Politics › Re: Victoria Obaze Becomes Mayor In UK by saintneo(m): 8:50am On May 16, 2019 |
Politics › Re: “call On Us, We’re Ready To Assist Biafrans”- Israeli Govt Tells Nnamdi Kanu by saintneo(m): 8:38pm On May 13, 2019 |
chuka85: The Israeli government celebrate their 71st Independent Day, where members of the Indigenous People of Biafra(IPOB), headed by Chief Mazi Nnamdi Kanu and his group, were recognized by the Prime Minister of Israel, Benjamin Netanyahu showing a hand of follower-ship with the group.
He said, “There is no doubt, Biafra is part of the Jewish State that based in West Africa Nigeria, If history is checked.” All IPOB members present in the course of the celebration, where given a platform to display their culture the ways they live in the Southeast Nigeria.
According to Biafra Newspaper, The Israeli government vows to assist Nnamdi Kanu in his struggle and ensure that whatever he asked for, If it is constitutional and accepted globally, “Call on us, We’re ready to assist Biafrans.”
Read more: https://gistdeal..com/2019/05/call-on-us-were-ready-to-assist.html?m=1 Hogwash! I don't see Benjamin Netanyahou in the picture. How about Ariel Sharon and Ehud Barack ? Were they in the meeting? |
Sports › Re: Top Funniest Football Club Names In Nigeria Leagues by saintneo(m): 7:51pm On May 13, 2019 |
cheapgoals: Names in club football is as important as the Club itself as it stands as a means of identification and branding, a sense of belonging for fans. Generally, across the world, clubs are named after the city they are based or the owner, sometimes companies and in the new world of sponsorship deals and partnerships, clubs are now named by the companies they have dealt with.
The City of Manchester is more famous for its two rival clubs in the EPL, same for FC Barcelona and the rivals in the capital city of Madrid which houses Atletico [/b]and [b] Real Madrid. Also, Red Bull, an energy drink manufacturing company has clubs in Germany (RB Leipzig), Austria (RB Salzburg), Brazil (RB Brasil) etc, to show how deep sponsorship deals have gone in club identification.
In Nigeria, the case is not different as clubs are majorly named after States and cities, due to the non-existence of sponsorship deals in the league, private clubs are majorly named after their proprietors or cities based and most recently clubs are getting owned by churches thus leading to clubs named after churches.
However, amidst some pretty cool names like some names that would make you stop and think again and sometimes spark a smile and once in a while, short laughter. The State finals of the Aiteo Cup held across the country brought up names which makes one wonder the level of creativity or the none existence of it while considering names of clubs.
Here we take a look at some of the funniest names we found in the state FA cup and the local leagues.
Box to Box FC
Yes, you saw that right, Box to Box FC, understandable that the FA permits club owners to use any names they prefer without any laid down guidelines or rules but this sounds like a name coined out of disinterest to think deep in creating a name for a football club.
“Basically football is played from your box to the opponent’s box in search of a goal, it’s a box to box game“- this is me trying to imagine the explanation whoever coined the name will try to give if probed. Or maybe he was staring at a pack of boxes while thinking of a name- who knows?! *Shrugs*
More interestingly, they literally and practically “boxed” MFM FC in the Lagos State FA Cup final clinching the title with a 2-1 victory. I don’t know which is more interesting, the nature of their victory or the nature of their name!
Qutar Waters
Now this name sounds like a country or more logical, the name of a River in Borno (I wonder if there is any at all) then the only other meaningful explanation I could give to this after serious research is that maybe it’s actually a “pure-–” sorry, Sachet water company that owns and runs the club.
Other than that, I wonder what else it could mean, maybe a trip to Borno will shed more light on this name, however as i have a busy schedule the trip will be postponed until “further” notice.
Confine FC
Location: Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom Level: Nationwide League One
Seriously? Confine FC? Ok good, according to an online dictionary “Confine” means “To restrict; to keep within bounds; to shut or keep in a limited space or area”.
This Got me wondering if the person who named the Club was “Grounded” or in a police cell while naming the club. Ikot FC would have been better, isn’t it? Whose with me?
Rarara FC
Rarara what? Okay “Rarara” in Yoruba is roughly translated to “No No No“, used to show refusal of a suggestion, of all the names on the list, this seems to be the least creative of all, I mean the owner basically repeated two letters twice, he could as well have repeated the letters 7 times.
