Stats: 3,153,488 members, 7,819,774 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 10:59 PM

Madegreatbygrace's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Madegreatbygrace's Profile / Madegreatbygrace's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 13 pages)

Religion / Re: Why Speak In Tongues When Jesus Said U Will Pick Up Snakes Mark 16:17,18 by madegreatbygrace(m): 11:11am On Jan 09
What does it mean to pick up snakes?
Religion / Re: Why Do Churches Still Speak In Tongues Despite Apostle Paul's Teaching by madegreatbygrace(m): 10:51am On Aug 08, 2023
Oga Max, you’ve a ridiculous way of interpreting the Bible. grin

The Bible is a sacred book and as a result it shouldn’t be read carelessly.

I asked you show me from the scriptures, then you brought up the destruction of the Temple in Jerusalem as if your grandparents witnessed it.

Yes, we know tongues will cease at a point in time. That will happen in another age and not this dispensation.

As students of the Bible, we don’t “figure out” things.

We persuade and convince by proper Bible exegesis.
Religion / Re: Why Do Churches Still Speak In Tongues Despite Apostle Paul's Teaching by madegreatbygrace(m): 7:17am On Aug 08, 2023
@MaxinDhouse, Kindly tell us when this cessation of tongues started using the scriptures o. grin

Also and FYI Paul is not saying that speaking in tongues doesn’t make sense in a congregation. He says that prophesying in an unknown tongues makes no sense. Finally, in Matthew 6:6, Jesus was addressing those who show off by praying publicly. The motive is important here

Understand the context!

Religion / Re: Why Do Churches Still Speak In Tongues Despite Apostle Paul's Teaching by madegreatbygrace(m): 5:46am On Aug 08, 2023
@Joxxy01 You need to read the entire 1 Corinthians 14 in context to have a better understanding of what Paul is teaching.

Also, you need to know the difference between speaking in tongues and prophecy . The difference is the audience.

For the man that speaks in an unknown tongue the audience is God. However, for the man that prophesy, his audience is men.

'For he who speaks in a tongue does not speak to men but to God, for no one understands him; however, in the spirit he speaks mysteries. But he who prophesies speaks edification and exhortation and comfort to men. '
I Corinthians 14:2-3

So from the above, the man that is speaking in tongues is talking to God and so he doesn’t need to interpret since he’s not addressing man. In this case, he’s building himself up. On the other hand, prophecy is an inspired message to men and so must be delivered in a way that man must understand, that is, in a known tongue . Simply put, prophecy is speaking in tongues plus interpretation.

'He who speaks in a tongue edifies himself, but he who prophesies edifies the church. '

I Corinthians 14:4

So if I need to deliver a word or message to a brother in a Christian gathering, or to the entire church or gathering , I’ll need to deliver in a known tongue so they may understand. This is where and why interpretation is necessary.

'So likewise you, unless you utter by the tongue words easy to understand, how will it be known what is spoken? For you will be speaking into the air. '

I Corinthians 14:9

This is why in some churches, while addressing the congregation, some will speak in an unknown tongue, while same or others may interpret so the church may understand.

I hope this helps.

Religion / Re: "Water Baptism Is A Useless Practice" Says Pastor Abel Damina by madegreatbygrace(m): 8:28pm On May 08, 2023
Thanks to Dr. Abel Damina for corroborating what we’ve been teaching.

Religion / Re: What Saved The Thief On The Cross? by madegreatbygrace(m): 12:33am On Apr 21, 2023
@Jesusjunior, where has Jesus said he’d judge every man according to His works?

'For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul? For the Son of Man will come in the glory of His Father with His angels, and then He will reward each according to his works. '

Matthew 16:26-27

Why twist the scripture to fit your own narrative?
Religion / Re: Discrimination On Nairaland Religion Post by madegreatbygrace(m): 7:07pm On Jan 18, 2023
Even the Bible proves He rose from the dead
Religion / Re: What Happens If You Commit Suicide by madegreatbygrace(m): 9:42pm On Jan 13, 2023
Raggaemich asked a very important question which nobody attempted to answer.

Where was it written in the Bible that Samson went to hell?

