Stats: 3,331,397 members, 8,450,134 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 July 2026 at 08:22 PM

Sapphic's Posts

Nairaland ForumSapphic's ProfileSapphic's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 20 pages)

FamilyRe: Husband Arrives Home At 7.00am by Sapphic: 7:53pm On Feb 04, 2009
ROFLMAO. . . And your hubby fell in line right? LOL
FamilyRe: Husband Arrives Home At 7.00am by Sapphic: 7:50pm On Feb 04, 2009
It is normal in any culture if you let your husband get away with it. Men like to take liberties and you have to let them know what is acceptable and what isn't. Period. Once the man is used to this however, it will become a battle of wills to get him to change his behaviour.
FamilyRe: Can I Tell Him The Truth Now? by Sapphic: 7:47pm On Feb 04, 2009
Just tell him the truth and explain why you lied, that you did not want to lose him. Make him understand that he owes your family no obligations etc.

@ Sisi, All this yoyoing with IDs has got to stop young lady. tongue What happened this time? embarassed
FamilyRe: If Your Husband Doesnt Touch You Again What Will You Do? by Sapphic: 7:41pm On Feb 04, 2009
@ Topic,

Men (and women) never finish for outside now? If he can cheat, so can I. Plus there are dildos and vibrators. No sweat. undecided
CultureRe: Whats With The H - Factor ? by Sapphic: 7:36pm On Feb 04, 2009
spikedcylinder:
I think its because there's no "H" in the Yoruba language so people try to compensate on way or the other. cheesy
Says who? We have "H" in our alphabet. It is pronounced "he" undecided

[b]H[/b]everybody should stop making fun of my tribe [b]h[/b]or [b]h[/b]else [b]h[/b]I will [b]h[/b]explode. [b]H[/b]Is [b]h[/b]it [b]h[/b]our fault that we cannot differentiate when to [b]h[/b]add "H" [b]h[/b]or not? [b]H[/b]It was passed down from generation to generation. LMAO. cheesy
LiteratureRe: Chiamanda Adichei Wins Italian Prize by Sapphic: 7:22pm On Feb 04, 2009
princesa:
you sure dont know the meaning of being a woman, so dream on its the only free commodity these days undecided
having a conscience bite now aint you
Joblessness i still claim is a disease
and still waiting for your flat butt here in my class tongue
Guilty conscience ke? Someone with more sense would see that I am trying to get the hell away from you. undecided And really, you should stop drawing continuous attention to your disease. We get it. . . Honestly, we do, we do. cheesy (Na wah for all these yawa o. First Funmi called my butt "Idi Nla", now this one is calling it flat. Is there no insult that would be bestowed on my lovely Behind? embarassed). LOL.
Forum GamesRe: Crossword-like Game by Sapphic: 5:31pm On Feb 04, 2009
Rhythms

Past tense of Stand (5)
Forum GamesRe: Crossword-like Game by Sapphic: 5:28pm On Feb 04, 2009
lysaa:
fire doesnt come natural u make it, the ans is salt
Tell that to the victims of the California bush fire.

@Steve49ja

Ans: Meat

Used to view minute things and make them bigger (10)
CelebritiesRe: Beyoncé Knowles Vs. Victoria Beckham - Who Is A Better Dresser? by Sapphic: 5:10pm On Feb 04, 2009
Yeah Right. With a middle name like "El Matador", what does one expect? undecided

dyabman:
When you dress better , 90% sure you must be very hot in it , If your not hot then the dressing is WACK! , BEYONCE ALL THE WAY!!
With this your fashion sense, I am sure you are the type of bloke who wears sandals with socks, or Agbada with tie. undecided tongue LOL.

chrissiebe:
am not surprised that we gat lots of beyonce haters on here!!! it's a trend in the internet world!!!!!

to answer ur qsts, vic has her own style so does bee, there are days when vic looks a mess and there are days when bee looks a mess, their senses of style is diff.
Forget that her mom dresses her, thats bullshit atleast she doesnt pay millions to stylists to make her look good!
and abt the singing, have u heard them both sing, u guys are just delusional!!!! Go to bee's concert and go to vic's concert and tell me who's more talented, It's like comparing a rat and a lion!!!mshwww