I guess it’s beyond my understanding the logic behind picking this as a club name. I wonder what Rarara means in Hausa or Igbo. A similar name is Malumfashi FC but the fact that it is named after a local government in Katsina state saves it from further backlash but then for the sake of broadcasters who may bite their tongues while attempting a pronunciation, they should have done better with the naming.
Go Round FC
You never thought NPFL club sides would have their tables shaken, did you? But anyone ever wondered what made a certain club owner name his team “Go Round“, I wonder what he means by the statement “Go Round”, who he is directing to move in circles and what he should go round?
Oops my bad, actually forgotten that “Go Round” is now a noun.
God Deliver Me Bible Church FC
This is a club side that could turn a sports show to a religious program without fuss. In as much as the team is owned by a church, there are better options which would still show a hint of the religious owner. This sounds more like a prayer point than a name.
At least there are alternative short religious names that can be used, e.g “Saints FC“, remember Welsh league Champions The New Saints“(TNS), however, God Deliver Me when abbreviated is still as awkward as ever and not as awesome as (TNS), pronounce[b] GDMBC[/b] interesting isn’t it?
It’s not limited to Nigeria Dundee United sounds like a team of retards in Nigeria. “Always Ready FC” in Bolivia; Every team should always be ready to play football so it is therefore sensible to have it as your team name as well as a mantra.
In Zimbabwe there is a club named Triangle FC [/b]as well as [b]Chicken Inn; Unsurprisingly, this club is named after its sponsor, a fast food chain. But money buys success, and the club became national champions in 2015
Naughty Boys; I really don’t know how the naming process works for Botswanan football teams but I imagine for this team it went something on the lines of, “you are a boisterous lot, therefore you will be called naughty boys”?
Hafnarfjordur FC is a club you would not want to call without the fear of biting your tongue.
Any other funny named football club, home or abroad that you know,please drop it in the comments section. Let's have fun..
https://cheapgoals.com/the-funniest-football-club-names-in-nigeria-leagues/ Kukurukuu FC in Edo State. played in fa cup |
Sports › Re: Noussair Mazraoui Breaks His Fast On The Pitch by saintneo(m): 12:11pm On May 09, 2019 |
ladiesreject: Lies
They broke fast even before kickoff.
Kickoff was 8pm, fasting ended at 6:45pm. (7:45pm in Nederland)
Make Una de lie small small abeg.
Person no fit drink water again? Countries in Europe is on a different latitude compared to countries in Africa. At this time of the year the northernmost parts of the world experience longer daylight period; thus sunset at Amsterdam is around 21:19 hours. By mid June sunset can be around 23:00 hours. Click link to see sunset at Amsterdam |
Politics › Re: Ore: From Theatre Of War To Industrial Hub by saintneo(m): 7:39am On May 09, 2019 |
Babatundecash: I need someone to Tell me why Ojukwu Led His Biafra army to South west...What was Ojukwu Purpose of leaving His Biafra Territory to the Yoruba Land?....Was He planning to capture and Enslave the Yoruba's or what?....I just need answers to the questions and no sentiment should be attach. The troops where LED by Banjo a Yoruba soldier in Biafra Army. This was not a tribal conquest but to capture Lagos (the military power in Lagos). |
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) › Re: Manchester City Vs Leicester City (1 - 0) On 6th May 2019 by saintneo(m): 8:19pm On May 06, 2019 |
LesbianBoy: To all the Liverpool fans hoping Leceister City do them a favour, you better go and sleep! Nothing dey happen! me I'll check score by 9:30 |
Celebrities › Re: Mercy Johnson's Children Push Her Inside Swimming Pool by saintneo(m): 5:36am On May 06, 2019 |
Travel › Re: How Airport Officials Can Easily Plant Drugs On Your Luggage (Photos) by saintneo(m): 3:44pm On May 04, 2019 |
Built2last: Its kot easy to open these seals and get same type between check in and boarding. You will know if your seal is removed. Those are the type I used. But I still believe a group can open and re-seal a bag. |
Travel › Re: How Airport Officials Can Easily Plant Drugs On Your Luggage (Photos) by saintneo(m): 1:21pm On May 04, 2019 |
Built2last: Reason people seal their bags after checking at the airport.
Once I pass clearance at the airport. I place my bag at the sealing machine and seal it. I can't shout.
