Stats: 3,328,785 members, 8,437,398 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 July 2026 at 07:02 PM

AndreUweh's Posts

Nairaland ForumAndreUweh's ProfileAndreUweh's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 206 pages)

CultureRe: Delta Igbo, Bendel Igbo: What Does That Even Mean. by AndreUweh(m): 7:54pm On Jul 26, 2012
^^
How about the lady who is from Lagos later Ika and insulted Ndigbo without stopping?. Did you not read her posts?. Or it is okay to insult Igbo people.
CultureRe: Young Igbo Princess In Traditional Igbo Regalia by AndreUweh(m): 7:50pm On Jul 26, 2012
^^^
Pretty.
CultureRe: Igbo Attire And Its Meaning by AndreUweh(m): 7:48pm On Jul 26, 2012
The white regalia shows purity both in action, body, judgement and thought.

CultureRe: Young Igbo Princess In Traditional Igbo Regalia by AndreUweh(m): 7:43pm On Jul 26, 2012
Igbo children in trado.

CultureRe: Young Igbo Princess In Traditional Igbo Regalia by AndreUweh(m): 7:42pm On Jul 26, 2012
Igbo child in trado.

CultureRe: Delta Igbo, Bendel Igbo: What Does That Even Mean. by AndreUweh(m): 6:45pm On Jul 26, 2012
ChinenyeN: It strongly suggests that he did not even take the time to actually read Abagworo's words, and that he jumped unnecessarily.
Not neccessary at all.
Agbontaen has done worse here yet you hardly sigh. What he wrote to day will he repeat 2morrow yet you don't sigh.
CultureRe: Delta Igbo, Bendel Igbo: What Does That Even Mean. by AndreUweh(m): 11:34am On Jul 26, 2012
@Chinenye, what is your reason to sigh at Odenigbo's contribution?.
CultureRe: Which Igbo Dialect Do You Like The Most by AndreUweh(m): 10:41am On Jul 26, 2012
O wu Isinweke aani kacha ucho.
CultureRe: Delta Igbo, Bendel Igbo: What Does That Even Mean. by AndreUweh(m): 10:09pm On Jul 25, 2012
@IGBO BOY.
You are right. Agbontaen may be one of those none Igbo families from Edo state that has moved to IkaIgbo recently to settle. The are just in the minority and can not claim to speak on behalf of the Ika people who are proud Igbo.
CultureRe: Igbo Attire And Its Meaning by AndreUweh(m): 10:02pm On Jul 25, 2012
Ugo (Eagle) feather on the their traditional cap shows that they are the cream of society because the Eagle in Igboland is seen as the most beautiful bird, therefore it is believed to be the cream of society.
CultureRe: Igbo Attire And Its Meaning by AndreUweh(m): 9:57pm On Jul 25, 2012
@The poster above, most Igbo people who start threads here are not lazy and I do noexpect you to lazy. You don't just start a thread and allow others to be doing the job. As you are here to learn, others are also ready to learn from you.
I will post a little bit with hope to come back when I see your own contributions.
CultureRe: Delta Igbo, Bendel Igbo: What Does That Even Mean. by AndreUweh(m): 9:12pm On Jul 25, 2012
bright007: To all deluded Israelis in d house:What exactly do the picture posted by Agbontaen look like?
Anybody who didn't know that it was an Ika gathering would mistake them for Edo.
There is no iota of igboness in their dressing whatsoever.
So with this pictures, who is the deluded one.
The Obi of Owa is just one of the numerous monarchs of Igboland.

CultureRe: Delta Igbo, Bendel Igbo: What Does That Even Mean. by AndreUweh(m): 8:58pm On Jul 25, 2012
bright007: To all deluded Israelis in d house:What exactly do the picture posted by Agbontaen look like?
Anybody who didn't know that it was an Ika gathering would mistake them for Edo.
There is no iota of igboness in their dressing whatsoever.
It's a pity some people only learn about the Igbo culture here in Nairaland. Since you are still learning, the Igbo culture varies from one place to another. Ndigbo with Edo borders have acquired the cultures of the Edos and vice versa. Ndigbo close to the Ijaw borders have also acquired some Ijaw aspects of life.
How about Arochukwu?. The are close to Ibibioland and at times dress culturally like the Ibibios yet they are not insame to claim that they are not Igbo.
See Odumchi's photo of Aro people.

CultureRe: The Afro-brazilian (saro) Descendants Of Lagos State - Our History by AndreUweh(m): 12:01pm On Jul 25, 2012
^^^^
Why did you not watch the video I provided?. Anyway, go back to it and see Haitians singing about their Igbo origin. One country it is certain Yorubas are very prominent is Brazil (Bahia).
To the best of my knowledge, Afenifere did nothing to the Haitians when earthquake hit the small island not long ago, but Ohanaeze did.
Not all the slaves settled in HAITI are of Igbo origin but majority are.
CultureRe: The Afro-brazilian (saro) Descendants Of Lagos State - Our History by AndreUweh(m): 12:03am On Jul 25, 2012

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9ADfEyh7PQ

In this video, Haitians singing about their original nation-Igboland.
Igbo lere is about Igboland and their village in Igboland before they departed to the new world. Does any one know where is Elele in Igboland?.
CultureRe: The Afro-brazilian (saro) Descendants Of Lagos State - Our History by AndreUweh(m): 11:57pm On Jul 24, 2012
Ileke-IdI:
@Andre

It also depends on their destination. Yoruba slaves were sent to Haiti and Brazil in larger numbers than Igbo slaves.

