Stats: 3,330,964 members, 8,447,988 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 01:10 PM

Fnk's Posts

Nairaland ForumFnk's ProfileFnk's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 (of 13 pages)

PoliticsRe: Hon. Patrick Obahiagbon On Ogoniland Independence Declaration by fnk: 9:28pm On Aug 06, 2012
little by little. that is spanish
175: poco a poco means poke me, i poke back. Hehehehe!
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 9:13pm On Aug 06, 2012
[quote author=faluchi][/quote]Not back yet, but will be before the end of the month
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 4:09pm On Aug 01, 2012
Semostika: Thanks FNK, I await the document.
I have sent it to you already, you might want to check your junk mail is you haven't seen it.
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 3:35pm On Jul 30, 2012
Semostika: @FNK, may I please have a copy of your wonder document please. My email address is komuoreh@yahoo.co.uk. Thank you.
What you will get is the report on the project that I did, and with the info you can start your own poultry. I am sure there are a lot of people with better info out there or here on this thread.

Good luck.
PoliticsRe: Insecurity: Northern Governors Call Emergency Meeting by fnk: 3:43pm On Jul 24, 2012
Hay! maybe they are going to give the government or rest of the country an ultimatum. Probably the same old talks and recommendations.
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 7:11pm On Jul 19, 2012
Transforming Poultry Waste to Wealth in Lagos
29 March 2012

NIGERIA - In line with the state’s commitment of turning waste to wealth, the Lagos State government has introduced a new technology that will transform waste from poultry farms into very rich manure for crop cultivation.
The method, according to Saba Gbolahan Adekunle, a poultry facilitator from the state ministry of agriculture and cooperatives, will not only curb the environmental hazards associated with the crude method of poultry waste disposal, but also yield huge income for the farmers.

BusinessDay reports that Mr Adekunle spoke in Lagos recently during a meeting with the first allottees of the state’s 80 Hectares Poultry Farm Estate, Erikorodo, in Ikorodu North Local Council Development Area. He disclosed that 1,000 birds produce 900kg of waste every week, and pointed out the need for farmers to know the volume of waste being generated in their poultries to be able to ascertain the value.

He noted that many poultry farms have been forced to close down due to poor environmental standards, whereas they have been losing huge income due to poor management of the waste generated in their farms.

“Waste from poultry is supposed to be managed properly. What they do is to gather the waste and set them on fire when they are dry which is not healthy enough. We are going to help them manage it properly with a new technology that will enable them transform the waste into manure, bag it and sell to crop farmers. The manure produced is even richer and better than fertilizer,” Mr Adekunle stated.

Earlier, Gbolahan Lawal, the state commissioner for agriculture, noted that the farm estate was established to revamp the poultry production business in the state, guarantee steady sources of animal protein to Lagosians, provide employment to the teeming population of youths and also provide a viable business for investors.

Mr Lawal assured that government will provide necessary infrastructure and utilities for the farmers in the estate. These include - a 10,000-bird capacity mechanised broiler house, feed mill with capacity to produce 12-ton of feed mill per day and a poultry processing plant with capacity to process 2,000 birds daily.

Ogunsetan Olugbenga, secretary, Poultry Association of Nigeria, Lagos branch, commended the government for the initiative, noting that the new technology would be environment friendly and also improve farmers’ productivity, while serving as a model in the country.

Adekunle Oshukoya, a retiree and one of the allotees, expressed appreciation to government for encouraging development of agriculture in the state through the poultry farm scheme as well as other farming schemes.

Other agricultural projects carried out by the state government in conjunction with the private sector include; 20,000 tons annual capacity rice mill in Imota, 1,000 annual capacity cassava flour factory at Imota , agro-allied park at Imota also, pig breeding centre at the Pig Estate in Gberigbe, Fish Farm Estate in Ketu Ereyun, Epe and the Vegetable Estate at Iya-Afin, Badagry.