Imagine landing and they open your bags and it's full of drugs. You will look for stammer but wont find.
Seal your bag once checked at the airport in Naija. Abroad, no one opens your bag except the scan picks up something strange.
If you know nothing strange in your bag and kg is okay. Seal the bag from home. What is difficult in opening and re-sealing bags? To be candid, I don't even bother using padlocks on my bag. The only time, I sealed a box was when I had company properties in them |
Politics › Re: Votes From ‘atiku’s Server’ Excludes Other Parties by saintneo(m): 3:17am On May 03, 2019 |
ManirBK: The votes polled by the PDP candidate in the February 23 presidential election, Atiku Abubakar, will increase with the collated results of the election in Rivers State as they were not included in his petition to the Presidential Election Petitions Tribunal.
Atiku had in the petition claimed that results from INEC server showed that he won the election with a total of 18, 356, 732 as against the 16,741,430 votes scored by President Muhammadu Buhari.
He, however, said that the numbers were without the results from Rivers State, which he claimed were not uploaded on the server.
But INEC had during its final announcement of results for the election on February 27 returned President Muhammadu Buhari as winner with 15, 191, 847 votes.
It said Atiku scored 11, 262, 978 votes. The electoral umpire included collated result from Rivers State where out of 678,167 total votes cast, Atiku polled 473,871 while Buhari got 150, 710.
The result from Rivers State takes the total votes gotten by Atiku on the server to 18, 830,603, while also increasing Buhari’s votes to 16,892,140 votes. However, the figures, which recorded a total of 35, 722, 743 valid votes did not tally with INEC’s declared valid votes of 27, 324, 583.
The results, which showed 43 per cent voter turnout out of the 82 million collated registered voters, also disagreed with the 36 per cent voter turnout declared by INEC.
Atiku’s result submitted at the tribunal was silent on the votes scored by the other 71 presidential candidates, whereas INEC recorded 869, 758 votes for the candidates.
https://www.dailytrust.com.ng/votes-from-atikus-server-excludes-other-parties.html? I wondered when this will come to light. Thought about it earlier; however, I believe this is an error in presentation which can be tossed out by the court if Atiku and his team do not present the full report. Wetin concern me? I'm not a politician yet. |
Travel › Re: Apapa-wharf Road That Dangote Reconstructed; See What Trailers Are Turning It To by saintneo(m): 8:18pm On May 02, 2019 |
Politics › Re: We Will Always Identify With Senator Adeleke – Classmates by saintneo(m): 7:42am On May 02, 2019 |
lanrexdo: All this ones are looking for contracts just incase he becomes Governor.. lol..If you know you know.. Nothing is for free even in freetown. But can Buhari bring such people? |
Celebrities › Re: "Mr Chruchill 1min Man" - Cossy Ojiakor Mocks Tonto Dikeh Ex Husband by saintneo(m): 7:30am On May 02, 2019 |
Politics › Re: Why Are Igbos Trying So Hard To Claim Delta Igbos are igbos? by saintneo(m): 5:14pm On Apr 30, 2019 |
imhotep: Nzeogwu was from Delta. Yet you say Nzeogwu organized and led the "Igbo coup". But there are no Igbos in Delta.
You must be suffering from a special type of madness.
cc lzaa Nzeogwu the idiot that brought us to this nonsense is from Delta. We should be saved from Delta Igbo. |
Politics › Re: Why Are Igbos Trying So Hard To Claim Delta Igbos are igbos? by saintneo(m): 5:12pm On Apr 30, 2019 |
Ymodulus: Some months ago i wrote an article on why the Deltans are not igbos and should be left out of the Biafram struggle.
Today while watching a Nigerian Movie title " The Meeting Silverbird Cinema "
I watched this, and I noticed the igbo lady trying so hard to make sure that Rita Dominic a Delta woman accept that she is Igbo and not Delta.
Why are igbos this forceful. Deltans say leave them alone and you are still trying to force yourselves. Did you read your write up? Polish Jews, Russian Jews, etc are not Jews. Even Anambra Igbo, Enugu Igbo, are not Igbos. |
Family › Re: Name Translation To Urhobo by saintneo(op): 8:37am On Apr 30, 2019 |
Dolphin01: God's light--Urhukpe 're Oghene
God's glory---Urinrin 're Oghene.
