Stats: 3,328,752 members, 8,437,186 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 July 2026 at 12:49 PM

Abujafood's Posts

Nairaland ForumAbujafood's ProfileAbujafood's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 (of 44 pages)

FamilyRe: Would You Support Your Son If He Decides To Become A Priest. by Abujafood: 9:40am On Nov 19, 2012
Yes, if it's his calling who am I to say no?
FamilyRe: Facts Fathers Never Tell Their Sons About Women. by Abujafood: 9:37am On Nov 19, 2012
Ucheosefoh: correct am well na so dem train u 2 de correct person I tire 4 some piple here common correction dem go curse person as if dem 2 sabi
Okay since you're too serious to read between the lines, odabo! No vex!
RomanceRe: The Worst Thing You've Ever Done For Love? by Abujafood: 9:34am On Nov 19, 2012
The worst thing ever, I think I almost collapsed when she said it was over!
RomanceRe: Girls, How Would You Like To Be Asked Out? by Abujafood: 9:31am On Nov 19, 2012
What is wrong with all the guys that have been commenting here? Are you ladies?

Any way let me talk, if I was a girl and a guy asked me out if I don't fancy him I'll definitely decline but accept to go out unconditionally with someone I fancy! That is if I'm a girl!

Now to the rest of you guys, don't comment, just watch from the sidelines and let's learn how the ladies like it!
EducationRe: Has UNILAG Succeeded In Crushing The MAULAG Name Finally? by Abujafood: 9:28am On Nov 19, 2012
Last I heard of it, the case was in court so I guess all parties are maintaining the status quo ante!
FamilyRe: Must One Lose A Job Over Infidelity? by Abujafood: 9:25am On Nov 19, 2012
In his own case yes! American policy has it on record that decision makers in the Military's top brass must not engage in extra marital affairs due to the implication it has on national security. So yes he acted inappropriately because he holds much of the country's secrets and a slip from him could be disastrous!
PoliticsRe: Jim Ovia Donates N1Billion To Flood Victims by Abujafood: 9:22am On Nov 19, 2012
Quite commendable as for the foolish person calling him an evil man, I hope you're a saint yourself?
FamilyRe: Facts Fathers Never Tell Their Sons About Women. by Abujafood: 9:21am On Nov 19, 2012
Okija_juju: #Fact: Women may be the physically weaker sex, but they are the stronger sex in every other thing.

#Fact: Hell has no warth like a woman scorned..
Sharrap! Wrath not warth
FamilyRe: Facts Fathers Never Tell Their Sons About Women. by Abujafood: 9:20am On Nov 19, 2012
Let me get this straight, a father should teach his teenage son all these things or after his grown up (20 and above)? You'd be surprised that many fathers are even more ignorant than their sons when it comes to women affairs!
SportsRe: Snoop Dogg To Invest In Celtic Football Club by Abujafood: 9:05am On Nov 19, 2012
He's now called Snoop Lion no more Snoop Dogg!
RomanceRe: Why Are Women So Angry When Outsmarted by Abujafood: 5:39pm On Nov 17, 2012
190: Its very common with Nigerian girls grin grin

When you outsmart them - they get pissed
When you don't give them money - they get pissed
Don't take them shopping - pissed
Tell them the-truth- see vex

We association of Nigerian men are tired!
u dis man and Nigerian girls!
RomanceRe: Why Do Women Gossip Like That? by Abujafood: 5:35pm On Nov 17, 2012
Why do you want to know why?
RomanceRe: How Do I Break Up With My Ex? by Abujafood: 5:31pm On Nov 17, 2012
What kind of question are you asking? Break up with your ex? Or you want to stop loving him?
WebmastersRe: Bloggers How Much Do You Make A Month. by Abujafood: 6:01pm On Nov 16, 2012
nex: Well, I'm not a blogger, at least not in the sense which every Nigerian has now become a blogger. I have a blog, but it is actually my own personal weBLOG. I rarely share it. I'm a microblogger though, and a Social Media Marketer. I make an average of N100,000/month tweeting as @Bar_Baric for various Nigerian brands, and in the month of my highest earnings, which I had a deal with Nigeria Breweries, I made up to N600,000 that month alone (July 20012).

Aside from that, most bloggers exaggerate the amount they make from blogging. Ask them for their tax receipts, that's when they'll start sweating. No Nigerian blogger makes millions from blogging! None! Don't be deceived into giving up your day job please!
How many tweets did you do for NB for that amount?
AutosRe: 9 Tips For Saving On Fuel Consumption by Abujafood: 12:07pm On Nov 16, 2012
These are essential fuel scarcity tips for people living in Abuja!

http://www.abujafood.com/news-digest/bite/899--essential-fuel-scarcity-tips-for-abuja-people.html

My contribution to this thread!
WebmastersRe: Bloggers How Much Do You Make A Month. by Abujafood: 11:29am On Nov 16, 2012
On my 3 blogs (not including www.abujafood.com) I make roughly N20K per month and I've abandoned them for months not even responding or approving comments.

