Stats: 3,327,144 members, 8,429,511 topics. Date: Friday, 19 June 2026 at 03:13 AM

Obailala's Posts

Nairaland ForumObailala's ProfileObailala's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 (of 585 pages)

PoliticsRe: Nigeria, The Farce And Hypocrisy Of Unity by obailala(m): 11:09am On Jun 09, 2017
kingzizzy:
Anyone who is talking about restructuring should forget it. If Ojukwu could not get restructuring in Aburi despite and agreement, nobody can

The core North will allow restructuring which will leave economically and politically irelevant? Not in a million years
Aren't we ashamed of continuously making this shallow statement?.... Is the core north God?... If the rest of Nigeria for once can speak with one voice on restructuring, what makes you thing the core north is so omnipotent?.... Was the core north not woefully defeated in 2011 when the entire south and middlebelt supported GEJ?

PoliticsRe: Fg To Add 340 Megawatts To Power Grid Before December – Fashola by obailala(m): 7:22am On Jun 09, 2017
Lanretoye:
na supernatural forces dey behind Nigeria's power issue,no matter how many megawatts you add to the grid,na their realm e go dey work.
You add 500mw, one fuse will blow up in one plant taking out 700mw. lipsrsealed undecided
RomanceRe: Picture Of Men Looking At This Lady's Backside: Give It A Caption by obailala(m): 9:32pm On Jun 08, 2017
Bakassi, controlling destinies of men since the days of yore... grin
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m):
isnovic:
Obailala I do not drink beer and you will not find me in a beer parlour talkless in engaging in beer parlour gist.

Yes the infographics are nice, but you deliberately left our the statistics from 2015 to 2017 to compare.

[b]1. Nigeria GDP/capital income from 2008 to 2015/16.
2. Nigeria external debt
3. Inflation rate
4. Foreign direct investment.

1. For your GDP/capital.

You will see a remarkable increase.
This where GEJ met it.

Now other indices are ranged to include the Buhari's era so you be a judge of the two.

2. Look at your external debt. from 9.5billion USD to over 11.5 billion USD in 2 years as against 0.3billion in 5 years.

3. If you look at the inflation rate you will find out that it peaked at 18, from well around 8 GEJ's time after an initial scare in 2011-2012.

4.Your FDI is investor confidence in your economy, you will find that the figure clearly shows you when the confidence peaked and what we have now.
The only time it fell in January 2015 was due to elections.
Check your stats consistency as against what we have post-2015.

Obailala, i dare say in all indices considering a year on year we had it better in GEJ's time.

Surely only those blind will say otherwise, with what is currently on ground.

Thanks and bye.[/b]
Haha.... when I said beer parlour analysis, I meant 'on the surface' analysis which isn't indepth; I didn't literally mean you were drinking beer. grin

Accept my apologies for the long epistle I'm about to write; I dont just knoe how to summarise this without killing tje details. You presented several economic indices to prove that the economy of Nigeria was generally better between 2010 and 2015; good and fine. But what you clearly did not notice is that nobody is doubting that; I haven't doubted that in any way. But I only implore you to do just one thing which will give you a deeper understanding of how Nigeria's economy works; in all those indices you presented, kindly zoom into the charts and values and analyse the trend from mid-2014 onwards. Did you notice any change?

My point is simple, the whole tumbling of the economy is purely in direct proportion to the price of oil. Nigeria's economy is dangerously tied to oil. A boom in oil sales brings about a booming economy and vice versa.

1. GDP:
Of course we are in a recession and recession means negative growth, i.e. the GDP dropping. But the drop in our GDP growth rate started from mid-2014 (when oil began crashing) and it nosedived progressively until 1Q 2016 when it officially crossed the zero line (recession). I dont need to remind you it was still GEJ and the world class economists that were incharge of the economy between mid-2014 and May-2015. We were already heading to recession during handover and it would have amounted to a wild dream if you expected buhari to perform a miracle to reversethe gdp nosedive even when the factors which led to it (oil price) got much worse (oil was still over $60 when GEJ left and it dropped progressively to $28 in 2016).

www.nairaland.com/attachments/5411323_gdp_gifa9b921e6218c89d27c14de9cfcfe7d21

2. External debt: You apparently didnt read my previous analogy on debt and borrowing. A nation in recession needs massive capital expenditure to pull itself out, hence the current spate of borrowings. While GEJ enjoyed high oil income, my earlier point was that his govt had absolutely no need to borrow, but they did. With govt revenue down by over 60% due to oil price drop and large cuts in oil production volumes (militancy), it became imperative that the govt borrowed to susyain capital expenditure because that is the only way to quickly pull a country out of recession.

