Konquest's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Konquest's Profile › Konquest's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 (of 427 pages)
Bestmanfornow: |
Bestmanfornow:That's impressive. |
Bestmanfornow:This is lovely. I've always liked Cosmas Maduka (Coscharis') old school philosophy of investing and making money, NOT the younger criminal hard drug barons, dealers and drug couriers in methamphetamine, heroin, fake malt and fake pharmaceutical drugs and other fake products makers who falsely claim to be legit Naira millionaires and billionaires while they have killed people through the sale of those fake and crappy products. On the other hand, I read late last year that Kano has the largest single rice producing company or mill in Nigeria. Then if the rice mill in Ikorodu, Lagos State states production with the bulk of it's paddy rice coming from Niger State, and nearby states according to the deal signed by both Lagos and Niger States recently, then the Lagos-owned rice hub would be the LARGEST rice processing mill in the entire West Africa. Kudos to Cosmas Maduka on his achievements in the agribusiness space here. |
Akinomoakin021:Trafigura Group keeps getting big ticket deals. |
chicfarmer:Bump. True that. |
Bintdawood:@Bintdawood, That's truly impressive. Egusi (melon) with Tuwon shinkafa... What vegetable(s) was used to make that Egusi soup? Is it Zogale (Moringa) or what? I never knew that some of you folks in Northern Nigeria add Egusi to your soups. While traveling internationally, I like to sample unique cuisines from around the cultures I come in contact with. It'd love to try your Tuwon shinkafa and Egusi combo on any of my leisure travels to the North. Second are you an original Hausa (Kanawa) OR a non-Hausa like Aisha Yesufu. |
Bintdawood:The picture of the Kosai you made with peanut oil shows it's indeed well made and I like the way the smell usually wafts through the air to embrace the person frying it, the kitchen and dining room, etc. Just a quick NOTE here though, and I want YOU to re-edit the WRONG information in your post that has been there since April 2024. Let me school you with some insightful evidence. YES, the fried beans delicacy is called Kosai in Hausa language, even right up to the Northern parts of Ghana (Gonja) due to the influence of long-distance Hausa traders (or the assimilated Agalawa or Nigeriene Tuareg caravan traders of Katsina and Kano in Hausaland) in that area of Ghana. But "Akara" is an original Yoruba word for fried bean cake NOT Pidgin English, and Akara is even CLEARLY listed in the first ever Yoruba to English dictionary of 1833. You can easily download a FREE PDF copy of the oldest Yoruba to English dictionary via a Google Search online. A lot of Yoruba words are being used as loan words (borrowed) by some other ethnic groups and folks in Nigeria due to their interactions as a result of British Colonialism, such as "Egusi" and "Oga" which are also listed in the same 1833 Yoruba to English dictionary. But these Yoruba loan words CANNOT be found in the oldest dictionaries of these other ethnic groups indicating that they borrowed it from the Yorubas. These ignorant younger ones from some of these ethnic groups like the Ibos had to be shown these CLEAR facts recently in 2024 when they started claiming that Egusi is a word from there ethnic group but knowledgeable Yoruba folks uploaded clear screenshot and documents showing that Egusi is not just a Yoruba word but has been eaten for centuries as a soup thickener. Aka-ra (simply means to COUNT and BUY) Aka (Count) Ra (Buy). The process of counting and buying the fried bean cakes. Alubosa for instance is a loan word used by Yorubas just like Albasa is a loan word used by Hausas but which is of Arabic origin. There are some Yoruba words that also have Arabic loan derivatives and are used interchangeably. This is a result of the strong presence of Islam in Yorubaland (Oyo Empire) for over 500 years now after it was brought by Islamic traders and preachers from Mali Empire, long before Uthman Danfodio's great grand parents were even born. So, it is always good to keep these facts in mind about the origins of words. Hope that helps. |
LexngtonSteele: |