There was a time I used to dream of earning N150K per month but with so many people going into blogging you're better off chasing other online income sources. That's my opinion!
EventsRe: Weekend Events In Abuja! by Abujafood(op): 11:14am On Nov 16, 2012
FashionThe Nail Bar's Essential Beauty Tips For Glowing Skin by Abujafood(op): 12:50pm On Nov 15, 2012
Our skin, according to Chinese herbal Medicine is our third lung. The importance of it to our overall health can not be hammered enough. The elusive beauty goal we all aspire to is Marylin Monroe like smooth, dewy, wrinkle free skin. The only way to reach this goal is to treat your skin like you would a new born baby. With love and care.

Feed!

Beauty they say comes from within and there is no denying this, especially when it comes to healthy glowing skin. Some foods that are especially known to work wonders for the skin are avocadoes which are a great source of Biotin that help prevent dry skin. Lycopene rich tomatoes that is great for healing the skin and Salmon which contains Carotenoids which improve elasticity meaning less wrinkles. These are just some of the foods Mother Nature provides for us to achieve great skin.

Cleanse!

Marylin Monroe apparently used to rinse her face exactly fifteen times and smear olive oil over her face before bed. Although these face cleansing methods are known to be quite effective, today we have much easier cleansing rountines to choose from. Skin cleansing is an essential beauty tip for healthy glowing skin. It removes and reverses the pollution, dirt, make-up and grime that cling to your skin throughout the day. We all have different skin types so it is important to know your skin type, whether dry or oily to determine the cleanser you should use. Cleansers vary from oil based,foamy, milky or creamy. The Nail bar offers great advice on the right cleansing product for your skin type.

Moisturize!

Tony Blair once said "Education, Education Education" was the agenda of the day, we say "Moisturize, Moisturize, Moisturize" your skin. The importance of this for the skins health and beauty cannot be highlighted enough. Our bodies are made up of 75% of water so you can imagine how dehydrated the skin can get due to its porous nature. You can avoid dry skin by choosing a moisturizer that is right for your skin type.

Exfoliate!

Exfoliation could possibly be the nearest way we can get to the fountain of youth. Second to botox ofcourse. It simply refreshes and rejuvenates the skin in a natural way by gently removing dead skin cells at the top most layer of your skin. Dull skin is replaced by smoother, healthier and more glowing skin. There are different ways to exfoliate your skin, the Nail Bar can help you determine the right exfoliation routine for you.

Protect!

The biggest skin myth for black and brown skin is that we don't need to protect our skin from the sun. This is criminally wrong. Eventhough we have protective melanin in our skin cells, we need to use a moisturiser that contains a small amount of SPF that blocks your skin form the harmful UV sun rays that can cause premature aging or even skin cancer.

http://www.abujafood.com/lifestyle/hair-a-beauty/997-the-nail-bars-essential-beauty-tips-for-glowing-skin.html
FoodHow To Prepare Amala With Abula by Abujafood(op): 10:22am On Nov 15, 2012
Abula is a wonderfully colourful southern Nigerian Yoruba soup. It is a mixture of Gbegiri which is a bean soup, Ewedu a draw soup and Pepper Sauce. According to Wkipedia "Amala is a thick brown paste or porridge made from yam, which had been peeled, cleaned, dried and then blended into a flour". According to my taste buds Amala and Abula is simply delicious! We came across this Abuja recipe from a fab blog called Naijafoods. If you can't make to to your nearest Amala joint to order a plate of this, why not try cooking it at home.

The Procedure;

Gbegiri:

Soak your desired quantity of beans ( Vigna Unguiculata: Brown eyed Peas) in cold water (2 milk tins of beans is enough to serve 8 adults)
Peel desired quantity of beans like you do in moimoi or akara.
Boil until it's mashy as in very very soft.
Remove from fire and allow to cool.
Pour your cooked beans into your blender and blend or use clean broom to mash the beans like that used for ewedu.
Pour red oil on fire.
Slice onions into the oil.
Pour your bean paste into the oil and heat.
Add your condiments i.e crayfish, knorr cubes, salt, ogiri, iru, dried fish(optional), dried pepper or blended fresh pepper.
Heat for some minutes.
Gbegiri is ready to serve.

Ewedu ( Corchorous Olitorius : Long fruited Vegetable)

Nicely pick just the leaves (no steam allowed) of the ewedu and wash properly with a lot of water to remove any sand left on it
Boil the ewedu leaves in a pot for about 15mins
Add the potash to help in softening it, a pinch of salt and the seasoning cube
When it is soft, you can use the local broom to whisk it or you blend it with a blender
Add Iru ( Locust bean)
Put back on fire to heat for 1.5 Minutes
Ready to serve

Obe Ata Soup/Sauce:

Place the meat in a pot, add very little water (most meat produces water as it cooks), dice one onion in with the meat, add some salt, seasoning and cook the meat until it is almost tender.
If you are using fresh ingredients, grind the tomatoes and the peppers together with onion.
Pour the vegetable or palm oil into a pot already on fire and add the blended tomato mixture and allow to cook for at least 20 minutes. You may then add the boiled meat or chicken, but if you are using fish, you need not pre cook it because of the tender nature of fish so that all the nutrient is not lost in the process of cooking.
Allow to cook for about 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
[b][/b]Taste for salt and add seasoning.

