Stats: 3,331,279 members, 8,449,555 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 July 2026 at 12:50 AM

Davidnazee's Posts

Nairaland ForumDavidnazee's ProfileDavidnazee's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (of 51 pages)

CultureRe: Benins Are The Owners Of Ogboni Confraternity and olokun worship by davidnazee: 2:50am On May 10, 2020
Moneywomen17:
u don’t get it gregboy. Everybody knows how u can’t comprehend even the most basic of things. U can not interpret what u read.
so how do you comprehend better than him?
what do u understand by the article he posted? u guys will never stop twisting a simple english.. just debunk it rather than interpret it wrongly..
CultureRe: Benins Are The Owners Of Ogboni Confraternity and olokun worship by davidnazee: 2:49am On May 10, 2020
TerraCotta:
It is not, and the poster you’re referring to is unfortunately one of our under-educated young people. The article he’s citing is specifically about an Ijesa titleholder (it’s by JDY Peel), who was traditionally responsible for maintaining trade relationships with the Benin royal court. The implication of this is actually the opposite of what he’s trying to argue but I doubt that is quite clear to him yet. JDY Peel’s longer book (“Ijeshas and Nigerians”) is an excellent case study with more information.

The word ‘Ogboni’ itself is quite multifaceted. Anecdotally, it is used to mean ‘cousin’ or ‘relative’ in the Idaasha parts of modern-day Benin Republic, who are also sometimes thought to be connected to Ilesha and the complex of ‘Sha’-related ethnonyms in the Yoruba and Borgu-speaking areas.
Will be nice if you can explain the part of the article that says "the first Ogboni is said to have come from Igbo Bini (Benin forest)"..
if you say the "igbo bini" is Ijesa, does it mean Ijesa was actually part of Benin Kingdom?
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 2:36am On May 10, 2020
TAO11:
How would you then explain how baby Ibadan decimated your 2by2 Benin Kingdom which you admitted??

How would you explain how you've been scared to death to address the foregoing assignment you've been challenged on??

How??
I know u will never know how it feels to be descended from warriors.. just like I don't know how it feels to be descended from a conquered tribe.. is it that sad feeling that is tearing u apart.. eating you up?
The Mighty Kingdom of Benin was the most advanced and powerful kingdom, conquering and subjugating its Eastern Yoruba neigbors for hundreds of years.. I didn't make it up, I saw it in the numerous books you recomended.. grin grin grin
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 1:16am On May 10, 2020
TAO11:
No I keep picture of clowns as Nairaland meme, even though I don't know who they are.

Who is IT?? grin

And you haven't answered the prior request.

Don't runaway as usual like a weak Benin coward conquered by Ibadan. cheesy cheesy cheesy wink
The Edos are not known to be weak or losers, unlike the Yorubas generally regarded as cowards.. well I won't say a thing about what people already known i will just keep quiet grin grin grin
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 12:58am On May 10, 2020
TAO11:
Post a photograph you took of of the relevant pages of one of those books as a proof that you ain't simply doing what you do best --- that is, lying through your teeth as usual. cheesy

Moreover, you already admitted to how young Ibadan decimated your 2by2 Kingdom. grin
I see you have the picture of your Mighty conqueror (Oba of Benin)..
do u look at it in awe and admire the glory around him?
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 12:26am On May 10, 2020
TAO11:
Dive into the references I gave you. You will find how Great Ife rule over your 2by2 kingdom and other great Yoruba Kingdoms of the period.

Get those materials and read them or have someone translate them into Edo language for you.
I checked those books u mentioned but details about Ife are all assumptions.. Ife is said to be a village where Yorubas say they came from. No greatness and was from the 1100s a small village living in fear of the small Yoruba Kingdoms around it and my 2by2 Kingdom conquered and subjugated your ancestors for centuries.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee:
TAO11:
Ife ruled over the 2by2 kingdom (aka Benin Kingdom) from the 1100s to the late 1400s.

All history books says that!

Don't be afraid, read those recommended books.

