Stats: 3,327,269 members, 8,430,121 topics. Date: Friday, 19 June 2026 at 10:16 PM

Justwise's Posts

Nairaland ForumJustwise's ProfileJustwise's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 (of 1510 pages)

TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 7:33pm On Oct 20, 2022
Gemma11:
You are quite delusional. You are calling the British lazy but it is their systems, banking systems, technology, infrastruture, roads, buildings and and the country they developed over centuries that you think Nigerians should be more entitled to just because they are coming in to do menial jobs while parading as students?

If Nigerians are not lazy then how comes Nigeria is not as developed as the UK? Why are Nigerians running away from a country they have not developed and coming to the UK to call the citizens lazy as though they are the ones who built it?

Again this is about those on student visas abusing the system and it is not about the NHS but about schools and housing dealing with the unexpected influx of families.
The same way the British ran away from Britain to Nigeria and other part of the world to colonise them the difference here is that they did not apply for visa. Only armed themselves with bible pretending to be missionaries only to steal and loot.

Many cities in the UK were developed from materials stolen from Africa, look around royal family and you will see one or two stolen item from Africa.

Yes majority of British are damm lazy and would prefer claiming benefit than working hard.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 7:00pm On Oct 20, 2022
Gemma11:
Not every black Nigerian person 'came' to the UK. Some of us are born and raised in this land. My parents were paying Uk taxes long before I was born here in London. I am now also paying my own share....na you get bad belle..lol

Anyway the reason why I contributed to this thread was just to help genuine students and Nigerian immigrants answer questions about life in the UK not those who want to play ojoro to fleece the system.
Were your parents also born in the UK or they are part of those Nigerians who came in to abuse the system at a different time?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod):
Gemma11:
So Nigerian citizens should take priority over British citizens because they paid?

In any case there are many British citiizens who have paying into the NHS for years and they have never used it so your logic is off.
Nigerians are double charged and they are not entitled to public fund while British citizens use NHS even if they don't pay a penny,

A lot of British citizens rather sit on their lazy backsides and claim benefit rather than take those jobs Nigerians students do.

Nigerians student visa holders pay for everything till they get resident paper.

British govt charge those Nigerians even for sending emails or calls to find out about their visa application.

So stop this Nigerians are taking this and that because you got no clue what they go through to survive here.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 5:57pm On Oct 20, 2022
Gemma11:
How did they pay?
Nigerians coming into the UK may have paid less than $2k for visa fees and you think that is more than people and their parents in the UK who have been taxes for nigh on 50 plus years?

I am comparing Indian Students to Nigerian students and not those on any other visa..when we are talking about people abusing the student visa route it is Nigerians not Indians.
Apart from visa fees each member of the family and the main applicant pay £624 a year for IHS and those under the age of 18 pays £470.

So for 2 and half year student visa each family members pays £1248 even before they use NHS and when they get to the UK and start working they still pay for NI and during their visa extension they will still pay £1248 each.

So tell me how many British citizen pay that much yearly for NHS even if they don't use it?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 5:21pm On Oct 20, 2022
Gemma11:
If they came in on work visas, then they both parents can work unlimited hours and pay into the system

Also work visas are most times only given out to highly skilled individuals and we all know that Indians are the majority in the Tech industry which means they could be contractors on around £600+ a day or on £85k+ a year salaries
I work in Tech myself and most of my team members are new from India.
Nigerians that came in with their families paid thousands already into the system even before they use any social amenities or NHS.

Those on dependant visa work unlimited hours to pay into the system, after one year the student will start working unlimited hours to pay into the system. So your argument hold no water.

To your point that Indians comes in to take highly skilled jobs is far from the truth as they come in to take just ANY job that give sponsorship.

Indians abuse the system just as Nigerians, just that they do it and keep it within their communities but Nigerians are the loudest and far too boastful.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 4:45pm On Oct 20, 2022
Gemma11:
The Indians who come with their families are actually on work visas, not student visas. There is a difference. The ones of Student visas are mostly genuine.

See the chart here.
So those families that Indians brought in will not take school places from the British kids?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 4:39pm On Oct 20, 2022
Gemma11:
Yeah her focus should be on Nigerians because they are abusing the system.

