Stats: 3,325,304 members, 8,421,237 topics. Date: Saturday, 06 June 2026 at 04:53 AM

Biggjoe's Posts

Nairaland ForumBiggjoe's ProfileBiggjoe's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 (of 18 pages)

WebmastersRe: Php Configuration In Dreamweaver by biggjoe(m): 6:14pm On Apr 23, 2009
If its vista, i still dont think it will be much issue.

In situations like that, all I do is change the control panel menu display to 'classic' and everything will look like im in XP.
WebmastersRe: Php Configuration In Dreamweaver by biggjoe(m): 5:42pm On Apr 22, 2009
if you have WAMP then i think you are almost there.

If you are using windows xp service pack 2 like me then;
U need one more thing:
1.Download mysql odbc connectors get the windows installer version(i dont have the link now but a simple google search will take u there)

2. Instal the odbc connector

3.Launch wamp server

4. Go through phpmyadmin and create your database and the corresponding tables

5.Go to control panel >> Administrative tools >> Data Sources >> system DSN (on the dialogue box) >>click ADD >>
scroll to the bottom of the list and see the ODBC sources

6. fill the dialogue box appropriately ( cant remember the whole fields but I think its just host, user, DB table, password etc as you created it in phpmyadmin)

7. When you have filled it all save all your stuff on that administrative tools section and you are good to go.

Go to dreamweaver and make a new data connection.

I believe you can do the rest from there but assuming you cant, u might wanna holla back. ymessenger me with dabiggjoe

ciao.
PoliticsRe: Obasanjo Pelted With Eggs, Tomatoes In London by biggjoe(m): 10:53pm On Mar 20, 2009
Pepeye:
That was when he was in power . . .
not anymore
You think he is no longer in power?
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free-to- Air Satellite TV [part 3] by biggjoe(op): 10:42pm On Mar 20, 2009
Wish to thank you all for your wishes.

As for the cake, I mailed it to all membes in one message and gmail banned my email address for spamming.

Maybe when they 'unban' me, u will all get your cakes.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free-to- Air Satellite TV [part 3] by biggjoe(op): 2:50pm On Mar 20, 2009
Thank you Enigma for the B-day wishes.

How did you remember?

Im impressed, really.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free-to- Air Satellite TV [part 3] by biggjoe(op): 10:52am On Mar 09, 2009
i wasnt around to wish enitan and enigma happy birthday. all the same, im still wishing them a belated happy b-day.

looks like there are 3 of us here with March B-day. mine is on the 20th.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free-to- Air Satellite TV [part 3] by biggjoe(op): 10:34am On Mar 04, 2009
fxproff:
Where is ENITAN2002 oooooo
enitan will be the first poster on page 2 of season 3.

He is late on this season.
PoliticsRe: Can Nigeria Afford an Igbo President? by biggjoe(m): 10:32am On Mar 04, 2009
udezue:
Real psycho. The guy just dey spam NL with his stupid maps.

Nna ibu onye Awka?
if na only spamming sef, his arguments are always weak and baseless.

@udezue,
a buro m onye awka kama e bim n' awka.
PoliticsRe: Can Nigeria Afford an Igbo President? by biggjoe(m): 8:34am On Mar 04, 2009
this Becomrich guy is for sure some kind of a psycho!
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 7:55am On Mar 04, 2009
You guys should not worry about being the first to post on season 3 cos i have done that already. grin grin

You should be worrried about being poster 2.

The first post is already there on season 3 waiting for you guys to exhaust this page 100.

Anyways, you guys have been all so great and deserve to be on the top spot.
Satellite TV TechnologyOfficial Thread of Free-to- Air Satellite TV [part 3] by biggjoe(op): 4:08pm On Mar 03, 2009
Season 1 lasted for 2 years with 88 pages, Season 2 has been on for about 4 months now and we are almost on page 100.

In all we have succeded in creating the most viewed thread on nairaland and possibly the most resourceful FTA forum in Africa.

People, it will be great for us to carry on with our FTA journey here.

You are all welcome to season 3 of Free-to-Air thread on Nairaland.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 1:58pm On Mar 03, 2009
Its now countdown to season 3,
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 6:42pm On Feb 22, 2009
@ Tox,
I have been reading and reading for days now and there seem not to be much to contribute. Really dont have much to contribute these days,   Guess the work load is weighing too much on me now.

@ All,
Before we turn this thread into a football one, lets cut down on the football posts, please.

@ olofofo,
Am I qualified for the G group?
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 2:14pm On Feb 06, 2009
enitan2002:
@ yansh-anal, i didnt say, >>
Enitan,
angry I hope you are not referring to my club like that.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 4:34pm On Jan 31, 2009
We are in page 80, I am waiting for directive from Oga Moderator for the next action to take,
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 3:41pm On Jan 28, 2009
who is worried about anybody kidnapping Adewest. he is an officer, abi no be so?
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 11:27pm On Jan 26, 2009
olofofo x3,
how many times did i call u?

I have noticed you enjoy this sort of thing grin Why didnt you come in all this while and clear him on his confusions.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 2:28pm On Jan 26, 2009
ok,

lets wait for him to confirm all this.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 2:10pm On Jan 26, 2009
sayso:
@biggjoe,
there is a signal coming from the East Badr 4 at 26.0°E they have the same channels with Nilesat from the West.
He used to have only nilesat and DSTV and he did not say he realigned his dish, so how can Badr 4 on 26e have come to his receiver? Remember DSTV is on 36e.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 1:31pm On Jan 26, 2009
broucher:
Am here in lagos now. AM not sure if it is Hotbird that I have ,but i did Blind scan on it and got most station i already have on my 2.4m dish nilesat,including mbc 4.