3. Inflation Rate: Once again, there's no basis of comparison here. Nigeria is a nation which is pathetically dependent on imports. We do not have power for industrialisation and we import just about everything from the food we eat to raw materials to tooth pick and to almost all the energy (fuel) we use. To facilitate this unbelievable import dependence, massive amounts of forex is needed to meet our daily needs. Now 93% of Nigeria's forex comes from oil sales, but oil price crash coupled with oil production slash meant we had over 60% less supply of forex to Nigeria. Basic economic principles of demand and supply states that when the demand for a product is constant but the supply has drastically reduced, the price of the little available would go up; hence dollar price jumped from N160 to N400 to even N520.

An importer of rice who used N160 to buy $1 to import his rice now uses almost N400 to buy the same dollars. Implication is that he would increase the price of his rice; hence rice price jumped from N7000 to N20,000+. Similarly, a purewater producer imports the polythene used to package his pure water. With dollar price significantly up, he increases pure water price from N5 to N10 to even N20. All of these is inflation, cost push inflation; and I hope you now see the link it has with oil price.

4. FDI: Once again, kindly go back and check the chart you posted, focus on the trend from mid-2014 and you cant tell me you dont see the smooth decline. Mid-2014 is when global oil prices started crashing. Before I go to invest my millions or billions in any climate, I would have done a proper background check to understand how that economy works. These foreign investors aren't dummies you know? They definitely understand how pathetically dependent Nigeria's economy is on oil and with oil prices dropping massively, even the dumbest investor could spot it from a distance that Nigeria was heading for a wild storm; hence they started holding back. Even the local street early morning akara seller wouldnt want to take her wares to a poor or credit unworthy neighbourhood.

"Money go, woman go"... That's exactly how foreign investors (especially portfolio investors) are; they are fair weather friends. Between 2010 to 2014, Nigeria's economy was filled with money so they stormed Nigeria like flies gathering around shit. We can all see what happened when they started even just suspecting that the money wouod go. Foreign companies like airlines started leaving a bit late, those who didnt leave had their profits locked up in Nigeria cos there wasnt enough dollars in the CBN reserves to give to them (that's a foreign investor's nightmare, hence why most ran away earlier).

Thank God you can clearly see from your own charts that everything started turning downwards from mid-2014 when oil prices started dropping; that was close to a year ahead of Buhari stepping in. Of course the factor (oil) which led to the downturn in every economic index still persisted and even got much worse after buhari took over. So I wonder the kind of miracle you expected to happen; even Okonjo Iweala gave advanxed warning of an impending and that was in Dec 2014 when oil was even still at $75.

A stitch in time saves nine, we didnt put in right stitches in time, when the tear was already progressing, you choose to blame the new tailor (buhari) for being unable to perform some sort of magic to stop an already propagating fracture?... In summary, my point is that it is totally baseless to make any judgement on the economy of today by comparing it with when oil was booming above $100, absolutely pointless comparison because what we face today is the repercussion of decades of stupid reliance on a single volatile priced commodity.
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m): 4:57pm On Jun 08, 2017
isnovic:
Check your exchange rate regime and that of GEJs, I could say for 4 years strain the price of dollars was fixed around 150Naira to a dollar.
Nigeria is an import dependent nation which needs forex to survive; we get 93% of our forex from oil so do the maths. When forex supply is high, Nigeria can afford to comfortably maintain dollars at N150. But when forex supply starts dwindling, there is no magic that can make it maintain that exchange rate.

https://d3fy651gv2fhd3.cloudfront.net/charts/embed.png?s=nigeriaforexcres&v=201706061931v&d1=20140708&d2=20150608&h=300&w=600

That's a chart showing how Nigeria's foreign reserves nosedived between Aug-2014 and May-2015 (start of the oil price drop). CBN was struggling to maintain the value of the Naira hence reserves kept dropping sharply, but even with that drop ($39bn to $29bn), the Naira still crashed from N150/N160 to N220by May 29th 2015. That is notwithstanding that oil still sold above $60 at the time. I dont need to remind you that oil kept falling till it got to $28. Now from the chart you see above, I suppose you should now understand why the new govt was forced to start forex restrictions (to protect Nigeria from degenerating to Venezuela). ANd of course restricting release of forx led to a scarcity in the market which in turn led to skyrocketing prices of dollars in the blackmarket.

