Stats: 3,329,662 members, 8,441,730 topics. Date: Thursday, 09 July 2026 at 03:17 AM

9jaRealist's Posts

Nairaland Forum9jaRealist's Profile9jaRealist's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 (of 376 pages)

PoliticsRe: Dele Momodu Hails Osatohamen Osewengie Physicist Who Makes Drones For US Army by 9jaRealist:
Shelumiel:
I never knew you were daft. Nigeria's literacy level is below 60% and the so called " educational values "are non- existent in Nigerian tertiary education . This man only achieve his true genius on a foreign soil (America)not Nigeria mumu
I ignore CHILDISH insults...
They only betray a lack of substance and a crude upbringing.

On the SUBSTANTIVE MATTER under discourse, cultural values are not confined to national boundaries and thus core Nigerian values (including the respect and aspiration for educational achievement) generally follow Nigerians (and even their progeny, including US-born Nigerian-Americans and other similarly-placed diaspora Nigerians) wherever they find themselves. Again, it is NOT mere happenstance that Nigerians (and Nigerian-Americans) are the MOST-EDUCATED sub-group in the US, according to US Census figures. Thus, the “below 60%” literacy rate in Nigeria merely reflects a LACK OF ACCESS, rather than a cultural disregard for education. It is a failure of the state and not of values.

Meanwhile, I bet that this dude received his basic education (primary, secondary and perhaps even first degree) in Nigeria, and just as you cannot build a skyscraper without a stable foundation, one can’t attain high educational achievements without foundational basic education.
>
BusinessRe: LAWMA Shuts Oyingbo Market. by 9jaRealist: 2:04am On Nov 25, 2019
0monnak0da:
So the closure is justified? or what is your point?

I really do not get the meaning of this?
Who OWNS the market?
Markets serve the public and the public suffer when they are shut down
If the market do not or cannot organize themselves then government should clean it and levy them

There is no justification in punishing the local residents many of whom may not have affordable alternatives

If the place is not suitable for a market it should move but it is a public space and the ulttimate responsibility is with the government
I really do not know why we insist on complicating simple things

By the way I do not know what you mean by cooperative or the the relevance of all the stuff you have written
The local government should clean the market and charge them. for it
This is akin to saying that if a non-doctor sets up a clinic, government shouldn’t shut it down because it’s “punishing” local residents...
The rule is that each market association retain PSPs to clean the market, if these folks refuse to follow the rules they DESERVE punishment.

Public health is NOT a joke, and affects the GREATER SOCIETY one way or another...
Sadly, so many Nigerians are used to patronizing FILTHY markets (food placed on floors, meat covered in flies, etc) and think it ‘normal’! SMH
>
CelebritiesRe: AKA, South Africans Jubilate As Burna Boy's Concert Is Canceled By Organizers by 9jaRealist: 1:54am On Nov 25, 2019
IronGalaxy:
Grammy's aren't exactly new to South Africans. We've been in the Grammy game since Miriam Makeba
We are not discussing ANCIENT HISTORY when white folks ruled South Africa...oh wait, haven’t really changed! grin grin grin
>
EducationRe: Mother Of Queens College Student Who Fixed Lashes Attacks School Security by 9jaRealist: 2:55am On Nov 22, 2019
Made4naijalove:
Nigerian mum allegedly attacks security guard of Queens college who refused her daughter into the school because she hard artificial lashes and nail polish on

Queens College student being supported by her mother for indecent dressing. You can see her eye lashes, the security men stopped her and the mother resorted to manhandling the security man and others that didn't support her.
The mother should NEVER have done what she did, but...
How does artificial lashes and nail polish amount to "indecent dressing"?! shocked

Such a RUBBISH BACKWARD country, chasing shadows instead of facing substance. SMH

>
CelebritiesRe: ‘I Got The Best Wife’ – Davido Shares Photo Of Chicken Pepper Soup Chioma Made by 9jaRealist: 2:47am On Nov 22, 2019
ctleurocollege:
That plate is cheap
This wan leave rice begin chop stone...smh cheesy
>
PoliticsRe: Sagay Tells Buhari To Seek Senate’s Confirmation For Magu Again by 9jaRealist: 2:32am On Nov 22, 2019
Now that they have a RUBBER-STAMP senate... grin grin grin
>
PoliticsRe: Orji Uzor Kalu Emerges Head Of African Parliamentary Union by 9jaRealist: 2:18am On Nov 22, 2019
Metrixnews:
The Senate has appointed the Chief Whip, Sen. Orji Uzor Kalu the Head African Parliamentary Union (APU), one of the international lawmaking unions at the National Assembly, ABN TV reports.