In my opinion, bee dresses way better than vic, seen them both casually, arun oju ko now! Y'all just hating! PERIOD! undecided

It's sad!!!
What is there to hate her for? This is not a thread for singing talents. As clear as it is that Beyonce is a better singer than Victoria Beckham, that is the exact way that it is clear that Victoria is a way better dresser and has a better fashion sense than Beyonce. Victoria is nowhere near Beyonce's league when it comes to vocal skills, but she is light years ahead of Beyonce in the fashion stakes and no matter how much you are a Beyonce wannabe does not change plain facts. Beyonce aint no fashion icon, Victoria is.
FamilyRe: Don't You Just Hate It When People Lack Simple Hygiene? by Sapphic: 4:56pm On Feb 04, 2009
Ben20001:
my teacher in the primaries made me understand that the young ones of a goat are called kids undecided
ROFLMAO. . .they are, but like many things, the meaning has evolved. Almost the same as when I was little, Pussy meant a cat and Cock meant a male chicken and D.I.C.K was simply a name. LOL tongue

KarmaMod:
Should I be surprised that majority that are against feeding babies outside have also expressed that they arent keen on having kids themselves? wink

Im Not.
Iwo lo mo o. You are not what? Keen on having kids?
FamilyRe: Don't You Just Hate It When People Lack Simple Hygiene? by Sapphic: 4:51pm On Feb 04, 2009
OMO IBO:
aunty saphire, abeg, call a spade a spade!
whether socially retarded, socially repugnant or whatever phrase you guys choose to beautify it with. it's still absurd especially when there's a baby involved.

secondly, how can you agree she used the wrong phrase? i dont see where she may have hinted or even suggested that but you've gone ahead to say that.

abeg, if we dey take sides make we sometimes 'shine our eyes'.

aunty saphire, no pun intended. me and you be like 1 and 2.
Look Papa Nnamdi, I clearly stated that that way my personal opinion and not Spiked as my definition of  the term "socially retarded" is narrower than hers. My eyes dey shine well well. Irrespective of whatever you say, I still think breastfeeding a baby in the full glare of the public is in bad taste. You keep on going about a crying baby in a supermarket or some other place. Every mother knows that babies need to be fed regularly (or at certain intervals), that is why many mothers express their breast milk into bottles for those very public places when it is inappropriate to whip out a breast. And since it is the same breast milk, the nutrients are the same. Clearly, many women do this or else we would perpetually have breasts thrust in our faces all day everyday.

OMO IBO:
I may have just cracked your views on this whole breast feeding thing. While you are going on about ‘the right thing to do’ i’m referring to ‘what’s (already) happening’ and how it is almost impossible to ignore a hungry crying baby.

if the above is right, then I’d like to inform you that things happen sometimes. I’m sure a good majority of the women who breast feed their babies in public have no other choice but to breast feed their babies. If it happens to be in public then so be it.

No loving mum will let her baby cry continuously while she looks for a private place
A "loving" and responsible mum would have come prepared. Yes, there are times that things do not work out, but some women breastfeed whether it is an emergency or not. How does one explain that obnoxious woman always breastfeeding on my bus? angry

@ Ruby, obviously, if there was a blanket over the breast, I won't even complain much. But believe me, there are so many women who do not bother with this (obviously, some do, but not all).

Anyway sha, everyone has their own views on the matter. You guys think it is fine, I think it is repugnant.
TV/MoviesRe: Hollywood: Favourite Movies, Actors and Awards. Tinseltown reviews & Gossip by Sapphic: 6:05am On Feb 04, 2009
doyin13:
See as this babe fall in hand sha. . . .dey try fill the blank spaces.

abegi. . .na the Sapele version of Gladiator u watch abi.