SO if you think it is just the leadership of the current admin that's responsible for the current exchange rate regime, then you obviously have no idea how the exchange rate of a country works. Stop relying on just beer parlour political analysis explanations.
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m): 4:54pm On Jun 08, 2017
isnovic:
Obailala though correct that there prices is low at under $55 dollars.

You will recall this not the first time we have had oil windfall.

We had it during the Kuwait Gulf war, where is that money?

We had a good run in Obj's time, where is the money.

Yes, we had sustained high price during in GEJ's time, but again this period also was followed by low prices during the end of his government.

The thing is what do you do with the excesses you create.

Aggressive soverieign fund was proposed by GEJ but we know the proponents that killed it, they are still in the APC.
Excess revenue derivation fund, was a constant battle with GEJ and the Governors.
Yes you are right, this isn't the first time we're having a drop in oil price, but this very crash is not only significant, it has also lasted a very long time (almost 3 years) and Nigeria had virtually nothing in savings to counter it. The last time there was a major drop in oil prices was in 2008 during the global crisis and it lasted only 6 months. At that time, the CBN pumped $20 billion (mainly saved by OBJ) into the economy and that is exactly what it cost to save Nigeria from that crisis.

Now you claim APC stopped GEJ's govt from saving?... That's a very lame excuse given by PDP and GEJ goons, a very poor attempt at playing the blame game. OBJ was taken to court to share ECA, he refused. Yaradua likewise was taken to court, but he refused to budge. GEJ was threatened too and he not only shared the money, he also didnt bother saving the 52% which was the FG's share; oh yes, states own only 48% of the funds and they intensified their demand for it when they discovered that the FG was already illegally dipping it's hands into the ECA funds. And if GEJ actually had evven the remotest intention to save, he still controlled the bulk 52% of the funds, what stopped the FG from saving that?.... Meanwhile claiming that it was APC who masterminded the agitation of the governors is laughable, PDP made up up to 25/36 of the state governors at the time; you mean to tell me only Amaechi was talking and all other 35 governors were doing what exactly?

Petrol prices was increased because he saw into the future, the save Nigeria group was born.
Every Nigerian president saw that same future and every single leader who increased fuel prices was opposed by all Nigerians. Once again it is laughable to play selective amnesia by claiming it was just Save Nigeria Group or APC that opposed fuel price increase. I opposed it and I'm sure you did too (if you can be honest with yourself). Sometimes it depends on how a case is presented to Nigerians; in 2010, fuel subsidy bill was N600bn, but in 2011, it miraculously skyrocketed to N2.13Trillion. And in order to checkmate this cruel monumental devilish thievery by the cabal, the FG told us the only thing they could do was remove fuel subsidy. Investigations by hte Ribadu panel revealed $6.8bn was the actual cost of that scam in 2011 alone, and instead of looking for how to go after that fund, FG insulted Nigerians by saying all it could do was to punish Nigerians (remove subsidy) in order to get at the cabals. ANd with that watery excuse, you really think SNG and APC were the only ones protesting?

He has been fought at every turn to make a difference.

Weakened by BH saga at the NE.

Stampeded by countless strikes.

There is so much a man can do jare.

He tried.
Every regime faces similar myriad of problems, OBJ had his fare share including militants kidnapping and blowing up pipelines. That was even part of why he made GEJ his successor. Buhari's govt similarly faced the worst kind of militant attacks and the same Bokoharam too. ANd the militant attacks bringing Nigeria's oil production down by more than 50% in 2016, coupled with more than 60% drop in oil prices, dont you think that alone is responsible for the rotten state of the economy presently?.. Militant attacks only stopped recently, coupled with oil price hitting steady $50, and now the reserves has been reloaded to ~$30bn, enabling CBN to make forex disbursements weekly. I'm sure you can already see the effects on the currency (N520 to N362 today) in just few months?... MEanwhile remember, while BH attack may have meant more funding for defence, it didnt affect the revenue stream of the country (oil sales) at all.

Check your debt profile now and tell me if this is any way to run an economy.
A country in recession needs to spend a lot of money to get out of recession, that's basic economics. Now let's not settle for a myopic analysis, I would give a simple analogy. Mr A runs a home with N100k salary yearly. The money is barely enough due to a variety of home needs and after 5 years, he has accrued a debt of N40k.
Mr B steps in to run the same home but this time, income has been slashed to N40k yearly. He struggles greatly to feed and after just 2 years, he incurs a debt of N60k.