ThePoultrySite News Desk
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 7:08pm On Jul 19, 2012
Get on board guys. See below:

USAID Poultry Initiative to Generate N58 Billion

11 June 2012
NIGERIA - The Poultry Association of Nigeria has said the unrestricted trans-border trade among poultry farmers in West Africa will bring N58bn to Nigeria.
According to Punch, PAN Secretary, John Olateru, said the initiative, which was facilitated by the United State Agency for International Development, would also help poultry farmers in the sub-region to attract foreign investments.

Mr Olateru spoke in Lagos at a regional workshop on Hatchery Certification Standards for West Africa.

He said, “Many international poultry farmers had indicated interest to invest in the industry to complement the existing investments.

“We will take advantage of the opportunity of this initiative to create new markets and increase our productivity.”

He added that Nigeria with over 160 million people would soon boost its human capital development indices with the full implementation of the initiative.

He said the decision of USAID’s to bring farmers together would galvanise the industry.

USAID representative, Suzanne Ngo-Eyok, said the agency had been working to develop hatcheries, laboratories and veterinary services in eight west African countries to boost regional poultry trade and check bird flu.

The countries are Senegal, Mali, Burkina Faso, Togo, Benin, Nigeria and Cote d’Ivoire.

She said, “Since the Avian Influenza outbreak in 2007, three countries have put in measures to prevent the spread of the disease. Now that Avian Influenza has disappeared in so many countries, those restrictions are still in place.”

She said USAID was looking at laboratory and veterinary services and urged operators to ensure that international sanitary code of conduct for hatchery were strictly adhered to.

Ms Ngo-Eyok said, “At the moment, Nigeria is at an advantage because poultry supply in other countries of the region is low. In Benin, they have their day old chick coming from Belgium, even eggs to hatch their hatcheries come from Belgium Netherlands and Brazil, when they could come and get them from Nigeria.

“That is why USAID has decided to support this initiative to bring all the regional stakeholders together and reintroduce trust to find a solution and a way to open up trade in West Africa.”
ThePoultrySite News Desk
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 7:03pm On Jul 19, 2012
Customs Impounds, Destroys Poultry Products

13 July 2012
NIGERIA - In the continual battle against smugglers, the Nigeria Customs Service, Federal Operations Unit, Zone ‘A’ Ikeja Lagos, made a massive seizure and destruction of over 6,000 cartons of assorted poultry products with a duty paid value (DPV) of N25.2 million recently.
Vanguard reports that the Customs Area Controller, Federal Operations Unit, Comptroller Dan Ugo, made this disclosure while conducting the press round the seized goods.

The Controller said that the unit has no choice other than to carry on the battle to ensure strict compliance with the order of the Customs Comptroller General, Alhaji Abdullahi Dikko Inde (CFR) and his management team on zero tolerance for import of poultry products.

The CAC said the unit was determined to remain on top of this campaign through intensified intelligence networks, which have proved very effective in the actualisation of the objectives.

He said: “The CGC has provided the platform for these successes through his various capacity building programmes aimed at equipping officers with the necessary skills for better performance.”

He added that the unit will do everything in its powers to nip in the bud the activities of these "unpatriotic and unscrupulous" elements that have constituted a clog in the economic wheel of progress of the nation.
ThePoultrySite News Desk
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 5:15pm On Jul 19, 2012
davidzfarm: THANK GOD YOU ARE BACK.(BASKING4ME), UR LONG ABSENCE WAS QUITE WORRISOME FOR SOME OF US WHO TOOK AFTER UR LEAD IN POULTRY FARMING.GOOD TO HEAR THAT YOUR RETURNS ARE QUITE HIGH DESPITE THE MORTALITIES. THE INTERNET HAS REALLY ASSISTED ME WITH MY BUSINESS AND WITHIN A NINE MONTH PERIOD, MY BIRDS HAVE INCREASED FROM 100 TO ALMOST 400. I'LL BE WILLING TO SHARE MY EXPERIENCED IN THE AREA OF FEED MILLING WHICH CAN REDUCE UR COST OF PRODUCTION TO ABOUT 30%.
Please share the processes you use to mill the feed, cost and locations where one can buy the ingredients. Please give us the whole 9 yard.
Car TalkRe: How Many Kilometres Can Your Car Travel Per Litre Of Fuel? by fnk: 6:51pm On Jul 18, 2012
Hello, Take a look at this http://syntekglobal.com/

Contact me for more info. The product is coming to Nigeria soon. Please click on product and watch the video.