Or is it an abomination in your lineage to read?
And will all Yorubas kingdoms agree tiny Ife ruled them between 1100s to the late 1400s?
Charity should begin from home.

Do you also fight people from Nupe, Fulanis, Dahomey and Igbos? Because just like Great Benin they also conquered Yorubas although Great Benin conquered more..
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 6:32pm On May 09, 2020
TAO11:
Why are you stealing my line which I once used to ridicule and humiliate you?? grin cheesy grin

This really proves that I actually got to you when I used that line against you. E enter die cheesy

Refer to the last references I gave you to read traditional folklores.

Abi na abomination for your lineage if you open book read?? cheesy
And all the books you and your lineage will open and read will always tell u fascinating stories about Great Benin history and nothing of your tiny Ife.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 1:37am On May 09, 2020
TAO11:
I think in addition to being schizophrenic and autistic you also have Down syndrome.

After admitting to having nothing upstairs as an illiterate, yet you think you can magically defend "2by2".

Being an illiterate, how would you defend the 2by2kingdom?? With what??
another clowinsh talk from you.. nothing u say makes sense even if it was a dot grin grin

I'm still waiting to hear stories from your folkore about when ife conquered and ruled your tiny yoruba kingdom of origin..
don;t tell me what bradbury told you... tell me what your traditional folklore told u about Ife's conquest..
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 12:41am On May 09, 2020
TAO11:
Binis have finally being citing their "scholars" today.

Gregyboy just cited his. cheesy grin

I am indeed wicked. I am the war. I am the battle. I am the liquid metal. I am indabosky.
And you are also a clown as well grin grin

Have you cooked up any new story about your tiny Ife again?
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 8:38pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
Yaay! Hurray!!! The widely acclaimed illiterate finally cites a scholar. cheesy
Yea u can call him a scholar like u call small Ife an empire. It’s a Yoruba man denying Ife ruled his kingdom or even great lol.
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 8:33pm On May 08, 2020
samuk:
If the British haven't come to save the day, the various Yoruba tribes would have still been using themselves for human sacrifices with Ife preferring the Ijesa, whilst the Benin preferred using the Ijebus for human sacrifices according to Johnson's book.
Lol.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 8:32pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
Gregyboy knows himself to be a joke. He once admitted it.
You still refuse to answer my question..

CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 7:28pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
Since you've just admited being an illiterate with nothing to cite from, then you should stop making stuffs up.

No, your imaginary playmates (effect of your schizophrenia) denied Ife, not Yorubas. grin cheesy
Lol. Truth hurts
Okay since u refuse to understand my question even if it’s written in the simplest of English I will try again..

Have you ever heard in your own tiny Yoruba Kingdom folklore from YOUR ELDERS that Ife once subjugated and ruled your people?
I will increase the timeline from 12th to 15th centuries to anytime in history.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 7:09pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
Poor you ... illiterate with nothing cite from.
Cite an article about whose history?? Mine?
I don’t need to cite anything regarding my history because my history is not a whisper or filled with riddles or confusion.
Also I have nothing to cite about Ife because there’s actually nothing about Ife. That’s why I’m asking Yorubas individuals and I asked 3 so far and all denied Ife. They proudly defended their kingdoms while denying Ife rule.

And I ask you again do u have anything or heard anything from elders in your own kingdom that recounts Ife rule over them??
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 6:11pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
Copy and paste to pretend to be widely read??

You mean I should have made-up those quotations and references rather than use the same exact words?? shocked Wow! It's so funny engaging an illiterate. grin grin cheesy

Oh, you asked an Ijesa man also??

Hurray!!!! You finally cited your 2nd scholar.

I think your brain capacity must be somewhere between 0.1KB and 3KB ...

I overestimated your brain capacity earlier, I'm sorry.

Also, you seem to have gone mute about the devastating defeat your 2by2 kingdom suffered at the hands of Otun-Ekiti.

You also didn't say pim about the defeat of your Kingdom at the hands of Ibadan.
Poor you... copy and paste master ( or mistress).
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 5:27pm On May 08, 2020
lawani:
Ijesa is an independent state bordering Benin.
I think Ogedengbe was an Ijesa man?
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 5:22pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
You denied that Ife ruled all Yoruba Kingdoms and your 2by2 kingdom.