Students are normally single people

Students consisting of a grown man/wife & partner with 3- 5 kids is not normal and taxing on the system. Yes they are paying for healthcare but are they also paying for school places, books, pens, free food and all the other amenities that these children use? It is something when British Born children can't find a place in school because a new Nigerian immigrant child has taken their place.

There are more Indians and Chinese coming in as students than Nigerians but these are genuine students coming alone to study. It is the Nigerians who are packing whole families here.

Suella will be back. She probably only resigned so that she could do so before the PM.
This is not true. Indians does the same
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 3:11pm On Oct 20, 2022
Uzomarrr12345:
The screenshot was saying majority of dia citizens don’t care about doing masters. !

That why he started by saying “the countries we pay so much money to do MASTERS, dia home citizens don’t give a fuccck about doing masters degree”

How can someone graduate from UNIBEN at the age of 25 , then 15 years later (40yrs), he now suddenly remembers he wants to do masters !!!… lol grin

Buhari has finished us … lol
God abeg !!!
Why not? Was that person at home for 12yrs doing nothing? At the age of 41 or 42 he will be a masters degree holder and can apply for a better job.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 1:29pm On Oct 20, 2022
LIz Truss is about to announce her departure
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 1:23pm On Oct 20, 2022
Uzomarrr12345:
That quote is saying , majority of dia home citizens don’t really further dia schooling after getting Bsc !

A lady once said something in one interview, the university she attended, she said “about 50% of the masters students were Nigerians , then inside the remaining 50% self , about 30% were from other nationals like Uganda , Kenya , India , Pakistan etc …”

Just around 20% were actually British citizens doing dia masters … majority were from different nationals !

When did Nigerians suddenly love schooling this much grin

How come we are not seeing them wanting to do masters in prestigious Universities like Babcock or even convenant university… lol

We all know 90% don’t have genuine intentions about studying … it just all about the escape !
That is not what the screenshot said
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 12:29pm On Oct 20, 2022
Uzomarrr12345:
Seriously, let’s just pray Nigeria gets good leadership and get the country working again !!!

No place like home !

90% of Nigerians wanting to do masters all of a sudden is just to escape , not genuine intentions of studying. !

A 40 year old man was giving testimony in church last Sunday of getting a UK student visa .
sad
It is well .
Do you believe that screenshot?
TravelRe: Who Knows Anything About Philip House International In ADO EKITI by justwise(mod): 8:48am On Oct 20, 2022
addiegold:
Breaking News! They have been scammed. Officially confirmed. Staffs are arrested.
lol.. who called the police?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 12:39pm On Oct 19, 2022
LagosismyHome:
A lot of care companies are doing this for Dom care ....its frightening, new people are just entering road even one week after they came all in the name of pressure and fear of COS withdrawal , using their foreign driving licence

Even if you are a very experienced driver, its not easy to just enter road like that , but so many dom care jobs are ignoring safety and requiring it

In my cousin work place , some Zimbabwe came and in 3 weeks she had a major car accident .this was 2 months ago, she hasn't healed and not back to work. It could have been fatal for her and she could have added join an innocent person to die

I been saying this thing , why are dom care requesting new people to drive up and down. Driving is not easy, then the pressure of even finding the house and going up and down so soon after arrival
Now this is scaring
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 12:38pm On Oct 19, 2022
leef2022:
Na strategic!
BTW.. taking a horse to the river don't mean it would drink from the river..

The op would have just been honest like she's done here to the agent and buy sometime to watch YouTube and learn.
Oh well..not sure if its too late now or the agent has gotten an excuse to cancel the visa
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 12:35pm On Oct 19, 2022
Lexusgs430:
You think a company insurance policy, would cover a driver, with a Nigerian driving licence............. cheesy
Well..this is another prob with the whole issue
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 9:51am On Oct 19, 2022
Lexusgs430:
That weird moment, you thought your village people no follow you enter plane........