muhammaduyusufu:The crappy sewer rat called "bitcoin whatever" dude is obviously trying to use NL and @Seun to trend and gain followers for his ethnic bigotry-based crappy app. This is the same shameless "boy" that offered to send or sponsor the 2023 teenage JAMB examination cheat called Mmesoma from Anambra State to any school abroad. Despite all the available evidence even from the mobile phone company showing the digital trail of how the JAMB result was sent to the girl's phone, these folks continued to live in denial and victimhood which pouring out unprintable ethnic hate speech here on NL and other platforms, until that same school girl cracked under pressure and confessed that she indeed forged her result and the father even knew about it! As for @Seun, I hope he now realizes that being politically correct DOESN'T pay. I see a lot of relentless ethnic insults on Linda Ikeji's blog and other Ibo-owned blogs targeted at other Nigerian ethnicities in the comments sections and absolutely NOTHING is done to caution the insidious culprits. The problem with NL still has to do with the free registration process using free throwaway emails which makes it easy for ethnic bigots and trolls and those who have been banned to re-register within 2 minutes and continue the online attacks. They even create OR new accounts containing insults to the Moderators and ethnic slurs. Other discussion forums have a 2 to 3 days manual vetting period by the a special Moderator before any new account is allowed active participation on their site to weed off potentially questionable new accounts. |
Mariangeles:You seem to have a great since of adventure right here... You're the type of person who would like to go on leisure travels around exotic sceneries or places just for the new experience. I've NEVER done the frying of slices of onions and scotch bonnet pepper in the vegetable oil for dodo. I'll give it a try when next I want to have dodo for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Indeed, different styles of cooking exist based on individual differences and personal experiences, so, those are some of the reasons why some of the Abuja kilishi that you had not taste good. You know what Mariangeles? Why don't you try making your own well-spiced kilishi since you like it. I'm sure there are recipes online that would give you deep insights into how to make it at less cost. Well it's gonna cost you some of your time to prepare but it's worth giving it a shot. I'll remind you down the road to know if you've tried it out. So, just do it! Ciao. ![]() |
Mariangeles:Indeed, the pleasant smell of dodo NEVER gets out of style. ![]() Oh, really? Ah... I get it now... Someone brought the kilishi back for you. I've tasted it back in the day too and it was made from well spiced sheep meat. So, how do you get regular kilishi supplies to further "elevate your taste buds" to another esoteric level? Or do you get them directly from the Hausa folks in Lagos where I assume you're based? |
Klass99:You should actually be working for Scotland Yard with your Sherlock Holmes instincts. ![]() |
Bestmanfornow: |
Biodun556:Bump. |
Dapromzy333:That's impressive. Harvard Uni alumni reunion on the East Coast. |
Mariangeles:It's got to be Dodo (fried plantains). Dodo is my favorite demon. The scent of fried dodo wafting through the air is pure heaven too. It's just like the kick I get from inhaling freshly baked home-made bread. Ah! Kilishi, I see you love street food. By the way, did you ever live in the far North of Nigeria to have fallen in love with kilishi? |
chicfarmer:@chicfarmer, Indeed, you hit the spot... I like some of the adjectives you used to qualify Green Sands Shandy here. "The taste was simply UNMATCHED" like you stated. It was in the very early 1980s that I first drank it and it's taste OR recipe hasn't been replicated anywhere that I know of. It had a kind of "Ginger Ale" effect... But much deeper. TRUE that! With a much larger population worldwide now, any company that relaunches Green Sands Shandy will make billions in profits for investors tbh. The monochrome green label on the brown bottle was also irresistible. The monochrome green color of NL too is also one of the things that subconciously attracted me to this discussion forum since 2005... ![]() I'm curious though, what state were you based in when you had that drink?... I was wondering whether Green Sands Shandy was widely available in all the then 19 states of Nigeria or it was it only limited to Lagos and a few states of Nigeria back in the 1980s. Take care. |
Ishilove: ![]() |
