative in outward appearance but very liberal inwardly. Now explain the following; Nigeria is the highest alcohol-drinking country in Africa.And also the following; “Although we frown against porn in Nigeria, Nigerians watch the highest porn sites daily. From Lagos to Sambisa forest, they all watch it,” he said, describing it as a unifying factor, just like football. |
gare:Although I am but igbo (I am in laws to igbo though), I think the igbos should rally around and support Kanu. To me he his the most influential and brave politicians the igbos have. I see him in the mold of Tinubu. He took on the Obasanjo tyranny and won. He created his own party when PDP wanted to mess him up and won two states in the south east. His nemesis was his benefactors and igbo elites. If he had the same support the Yoruba elites gave Tinubu, Kanu would have wrestled the igbos from the apron strings of PDP. No Nigerian politician is clean, the masses have to make do with the perceived lesser evil. It is very painful that today the igbos do not have a recognizable political leader. Between Okorocha, Ekwerenmadu, Peter Obi and Kanu, I will go for Kanu. OK, so who do you propose for the Senate? Let's compare him to Kanu in terms of influence and antecedents. |
id911:How much did maina stole? Not even up to $1billion. Just like how much did Jim Nwobodo stole? Not even up to the cost of a 504. |
Dantedasz:But you would advise leaving your children with pentecostal pastors in this modern age? Now view this; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kguzQRSP3K0 This is T. B . Joshua being accused of sexually molesting children. There have been stories of pentecostal pastors abusing and even slapping minors but their followers come out to vehemently defend them. So as Jesus said, let him who is without sin cast the first stone. |
jchioma:So people that violate these your design principles should be stoned to death or at least flogged, right? |
mrvitalis:You forgot prostitution, adultery, funication and witchery. I wonder why these are not criminalised. If witchery and wizardry is criminalised, Edo own don finish. |
Duke now says, 'Homosexuality is a crime in Nigeria and ought to remain so'.Homosexuality is a crime because no Homosexual has been brave enough to challenge the act of the national assembly at the courts. The act is definitely against the constitutional rights of free association. The case would go all the way to the supreme Court. The court will then determine if the government can determine and punish what two consenting adults do in the privacy of their homes, without the involvement of a third party. To me, since the national assembly has time to discuss and pass law on Homosexuality ( unimportant issues like PIB and archaic laws are not worth their time), why not debate and pass a law on mastubati0n also. It is biblically and Koranically wrong for a woman to insert a cucumber into her honeypot, created only for a strong d1ck. A lady caught mastubat1ng must be flogged or face 14 year imprisonment. |
jchioma:Homosexuality is wrong for who? For those doing it in the privacy of their homes? For those whose has no business with Homosexuals? Or for those who want every once else to live by their personal rules and beliefs? |
EmagNig:Stupid and useless punishment. And they think the flogging would stop the lesbian behaviour of the ladies? Yes, I support punishments for engaging in sexual acts in public - whether gay or straight, but flogging people for gay sex is useless. I once had a gay sales boy who was caught having gay sex with a young boy behind my shop after closing hours. He was beaten by a mob, by the time I got there (some one called me to inform me), he was bleeding profusely. As a punishment both boys were stripped naked, given 24 lashes of the cane and had their heads shaven, after which they were freed. Less than three weeks later, I got a call again that the same sales boy has been caught again with another boy. When, they asked me what punishment they should give the boys, I told them that the only punishment that would stop the gayism in my sales boy is death, and unless they are prepared to kill the boys, they should let them go. They eventually let the boys go, and I sacked the boy for having sex by my shop. I could no longer deal with the embarrassment. |
dragon2:Nigeria's main problem is OVERPOPULATION. When I say overpopulated, I am talking about in terms of available resources. How can you compare Nigeria to to US in terms of resources and landmass. US is about 6 times the size of Nigeria with just over one and a half times the population. The US is rich in both natural and human resources. I hope you know that the US has far more crude oil than we do. The US produces 14million barrels of crude per day, while we barely produce 2million. Even in Africa, if we consider GDP per capita, we will come out as one of the poorest, due to our massive unproductive population. |
SirToothBrush:Does yahweh's plan include expanding the size of the earth, or creating another earth? The earth can only accommodate a certain number of people in terms of resources and even space. The world's population is projected to hit 9.6billion by 2050, how does yahweh plan to deal with it. He needs to give another command - Go Ye, But Do Not Multiply Any More. |
Please reconcile these two conflicting statements; when Major Bamidele got wind of the coup to oust Shagari, Bamidele reported the issue up the chain of command to his GOC 3rd Armored Division (Major General Buhari) who was allegedly in on the plot. To prevent Bamidele from leaking the plot, Buhari ordered the arrest and detention of Bamidele for 2 weeks. Bamidele wasn't released until the successful execution of the coup. Colonel Aliyu Mohammed, both on friendly terms with the President, paid a long private visit to Shagari in late October or early November to pledge their loyalty. At that very moment, Major Bamidele of the 3rd Division was being detained and put through a trumped-up hearing after he innocently reported rumors of a coup to his boss, Brigadier Buhari in Jos. |