The former Governor is to lead APU for the next four years.

The Abia North senator is to lead a delegation of the National Assembly comprising of the Senate and House of Representatives from 24-30 November, 2019.

Our correspondent gathered that the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan is also heading the International Parliamentary Union (IPU).

A source at the National Assembly told our correspondent that two other international lawmaking unions are domiciled at the House of Representatives.

Source: https://www.abnews247.com/2019/11/breaking-senator-kalu-emerges-head-apu/
SHOCKING! Someone who is CURRENTLY undergoing trial for corruption is Nigeria's best candidate... sad
>
TV/MoviesRe: "Living In Bondage" Premiere With Cast At Vivacinemas X Torley Nigeria (Photos) by 9jaRealist: 2:06am On Nov 22, 2019
aspiring44:
Wisdom is different from being cerebral .

Talent and skills is also different.

Education is a passport to the world .
BLESS YOU and yours!!!
>
TV/MoviesRe: "Living In Bondage" Premiere With Cast At Vivacinemas X Torley Nigeria (Photos) by 9jaRealist: 2:04am On Nov 22, 2019
Teewhy2:
A Lot of money in entertainment, the government should engage the youth and also generate more money to the economy.
Abegi, the government should stay OUT of it! angry
>
CrimeRe: Ismaila Mustapha Sues EFCC For N5 Million Over Unlawful Detention by 9jaRealist: 1:52am On Nov 22, 2019
grin grin grin grin grin

Proof that it takes big balls to be a fraudster...
>
EducationRe: Edo State Polytechnic Expels 2 Students Caught Having Sex In Lecture Halls by 9jaRealist: 1:38am On Nov 22, 2019
johnkey:
Hmmm I pity many future husbands. See wetin person go carry put for house lol
How about future WIVES?
As she was not doing it alone, was she?!

>
BusinessRe: LAWMA Shuts Oyingbo Market. by 9jaRealist: 1:31am On Nov 22, 2019
0monnak0da:
Sorry I no gree. This is collective punishment

Does government close a road because some drivers overspeed?
Or shut down an airport because passengers do not flush toilets

Government should charge them upfront(tax ,levy,whatever) and arrange the cleaning.

Governments need to adopt a servant mentality and discard this bossy approach
These market are effectively organized as 'cooperatives'...

They have a market association which deals with the govt...
This market association is also supposed to be contracting with the PSPs).

The association levies each trader for PSP (and other charges)...
The relationship with the market is thus handled as ONE entity, not 100s of individuals.
>
BusinessRe: LAWMA Shuts Oyingbo Market. by 9jaRealist: 1:26am On Nov 22, 2019
GOOD START!

But a long long way to go...
We are suffering the fallout of the politically-motivated scrapping of the Clean Lagos Initiative!
>
PoliticsRe: Protest In Kano Over Court Ruling On New Emirates by 9jaRealist: 1:17am On Nov 22, 2019

Rent-a-crowd protests...
Paid for by Babanriga Banker Gandollar!

>
Christianity EtcRe: Evangelist Dapo Soyemi: Woman Wearing Trousers Will Not Make Heaven by 9jaRealist: 3:52am On Nov 21, 2019
MISOGYNISTIC DUMBASS! angry
>
PropertiesRe: FCTA To Demolish 140 Illegal Structures In Abuja Communities by 9jaRealist: 3:50am On Nov 21, 2019
LAWLESS ZOO! angry

The level of IMPUNITY is mind-boggling...
Virtually EVERY one (regardless of status/wealth) apparently thinks rules do not apply to them. SMH

>
PropertiesRe: FCTA To Demolish 140 Illegal Structures In Abuja Communities by 9jaRealist: 3:48am On Nov 21, 2019
Alphafeezay:
This is how people will now be rendered homeless.
They rendered themselves homeless...smh
>
CelebritiesRe: AKA, South Africans Jubilate As Burna Boy's Concert Is Canceled By Organizers by 9jaRealist: 3:37am On Nov 21, 2019
TMKsouth:
You can't threaten SA artists with violence and then expect to land here safely. This one should never ever ever ever come to SA - EVER.

Well done AKA. cool cool cool

DELUSIONAL South Africans....
Burna is too busy with the GRAMMY folks!