I’ll ask another:

Why was Samson’s name listed in the hall of faith, specifically in Hebrews 11:32 ?
Religion / Re: Why Are Muslims Ashamed Of How Muhammad Died? by madegreatbygrace(m): 7:13pm On Jan 07, 2023
It is not by sense

It is by FAITH grin
Religion / Re: God’s Judgement Will Not Begin At The House Of God by madegreatbygrace(m): 1:03pm On Jan 04, 2023
Oga Max, I agree with you.

God’s judgement includes His decisions or intervention about the Church.

I was just interpreting the text and revealing the heart of the author because of its misapplication.

Blessings to you and yours

Religion / Re: God’s Judgement Will Not Begin At The House Of God by madegreatbygrace(m): 7:09am On Jan 04, 2023
God is light and in Him is no darkness at all
Religion / Re: How Is Jesus God ? by madegreatbygrace(m): 7:07am On Jan 04, 2023
God is light and in Him is no darkness at all
Religion / Re: How Is Jesus God ? by madegreatbygrace(m): 4:32am On Jan 03, 2023
'And we know that the Son of God has come and has given us an understanding, that we may know Him who is true; and we are in Him who is true, in His Son Jesus Christ. This is the true God and eternal life.'

I John 5:20
Religion / Re: God’s Judgement Will Not Begin At The House Of God by madegreatbygrace(m): 4:23am On Jan 03, 2023
God is good!
Religion / Re: Was Jesus The Son Of God Before He Volunteered To Come To Earth Or After? by madegreatbygrace(m): 1:54pm On Dec 26, 2022
@Franugo,

To start with, what do you understand by “Son of God” ?

Your definition will determine how the conversation will go.

Also, the fella that wrote Jesus called Peter “the devil” obviously has been reading his Bible carelessly.

Jesus used the term “Satan” and not “devil”

There’s a difference

Religion / Re: Did Elijah Reincarnated As John The Baptist? by madegreatbygrace(m): 1:46am On Dec 23, 2022
@HantaVirus,

John was not Elijah neither was he an incarnate of Elijah.

Luke explains:

'He will also go before Him in the spirit and power of Elijah, ‘to turn the hearts of the fathers to the children,’ and the disobedient to the wisdom of the just, to make ready a people prepared for the Lord.” And he will turn many of the children of Israel to the Lord their God. '

Luke 1:16-17

It simply means the prophet Elijah and John the Baptist had the same ministry/assignment -to turn the hearts of the fathers to the children.This was the ministry of restoration and preparation.The way Elijah came to prepare,and restore the hearts of israel to God in a period of great moral dacadence and sin,so John the Baptist also came to prepare the hearts of the children of Israel to receive the coming Messiah.

Religion / The Narrow And Wide Gate by madegreatbygrace(m): 8:03pm On Dec 18, 2022
THE NARROW AND WIDE GATE

13. “Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it.

14. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.'
Matthew 7:13-14

Jesus describes himself as the way in a certain place

'Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.'
John 14:6

And also as the door (Gate)...

'I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. '
John 10:9

Combining the two texts above, it means Jesus is the medium (way and gate) through which a man is saved.

Evidently, Jesus is not saying many people will eventually go to hell

Neither is He saying few will end up in heaven

Why is the gate narrow and why is the way difficult, which both lead to life ?

It’s because Jesus is the only way and only door to eternal life!

A narrow road can only accommodate few people

Same reason why there were few that found it at that time

For Jesus was the only voice with the complete message of redemption

Why is the gate that leads to destruction wide , and the way that leads to destruction broad?

It’s because the means or intervening agencies are many

False prophets, New age, Judaism, Buddhism and every conflicting stand against The Way

A broad way will let in many

Same reason why there were many who went in by it

Therefore, I beseech you my friend who is still on the broad way to accept the love and forgiveness found in The Only Way

His love doesn’t wane and His faithfulness will never fall short

Blessings to you
Religion / God’s Judgement Will Not Begin At The House Of God by madegreatbygrace(m): 1:04pm On Aug 13, 2022
GOD’S JUDGMENT WILL NOT BEGIN AT THE HOUSE OF GOD

“For the time has come for judgment to begin at the house of God; and if it begins with us first, what will be the end of those who do not obey the gospel of God?”
‭‭I Peter‬ ‭4:17‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