Evidence was cited to the effect that all Yoruba Kingdoms (including your 2by2 kingdom) was ruled by Ife.

Instead of covering your face in shame for being an illiterate, you went on cunningly asking for personal details about me.

Is your 5KB brain partly rotten or fully rotten, Mr illiterate?? cheesy

The only engagement I remember between Benin and Ekiti is when Benin engaged one small Ekiti settlement namely: Otun-Ekiti.

Benin Kingdom was so badly dealt with that almost all Benin's top military commanders lost their lives.

Guess what!? Your 2by2 kingdom unilaterally by itself initiated a peace pact with Otun-Ekiti after the devastating defeat. cheesy
After using copy and paste to pretend u are widely read and knowledgeable just one simple question exposed your true self which is, not well read, limited in knowledge and intellectually deficient lol.
Now you feel small because there’s nothing to copy and paste about Ife lol.

I just asked an Ijesa man if indeed Ife ruled his kingdom. He only replied “maybe in the past” but he is not sure.
2 Yorubas have denied Ife rule over them. Don’t worry after I have gone through a lot of Yoruba Kingdoms, we (u and me) will start our discussion of mythical ife greatness again.
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 4:23pm On May 08, 2020
gregyboy:
The earlier they stop the better for them

I will be forced everytime on nairaland to expose all thier foce history from now on no breathing space untill learn to respect our boundaries
Yes ooo. I’m on it too. Can’t just sit by and let strangers try to claim our glory.
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 4:22pm On May 08, 2020
lawani:
I am a proud Ijesa, we share boundary with Benin.
I have read about Ijesa and read somewhere Ife ruled over Ijesa. Is it true and Please can you describe about when Ife conquered and was ruling Ijesa, and ur annual tributes to Ife.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 4:17pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
Ife ruled from Southern Togo to River Niger --- S.P. Blier.

But unfortunately your 5 kilobyte schizophrenic brain does not come with map processing features. cheesy

Otherwise you would have realized that all Yoruba kingdoms (including your 2by2 kingdom) fall under Ife's rule.
That is why I’m asking u (since ur tiny kingdom also falls within Ife rule) for details of Ife rule over you. If I ask an Ekiti man about Benin rule over them I believe he will discuss Benin’s wars, trade and administration over them.
You can do the same with Ife rule over ur kingdom.. afterall 12th to 15th centuries is not too far to forget details.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 4:02pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
Hahaha loser trying to call others loser to save face.

(1) At no point did I claim that Ife ruled from River Niger to Southern Togo.

Rather I cited historical reference. I don't expect an illiterate like you to know the difference between my personal claim and a historical reference.

(2) Your Edo brothers raided by Ibadan within your Benin Kingdom:

Osi, Ebune, Ugbosi, Ososo, Ibilo, Ekpessa, Lankpese, Ibiekuma, Ekor, and Ekpe, among several others.

The Ibadan crushed thw army of Benin Kingdom responsible for its western defence against external aggression.

I'm glad you humbly asked for this list.
Hahahaha.. u don go find names of Edo towns lol. anyways no need for the Ibadan story because it’s nonsense.

Please can you answer my question about Ife Kingdom rule over your tiny Yoruba Kingdom of origin?
U said Ife reigned during 12th to 15th empire, that’s not too far in time to forget details.
So during that period can u describe Ife rule or subjugation of your own kingdom if it really did? From the size of Ife u described, ur own tiny kingdom was inside that expanse.

BTW, I just talked to my Yoruba friend from ondo and asked him if Benin ruled Ondo he said yes. I asked him if Ife also ruled Ondo he said no. But for ur sake I argued with him that Ife indeed ruled Ondo but he said he has never heard about Ife ruling anywhere.
But since you say Ife ruled ur own kingdom I’m waiting to hear details about that rule..