We are also building a marketing distributorship with it, be one of the first Nigerian to come on board.

kalufranklin@yahoo.com

syntekglobal.com
www.syntekglobal.com
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 11:09pm On Jul 17, 2012
@Wolllexxx, thanks for the info

@whatslife, I have emailed you what I've got and can give at the moment. Home it helps
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 5:15am On Jul 16, 2012
@basking4me, could you please explain what prolapse, and what you did to fix the problem?
And what are some specifics you did to combat rodents problem as well.
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 5:14am On Jul 16, 2012
basking4me: Okay People, sorry for my long absence. I have been doing some other things that have kept me away from the blog.

I am back now to give you live updates on the happening on the farm and also post pictures of my eggs in crates! smiley

I ended up not buying the layer cages and it has in some way affected the turn out of my chickens. I have been burdened with tackling rodents and diseases.

The problems We faced that really hit us was the loss of birds due to prolapse? (but we have rectified this with changes to their feeds).

we started out with 1000birds, found like 20 cockerels in them when they grew up, so we sold them and ate some too.

While they were young like 2months old, rain entered their house and we lost quite a number.

@basking4me, could you please explain what prolapse, and what you did to fix the problem? And what are some specifics you did to combat rodents problem as well.

As at our last physical count about 4months ago, we had 784 left. More have died since that time but all of that has stabilised now, we now get over 20 crates everyday.

Even with all of these mortality, I can reassure you all that the business has paid off for me.

And that is why we are going ahead to buy the next set of 2000 DOC now, make una wish me well. grin
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 7:36pm On Jul 12, 2012
Hello, all please check your email, I have sent you the docs.

@USmarshel, I sent you the doc

And please if anyone is doing something, let us know
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 4:12pm On Jul 11, 2012
@RURIE, thank you.

@leke76, I guess you are talking to me, i will mail the info to you right away. Good luck.
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 11:03pm On Jul 09, 2012
@Wolllexxx, You are so right, people should share with us here what they are doing, so that we all can learn.

@RURIE, can all those ingredients for the chicken feed be sourced locally, if so, where can someone get them?

@Okeykanu, check your email and let me know.
PoliticsRe: US Embassy Issues Emergency Alert To Its Citizens In Abuja by fnk: 6:13pm On Jul 04, 2012
People keep using the word CIVIL WAR, there is no civil war going on in Nigeria. Civil war is when a part of the country is fighting for what every reason. Not even the whole Muslim North is in support of this BH guys, there is no one part of Nigeria fighting against the rest. If one of the states up North will total embrace the BH idea and start fighting then you can say there is a civil war going on.
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 10:03pm On Jun 30, 2012
Sent guys, good luck
PoliticsRe: Anyaoku Advocates Return To Regionalism by fnk: 7:32pm On Jun 29, 2012
While Biafra is a good name, the states that makes up the region will have to come up with acceptable name for all. I don't think a Delta guy want to be call Biafra.

What is your new name suggestion?
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 6:48pm On Jun 27, 2012
@emiaby, check your email, sent
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 10:13pm On Jun 26, 2012
Done. good luck
PoliticsRe: Gunfight Erupts Near Dala Police Station In Kano by fnk: 9:40pm On Jun 26, 2012
Is this what to come in Nigeria is things continue as it is now. Please watch
http://irokotv.com/videos/4252/Somewhere-In-Africa
HealthRe: How Can I Lose Weight Without Exercising?? by fnk: 4:55pm On Jun 22, 2012
[quote author=Ms_Steph]Please I am working nd don't have time to exercise, I am leaving for nysc on 2nd july. Want to lose weight in the next 3weeks. How can I lose weight in 20days without exercising??[/quote]Try and call this phone # 805-668-1997. ask for Mr. David. We have a product called Fat Burner. You can loose up to 20kg in 23 days, there is a protocol you have to follow within that time. Mr. David will explain all those to you. The product cost N15k, but I can even let you have it for free, if you promise to follow strictly the protocol. Because I know that if you do, the result on you will sell more products for me through you. Tell Mr. David that Franklin give you his phone # to call him.
Please let me know.
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 9:35pm On Jun 21, 2012
NCS Raises Alarm on Smuggling of Poultry Products (June 15 2012)