Whenever there’s any misdemeanour or conflict in Christendom, we often hear some throw the judgement card

We’re inundated with statements like, “God will begin His judgement in the church if she doesn’t repent”

As a matter of fact, the Bible does not say God’s judgement will begin at the house of God

It says judgement must begin at the house of God

Thus, the Bible doesn’t make God responsible for the judgement

By saying God’s judgement will begin at the house of God, we make Him responsible for this judgement , which the Bible clearly doesn’t say

To understand a verse in the Bible, you may need to read the whole book

This way, one will have a better understanding of the scope of the book and the intention of the author

1 Peter was written to a group of people under grave persecution who were scattered abroad

“Peter, an apostle of Jesus Christ, To the pilgrims of the Dispersion in Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia, and Bithynia,”
‭‭I Peter‬ ‭1:1‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

Their faith was being tested by persecution

“that the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ:”
‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭1:7‬ ‭KJV‬‬

He wrote this letter to Christians undergoing persecution for living in a way that was different from their unbelieving neighours.

He wrote to comfort, encourage and strengthen the faith of these Jewish believers. So they may remain steadfast and faithful in the midst of this persecution.

“But even if you should suffer for righteousness’ sake, you are blessed. “And do not be afraid of their threats, nor be troubled.””
‭‭I Peter‬ ‭3:14‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

This persecution was present and continuous

There’s also an imminent persecution which the Apostle warned the Jewish believers of

“Beloved, do not think it strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened to you;”
‭‭I Peter‬ ‭4:12‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

He warned them of an impending judgement

This judgement is not from God but from the persecutors

Judgement (Krima) means decision

“For the time has come for judgment to begin at the house of God; and if it begins with us first, what will be the end of those who do not obey the gospel of God?”
‭‭I Peter‬ ‭4:17‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

Those that do not obey the gospel are unbelievers

The Jewish believers are the primary targets of these persecutors. This is why any decisions of these persecutors will start with the Jewish believers (house of God)

House of God does not mean a building

In this context it means a group of believers

Therefore, the house of God( Jewish believers) will be at the receiving end of the persecutors’ judgement

Who were these persecutors?

Since 1 Peter was written at a period when the nation of Israel was under Roman government , then it’s safe to say that the Romans were the persecutors.

A keen mind would then understand why Apostle Peter admonished his audience to rejoice and remain on the Lord’s side .

For it is better for these believers to suffer as believers than as evildoers.

“but rejoice to the extent that you partake of Christ’s sufferings, that when His glory is revealed, you may also be glad with exceeding joy. If you are reproached for the name of Christ, blessed are you, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests upon you. On their part He is blasphemed, but on your part He is glorified. But let none of you suffer as a murderer, a thief, an evildoer, or as a busybody in other people’s matters. Yet if anyone suffers as a Christian, let him not be ashamed, but let him glorify God in this matter.”
‭‭I Peter‬ ‭4:13-16‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

For the evildoer has no hope

“Now “If the righteous one is scarcely saved, Where will the ungodly and the sinner appear?” Therefore let those who suffer according to the will of God commit their souls to Him in doing good, as to a faithful Creator.”
‭‭I Peter‬ ‭4:18-19‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

Blessings!
Religion / How Is Jesus God ? by madegreatbygrace(m): 2:47am On Aug 05, 2022
HOW IS JESUS GOD ?

God is called The Rock in Deuteronomy

“He is the Rock, His work is perfect; For all His ways are justice, A God of truth and without injustice; Righteous and upright is He.”
‭‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭32:4‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

This is the Rock of Israel

“The God of Israel said, The Rock of Israel spoke to me: ‘He who rules over men must be just, Ruling in the fear of God.”
‭‭II Samuel‬ ‭23:3‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

Also, Isaiah refers to God as the Rock

“Do not fear, nor be afraid; Have I not told you from that time, and declared it? You are My witnesses. Is there a God besides Me? Indeed there is no other Rock; I know not one.’ ””
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭44:8‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

This Is the Rock of Israel

So according to Isaiah, the Rock is an exclusive title belonging to God

No one else is referred to as the Rock in the scriptures

It’s an exclusive title given to God alone

But then Apostle Paul makes a disclosure in his letter to the church at Corinth

1. “Moreover, brethren, I do not want you to be unaware that all our fathers were under the cloud, all passed through the sea,

2. all were baptized into Moses in the cloud and in the sea,

3. all ate the same spiritual food,

4. and all drank the same spiritual drink. For they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them, and that Rock was Christ.”
‭‭I Corinthians‬ ‭10:1-4‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

verse 4 says that Rock in the Old Testament was Christ

How then is Jesus the Rock if God alone is the Rock of Israel according to the Scriptures?