As for that chart. . . .would SW Nigeria fall under West Africa? undecided
In Brazil, yes more Yorubas but in Haiti, more Ndigbo were sent there. Till date, they have maintained touch with Igboland.
Even in their songs, they still sing about their departure from Igboland to the new world. Are you surprised that Haiti recognised Biafra and even sent delegates to Ojukwu's burial.
Do you know what Ohanaeze contributed to Haiti during the natural disaster that struck the Carribean nation.
CultureRe: The Afro-brazilian (saro) Descendants Of Lagos State - Our History by AndreUweh(m): 11:49pm On Jul 24, 2012
PhysicsQED: Ironic that some are arguing over which group was sold the most as a roundabout way of arguing about influence.
My post was just to cancel out lies said here that Ndigbo were not sold in large numbers.
It is very interesting to note that Aros kept records of their dealings with the Europeans. Some Aros even travelled with the whites and slaves to the new world.
CultureRe: What Are Your People (Ethnicity) Known For? by AndreUweh(op): 11:42pm On Jul 24, 2012
Mrs.Chima:
I get my exotic looks from my daddy's side and we have very rich history literally.
Do you mind sharing with readers about your daddy's side and what they are known for?. You have not done that yet.
CultureRe: The Afro-brazilian (saro) Descendants Of Lagos State - Our History by AndreUweh(m): 7:04pm On Jul 23, 2012
For those of you who doubted me when I said that Eastern Nigeria produced the largest number of slaves to the Europeans, see figures

CultureRe: Traditional Attire And People From Samuel Etoo's Country. by AndreUweh(m): 5:36pm On Jul 22, 2012
@The poster, can you come up with a photograph of Samuel Etoo in a traditional attire.
CultureRe: Delta Igbo, Bendel Igbo: What Does That Even Mean. by AndreUweh(m): 5:33pm On Jul 22, 2012
^^^
You will continue to lose. Until you say Akumazi is not Ika will anyone take you serious. As it is now, the young Obi of Akumazi just like the tradition of his father has taken his role in the Ohanaeze.
Just as I said earlier, all the Obis/Igwes/Ezes do not all participate in Ohanaeze. If the dein or any other is not actively engaged in Ohanaeze does not mean that they are excommunicated in Igbo affairs.
The Ikas have taken their rightful positions in Igbo affairs and it is now left for you to go and kiss a transformer.
The Obi of Owa was in the U.K last year's June and the writer here was one of the Igbo youth leaders that he hosted at his South West London residence. Does that surprise you?.
Mr Nweke, the chairman of Agbor Town union in the U.K has always been a patron to this Igbo organisation. So for Heaven's sake, SHUT UP.
CultureRe: Delta Igbo, Bendel Igbo: What Does That Even Mean. by AndreUweh(m): 11:45pm On Jul 20, 2012
@Agbontaen,
You so much like writing long letters. You really bore people with that. A lot of people do not read more than 3 lines of what you write.
Where is Akumazi?. I guess it is an Ika town. The late Obi of Akumazi represents Ika interest in Ohanaeze. Now his son has continued from where he stopped. All the Obis in Ikaland and Igboland are not represented in ohanaeze. They have delegates and the Ika delegate is the Obi of Akumazi.
You are not Igbo and does not know how the Igbo organisations function.
Why not give up and accept that you are a bloody loser.
CultureRe: A Comprehensive Collection Of Early Igbo Novels, Plays, And Treatises by AndreUweh(m): 10:02pm On Jul 18, 2012
NICE.
CultureRe: The Afro-brazilian (saro) Descendants Of Lagos State - Our History by AndreUweh(m): 9:58pm On Jul 18, 2012
Revolva: Igbos haha this guy is funny ooo na everywhere you must include ur tribe funny guy
london2lasgidi: na wa ooo..
Revolva: Igbos haha this guy is funny ooo na everywhere you must include ur tribe funny guy
The above threads are brainless. I said that other groups were resettled in Lagos. I did not jump to my group at the beginning.
What a shame that some people will starts some threads without sufficient knowledge of the thread only to allow others to deliberate on it.
It is very shameful.
Nairaland GeneralRe: Memories: How Did You Get To Know About Nairaland? by AndreUweh(m): 7:01pm On Jul 18, 2012
A very good Yoruba friend of mine introduced me to nairaland sometime in 2008.
CultureRe: The Afro-brazilian (saro) Descendants Of Lagos State - Our History by AndreUweh(m): 10:02pm On Jul 17, 2012
^^yOU ARE NOW LEARNING.
At first you lied that Ndigbo were not involved during the slave era.
Second, you refered Jaja of Opobo as Ijaw.
Now your claim is that Ndigbo were not sold in droves. The same Ezeagu and Abagworo have published figures in this same nairaland that highlights that Bight of Biafra and coast of Angola were the largest suppliers of slaves to the Europeans.
Boy, no need reading your posts because you are novice in this field. Why not look out for posts by those two nairalanders I mentioned in relation to slavery.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Club World Cup Champions 2025-2029 by AndreUweh(m): 8:42pm On Jul 17, 2012
Probably, Chelsea authorities have realised that Hulk is too fat to be in the new Chelsea look.
In my opinion, no need for a right back. Make the position permanent for Ivanovic and Hutchison to deputise him.
PoliticsRe: Front Page Should Be Renamed Mukina Page! by AndreUweh(m): 8:32pm On Jul 17, 2012
To move nairaland forward, threads in the front page should be agreed upon by all the mods or let the mods take turns to do the task of posting threads in the front page.
It is becoming so boring and as a result many hardly read what only one supremo puts up there all the time.
Change is needed.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 206 pages)