Beremx:Pet bottle soft drinks... Really? Those guys (Coca Cola) indeed have a HUGE war chest. Oh, yes, I know about that acquisition of Chivita in tetra paks by Coca Cola a few years back. That Goldspot acquisition and dumping by Coca Cola in India still stuns me a bit though. But folks have to be careful because of monopolistic tendencies that can end up squeezing creativity and innovation. More than one company is needed in the carbonated soft drinks OR packaged fruit juice drinks space to ensure that people are NOT continually served with the same taste and quality every year. |
Ishilove:The latter... Really? I haven't been following this dude's career and lifestyle (except when it sometimes hits the NL frontpage), but after watching his attempted escape video, my sixth sense and many years of studying global crime patterns kicked in. Then there's a sense of urgency NOW for the relevant State authorities to forcibly get him in for drug rehab otherwise he'll ruin himself, his so-called career, and immediate family with his antisocial behavior. This vicious cycle has to end. Ishilove, I appreciate the feedback here. Enjoy your weekend. Take care. |
Beremx:That's interesting @Beremx. Indeed, I remember that Goldspot originally came from India to Nigeria as a franchise of some sort. You know, I didn't even realize that Coca Cola in India acquired the Goldspot brand back in 1993, but later ditched Goldspot in favor of the Fanta Orange brand as indicated in the screenshot you attached here. I appreciate your sharing of that fact. |
Racoon:That's mad cool. Mirinda did NOT transmute into Goldspot. Mirinda is actually a product from the stable of Pepsi. Goldspot is from a different soft drinks company as well. Crush in my opinion was the BIGGEST of the orange drinks in Lagos back in the very early 1980s though and it had a very unique orange taste. Even Mirinda Orange had a unique taste back then that was different from Fanta Orange. Green Sands Shandy was also a big hit with me back in the day... It had a very classic taste when chilled that hasn't been replicated anywhere. |
wwwihy:I'm on the same page with the Obong of Calabar. I've also emphasized here on NL and in other convos that the construction of the strategic Lagos to Calabar Coastal Highway should be done simultaneously from the Calabar end and a middle section corresponding to the Delta or Bayelsa States axes to give a sense of inclusion and spread up the highway construction project. The leaders of the Niger Delta States such as ALL the Governors of the South of South states, Chief Edwin Clark, Ben Murray-Bruce, Donald Duke, the Obong of Calabar, and more. The respected American Development Economist and United Nations adviser, Professor Jeffrey Sachs has stated clearly in some of his lectures and videos that in times of economic downturns, new infrastructural developments with long-term loans help to attract investments to turn around the economy. Professor Jeffrey Sachs is someone who has always criticized the U.S. and Europe for not doing enough for Africa and also the IMF for imposing stringent conditions on developing countries. |
FreeStuffsNG:It's very obvious after watching the rather surreal video of Portable scaling the gate like an aggressive squirrel (while trying to resist Police arrest) that he is EITHER bipolar OR on hard drugs. It's time for him to check himself in with the help of his immediate family members and go for professional therapy with any credible organization for drugs rehab or for psychoanalysis therapy. If he doesn't do those things ASAP, he'll definitely lose all his remaining wealth and die poor just like other male and female entertainers around the world with drugs and mental health issues. He also posted misleading info on his social media handle that the Mercedes Benz GLE cost him N60 million, but it turns out that the Mercedes Benz GLE costs N28 million out of which he made a part payment. These are signs that he needs help. The relevant authorities have to step in quickly and ensure that this young dude goes for therapy before he does ANY further damage to himself, his family, and the society at large. Period. |
FreeStuffsNG:His Ijebu paternal and Calabar maternal ancestral powers innit? ![]() Tbh though, even if you're NOT the son of a relatively reclusive Forbes-listed USD billionaire, with the right kind of tools and knowledge, women are NOT difficult to figure out and can be tamed for the good of all. Period. |