There’s only one possible answer-

Jesus is God!

Blessings

Religion / Re: Examining John 20:17 by madegreatbygrace(m): 5:12pm On Aug 01, 2022
@Merino , Thanks and blessings to you!
Religion / As A Man Thinketh In His Heart, So Is He by madegreatbygrace(m): 5:09pm On Aug 01, 2022
AS A MAN THINKETH IN HIS HEART, SO IS HE......

Examining Proverbs 23:7

It’s a popular verse that is often misapplied.

The meaning is lost when contextual interpretation is disregarded

7. “Do not eat the bread of a miser, Nor desire his delicacies;

7. For as he thinks in his heart, so is he. “Eat and drink!” he says to you, But his heart is not with you.

8. The morsel you have eaten, you will vomit up, And waste your pleasant words.”
‭‭

Apparently, this means a man’s personality is formed by what he thinks

That is, a man becomes what he consistently thinks about

As true as the foregoing may be, it is not the message the writer is trying to pass across

How many people have invited us to partake in a meal yet they are not really pleased!

“Eat and drink!” he says to you, but his heart is not with you.

“Come and join me” is a familiar refrain in our culture to invite guests to sup with us during mealtimes .

But then does he really want you to join him ?

He is a miser

That is who he really is

You do not know who he really is because you’re not looking at his heart

Do not be deceived by his generous invitation

Do not rely on his seemingly gracious words but discern the motives of his heart.

As he thinketh in his heart, so is he

The writer of 1 Samuel agrees

“But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.””
‭‭I Samuel‬ ‭16:7‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

A man is not known by the content of his words or his appearance but by the silent thoughts of his heart

He is not the man his mouth speaks or appears to be, but what his heart thinks

As a man thinks in his heart, so is he

Blessings!
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 10:56am On May 21, 2022
You’ve been found wanting instead.

If you can’t explain what it means to come in the flesh.

Obviously, you took that text literally.

It has a deeper meaning and this was the mind of John when he wrote that epistle.
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 7:22am On May 21, 2022
Note that i am antichristian because i am opposed to Christianity! I am not your Antichrist that have 666 or do false miracles!

If you think this guy that goes by the moniker antichristian has a better grasp of the Bible, then you must have your head examined.

The Bible clearly defines an Antichrist in 1 John 4:3.

He doesn’t believe Jesus Christ came in the flesh so he’s an Antichrist.

Due to his poor knowledge of the Bible, and from what he stated above, he doesn’t seem to know the difference between an Antichrist and the man of sin referred to in 2 Thessalonians 2:3.
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 6:46am On May 21, 2022
What does it mean to come in the flesh?

You certainly have a very shallow understanding of the Bible

It’s easy to see because you do read on the surface

Explain to us what it means or you want me to break it down for you

The fact is, he doesn’t believe Jesus Christ came in the flesh and so he’s an Antichrist
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 8:22pm On May 20, 2022
[
quote author=AntiChristian post=113013826]

Note that i am antichristian because i am opposed to Christianity! I am not your Antichrist that have 666 or do false miracles!

What is this one saying, anyone opposing Christianity is opposing Christ. Therefore you’re Antichrist. Who knows, you might even be the one anointed by satan in the time of great tribulation to give the 666. I mean, at this rate.
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 11:06am On May 20, 2022
Dear Mr. Antichrist, can you please explain why they took up stones to throw at Him.