Between Mr A and B, who do you honestly think really had a genuine reason to borrow? and who has relatively borrowed more?
PoliticsRobbery Attack At Zenith Bank Owerri - CCTV VIDEO!!!! by obailala(op): 12:47pm On Jun 08, 2017
Exclusive Video have just emerged of robbery operation which took place at Zenith Bank, Wetheral road branch Owerri sometime in February.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thvCc8c6j_8

See old thread below:
https://www.nairaland.com/3644495/robbers-attack-zenith-bank-owerri
No fewer than three people have been killed and several others wounded including a police officer, after unknown gunmen suspected to be armed robbers attacked a Zenith bank branch in Owerri, the Imo state capital.

Eye witness accounts say the armed robbers, numbering about 12, invaded the bank at about 2:00 pm on Wednesday and shot sporadically into the air to scare customers away after over-powering the security operatives on duty.

The men were also said to have carted away a yet to be disclosed amount of money.

So far, three people who are yet to be identified, have been confirmed dead after the operation which lasted several hours.

Confirming the incident, the Imo State Police Public Relations Officer Andrew Enwerem, said the command is however on top of the situation.

According to him, one of the armed robbers who was shot by the police, as well as other people who were wounded at the scene, have been transferred to the Federal Medical Centre Owerri for immediate treatment.
Latest gist on the investigations says the Nigeria police have since arrested the robbers.

After six weeks of investigation, ring leader – Justice Ogbenna, aka JJ, and getaway driver Okechukwu Onwuamaegbu– were arrested in Aba, Abia State by operatives of the Imo State Police Command during activities marking to mark JJ’s father’s burial.
https://d3dvd9zi6s9wem.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/08101720/optimized-qufu.jpg
https://d3dvd9zi6s9wem.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/08100840/optimized-hh0q-768x333.png
http://www.lailasblog.com/2017/06/video-zenith-bank-owerri-robbery-attack.html
@Mynd44, Lalasticlala; I mistakenly posted this on the wrong section, kindly do the needful.
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m): 11:55am On Jun 08, 2017
isnovic:
We should be aware that this Government is enjoying crude oil price boom, as the rice of crude oil is twice the value it was when they were sworn in.
This is 100% increase.

Taken, this price may not be at the level it was during GEJ's times, but what was he thinking?

That crude oil price will remain at 140 or go up when he takes over power or wait for him at that price ?

It shows you his naivety plus is lack of understanding of the economics of Nigeria's singular export earner. If he does not know this much, how else was he hoping to lead the largest economy in Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa?
There's a range of price fluctuation which is permissible, but there's also a degree of fluctuation which is capable of capsizing an entire ship if the people in-charge of the ship hadn't put in place, necessary counter measures to absorb the shocks. Unfortunately Nigeria had absolutely zero counter-measures in place to absorb the oil shock, hence we've found ourselves in this INEVITABLE situation...

Oh yes, oil price is now almost twice what it was as at Jan/Feb last year ($28), but it's still well below and outside the permissible range which could have ensured stability in Nigeria's economy. If you think the current guys struggling to manage the situation are extremely stupid and incompetent, may I remind you that the entire ship started capsizing even when we still had renown economic experts like NOI steering the economy. That the effect of the crash hit the common man on the streets after they had left power, that does not mean the crisis started after they had left.

Remember as at the time they handed over, oil still sold averagely above $60. Between Nov 2014 - May 2015, the foreign reserves were emptied rapidly ($38.5bn to $28.6bn) to support the value of the Naira, but Naira still fell from N160-N220 nevertheless. Obviously, since the reserves got to a dangerously low level, those disbursements couldn't be sustained, so the Naira began the steep decline, and it was only a matter of time before the common man felt the inflationary effects. Regarding the recession, from mid-2014 to 2Q 2015, GDP growth rate fell progressively from over 6% to 2.3%; of course it kept falling after the new government took over but many people myopically only see when it fell below zero (official recession) under the new govt. I wouldn't even want to talk of the cash crunch which pushed the FG under the renown powerful economists to start borrowing in Feb 2015 to offset salaries and the fact that oil importers were owed for over 9 months before the new govt came in.