Unbeknown to OP, then don melt enter hin bloodstream ............ cheesy

OP think say nah like 9ja, wey person go just carry motor ............ Wàhálà dey sleep, trouble wan wake am ..... grin
This is simple, the op can drive but not manual car, so look for automatic car and start your job. Don't drive manual because you are not lienced to drive one
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 9:49am On Oct 19, 2022
DeeOneBangin:
Big time Trap!!!
Oh yes! they just need an evidence to cancel his visa because he mislead them by claiming that he can drive both
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 9:36am On Oct 19, 2022
bigtt76:
Den wan nail hin coffin with DVLA ban cheesy
I'm just wondering why the agent would even consider allowing someone who is new in the UK with no licence for manual car to drive one?
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by justwise(mod): 9:19am On Oct 19, 2022
dduchess90:
Hello

That letter will need to come from the bank stating the IT issues with evidence

My thoughts are there is still time to correct this and the OP should try to do so since it is still at CAS stage

I know someone had almost same issues but at visa stage and towards the end or so, I think she was still successful but it's a big risk to take

If the OP wants to take that risk, well he can

Cheers
Yes, i just corrected my post where i wrote back instead of bank.

Its not a big deal if the bank gives a letter explaining the issue and the money was returned the same day, not days or weeks.
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by justwise(mod): 9:15am On Oct 19, 2022
onyiokoye:
He only counted 10days so he can start counting afresh. Better to wait an extra 10days than to start explaining.
10days is a lot of time if you have no time to start afresh. The money was removed and returned the same day, so a letter from the bank explaining that mistake will do.
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by justwise(mod):
onyiokoye:
Debited not deposited.
Oh ok! but still he doesn't need to restart counting, but he needs a letter from the bank acknowledging the mistake and that letter will be attached to visa application.
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by justwise(mod): 8:43am On Oct 19, 2022
ck123:
Good evening, observed that the lump sum in my POF was debited yesterday, contacted the bank and I was told it was system error, it was later returned…having “reversal” as it’s narration within the space of two hours. Please is it possible I still continue reading the POF from the initial date the Lump sum entered(10days ago) or from today?

P.S: POF is for CAS
Since you have the complete money before the lump sum was mistakenly deposited then you have no prob, the money deposited did not add to the nitial amount or reduce it.

Though you need to explain this during your visa application, don't allow the ECO to figure it out.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 7:57am On Oct 19, 2022
progress160:
Hello guys. I have a serious issue. I arrived the UK few weeks ago. My employer wanted to give me the company car today for visiting clients and told a south African guy to accompany me to test my driving. It was quite different from the manual car i drove in naija and I had issues putting it in gear one. The guy just looked at me for close to ten minutes as I tried to put it in gear one in the roads in and afterwards he shouted on me to come down tgat that he is going to report me to the office that I can't drive. He drove to the office and worked in to discuss with the boss. My boss didn't wait to hear from me and said I have to go back to my country since I can't drive. I insisted I can drive. She said she can't enter the car to test my driving but my manager convinced her to and joined at the back. She however explained how to put it in gear one and I drove them for a short distance.

She said I should come and drive her husband round the city tomorrow to prove my driving prowess. She insisted i get a car immediately and said my case will be determined tomorrow.

I heard the SA guy is bringing his sister-in-law to the company. Don't know what to think right now or what to say to them tomorrow. I need advice
Don't do it.
TravelRe: Who Knows Anything About Philip House International In ADO EKITI by justwise(mod): 1:25pm On Oct 17, 2022
Damtos0903361:
This group is quite oooooo, hope no problem? Where are those that are criticising? The problem they have is they are not matured enough in giving advice
I will not going to allow you to keep promoting this scam here, get another ID and we will see how it goes
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 by justwise(mod): 9:41am On Oct 17, 2022
dduchess90:
Hello

Please allow people to DIY

Agents aren't encouraged in this thread and you are aware of that

Cheers

@infosoftlife
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 8:55pm On Oct 16, 2022
OmichaelO:
Thank you bro.

I appreciate

I'll keep you all posted.

Please what do I look at for when buying on eBay o, I’ve not used it before

@lexusgs460
Register in ebay first and link your bank account to your ebay account, open Paypal account as well and link it to your ebay account.

If you buy stuff on Ebay you are covered by eBay Money Back Guarantee, if anything goes wrong with the transaction you will get your money back.