“Then they took up stones to throw at Him; but Jesus hid Himself and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by.”
‭‭John‬ ‭8:59‬ ‭NKJV‬‬
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 9:15am On May 20, 2022
Mr. Antichrist, you sha have not responded to this:

“Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.””
‭‭John‬ ‭8:58‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

Abi is it not in the Bible you claim to study and understand perfectly?
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 10:31am On May 19, 2022
[quote author=madegreatbygrace post=112974090]quote]quote author=AntiChristian post=112973240]
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 10:28am On May 19, 2022
quote]
quote author=AntiChristian post=112973240]

Jesus never claimed he had any preexistence in the Bible.
[/quote]

You talk as though you wrote the Bible
Religion / Re: Saying Jesus Is A Prophet Is Not Blasphemy by madegreatbygrace(m): 10:28am On May 19, 2022
quote]quote author=AntiChristian post=112973240]

Jesus never claimed he had any preexistence in the Bible.
[/quote]

You talk as though you wrote the Bible
Religion / Examining John 20:17 by madegreatbygrace(m): 11:41pm On May 15, 2022
TOUCH ME NOT; FOR I AM NOT YET ASCENDED TO MY FATHER .........

Examining John 20:17

What did Jesus really mean when He uttered those words?

On the surface, it appears Jesus was warning Mary not to touch Him, especially when you read from the KJV

Then the question is why would He not want her to touch Him ?

After all, Jesus allowed some disciples to touch Him about the same time.

“And as they went to tell His disciples, behold, Jesus met them, saying, “Rejoice!” So they came and held Him by the feet and worshiped Him.”
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭28:9‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

Since He allowed Himself to be touched by His disciples, what reason was there for forbidding Mary to touch Him?

There is a misconception.

The misconception is that Jesus warned Mary not to touch Him so as to prevent Him from being defiled before ascending to the Father as our high priest, thereby rendering Him unfit, alluding to Exodus 29:35

Fact is, Mary was already clinging to the saviour when He said those words !

If we look more closely at the Greek construction, we’ll come to the realization that Jesus actually said , “Mary don’t cling to me.”

Present and continuous action

This is why the NKJV and some other versions render it differently

“Jesus said to her, “Do not cling to Me, for I have not yet ascended to My Father; but go to My brethren and say to them, ‘I am ascending to My Father and your Father, and to My God and your God.’ ””
‭‭John‬ ‭20:17‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

“Jesus cautioned her, “Mary, don’t cling to me, for I haven’t yet ascended to God, my Father. And he’s not only my Father and God, but now he’s your Father and your God! Now go to my brothers and tell them what I’ve told you, that I am ascending to my Father—and your Father, to my God—and your God!””
‭‭John‬ ‭20:17‬ ‭TPT‬‬

“Jesus said to her, Do not cling to Me [do not hold Me], for I have not yet ascended to the Father. But go to My brethren and tell them, I am ascending to My Father and your Father, and to My God and your God.”
‭‭John‬ ‭20:17‬ ‭AMPC‬‬

““Don’t cling to me,” Jesus said, “for I haven’t yet ascended to the Father. But go find my brothers and tell them, ‘I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’””
‭‭John‬ ‭20:17‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Thus, it’s obvious the emotional Mary went beyond touching our Lord and Saviour but actually clinged to Him.

Apparently, by holding on to Him, she was trying to prevent Him from leaving her again.

“My Lord, you left us three days ago. You can’t just leave again. Please stay, “ she seemed to be saying .

Hear the Master’s implied response:

“Mary, i have not yet ascended to the Father. I’m still here bodily. You’ll be afforded many more opportunities to see me bodily. Forty more days, Mary . More or less . Forty more days in which i shall remain on earth so that my disciples can enjoy my presence. Afterwards, you’ll not see me again bodily. After this resurrection comes my ascension. Meanwhile, there’s something i want you to do for me. Go to the brethren and inform them that I’ve risen, and also tell them that I’ll ascend . Stop clinging to me and do this immediately.”

Jesus was not a levitical high priest, neither was He a direct descendant of Aaron. He was (and ever is) a high priest forever after the order of Melchizedek.

He has nothing to do with the duties of the earthly high priest. Mary was simply being told not to cling to Him because He was still here, not having ascended to the Father.

He died

He rose

He ascended

Behold He lives forevermore

Hallelujah!

Religion / Re: And As It Is Appointed Unto Men Once To Die...... by madegreatbygrace(m): 8:43am On May 05, 2022
“Now where there is remission of these, there is no longer an offering for sin.”
‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭10:18‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 13 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 66