Shior. . .Tombolo pikin
LMAO. The thing tire me o. Na where Brad Pitt dey for Gladiator? E be like say na Aba home video version the sisi dey watch o. undecided
LiteratureRe: Which Books/Novels Are You Currently Reading? by Sapphic: 4:30am On Feb 04, 2009
Tallulah by Tallulah Bankhead
CultureRe: Are You Proud To Be A Nigerian? by Sapphic: 4:25am On Feb 04, 2009
huxley:
What is there to be proud about? What is there really?
Abeg help me ask o.
FamilyRe: Don't You Just Hate It When People Lack Simple Hygiene? by Sapphic: 4:19am On Feb 04, 2009
folkzy:
how is it ridiculous? most mothers breast-feed their baby outiside if there's a need for it n it ain't absurd or anything.

Also how is that socially retarded? socially retarded and breast-feeding can't be in the same sentence. Hence, i rest my case.
Says who? [I just saw that socially retarded girl that was expelled from school breast-feeding her baby in front of the White House] I think that qualifies as a coherent sentence. Don't you? undecided

OMO IBO:
please tell me this is a joke. please. this has to be a joke.

so breast feeding a hungry baby is retarded?
She did not say "retarded", she said "socially retarded". There is a difference between both. However, I agree that that was the wrong phrase to use, but I believe that Spiked meant something along the lines of many people view breast feeding in public as (socially) repugnant (I may of course be wrong as to her meaning smiley).
RomanceRe: What Every Woman Should Have. by Sapphic: 3:46am On Feb 04, 2009
OMO IBO:
Maya Angelou, sebi she be one of those pple wey dey lick oprah yansh.
You have a great problem Omo Nna. (Even if your crass statement was remotely true? What has that got to do with this topic?)

OMO IBO:
there's nothing in the poem that stands out for me.
Of course not. Nothing that empowers (encourages or praises) women ever stands out or appeals to you. undecided
FoodRe: Make Una See Wetin Chicken Cause! by Sapphic: 3:16am On Feb 04, 2009
Treetop20:
lol cheesy cheesy
are they Nigerians?
Yes (at least two of them are Nigerian. One is speaking Yoruba to the other). How wmbarrassing is that? undecided
RomanceRe: I Like This Girl Very Much, But My English Is Not Good. Can I Use Pidgin? by Sapphic: 3:01am On Feb 04, 2009
[quote author=Ebony-Silk link=topic=228591.msg3422960#msg3422960 date=1233711640]If he can speak correct English and pidgin English, it's so darn sexy. It's like French in my ears.
I mean, one minute he's speaking solid, orgasmic literate English, then next. . . .pidgin, like he owns the best of both worlds. oh my!!!!!!!!!!!!! shocked shocked shocked

But if he can't speak english and na pidgin he dey speak all the time, mehn, he best comot from my face undecided[/quote]LOL. Okay, I know I do not do the guy thing, but I cannot imagine anything designed to just turn one off than switching to pidgin in the throes of passion. I cannot imagine being in bed having sex, then the guy starts to jabber some broken English ("You fine no be small. E don tay wey I wan tell you say. . . ). I will shove the Arrow away. French. . . ooooh yes. Pidgin. . . no, No, Goodness NOOOO!
CultureRe: Nigerian Names You Love So Much. by Sapphic: 2:39am On Feb 04, 2009
grafikdon:
Zikora
Uyai
Idara
Ola (The Igbo and Yoruba version)
Zina
Chetanna
Ronke
Teri
Naborhi
Oladimeji (But I prefer Dimeji)
Etido
Ayoola
Esosa
Chizoba
Danagogo
Uchichi
Adisa
Chika
Mitaire ( prefer the abbreviation Mitai. . .seckzy!!!!)
Walahi if I did not know that Nigeria has so many diverse ethnic groups, I'd have said you people were beginning to form names o. undecided
RomanceRe: I Like This Girl Very Much, But My English Is Not Good. Can I Use Pidgin? by Sapphic: 2:34am On Feb 04, 2009
Sisikilll:
Lmao!! Awww, you will be surprised how many girls go all dreamy eyed to baby I don dey check you out for long time now no be small thing ooooh! tongue

Seriously speaking though. . . I mean take his time with his English. I think the problem here is he is not conversing as fast as he would like to. . . all that taking his time to gather his thoughts and whatnot. I'd rather a guy spoke in slow and steady GOOD English than whiplash inducing Pidgin.