Aghogho---- Happiness thanks |
Jobs/Vacancies › Re: Help!!!!! Just Got A Job At Apapa..... Suggest Best Place To Live by saintneo(m): 10:27am On Apr 29, 2019 |
Hey Butterscotch92
Where you able to get an accommodation in Apapa? I want to conduct a research on the area, just wondering if you are residing there. |
Politics › Re: How Will You Rate Fashola's Performance As Minister Of Power? by saintneo(m): 6:23pm On Apr 28, 2019 |
LessNoise: As power 30% as works 70% as housing 30% which works? |
Family › Re: Name Translation To Urhobo by saintneo(op): 2:23pm On Apr 28, 2019 |
minexpo: Gods light.....urukpe ro ghene
God's glory........uriri ro ghene
 Thanks a lot.
Can Aghogho be Uriri as well? |
Family › Re: My Grandmum Was An Idol Worshiper, Now This Is Happening To Me, Please Help! by saintneo(m): 2:17pm On Apr 28, 2019 |
PSTEMMA1960: A Dying Soul Needs Ur Urgent Advice B4 It's 2 Late.
Good evening my good people of nairaland..hope everyone is doing fine?
don't know the right section to post this but I think i'll get mature response here...
Note: the post is going to be very long, but pls read to the end, I just want to pour out my heart to get an answer to some issues about my life.
My Name is Emmanuel born December 25-1991 from isiala mbano local government area of Imo state. My grandparents gave birth to 11 children, as I type now all 11 of them are dead, none of them married b4 death, my dad was the only one that married.....
My dad died December 25 1997 and my mum died in the year 2000... it hasn't been easy since then.....my mum's people rejected us saying that my dad did not legally married my mum...
my 2 sister are in Lagos now (married with children) I came to Abj in the year 2006 with a woman that owns a restaurant at area3 (my aim then was to save some money and go back to the village and start doing okada)
after working there for 2 years I was able to raise some money (my salary then was 3k) when I told the woman that I wanted to go, she asked me not to do so, that she really wants to help me...(I was happy) she asked me to go and learn how to drive with a promise of buying a car for me on higher purchase.
after the driving school no car, she sacked their driver and I became their driver (1k was then added to my salary) I didn't complain I waited till December again, I told her that I want to go, she now explain that I must drive her for like 4 good years b4 she can buy the car, i lost interest immediately. .
then to give my my 3 years salary became a problem (I was telling her to save it for me because i was naive then)
the woman did plus and minus money for driving school, shortage of beer and other stuffs....i was left with only 1500 after 3 years of my hard labour.....I had no option but to carry my Ghana must go bag and start sleeping with Hausa guys outside. ..
that wasn't still enough the woman arrested me that her life was in danger because she has sacked me.....police asked my to sign an undertaken that if anything should happen to her I'm responsible which I did.....after 3 days I was released. .
I was still sleeping outside..... so many other experiences...but the last one was in Asokoro hospital canteen.....my salary then was 15k I was able to save 270k there was an Alhaji that was always coming there to eat almost everyday then "mr Haruna" there was a sallah period that he even dasshed me 20k.
so one evening I met the man he was telling me that he doesn't like the nature of my job, that I should give him my C.V for a better Job...when I told him my qualifications he was not impressed ..
then on my own i went to him after one week that since he is already willing to help me that he should assist me in getting a car. ..he said it was a minor thing, that his brother a custom officer at zone3 was in charge of auctioning......I told him how much I had, he said he was going to add it up to make it 500k I went to Oceanic back then and withdrew the 270k gave to him. ....till today I didn't set my eyes on the man ..
it was not 2 long our madam employed a new staff, David from Cross river state......in less than one week the guy ran away with the money that our madam kept with me (she has been keeping money with me close to 2 years) to buy drinks and chicken the following day....87k. I had to work and pay her back...... after that I decided not to work again .....
in 2011 December 31st I gave my life to Christ and started going to church.....
because of my zeal and commitment I was ordained a minister in 2012, the following year as a pastor.... in 2015 I was sent to a state to open a branch which I went.... in less than 6 months I was having close to 74 members....
but the offering was not much, I pleaded with the head qtrs to give me time let the place grow numerically first. but they refused and closed down the branch.....(I was sad, so I left the church in 2016)
I tried driving work I always have issues, if I get a car today the same night I'll hear audible voice telling me that I won't succeed unless I come back and serve them in the village...(my grand mum was an idol worshiper she was always going to the native doctors meetings with me when I was 4-7 years)
Right now things have gone worse for me, no food no clothes no house no job....... stange dreams I am even tired of praying......