>
CrimeRe: FUTA Suspends Obalola And Others Involved In Bullying Mate by 9jaRealist: 2:58am On Nov 21, 2019
bigtt76:
So because defamation is a civil wrong, it's not worth investigating and punished by the school authority or what?

We might as well tell the university authority not to suspend the students but allow them to sort themselves out by going to the police and court as fighting and assault are both civil wrongs naaa angry
Of course, assault and battery is NOT a civil wrong...
It is a CRIMINAL act, which is subject to the Penal Code - regardless of what the school does (or does not do).

If someone annoys or "incites" (to use your term) you...
You do not retaliate by committing a CRIMINAL act - and that there are Nigerians who do not grasp that simple concept is troubling!
>
PoliticsRe: Dele Momodu Hails Osatohamen Osewengie Physicist Who Makes Drones For US Army by 9jaRealist:
shogsman:
I tell you today that this people have inculcated the American culture to the core,if this kind of person comes back to this country, the experience will be weird for him.
Doubtful. In fact, more likely that he keeps track of Nigeria and likely visits from time to time...
Even Nigerian-Americans born and raised primarily in the US often retain an affinity to Nigerian culture.

Frankly, it's only the Desperados in Nigeria who think that folks emigrate and forget Nigeria. The REALITY is that Diaspora Nigerians (including "real" Nigerian-Americans born/raised abroad) eat Naija food, listen to Naija music, attend Naija weddings, ceremonies, meetings, independence day activities, parties, etc. - and even watch NOLLYWOOD movies (these days on Netflix)!
>
PoliticsRe: Dele Momodu Hails Osatohamen Osewengie Physicist Who Makes Drones For US Army by 9jaRealist: 2:38am On Nov 21, 2019
shogsman:
I tell you today that this people have inculcated the American culture to the core,if this kind of person comes back to this country, the experience will be weird for him.
Shelumiel:
It seem you are one of those fellows who attributes success to bloodline . Please the fellow in question, did he verbally tell you he is Nigerian ? When you talk , talk with sense .
Who said anything about "bloodline"?
I mentioned values and mores, including a healthy respect for EDUCATION, which he cultivated in Nigeria.

And whatever additional cultural traits he may have "inculcated" it was built upon his core Nigerian values. It is like tertiary education. You cannot "inculcated" a university education (so to say) without basic education. Accomplishment is a marathon and not a sprint.

>
CrimeRe: FUTA Suspends Obalola And Others Involved In Bullying Mate by 9jaRealist: 5:48am On Nov 19, 2019
bigtt76:
I believe the victim needs to be punished too if found culpable of inciting the accused persons' anger through defamation of their character. It should be nobody's business how the other party chooses to live their life and should not go about revealing nasty things about them without their consent.

I guess the investigation will reveal much more.
With all due respect, but this epitomizes that Agbero Culture that has befallen much of NIGERIAN public space...
Defamation of character (alleged) is a CIVIL wrong and if someone defames your character, you seek civil remedy not assault them.

And btw, I hope that you know that TRUTH is a COMPLETE DEFENSE to defamation allegations...
So just because a person dies not like others telling the TRUTH about his/her shenanigans does not make it defamatory.
>
CrimeRe: FUTA Suspends Obalola And Others Involved In Bullying Mate by 9jaRealist: 5:40am On Nov 19, 2019
CuriosityStream:
For what?

Because bullying once?
CRIMINAL assault and battery is NOT mere “bullying”... angry
>
CrimeRe: FUTA Suspends Obalola And Others Involved In Bullying Mate by 9jaRealist: 5:38am On Nov 19, 2019
hardbody:
Yeah thats elementary knowledge, but the state won't go far if the complainant refuses to press charges. The prosecution will falter and the matter thrown out for lack of diligent prosecution.
Similarly, elementary knowledge...
But why would she not press criminal charges if she intends to bring a civil suit for damages?