In summary, if you think the current oil price isn't bad enough to warrant the slowness in the economy, then you probably don't understand how dangerously dependent your country's economy is on oil. And mind you, every single country dependent on oil globally is facing similar situations except the ones who had put substantial measures in place to counter the shock, e.g. Saudi Arabia with a population of 30 million had $750billion in its reserves (more than enough right?), but they've still had to increase pump price of fuel by up to 100% in the last 2 years coupled with other belt-tightening measures which their citizens are groaning over.
TravelRe: Proposed New Look Of International Airport Road, Lagos (Photo) by obailala(m): 7:19am On Jun 08, 2017
preselect:
PDP is no longer in power, monkey. unless u accept that APC should be kicked out like PDP was kicked out.
Sharrap there enwe!
You mock apc for creating and using a digital image to illustrate a proposed project. But the pdp you adore didnt just do same, they actually STOLE the digital image they used from a Cameroonian website but your watery defense is that pdp is out of power?.... sharrap and gerrarrahia!
PoliticsRe: Biafra O Biafra by obailala(m): 5:42pm On Jun 07, 2017
gartamanta:
No amount of IGR, wether it is 2 Naira or 2 Trillion Naira is going to help Igbos in Nigeria. It is only when we have our freedom and country that we can make prudential use of our resources and IGR to spawn growth.

It is better to have IGR of 2 Naira and make good use of it in Biafra than to have an IGR of 2 Trillion in Nigeria but it doesnt impact on the people.
What exactly is preventing our leaders from making good use of the 20 Naira accruing to the SE today?.... And what miracle can possibly make these leaders change overnight when the name is changed to Biafra?
PoliticsRe: Usman Bugaje: "Nigeria's Oil Belongs To The North" (2014) by obailala(m): 9:34am On Jun 07, 2017
No other time could have been better to resurrect this 2014 video and place it on the front page as fresh news. grin

But then, the confident sense of entitlement and smooth emphasis with which the 'learned' mallam makes the provocating statement is sickening. This is the exact sort of nonsense they feed their illiterate irate youths everyday. Restructuring of this nation is definitely around the corner; the north is in trouble and the north is definitely the trouble.
PoliticsRe: Shehu Sani - Those Agitating For Biafra Have Never Seen War by obailala(m): 9:09am On Jun 07, 2017
DarkHenrie:
That peaceful secession only exists in very few places is not some ordained phenomenon that cannot be altered. Nothing stops us from working towards achieving those peaceful scenarios in other places. Humans with their heads made it peaceful even if it's just one place.

The same Nnamdi Kanu talked about the government allowing for a referendum recently while he addressed his fellow Igbrew Biafran travelers. The Scots haven't got independence, the Quebecs haven't either, but theyve gotten the chance to cast their votes numerous times. Let the Biafrans have theirs, nothing says the result must be secession. When people starting hearing the debates and arguments for and against leaving, you have no idea what can happen. Sending down troops even when they sit at home however shows you simply have no superior argument except the force you're privileged to have.

And no, anyone who thinks the Biafra of tomorrow will include the south south is simply deluded. And I don't think Nnamdi Kanu will not take his Biafra if the south south refuses to be a part of it.
Of course we should strive to do things differently, in a more civilized way. But just take a look around you, do you think the contraption called Nigeria (and by extension Africa) has the kind of systemic structures to permit a civil separation?..... In my previous post, I was only responding to a dude who claimed that those mentioning the word 'war' were 'foolishly threatening' war against agitators. I was only clarifying that those warning of war weren't necessarily foolish or hostile, but were rather just highlighting a high possibility considering Nigeria's peculiar arrangement.
PoliticsRe: Northern Youths Order Igbo Out Of Region by obailala(m): 8:56am On Jun 07, 2017
Fx55:
That's not the issue. Your fellow One Nigerianists have asked you out of their region and are already eyeing your properties. Funny how they didn't remember you've been supporting them all along. By the time they hit the streets with their matchetes, they definitely won't remember those who have asslicking them.
Like I said before, everyone knows the hausas dont like igbos. But only insecure weaklings feel they have to love and be loved back before they can co-exist/do business with anyone. Only a foolish Igbo man would go living in the north without caution thinking he is loved or sticking out his neck to be slashed. And guess what?... The SE answering a different country name will not stop Igbos from living in the north, neither will it quell the animosity the average northerner has for Igbos (it will rather even increase the animosity). So you preaching about one-nigeria or two-nigeria is watery nonsense which doesnt solve anything.
PoliticsRe: Melaye Caught On Tape Revealing How He Framed Suspects In His Assassination - SR by obailala(m): 10:44pm On Jun 06, 2017
Abeg who be Sowore jazzman?... Data protection breach at its worst... Dino would be scared of making calls these days grin grin cheesy
PoliticsRe: Northern Youths Order Igbo Out Of Region by obailala(m): 9:14pm On Jun 06, 2017
Fx55:
Obailala how market?