psychalade:Just unalloyed hatred for Buhari. You put Buhari's name as number 1 participant in the 1983 coup, but you did not state his actual participation in the coup. You are quoting unverified sources and Wikipedia which anyone can write or edit as your source. Your only "proof that Buhari was number 1 participant in the coup is the alleged testimony of one Major Bamidele, who was killed more than 30years ago, that he informed Buhari about the coup. No other participant in the coup had ever mentioned Buhari. Even IBB who has a no love lost relationship with Buhari mentioned Buhari as a participant in the coup in his numerous interviews and books. OK, Buhari planned and executed the 1983 coup, what do you want us do do? Try and execute him? What of all the other retired generals that had planned, executed and allegedly heard of an impending coup in the past that litter our political space,, should they all be arrested and executed also |
ICEMAN:Total occupation is when foreign invaders take over your country and plunder your resources and citizens as they wish, for example, Iraq invading Kuwait, ISIS invading Iraq and Syria, Japan invading China. Millions of lives are lost during and after invasion. The citizens have absolutely no rights. The Irony is that the invaded country always need the help of foreign powers to liberate themselves. With defence pacts and treaties, there is some element of sovereignty. The local government is in place to pursue their agenda as long as it is not in conflict with the defending power. The gains of defending power in the pact is usually economic. I asked you, which of the two evils will you choose, having Boko Haram and ISIS taking over a section of Nigeria or having 5000 British troops defending northern Nigeria. With our soldiers running into Cameroon in a battle with Boko Haram, which option will you choose if you are commander in chief. Also, put into consideration, we have Cameroon navy and French troops in bakassi eyeing our massive oil fields in the Niger Delta. |
ICEMAN:How can I know who is arming the herdsmen, when international organizations and the UN do not know yet. Everybody is just speculating. This foolish and ignorant mindset of we have oil is what has put us in the precarious position we find ourselves today. How much oil do we have and how much do we actually earn from this oil. Remember, we have OPEC quota, we earn only between 40 - 60% of selling price (after deduction of production cost, which can be as high as $25 per barrel ), and the price of crude in the international market fluctuate wildly. The amount we earn is hardly enough to run the governments (local, state and federal). Increase our military budget? Are you aware of how much is required for a proper military budget? Our whole earnings will hardly be enough for proper defense spendings. And you think military research and development comes cheap. As I said many countries have foreign troops defending them or have defense pact. US troops are all over Europe under the guise of NATO. It is the lesser of two evils - either you are invaded by hostile neighbour or you keep your sovereignty but subservient to the protecting country. Now, would you prefer Islamic terrorists take over Nigeria (or at least northern Nigeria) or you manage the inconvenience of foreign troops. Now, maintaining 5000 troops with arms and ammunition is not cheap, we have to pay somehow. Using Germany as an example is not appropriate, Germany was defeated in a war. The German military was disbanded. The defense of Germany by the US is responsible for its quick recovery and economic prosperity. They were relieved of spending billions of dollars on defense and they had no hostile neighbour. same situation with Japan |
ikennaf1:Forget the open destruction of bars and beer bottles, it's part of the political sharia Obasanjo talked about, the highest consumers of alcohol are the alhajis and Muslim elites. Ask beer parlour operators of the lull in business during Ramadan. |
ICEMAN:You are just criticising just for the sake of criticising. You criticise lagos state government without seeing the details of the deal. You are now criticising the FG for entering into a security agreement with Britain. Na wa o! You stated that we are encircled by 5,000 French troops, apart from the precarious position of being surrounded by hostile neighbours. Worse still, the northern borders are the country's current greatest security threat as Boko Haram and fulani herdsmen are operating at will. Then in the breadth, you are condemning the FG for entering into security agreement with Britain. Security agreement or treaties between countries is not a new thing, most countries without strong military has one. |
Meanwhile.... 99% of Nigerians are Christians or Muslims, who preach against the drinking of alcohol, so the question is; who is drinking all these alcohol? Spirits? |
HIGHESTPOPORI:Was it different from that of Uduaghan, Odili, Fashola or any other Nigerian governor. |
Kulas:But Peter Obi was chief Executive of a state for 8 solid years, so why was he unable to implement all those ideas he is pontificating now. What stopped him from saving his own share of allocations when Okonjo Iweala suggested it? Did he need Okonjo Iweala, before he can save his own share of the allocations. Theory is sweet in the mouth, practicals is the difficult part. |
Obasanjo is a chameleon, he changes opinion according to the colour of the prevailing opinion. Furthermore, he must be loosing his memory due to old age. This are what he said when the certificate issue was trending before the 2015 elections; According to ex-president, “The issue came up in 2007, and we investigated and found out that his WASC is with the military and that was why he was allowed to contest in 2007.How come Obasanjo seems to have forgotten all he said just 3 years ago. |