TPTB knows better than to ta si mi angry.

I felt like a change is all.  grin
I am yet to know one such person. Like Karma said, he should go and dust his English books o. Talking too slow will make him look like one omugo and if he has the misfortune to let his nervousness develop into a stutter, that is a double whammy right there.
RomanceRe: I Like This Girl Very Much, But My English Is Not Good. Can I Use Pidgin? by Sapphic: 2:01am On Feb 04, 2009
Sisikilll:
Take your time, no need to rush your speech. . . This isn't a race. As long as you are well mannered and a gentleman all around i.e no alrightsir behavior, I doubt she'll mind that you aren't fluent.
Are you kidding me? Abeg jo. It is okay to encourage somebody, but we all know that tabon tabon is a no no with so many of us. And abeg how many educated well mannered (middle to upper class) women will give someone who is speaking pidgin English a second glance? It will take a lot for me not to feel "insulted" (interprete loosely) if some guy (well mannered or not) walked up and started yarning "Abeg fine girl, na wetin be ya name? I like you no be small" or something similar. There is a time and a place for Pidgin English and "toasting" someone is not that right time (not unless that is the only medium that person understands). Rather than that resort to your native language (or not) undecided.

@ Sisi. . . You don change again? Or the almighty powers don come again?
CultureRe: Nigerian Names You Love So Much. by Sapphic: 1:32am On Feb 04, 2009
earTHMama:
I love:

Sani
Osinachi
Karibo
Tekena
Onome
Atiku
Nosa
Kachi
Halima
Ibinabo
Olisadebe
Funmi wink wink wink
Abeg, almost all the names on this list dey wowo undecided (Make una no come crucify me if your name dey there o. lipsrsealed).
TV/MoviesRe: Hollywood: Favourite Movies, Actors and Awards. Tinseltown reviews & Gossip by Sapphic: 9:16pm On Feb 03, 2009
spikedcylinder:
Val Kilmer wasn't so bad jor. I liked him in that "The Saint" and he was ok in "Top Gun" too.

Apart from her fantabulous boobs, what else? huh tongue
I like her (not her acting o). I think she is hot (well, pre-baby that is). smiley

KarmaMod:
boob sef, there's better.

I dont really consider her much of an actress. She's Hollywood's token "black" woman for movies that want to see "diverse" only cos she doesnt look like the typical black woman

Other than "Losing Isiah", she's pretty wack acting wise.
Well, that is probably because she actually isn't "black". Like Obama, she is mixed race (every white reject jumps on the black wagon and of course is accepted by the black race). And yes, she has no exceptional acting skills of note, but the thread said "Actors/Actresses You Love or Just Plain Admire" and I lovvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeee Halle.
FamilyRe: Would You Prefer A Nigerian Lady For Marriage? by Sapphic: 9:05pm On Feb 03, 2009
skyone:
Unfortunately not Dageham, however too late and sounds nonsensical to me; thus think of a more consolatory approach which i think will bring out your intelligence to some degree wink
LOL. . . And that is exactly what your thread is. . . Nonsense. undecided grin

Oh! And do not worry about me appearing unintelligent on this thread. Afterall, I can appear no less intelligent than you after the codswallop you posted. cheesy LMAO. grin
CelebritiesRe: Beyoncé Knowles Vs. Victoria Beckham - Who Is A Better Dresser? by Sapphic: 8:51pm On Feb 03, 2009
spikedcylinder:
What is the meaning of "arun oju ko now"? huh
I cannot provide a literary interpretation, but it in effect means that it is glaring (or clearly visible to the eye etc).
CelebritiesRe: Etim Esin Sues JJ Okocha For Public Disgrace by Sapphic: 8:46pm On Feb 03, 2009
If this really happened, Okocha is a prick and I hope he is sued for every penny he has got. Normally, I would have said that Etim Esin should not have submitted himself for the search, but in that bleeping backward country, people would have taken that as an indication of guilt. I hope Etim does not listen to any pleas or apologies to make him withdraw his suit. People need to be taught that there are consequences to their foolhardy actions.