Beremx
Whoever said you ought to LOVE someone and the person ought to LOVE you back for you to do business/co-exist with the person?... Only small minds/insecure folks think that way bro.. cool

Who doesnt know hausas hate Igbos?
CrimeRe: Herdsmen Collect Cigarettes, Beverages, Garri As ‘ransom’ From Farmers In Delta by obailala(m): 4:52pm On Jun 06, 2017
Evablizin:
God punish APC government,the are the cause of all this problems from fulani herdsmen
And you think these same herdsmen weren't doing these things even before apc was formed?
PoliticsRe: FFK On Buhari/Osinbajo Boycotting ECOWAS Meeting With Benjamin Netanyahu by obailala(m): 3:43pm On Jun 06, 2017
This cocain sniffer again, giving warm meal to his new found multitude of loser admirers. Osinbajo did not attend an ECOWAS meeting and because Netanyahu attended the meeting, Osinbajo's Christianity is now being questioned. Morons everywhere you go!
CrimeRe: Two Nigerian Men Fight In Italy, One Throws The Other Off A Bridge by obailala(m): 3:35pm On Jun 06, 2017
Which kind of bunkum captured this video?... The dude just left everyone in suspense, videoing the ground instead of fight. Then most painful is, after the fall, least thing expected was for him to give us an idea of the height of the bridge to assess the damage. But mumu dude kept videoing the ground. angry angry angry
PoliticsRe: Nice Looking Bus Stop In Rivers State (rumuokwurisi Bus Stop) by obailala(m): 2:35pm On Jun 06, 2017
Naija sef angry undecided
PoliticsRe: Edo State Deputy Governor Gives Out ‘‘KEKE Tyre’’ As Empowerment by obailala(m): 2:32pm On Jun 06, 2017
Bet why?
PoliticsRe: Biafra Agitation Is Justified- Senator Abaribe by obailala(m): 1:48pm On Jun 06, 2017
pazienza:
Lol, never have I seen such a large bunch of garbage assembled in one post.

Considering you were amongst those who felt the removal of SE from the proposed Chinese loan project was ok, since Ndiigbo had in your demonic opinion not been complaining of other injustice they suffered in Nigeria before then, I am not surprise seeing you writing such a senseless verbose post.

I'd be back to address all the halftruths and falsehoods inherent in this you heap of garbage as usual.
Please do...
PoliticsRe: Biafra Agitation Is Justified- Senator Abaribe by obailala(m): 11:12am On Jun 06, 2017
Fx55:
I'm not sure you watched that video. You can choose to bury your head in the sand as usual but that's not the reality on ground. Contrary to what you might be telling yourself, the problem is much more deeper. It has nothing to do with the unity of the South-East or building any bridges with other regions. The issue we're dealing with is very base, primitive and primordial. I hope God will open your eyes to see things that are hidden.
Nope, God has opened my eyes to see beyond the part you and many others see. I have completely deleted the part of my mind which keeps reminding me to feel paranoid cos I know that feeling only destroys my ability to properly strategise and achieve things. There was a time I saw things from your view, but I now view things beyond that level cos I have since dug my head up from that sand and advise you to do same. I watched the video, the full video when the motion was raised and when it was shouted down, and also the interview of the angry rep afterwards.

You claim the bill was thrown out because they hate Igbos. But spend a second and think about it (of course without the 'they hate Igbos' mindset); can you give me one single reason why the northern or SW or even the SS reps should have supported the motion?.... Cos from my own understanding of politics and politicians worldwide, they only go for things they feel would benefit either their people, or at least their personal pockets. Recently a Lagos senator Remi Tinubu raised a somewhat similar motion for Lagos to be given a 'special status' (whatever that means) given its national coverage and its population. The bill was similarly shouted down. I wouldn't be surprised if the Lagos senators and representatives are now doing behind the scenes lobbying/bribing and striking deals with legislators from other states/zones (including even Igbo legislators) in preparation for the next time they would present that bill.

You say it has nothing to do with unity or alliances?... Fa fa fa foul! and this is exactly where millions of Igbos keep missing it, thinking we can survive and even prosper as a disunited island. The only reason a similar bill like that can be successful for the north is because (1) The 3 northern zones are wonderfully united and (2) The north, after it agrees with itself, will easily stretch out a hand of fellowship to the SW (and to even some Igbo reps), offering one incentive or the other (i.e. BUILDING BRIDGES), and the SW would simply support the idea because it believes it can gain something from the deal.