olokeded:One of the discos is just living up to its responsibility. The law is there for punishing anyone caught stealing power, but most are too lazy to go after power thieves, they prefer to punish law abiding customers who are ready to pay for power. Ikeja distribution company prefers to punish law abiding citizens for the crimes of neighbouring power thieves by speading the stolen power among them. This is not only unlawful, it is immoral. |
Xander85:Forget hindsight. If you do the right things history and fate will likely be kind on you, but when you take wrong actions, you look to hindsight to determine the effect of your decisions. You make it seem like northern soldiers started taking revenge the very next day after the coup. Northern soldiers started taking revenge on igbo soldiers and people a full six months after the coup. Ironsi having been in power for six months did nothing to pacify northern soldiers and people, whose military and political leaders had been murdered in cold blood. This was what lead to the anger that resulted in the killing of igbos in the north. I know your next line of argument would be that Ironsi should have had the coupists tried and executed to calm things. Probably so, but this is where his naivety comes in. He didn't chose that option out of malice towards northern muslims and wanting to 'protect' his kinsfolk as i'm sure you want to suggest, and this can be seen in how he naively trusted and surrounded himself with northerners right up till his death. He didn't seem to appreciate the fact northern muslim soldiers had it in for him...this gullible, naive and trusting nature has been a problem i've noticed with many politicians from the east in their relations with those from other ethnic grps in Nigeria!I never said the part of bolded, what I said was that Ironsi was power drunk. He took advantage of the situation to capture and hold unto power. There was a lot of anger, animosity and suspicions after the January coup. He did nothing to ease the tension. No major political or military leader from the eastern region was touched by the January coup, which was perceived to have been carried our by igbo officers and the beneficiary of the coup was an igbo general, so naturally there would be anger, tension and suspicions. This unification thing you keep on harping on about; when the decree was promulgated, did it also distort the fiscal set-up of the federation? If it did, care to tell me how the Eastern Region that was comfortable with the formula at the time would have benefited from said unification decree?There you go again playing the victim card. Why would anyone hate the igbos. We are discussing politics and you are talking about hatred. Am I a politician? |
PrecisionFx:I am tired of explaining to you guys that decree 34 effectively destroyed the regional structure of Nigerian. It seems you guys just hold on to the dogma that unification is equal to regionalism and are ready to defend that illogical belief with your lives. I had advised you guys to read decree 34 of 1966, but you will not. Well, if you cannot find it, I will help you with a link; https://dawodu.com/decree34.htm Please read it to know the implication of the decree. The region's changed from 3 to 4 in 1962, with the creation of Midwest Region, that did not change nigeria's government structure. Even if we had 36 regions then operating the 1959 constitution, our government structure would not have changed. Removing power from 4 regions and replacing it with 4 states subservient to the central government significantly changes the governmental structure. |
horsepower101:If Ironsi was not ambitious and he wanted to undemocratically sit on the iron throne, he would have simply arrested the coupists, try them and punish those found guilty. He should have allowed the constitution run its natural course. He had no business suspending the constitution and promulgating decree 34. If it was me, I would have arrested all the murderous coup plotters, publicly try them and publicly execute those found guilty, all these within 1 month. I would then tell the politicians to continue according to laid down rules. Deputy prime minister take over at the national level and deputy premiers take over at regional level. Afterall Mike opara was left unscathed, what stops ironsi from allowing mike Opera to continue as premier of the eastern region. Finally, I will order the military back to the barracks to await further directions from the incoming civilian administration. If Ironsi had done all these, he would have been elevated to the status of Mandela in the world. |
gidgiddy:Regional government and centralised government are two diametrically opposite forms of government. Ironsi met 4 regions and left with 4 states. |
horsepower101:Lies. The unification decree no. 34 of 1966 destroyed the regions. Please read it. |
gidgiddy:False! The unification decree no. 34 of 1966, promulgated by General Ironsi destroyed the regional arrangement. He converted the 4 regions into 4 states and centralised all power in the federal government. From there it was easy to further subdivide the states by subsequent military heads of state. If IBB had collapsed the 19 state structure he met back to 4 states created by Ironsi, Nigeria would still not have return to Regionalism, he needed to have promulgated a new decree to do that |
Xander85:In all your write up, you avoided the fact that it was Ironsi that unilaterally imposed the unity or centralised form of government on us. So who should we blame for destroying our regional structure? Why should we blame Nzeogwu and co when his coup failed? Did Nzeogwu ever take over the government? If Ironsi was not complicit in the coup, why did he simply reinstall the regional governments after the coup and return the army back to the barracks? O, he wanted to rule the whole of Nigeria. We do not love the status quo, the political elites (from all regioins) love the status quo. It gives then unlimited power and access to the national purse. |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 (of 467 pages)