Raymond88:
Damn extortionists, they should have asked for a public apology first before monetary compensation. I wouldn't pay them a kobo.
You would when judgment is entered against you and the bailiffs come to fifa your possessions.
RomanceRe: Rags To Riches Romance Stories by Sapphic: 5:30am On Feb 03, 2009
190:
well i knw a girl that used 2 style for me wen i was in 100L thoes days
she used 2 feel that she owned the world after God and i was head over
heels in lust for her,anyway i cudnt get her den and she beat her chest den
that i wud be the last person she cud ever go out wit cos she knew i really
had smtin 4 her,anyway 4/5yrs later, she is still sending me threat messages
till date that if i dont go out wit her she wud track me down and hurt me
or she wud hurt herself and leave a note that i caused it, and she never did
but i stil remind her wot she told herself,i dnt have anytin 4 her anymore cos
im tied down 2 a yoruba girl smwher now, i wish her d best anyway
huh Is it me? How is this a rags-to-riches romance story? At best this would be a "Law of Karma" (or a no-condition-is-permanent) story.
FamilyRe: Would You Prefer A Nigerian Lady For Marriage? by Sapphic: 5:13am On Feb 03, 2009
skyone:
I live Essex but why player hate even though i live in Peckham, i can decide to live at Mile 2 if it pleases me, come on grow up and react to the thread like other sensible ones have done.
Let me guess, in a dump like Dagenham. undecided Yep, you are right., you can live under the bridge if it pleases you. I have reacted to the part of the thread that I felt necessary to. But since you insist, I am of the opinion that if some guys feel that Nigerian girls do not make good wife material one for some dodgy reason or the other, that is their prerogative and frankly, I don't give a toss one way or the other. (Is that better? undecided)
TV/MoviesRe: Hollywood: Favourite Movies, Actors and Awards. Tinseltown reviews & Gossip by Sapphic: 4:56am On Feb 03, 2009
KarmaMod:
I dont think Clooney was bad, it was the script that was garbage. (He has the Bruce Wayne ego) I mean seriously, Arnold as Freezer? Cant believe george even signed on to that shit.
Abeg the man was abysmal. He too wanted to be a superhero. He should have done a "Greta Garbo" and retired after that disaster. undecided lipsrsealed

@ Topic,

Halle Berry.
CelebritiesRe: Beyonce Displays Her Stupidity. by Sapphic: 4:32am On Feb 03, 2009
bgees:
“I grew up upper class. Private school.”

“My dad had a Jaguar. We’re African-American and we work together as a family, so people assume we’re like the Jacksons, but I didn’t have parents using me to get out of a bad situation.
-------------beyonce

but see who's talking, wasn't her mum's clothing line was launched through her?
This is so old news. And for those who doubt she said anything like this, it was done in her interview with Elle magazine. You can find the interview here: http://www.elle.com/Entertainment/Cover-Shoots/R-B-Singer-Beyonce-Knowles-Known-as-Sasha-Fierce-Listen-To-Beyonce-Hot-New-Album/The-Liberation-of-B3

When I first read it, I thought she was a little shit to say such crap and I still think so. angry She seems to forget that the world is privy to how her parents marriage was on the verge of hitting the rocks because of the desire and ambition to push her to success. She needs a friggin reality check. If people like the Jacksons had not paved the way, she would not have had the opportunity she has. At least they were not friggin drug dealers like her Arrow of a husband.
CelebritiesRe: Upclose and Personal with Nairalanders by Sapphic: 1:49am On Feb 03, 2009
Tgirl4real:
How do u get along with naija peeps on this forum since u aren't a Nigerian?

Sean: I get along with the Nigerians on nairaland very well. We are all Africans so we have a lot of things in common.The only difference is where we where born and a few culture differences.[/b]The only problem i have is the Nigerian pidgin. I can hardly understand it.When I talk to some nairalanders that i am friends with on the phone,its very hard for me to understand what they are saying.When it is written,Its hard to read also.[b]I love being on nairaland.I have learn so much about the Nigeria. I LOVE IT HERE!!~~~ROCK ON NIGERIA~~!! smiley smiley smiley
Well said.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 20 pages)