You know Nilesat is by the west here in lagos ,so i wasn't sure what am getting ,since the dstv dish is facing east. thats why am waiting on the guru's to talk to me. Frankly nothing is impossible.
This might just be the moment we are all waiting for but, Please, confirm that your installation is not getting any signal at all fom the 2.4 m and tell us your result.

It is most likely the reason for the mix up.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 1:19pm On Jan 26, 2009
Mr Gem: @all>> One big man is disturbing with this request: How can he transmit the TV Satellite signals WIRELESSLY to the people within his environment? Please,how can it be done and/or what can I tell him? Thanks.
Its called Video Sender in the market. Get it and you will see how to plug it. Its very simple. The neighbours will receive the TV signal 'wirelessly' via RF transmision. They will only have to search their TVs to get it.
SportsRe: AYC: South Africa(2) Vs Nigeria(1) On Thursday 22nd January by biggjoe(m): 6:27pm On Jan 23, 2009
South Africa ndi ball kwa. embarassed
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 6:25pm On Jan 23, 2009
thanks enigma,

never even tot about it. used to deal with quad LNB for DSTV with PVR decoders.

I will let the other guy know, since hes the one who needs all the trouble.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 3:19pm On Jan 23, 2009
On the issue of splitting signals
I have really expeienced hard time myself trying to feed from one LNB to 2 receivers. First, using splitters to split from the LNB and feed directly to the receivers looked ok at first but theres always a poblem when any1 changes fom one polarisation to another. Channels on horizontal transponders are always trouble.
The story is almost the same thing when when you feed one 'host' receiver and then loop to another.

As of yet, I havent found any viabl[/b]e solution to this issue and I will appreciate a solution from members.

[b]On tracking with tools

Even if you know what you are doing, you will always do it faster with an equipment. Correct and efficient equipment I must say.
I dont agree that they will slow you down.
Tell me, which one is easier,  Locating the north with your head or with a compass?

The problem is that most of us havent tried these equipments before.  I have not used any tool to track before and  the day I saw someone track with an analyzer that you can program to beep louder when you are getting closer to the sat you are hunting for and I saw how easy it is to track with a tool.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 1:55pm On Jan 21, 2009
@olofofo

so u were enjoying the exchanges grin
FamilyRe: As Nigerians: Pregnant Daughter Or Gay Son? by biggjoe(m): 5:25pm On Jan 19, 2009
people calling for the removal of the topic from the homepage are just too afraid to view what majority of nigerians think of homosexuality.

It is just not normal or african.
Thank God our leaders are taking extra steps to outlaw every facet of homosexuality.

Please Moderator Leave this topic on the Home Page and Let the world continue to see how Nigerians Hate homosexuality,.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 5:12pm On Jan 19, 2009
Lots of new guys in here now, thats great.

@weierstras ,
Those scrambled channels are for sale. If you want to buy, start by buying MyTV smart card and then subscribe.

Theres no magical tips on how to watch them.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 7:04pm On Jan 16, 2009
I was reading Gangsta's post on the previous page about the  best receiver to track with and it occurred to me that its time I tell you about my own receiver.

Its name is GS-1590 (strange name abi? wait untill you see the picture. Its even funnier.) However, I found out somewhere that it is a Technosat product. It incorporates a Fujitsu chip MB86H25.  I bought it in 2005 at 13k then. There werent many strong decoders nor any MyTV channels on PAS10  then. I believe it wont cost more than 4k now.

Now the only crucial deficiency the receiver has is that theres no smart card slot on it.

Besides that, every other thing is merry.

Tracking
I have tracked with two different models Strong receivers and a DSTV decoder but none of them can be compared with my GS-1590.  The signal level reacts extra sensitively to little changes.
I was surprised to read here that Strong's reaction to signal change is prompt and all I can say is that you havent used a GS-1590 yet. With that receiver, you dont need any kind of tracking meter except your compass to determine the direction your a hunting from. Thats if you are a compass person.

For tracking, I am yet to use a better decoder.

Performance
Back in the days, I have to constantly update the keys to watch etv and the sabcs when they are on PAs10 but when I got to know about patching, one patching I did in 2006 was all I needed to be watching ETV and others without any key combination. Now it opens etv like any other FTA channel on intelsat 10, no key combination required.

It is very rugged becos its plugged into power 24/7.  the closest it has come to damage was a power fluctuation that fried some stuffs in the power section which I fixed myself.
The operation and settings are just easy and user friendly.

Thats my GS-1590.

The only reason I dont brag about it is that it lacked what every SAT lover needs -- card slot.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 12:06pm On Jan 07, 2009
I am making another late entry into the forum for the year 2009.

Happy new year to all.

@Dre_lu
You said it yourself. your 65cm dish was installed for NSS 7 KU therefore, the only way you get a C band signal is to instal for C band.

You achieve that by getting a bigger dish (1.8m will do for NSS 7), then u can consider buying dual lnb which combines c and KU.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 9:04pm On Dec 21, 2008
tox,

leaving LTV for ABS is like leaving NNPC job for a filling station.

I cant say more than that.

let me add my number on my profile right away so we can talk.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by biggjoe(op): 8:30pm On Dec 21, 2008
@ tox,
toxnaija:
Do you know that the popular e.tv and SABC are scrambled channels?ART/Showtime fall into the same category now.All of them are pay-tv but can be classified among  ftas as  they can be opened easily with either 6969Strong or 2020Echolink.
I think the statement above says it all.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 (of 18 pages)