A lot of Igbos need to wake up from this 'they hate us and want to punish us' mentality which keeps tying us down from scheming like our mates are doing; everyone else out there is simply hustling for themselves, no one likes/loves anyone and no one owes anyone else anything.
PoliticsRe: Biafra Agitation Is Justified- Senator Abaribe by obailala(m): 9:57am On Jun 06, 2017
Fx55:
What happened with the South-East Development Commission Bill? It was shouted down and overruled by the Speaker and his Northern accomplices.

One Nigeria is a big scam. Our Reps already said it here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CYV0D4ccffY

If you understand the reason why there has been a systematic and deliberate underdevelopment of the South-East region, you'll definitely think twice before taking some of your anti-Igbo stance
'Igbo enweghi eze!' is a statement we proudly recite, but the fact is that it isn't necessarily a virtue. In fact, this very ideology is the reason why the Igbo nation has been unable to 'play the game' the way its mates (other big tribes) do. It's simple explains why ndigbo have been unable to unite to work towards any common good and this is one big factor which has deprived us of our rightful share in the national cake for decades.

Using the example of the SEDC, of course the SW and the north (and even possibly the SS) shouted it down because obviously, they don't think it would benefit them in anyway (not necessarily because they want to punish Igbos). Scratch my back and I scratch yours cos there are no brothers in the jungle and nothing goes for nothing; this is the most basic ideology which anyone involved in politics globally knows. Before NEDC motion was raised, you can bet the individual who originated it must have extensively discussed it with his colleagues across all the northern zones and even some southern zones. In fact, by virtue of the default UNITY and understanding the different northern zones have, the originator of that motion may not have even needed to discuss it first with his colleagues. But we all know the south hasn't got that sort of synergy at all.

Now a few questions which bug my mind, did the originator of the SEDC discuss the bill with fellow SE reps before raising it in the house?... Did the SE caucus discuss the proposed bill with even the SS reps?... Was any single hand of fellowship extended to SW reps or even sympathetic north central reps before the bill was brought on the floor?... If at all it was discussed with non-SE reps, were offers of 'potential mutual benefit' made to the non-SE reps for them to support the idea (sometimes this could even involve outright cash inducements)?... Remember nothing goes for nothing in the jungle. In fact, on the day the motion was raised on the floor, did we even have up to 30% of the total number of SE reps in attendance?.. I doubt this from the number seen in that video... These are the sort of questions which bug my mind when I think of the failure of the bill, not the usual "they are ganging up against us" attitude. Are we playing the right politics the Nigerian way?

I'm not a person to engage in endless self pity or dwell in endless paranoia believing that everyone else is scheming one thing or the other against me; I am totally not configured to just blame blame blame everyone else for my problems. I just believe everyone else is in a jungle to hustle for themselves and their people and they owe no one else anything. That's exactly what the other big tribes have been doing for themselves and their people and the Igbos need to try and do the same, play the same game our mates are playing, scheme, manipulate, blackmail and most importantly, create mutually beneficial alliances; that is exactly what politics is. Cos as they say, "na cooperation na him make rice full pot," no man can succeed as an island.
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m): 9:15am On Jun 06, 2017
dodelight:
I would have totally agreed with this response of yours if not for its conclusion which show you have much blind and soft spot for the present administration. Blind spot because you are not seeing how they lack direction, and how they came into power united by hate and different selfish reasons; Soft spot because you think they would perform better with better oil revenue.
Of course I cant deny that I have a bias for apc because I see them as my baby; I supported apc to power so by default, it would be difficult for me to expunge my sympathy for them, especially when I see how people who have a sympathy for pdp still stand by their pdp 100% even in exposed cases of their glaring fvckups.. And yes, I agree they lack direction, but I genuinely also believe their lack of direction isn't worse than that of the recently departed PDP that had a much better economic climate but weren't able to do anything sustainable with it. I absolutely believe a buhari would have done better in terms of sustainable capital infrastructural development if he had the same resource opportunities enjoyed by the recently departed govt.
PoliticsRe: Were Is The Revenue From Aba Going To by obailala(m): 9:02am On Jun 06, 2017
mrvitalis:
Are we Marginalised ?? ..we have hopeless leaders that has used this rubbish to fool us

Niger state is more than twice the south east in size ....we receive far more allocation than it ..yet it has better roads

If jigawa can build airport what's abia excus ?? Keep waiting for federal government

We control 70% of Nigerian market and banks with this we control Nigeria ...