I don’t think u are too dumb (tho u are dumb) to understand my question.
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 3:52pm On May 08, 2020
lawani:
The Benin empire was a Yoruba state. That is what I want you to grasp.
Please which part of Yoruba Kingdoms are u from? Are u from Ife?
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 3:51pm On May 08, 2020
gregyboy:
I created a thread of fellow yoruba people denouncing ever coming under the oyo empire
So far no one has replied.....

If not for oba ekwwka we should have been celebrating our history with no cause of alarm
We are still celebrating our history with no cause for alarm. It’s just these inferior people desperately trying to use Benin to boost their ego.
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 3:41pm On May 08, 2020
lawani:
The Benin empire was a Yoruba state. That is what I want you to grasp.
No it wasn’t. It was an Igbo state... no no it was Nupe or abi was it a calabar state?
Well we know Eastern Yorubalands were historically Benin vassal states. And if it reawakens today guy please run for your life to sokoto.
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 3:31pm On May 08, 2020
lawani:
If you reawake the Benin empire today, what language do you think you will be speaking to hold the empire together if not Yoruba?.
If Benin empire reawakens today, I will advise u to run for ur life because you will once again be conquered.
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 3:30pm On May 08, 2020
gregyboy:
You're right......

Our ancestors made this history not just the oba only them cannot just rewrite the whole history on our behalf

Maybe that's why he ristrected the myth to only the royal stool, so it won't look fishy
Little did he know it will indirectly affect us too
Very true bro.
It would have been laughable to say Edo people descended from Yorubas.
Yorubas should go research their little known history and leave Edos to celebrate their own rich history.
CultureRe: Benins Were The First Educated Nigerians. Dr Okafor by davidnazee: 2:39pm On May 08, 2020
gregyboy:
The benin history has been completely rubbished by myth the time scholars will be using to analyze other aspects of benin history they will be using it to prove the existence of benin-ife relationships

Oba eweka was led by minority complex and quickly hide under the umbrellas of yorubas for political gain. the rest obas of benins who followed tried to correct the mistake but instead they kept on recycling the myth instead of denouncing it completely now they are barking like dogs when yorubas revisionist tries to eat thier history

We better start writing and denouncing this myth for the sake of the entire Edo people if the oba who were meant to protect our history are the ones who corrupted them, then am sorry if the truth is leaked it will be a sorry case for the palace
it is not like the oba was solely the one who made this our beautiful history alone but we the help of all our ancestors so them alone can't corrupt it for we all

I have been reading yorubas early history for some few days now.....
am ashamed for we benins just under fews years we got colonized we let in minority complex sink into us and our obas began rewriting our history out of fear of been a minority.....

Oduduwa in yoruba mythology was referred as god and not a himan and it was only worship by the ife untill after febernus excavation on ife he found various artwork that ife began having historical prestige amongst the yorubas
For thier various political gains they hide on the umbrella of Oduduwa from ife
Just like the igbos are trying to do with nri but it is not working

When Johnson wrote on Oyo history he first believed the oyo people migrated from nupe, and the first king was sango, thier history is so messed up with myth my dear

Dont be afraid to call the palace out for this
I won’t blame Oba Eweka for agreeing to the Benin-Ife story.. he must have known that the Yorubas (Ooni and Alafin) are servants and puppets of the British. So claiming to be brothers with the puppets will probably put him in good standing with the British and secure his throne.
It’s the Obas after Oba Eweka that should have denounced outright such relationship.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 2:15pm On May 08, 2020
gregyboy:
Was oyo really an empire that's the question
The timeline in the article is when Oyo was supposedly a powerful empire but yet the Yoruba Kingdoms Oyo was Lord over are denying such relationship existed.
Same will be the case for Ife if such question was asked the Yoruba Kingdoms Ife supposedly ruled over according to TAO11.

Oyo even have stories with timeline of events and relationships with other kingdoms around it.
Nothing like that for Ife. No Kingdom will ever say Ife ruled over it or it paid tributes or gifts to Ife.
Not even TAO11 can confidently say Ife ruled his/her tiny kingdom of origin.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 1:45pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
I've cited reference (from Bradbury) more than once on this platform to the names of several Edo people and settlements destroyed by the Ibadan troops.