I am loosing my mind and sleep as if I am running mad, I always ask am I going to die like my uncles without any achievement...... I haven't seen my only brother since 7 years.....i'll always think that this year things would be better but it will turn out worst.....
even a small car that I managed to buy last year broke down I had to sell it anyhow when my younger brother told me that our old house had collapsed in the village.......
I don't know if I can cross this stage of my life .....has anyone been in my situation b4? is there hope for me? pls someone should talk to me, i am frustrated.............pls no 2 much insults....thanks and God bless...
mod abeg front page.... Which did you join in the past? Have you been to MFM? Can you go for deliverance? It's a strong battle, but you need to be delivered. |
Family › Name Translation To Urhobo by saintneo(op): 8:42pm On Apr 27, 2019*. Modified: 2:25pm On Apr 28, 2019 |
Hi everyone,
I'm not sure if this should be here or culture section.
I need the Urhobo translation of these names:
1. Ifechukwu - Light of God or God's Light.
2. Ebubechukwu - Glory of God or God's Glory.
Urhobo people oya biko heeeeelp |
Celebrities › Re: Regina Daniels And Ned Nwoko Spotted Together In Public For The 1st Time by saintneo(m): 7:03pm On Apr 27, 2019 |
apcdoncastnaija: is True that this small girl is dating her papa and her father and mother supported her you are wrong... grand father |
Politics › Re: Buhari To Visit Lagos Tomorrow, Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by saintneo(m): 11:02am On Apr 23, 2019 |
Xisnin: What! He will worsen the traffic situation on ground. I hope all trucks will disappear as usual. |
Travel › Re: My First Time Onboard An Airplane by saintneo(m): 7:38am On Apr 23, 2019 |
mine was in 2008. My dad celebrated my first job by buying a ticket to Lagos.
I was very happy. I was assigned the emergency exit sit maybe because I had the macho look. I can't remember everything now. moreover, my my milage on flights is very high now |
Education › Re: Nigerian Couple Bag Phds In Mathematics by saintneo(m): 7:16am On Apr 23, 2019 |
oduademon: They are Hausas, its probably some shitty school in a muslim country in Africa or ME you are a tribalistic and racist fellow |
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) › Re: Everton Vs Manchester United (4 - 0) On 21st April 2019 by saintneo(m): 3:49pm On Apr 21, 2019 |
SageMK: MAN UTD will still make top 4.
Haters prepare to be disappointed. if and only if they defeat Man City. This loss should motivate them. |
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) › Re: Cardiff City Vs Liverpool (0 - 2) On 21st April 2019 by saintneo(m): 3:25pm On Apr 21, 2019 |
Win all matches both EPL and UCL. ynwa |
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) › Re: Everton Vs Manchester United (4 - 0) On 21st April 2019 by saintneo(m): 3:05pm On Apr 21, 2019 |
Celebrities › Re: Soso Soberekon Celebrates Five Years Without Sex by saintneo(m): 4:28pm On Apr 19, 2019 |
guy man don fuuuuuuulllllllllllllll!
GP tank. Crystalized things. |
Celebrities › Re: Queennerfatiti1 Supports Princess Shyngle On Entertainers Dating Same Boyfriends by saintneo(m): 3:14am On Apr 18, 2019 |
fecta: Please Nairaland should not make another idiot trend ooo.
I am still thinking for a way to make drake snap with Messi mustn't be messi, it can be suarez, dembele, countinho, etc |
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) › Re: FC Porto Vs Liverpool: UCL Quarter Finals (1 - 4) On 17th April 2019 by saintneo(m): 10:08pm On Apr 17, 2019 |
oluwatosink: Manu and liverpool, We be friends.
Abeg help us beat barca for semi final..
English team must win this ucl. then beat Man C on Wednesday |
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) › Re: Manchester City Vs Tottenham Hotspur:UCL Quarter Finals (4 -3) On 17th Apr. 2019 by saintneo(m): 10:06pm On Apr 17, 2019 |
SageMK: Drake Strikes Again  I hope this extends to EPL #MNCTOT |