All that is left is to produce what we sale with our banks backing us ..

Why is aba and OSHA underdeveloped ?? Would u blame the federal government??

If nnamdi KANU is a saint let him run for abia governorship let's see his style of leadership before following him on a journey of no return

Why should I trust nnamdi KANU cos he sweet talks and exaggerate things ...telling u what u want to hear instead of the truth ??

The truth is this no body is marginalising Igbo's ..intact we are super lucky ...

Until we hold our leaders accountable we will not develop

Last question who sent t.a orji to the senate as a reward ??

Get a life
Who sent T.A Orji to the senate?... According to the ipob creed, it is the Yorubas and Hausas that sent T.A Orji to the senate.

You must admit it is very very frustrating arguing with person's who reason like this; and the most frustrating part is that you keep wondering why sensible Ignos are not speaking up.
PoliticsRe: Biafra Agitation Is Justified- Senator Abaribe by obailala(m): 8:42am On Jun 06, 2017
Fx55:
Really?

Thank God all of una eyes don dey gradually open. One Nigeria is a hoax
Yeah its sad, but the real issue that bothers the mind is, what were the SE caucus of the NASS, the SE governors forum, ohaneze etc doing when that decision was taken?.... It's never too late though.
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m): 8:30am On Jun 06, 2017
dodelight:
There's no point arguing with you. It's obvious you hate everything about Jonathan, whereas I'm neither for or against him. I'm for good governance and the rule of law which is obviously missing in the administration you are passionately striving to defend.
Haba, we were talking about capital development, what brings rule of law into this?

Anyway, regarding Jonathan, he did his best to transform Nigeria as he deemed fit and I absolutely dont hate him. I just see him as another typical example of the mediocre leadership which Africa is known for; his own mediocrity was on a high level though because I had too much expectations from him and I believe that unlike every other leader, he enjoyed reasonably higher revenue..

And by the way, this is not me hailing the present govt, cos I also see them as a disappointment. But I certainly hate it when people keep directly comparing performance of the last guys (5 yrs) to the current guys (2yrs) especially as they choose to blatantly ignore the differences in the times (i.e. the economic status, sharp difference in income level etc).
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m): 8:13am On Jun 06, 2017
dodelight:
Please kindly attempt this simple question: Speaking about economics, is Nigeria progressing under the present administration compared to the previous?
Nigeria is currently in recession and the current income is just a tiny fraction of what was obtainable before. Nigeria is presently adjusting to that and the ficis now is to pull out of the recession. There's no basis for comparing 100 with 40.
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m): 8:10am On Jun 06, 2017
dodelight:
Yes!
Tell me which new projects this failed administration has initiated. They are only complementing Jonathan's legacy. It's good though. But I remember they said the man wasted 6years. Are they now completing his wastage?
Someone starts hundreds of projects and hardly finishes any single one; you hail him.

His successor comes in, refuses to start fresh projects, but rather chooses to complete the plethora of uncompleted projects littering the landscape. And you criticise him?

The wastage talked about obviously wasn't the projects.
PoliticsRe: GEJ's Aerotropolis: Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Challenge...APC Notified by obailala(m): 7:58am On Jun 06, 2017
dodelight:
GEJ worked! Despite his weakness in handling corruption we WERE moving forward under him- at slow pace though. But what do we have now? Your guess is as good as mine.
Mr A received N100, swallowed N90 and worked with N10. Mr B received N40, and swallowed the entire N40. undecided
PoliticsRe: Groups Give Fg 48 Hours To Cancel Planned Concession Of P’harcourt Refinery by obailala(m):
seunmsg:
It is really sad. Vested interest in the oil industry who are threatened by Ibe Kachikwu's resolve to end fuel importation by 2019 are the ones sponsoring the attacks on the concession. They don't want the refineries to ever work.
It's indeed very sad. These things are very clear to all, very powerful interests are working night and day to ensure the refineries never work in Nigeria. Same with the power sector, I just wonder how these devils sleep at night.

Kachikwu would be really frustrated, if he pushes on, he may even be eliminated.
PoliticsRe: Biafra Agitation Is Justified- Senator Abaribe by obailala(m): 7:22am On Jun 06, 2017
Still can't understand why the 2nd Nuger bridge had to be concessioned; in otherwords, Igbos are being made to pay for the bridge. That has got to be the best example of cheating of the SE.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 (of 585 pages)