NIGERIA - The Ogun state Command of the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) has raised alarm on the increase in the smuggling of frozen poultry products into the country.
According to Daily Trust, the NCS Area Controller, Deputy Comptroller Bamidele Akande who made these disclosure at a news conference in Abeokuta, said despite the upsurge in smuggling of the poultry products, the Command is still making progress in intercepting them before getting into the country.

According to Mr Akande "we are have been recording huge successes, specially on interdiction of frozen poultry products which have been the new smuggling attraction. There is on gain-saying the fact of the health hazards inherent in the consumption of imported frozen poultry products which had compelled the Federal Government to prohibit its importation into Nigeria," he said.

The Area Controller hinted that it is in the light of the development that the Command seized and destroyed by burning 985 cartons of the products in the last two weeks.

Mr Akande who put the value of the burnt products at N4,432,500.00, told Daily Trust that the high rate of the smuggling may not be unconnected to the relative low price of the product in the neighbouring country, where it is being smuggled into the country.

Also, the Command in its course of performing her anti-smuggling roles had seized about 1102kg narcotics (CANNABIS sativa) in the last two weeks.

On the seized illicit drug, the Customs boss said the 1102kg seized was valued at N7,714,000.00, which was intercepted in three batches of 53 sacks of 10kg, 10 sacks of 10kg and one sack of 17kg.

The Ogun State commandant of the National Drug Law and Enforcement Agency (NDLEA), Muhammed Muhammed who recieved the drug described the seizure as landmark, even as he appealed to the state government to partner the agency in ensuring that the drugs did not found its way into the consumers.

ThePoultrySite News Desk
http://www.thepoultrysite.com/poultrynews/26011/ncs-raises-alarm-on-smuggling-of-poultry-products
PoliticsRe: Bomb Discovered At Umudo Village In Imo by fnk: 5:42pm On Jun 20, 2012
Any idea who placed the bomb there?
TravelRe: What Motivates Diasporans To Relocate Back To Nigeria? by fnk: 6:38pm On Jun 16, 2012
I can back because I see a lot of opportunities in the country. Not only for yourself but you can also do more to help others. When I came back in 2006, I set up a company and was able to employ about 15 people who through the job and the salaries they get were able to make progress in their lives. Getting married and having children. I could never have been able to do that in the U.S. Also after living overseas for so many years, looking into the country (Nigeria) or even Africa as a whole, you can see more opportunity in almost everything. And it can be a lot easy to maneuver because the truth is that the conditions on ground is not your reality. You can always jet out if it ever comes to it. So being in this kind of position, give you power and helps you enjoy the country even with bad road, no light etc. because you know that if push comes to shove, you can always dust off your passport and head out.
BusinessRe: Alertpay: Is It As Reliable, Recognised And Secure As Paypal? by fnk: 6:29pm On Jun 16, 2012
I didn't hear anyone mention Solid Trust Pay. That is what I use and they are very good too. Here is a link. https://solidtrustpay.com/index.php?r=114674700
PoliticsRe: Angry Nigerian Builds Nuclear Weapon, Threatens To Blow Up National Assembly by fnk: 11:04pm On Jun 13, 2012
@pukkah, When things are badly run for a long time, something has to give. This is a fact whether or not this threat is true.

The best way for the elite and the rich (and their children) to enjoy their wealth is to ensure that there is a system that takes care of the poor as well as provide basic amenities for them.
(Quote) (Report) (Like)

True talk, tell that to the Democrats here in the U.S. while they wait for " hope and change"

The native guys here is not serious, sounds to me that he is just seeking for attention. He carry out his plan and then claim responsible.
AgricultureRe: Starting A Poultry Farm (a Blog) by fnk: 4:43pm On Jun 10, 2012
@Tayeni, I just sent it again, hope you can open it this time.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 (of 13 pages)