The astute thing would be to aid the state’s prosecution process and let the state do all the investigatory and evidentiary heavy lifting...
When/if the state successfully prosecuted the suspects, her civil case would be a mere formality given as the burden is LOWER in civil court.
>
CareerRe: Unions To Shut Down Banks Nationwide From January 2, 2020 by 9jaRealist: 2:24am On Nov 19, 2019

Keep striking...
You will all soon be replaced by digital banking. SMH

>
PoliticsRe: Dele Momodu Hails Osatohamen Osewengie Physicist Who Makes Drones For US Army by 9jaRealist: 2:12am On Nov 19, 2019
Shelumiel:
He's an American jare...
Badonasty:
Please don't call these people Nigerians....they are now Americans
winterfell007:
Exactly they are Americans 100%. Nigeria don't value people like them. If he were to be a Nigerian, quota system would have killed his skills and talent.
It's quite unfortunate I happen to live in the most 'shitty' country in the world
shogsman:
I don’t know why people think because you were born in Nigeria you’re automatically Nigerian, this is an American for Christ sake.
Because their DNA (and core values) is Nigerian...
And it is NOT mutually-exclusive to be both Nigerian and American (or any other nationality).

It is rather shallow to say this dude is "American" and not Nigerian because he has become successful...
But yet you lot did not classify those 88 Nigerian-born persons arrested by the FBI in the US as "Americans".

It not just mere coincidence or happenstance that persons of Nigerian descent OUTPERFORMS the general population in the US (in terms of educational achievement and even average income), because even those of us born/raised abroad have drunk from generations of Nigerian values, mores, and culture (including a healthy thirst for education, knowledge, hard work and achievement). It is a shame that our generation (the so-called "lazy yoots" ) are more enamored with a Yahoo culture, but rest assured that being Nigerian is one of the primary factors in this dude's success.
>
RomanceRe: Two Nigerian Ladies Fight Over A Man On Facebook by 9jaRealist: 1:09am On Nov 19, 2019
>
I stopped reading at "distoping us"...
If only folks put the same energy into education. sad

made4naijamusic:
www.nairaland.com/attachments/10590168_c565a60b3146447abd55f86411ac9d0f_jpeg2ec1509e3cf04361502536bc2adabbe7
PoliticsRe: Local Rice Production Has Not Taken Advantage Of Border Closure – Investigations by 9jaRealist: 8:31am On Nov 18, 2019
Debaiz:
Did protectionism help the following products in the lists below grow in nigeria or not.

Stop consuming the gibberish that the west is programming into your heads in other to keep you perpetually in their control.
You do realize that closing borders is NOT synonymous with import prohibition? shocked
The fact that you’re confused about basic concepts makes it difficult to have a rational discourse.
>
CrimeRe: FUTA Suspends Obalola And Others Involved In Bullying Mate by 9jaRealist: 8:21am On Nov 18, 2019
hardbody:
This right is open to the girl who was assaulted. She can also go ahead to sue for damages in civil courts.

Meanwhile the school spelt breach as breech...a citadel of knowledge. Tomorrow now one person will come and be claiming how top grade the Uni is. I understand its a technical university anyway, so english is not their strongest point, but....
The state can institute criminal proceedings while the victim follows up with a civil suit...
>
CrimeRe: FUTA Suspends Obalola And Others Involved In Bullying Mate by 9jaRealist: 8:17am On Nov 18, 2019
mrgreen4real:
They should be expelled not suspended. Their offence is a sign that they are/potential cultists.
lukency:
Suspension is not the issue, they should be expelled to serve as deterrent to other goats.
Bless you!!

And that should only be the first step...
After which the state should prosecute their Agbero arses! SMH

>
EntertainmentRe: Why Is The AFRICAN Music Fest Holding In Dubai, Newyork and London? by 9jaRealist: 8:13am On Nov 18, 2019
eDeity:
I don't care what fake fellows like you think bro.
I mean don't care about dumb fellows pretending to be smart on nairaland .
Somebody has self-esteem issues.... grin grin grin
>
PoliticsRe: Lagos To Begin Payment Of N35,000 Minimum Wage November; See New Salary Scale by 9jaRealist: 8:02am On Nov 18, 2019
babyfaceafrica:
Lagos can do better
macIB:
Half a loaf is better than no bread. We will get there one day but let start from somewhere.
Atleast Lagos govt offer is better than Kogi or Akwa Ibom
Lagos SHOULD do better... angry

N30k is the national MINIMUM wage, which means that it is a FLOOR (below which no government wage should fall), not a ceiling (or cap). Lagos not only generates the highest revenues among the states (which means it has more capacity to pay), but also the cost of living in Lagos outstrips that of other states (except for Abuja which is not a state), which means that one has to be paid substantially MORE in Lagos just to be able to match up with the purchasing power of similarly-placed civil servants in the other states.

>

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 (of 376 pages)