Also, I've cited reference to the territories ruled by Ife (from the 12th to the 15th centuries) including your 2 by 2 Benin Kingdom.

Your problem remains your admitted inability to read English text, and I've for that reason adviced that you hire an Edo translator if you must reply. grin

Another fundamental problem you have is taking information from your imaginary playmates (jo-jo, mi-mi, fi-fi, and others.) and passing off those information on nairaland as though you read them from some history books.

No, everyone already knows you're an illiterate who don't read. Illiterates have nothing to cite from. Illiterates are afraid of reading.

You are passionate about defending your 2by2 kingdom (just like anyone should about their kingdom), but the big obstacle for you remains your illiteracy.

You can't possibly defend anything with yoir empty schizophrenic skull. It just cant happen.

Stop saying illiteracy is just a little problem. No it's not.

Buy your first book today and read. That way you will have something to cite from.

It will also help you to slow down on taking information from your imaginary playmates.

It may also be the panacea you need for your schizophrenia disorder, who knows? grin
Loser lol.
Your claim of Ife reaching up to the East River Niger is a lie because no tribe east of Ife (except Yoruba) has the name Ife in their history or ever heard the name before. Ife is a new story to them.

Can u list the names of Benin territories Ibadan raided that is not Yoruba?

Please please can you just say the name of your Yoruba Kingdom of origin and if your traditional history tells of a time when Ife ruled your kingdom.
Please don’t say Bradbury said Ife was powerful at a time. Tell me what your grandma or grandpa or elderly person told u. Afterall elderly people from eastern Yorubalands can narrate accurately about the time when Great Benin was Lord and master over their territories. So older persons around u should be able to say something so ask them if u don’t know.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 1:35pm On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
Wow, Ife is so great that some people famz Ife by force by fire.

Why would kingdoms (including in as far away as Ghana) be so desperate to famz Ife as suggested by R.C.C. Law??

Can't remember anyone famzing the 2by2 Benin kingdom grin grin grin
Please what’s the meaning of famzing? Does it mean lies and fabrications? Because the article posted by greyboy shows most stories around Ife are lies and fabrications.

I think everyone remembers this 2by2 Benin conquering and ruling your 4by4 Yoruba for many centuries.
CultureRe: Benin Kingdom In Edo State Remained Part Of The Expansive Yoruba - Ooni Of Ife by davidnazee: 3:52am On May 08, 2020
TAO11:
I already gave you a disclaimer when I said I cant type in Edo language. grin

So, hire an interpreter to translate from English to Edo so you can understand that your dvmb question was not only answered, but your prior humiliation also highlighted.

Moreover, Ibadan raiding territories of your Benin Kingdom inhabited by your Edo people is not my claim because I can't remeber telling you at anytime that my name is Dr. R.E. Bradbury author The Benin Kingdom and the Edo Speaking Peoples of Southern Nigeria.

Moreover, everyone here will like to see you cite your imaginary playmates --- the voices in your head --- from whom you've been getting your information. cheesy I can't remember agreeing at any time to any of your schizophreniac claims.
Your knowledge of events and history is really very limited. Maybe you should ask Bradbury which parts of Benin Kingdom Ibadan raided, he will tell you it’s the Yoruba parts because even Bradbury and all the the scholars u will quote all agree with facts that Great Benin Kingdom ruled over vast parts of your Yoruba Kingdoms including; ondo, Akure, osogbo, idanre, Ekiti, ado Ekiti, ilesa, Ikere, Efon-alaiye, ikare, owo, Ijebu ode, ore, ijebu-Igbo, ise, ikole, ila, iwo, ede..
Some of these Great Benin vassal states were the ones Ibadan raided.
So like I said earlier, it’s brother raiding brothers..

As for Ife, your failure (not ur fault tho becos there’s nothing to say) to give any traditional account of any Yoruba Kingdoms describing ife’s rule over them just goes to show Ife was not great as you like to say.
I bet a greater percentage of Yorubas will deny Ife ever ruled their kingdoms.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (of 51 pages)