casualobserver:@casualobserver, It's nice you brought this convo up. It was quite amusing seeing some uninformed youngsters online arguing ridiculously over the ethnic group of Meghan. She was simply given 3 suggested Nigerian ethnic names at a session anchored by Modupe Abudu, and some of the Ibos especially went about claiming her because an Ibo name was suggested first at that session which was used then used in the newspaper headline, when infact, its only a percentage result of "43 percent" that she has without an ethnic group named. A Journalist with one of the British tabloids also noted the fact that Nigeria has many ethnic groups, so, Meghan's test result doesn't say which one but only gave percentages. I also have a vast knowledge of ancestral DNA testing methodologies right from the late 1990s right till this moment in 2024. There's even NOTHING like "Nigerian DNA." In ancestry DNA testings, what we have are GENETIC MARKERS that are associated with specific groups currently living in specific regions of Africa, Europe, Asia, etc. I stated this fact on one of the NL threads that hit the front page on Meghan being given Nigerian ethnic names that Meghan's 43 percent Nigerian result from the ancestry DNA testing company she used DOESN'T say what ethnic groups she has links with in Nigeria! I ALSO must CLEARLY emphasize here that one of the two likely DNA testing companies she got her result from that use percentages in their results (of which Ancestry DNA is one of them), ONLY group tested folks into regional classifications such as Nigeria Region (which also covers Niger Republic and parts of Chad Republic!). Other regional classifications are Benin/Togo, Ivory Coast/Ghana, Mali, Cameroon/Congo, etc. So, Meghan's ancestry could also be from Niger Republic and parts of Chad in addition to Nigeria since enslaved people were also taken from those places especially during the Hausa Civil Wars of the 1700s and the criminal so-called Fulani jihad where there was a spike in the number of enslaved Hausas, Kanuris, and Nupes by the Fulanis who captured and sold even Muslims in exchange for weapons such as muskets. Even Uthman Dan Fodio's brother, Abdulahi became disillusioned because the jihad had deviated from the original objectives and become an enterprise where other non-Fulani Muslims were being sold into plantation slavery across the Sahara desert and the Atlantic. So, enslaved Hausas of Niger Republic and Nigeria, Kanuris, and other minority ethnicities in the Middle Belt of Nigeria were sold and deported on slave ships across the Atlantic Ocean, some were sold in the Maghreb (Berber/Arab North Africa), and others were sold via the Ottoman Empire. The best bet to get a specific ethnicity in Africa for Meghan would be for her to do a MATRICLAN test by using a DNA testing company called AfricanAncestry based in the U.S. to know what specific ethnic group and country in Africa her maternal lineage right from the first female that landed in her mother's country (U.S.A) comes from since genetic materials (or genetic markers) are transfered from mother to daughter and are unchanged from one generation to another. The other test to find out ones paternal lineage leading to Africa, Europe, or Asia, is called. PATRICLAN test. So, the genetic markers that are passed on from father to son are unchanged from generation to generation. The famous Judge Glenda Hatchett and Quad Webb (of Sister Circle) for instance are two prominent African-American women that used the AfricanAncestry testing company to locate their MATERNAL lineage to the Yoruba people of Nigeria based on a genetic marker that is found ONLY in Yoruba woman (and Hausa women as well). That marker is passed on from generation to generation of females. |
emkz: |
naptu2:These highly insidious British folks writing for some of these British tabloids and that @MeghansMole are indeed WORSE than malnourished SEWER RATS for portraying falsehoods about Meghan and Harry's NON-ROYAL 3-day visit to Nigeria. There's absolutely nothing wrong in the way the Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and Meghan gave each other a light hug. Nigeria is a multicultural country with 250 ethnic groups and many REGIONAL differences in terms of cultural values, religious beliefs and etiquettes. It's the same with France and the UK that also have regional differences and languages or dialects that vary from the urban cities to the country sides and small villages. These few White British folks doing these misinformation are just deluded and have low self-esteem issues tbh. |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 (of 427 pages)