After all that you can start searching for item, you can bid ,make an offer or buy straightway.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 8:11pm On Oct 16, 2022
OmichaelO:
sincere apologies lol. I was too vague

S22 or pixel 7
I'm not sure about pixel 7 but with 500-550 you will get a very good Samsung s22 but S22 Ultra will cost between 700-800.

Ebay has good deals on them.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 7:57pm On Oct 16, 2022
OmichaelO:
samsung or google pixel. But the latter is not very appealing to me
Ok but which samsung phone? There are far too many of them with different price tags
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod):
Treadway:
This is not an issue of sham marriages and/or shady study POF. T[b]his is the whites once again showing their disdain and showing you that they can spit in your face all they want[/b]. There are two clear issues, which are valid but it is still of their own design.

Ironically, this is being championed by someone who is from an immigrant household.

First issue is they say una immigrants dey unskilled. Yep, all ye top people going to do care jobs are unskilled as far as the UK is concerned. How? You all aren't contributing enough to the GDP to justify your presence. Immigrants have to do 17x extra to get good jobs with good salary in UK standards, not naira conversion. Meaning whatever taxes you think you are paying now is not significant enough. The population is increasing due to the influx, but GDP per capita is reducing because the influx are not contributing enough to the economy due to the fact that they are in unskilled low level jobs. This is a fact, but like I said it is their own design.

Second issue, that concerns Nigerians negatively is that bar chart that was in the news last week or so. That bar chat is like a flashing neon light screaming 'these Nigerians need serious attention'. We aren't the highest number of immigrants but we have the overwhelmingly highest student-dependednt ratio, basically 1:1, while other that have almost x7 of student population have like ratio 9:1 and even higher. That is LOUD and warrant attention by any analyst. So, you see, another fact, but this one is not totally of their design, but can I blame the Nigerians who are moving their families along with them, because their true purpose of travelling wasn't studying? I would be called a bad belle if I said that, but ask yourslef if it is a lie. It is clear to them that Nigerians particularly aren't really coming for study.

Two things will happen now. One, they will still make admissions easy, but post-study will be limited to only specific fields, skills, experiences. Everyone else gets 6mth to a year PSW, after which failure to get job sponsorship, you're out. Second, they will cap the number of dependants that can come to 1 (they may limit this to just Nigeria). This will put a lot of people in a dilemma. Family man wey get wife and two children, who will be the dependent??.

Cc Jedisco I'd like to hear your thoughts on my points
I'm surprised that you are pulling the race card, of course not! its the easiest route for those who just want to play race card.

The policy of allowing students to bring their families is not new, it has been in existence for more than 20yrs now but still nobody has complained this much about the number coming in.

I have been in this travel section for more than 12yrs now and have never seen POF and sham marriage for student visa been openly advertised here until this year.
People who can not afford even deposit for school fees are now presenting bank statement with millions on it , people engaging in sham marriage just to travel to the as ''couples'' with no intention of studying or living together in the UK.

Last week i visited a friend and met a Nigerian family there staying with him and he is desperately looking for accommodation for them, they are family of 4 but have no money to rent even 2bedroom house or flat, so if they got no money to rent two bedroom house then what happened to the money presented during student visa application? I think we all know the answer.

My point is ....access to untouchable loan has given far too many people the opportunity to travel to the UK as ''students''

I'm not feeling sorry for British govt because they can not eat their cake and still have it.

If they want to stop people coming in they will do it without crying out but they can't resist the money these students bring in.
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by justwise(mod): 7:24pm On Oct 16, 2022
OmichaelO:
You people should come to my rescue o, my phone suddenly died yesterday night, Looking at it, it might cost up to 500 to fix considering what I’m seeing on their website.

My question is, I’m just 2 months in, can I get a contract phone or just buy another one outrightly?

Which store or outlet will allow contract? Is buying used phone advisable also here? If I was in home, Nairaland deal hunters would have been best bet

@lexusgs460, justwise and all. Please advise me.
What sort of phone are you looking at?
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by justwise(mod): 7:07pm On Oct 16, 2022
SIMPLIFIED:
I have gotten my refund back from @walspring, while it is sad my registration and plans ended up this way, I still want to commend the way he settled it amicably.
Ok good
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by justwise(mod): 7:07pm On Oct 16, 2022
@Mercyof

Has he refunded you?

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 (of 1510 pages)