Serve the Ewedu + Soup/Sauce+ Gbegiri on Amala. Enjoy!

http://www.abujafood.com/food-matters/the-recipe-book/1005-amala-and-abula.html
LiteratureOnline Content Writers Wanted At Abujafood.com by Abujafood(op): 9:59am On Nov 15, 2012
Do you love to write and can you create a lasting impression on the mind of your readers? Are you based here in Abuja? Then you might be one of the content writers we’re searching for.

In case you don’t know Abujafood.com is Abuja’s No.1 website by number of pageviews (140,000 for October 2012) and number of readers roughly 2600 people visited our website in October.

This is in addition to our vibrant social media following; over 1000 followers on Twitter, over 1000 people are on our mailing list and on google plus we have 450 people in our circles. Overall we’re reaching 5,400 people including our Facebook following. Aditionally, the last 6 months has seen Abujafood.com has recording a steady increase in web traffic averaging over 30% per month. That means we have a growing audience and we rank high for many search terms in search engines for keywords relating to Abuja.

Obviously our online medium offers potential writers a platform to express themselves and get noticed for their expertise. This will afford the successful candidates a chance to showcase their writing skills and proven expertise in their area of specialization.

What you get;

A by line with your name helping you build an online portfolio of quality articles
Exposure to our readers and our online community
An opportunity to acquire important social media marketing skills

What we require from you;

Well written, witty and insightful articles between 400 to 600 words
Factual and informative pieces. Articles based on fact and informed opinions
Hardwork, comittment, creativity, and motivation
A unique and distinct writing style
A passion for research, wrting and reporting

Columns available

City Guide; Articles about places and information to guide people here in Abuja
Entertainment; Night clubs, parties, celebrations etc here in Abuja
People and Relationships
Fashion and Style
Health and Fitness
Current events and trending topics
Other

How to apply

Simply send an email to info@abujafood.com with title content writing with a sample of your written work. We’ll go over the email and get back to you if you meet our requirements.

http://www.abujafood.com/news-digest/abuja-job-vacancy/1002-content-writers-wanted-at-abujafoodcom.html
FamilyRe: Picture Of A Father Carrying His Child On His Back by Abujafood: 9:26am On Nov 15, 2012
This is an pix na? But I think it's cool for a man to carry his child! It's his own blood for God sake!
Jobs/VacanciesWriters Wanted At Abujafood.com by Abujafood(op):
https://www.classicsa.co.za/images/sized/images/uploads/classicsa_online_writing_courses-455x308.jpg

Do you love to write and can you create a lasting impression on the mind of your readers? Are you based here in Abuja? Then you might be one of the content writers we’re searching for.

In case you don’t know Abujafood.com is Abuja’s No.1 website by number of pageviews (140,000 for October 2012) and number of readers roughly 2600 people visited our website in October.

This is in addition to our vibrant social media following; over 1000 followers on Twitter, over 1000 people are on our mailing list and on google plus we have 450 people in our circles. Overall we’re reaching 5,400 people including our Facebook following. Aditionally, the last 6 months has seen Abujafood.com has recording a steady increase in web traffic averaging over 30% per month. That means we have a growing audience and we rank high for many search terms in search engines for keywords relating to Abuja.

Obviously our online medium offers potential writers a platform to express themselves and get noticed for their expertise. This will afford the successful candidates a chance to showcase their writing skills and proven expertise in their area of specialization.

What you get;

A by line with your name helping you build an online portfolio of quality articles
Exposure to our readers and our online community
An opportunity to acquire important social media marketing skills

What we require from you;

Well written, witty and insightful articles between 400 to 600 words
Factual and informative pieces. Articles based on fact and informed opinions
Hardwork, comittment, creativity, and motivation
A unique and distinct writing style
A passion for research, wrting and reporting

Columns available

City Guide; Articles about places and information to guide people here in Abuja
Entertainment; Night clubs, parties, celebrations etc here in Abuja
People and Relationships
Fashion and Style
Health and Fitness
Current events and trending topics
Other

How to apply

Simply send an email to info@abujafood.com with title content writing with a sample of your written work. We’ll go over the email and get back to you if you meet our requirements.

http://www.abujafood.com/news-digest/abuja-job-vacancy/1002-content-writers-wanted-at-abujafoodcom.html
Nairaland GeneralRe: Fuel Tanker Collides With Trailer In Lagos by Abujafood: 3:42pm On Nov 14, 2012
Prompt response from Lastma!
RomanceRe: Are Majority Of Nigerian Guys Not Annoyingly Boring In Romance? by Abujafood: 1:20pm On Nov 14, 2012
k2039: So anything oyinbo do,we must do it by default.

Mtchew
Common shurrup, why you come go school naw? No be onyibo bring am come Africa! You for kuku dey villa dey run things with village folks instead of accepting a more civilized lifestyle!

@Topic

Is it only the men that are annoyingly boring? How about the dry ladies themselves? Many of them can't suggest romantic stuff for the so called unromantic boyfriends! It's a two way thing!
AdvertsRe: Win Yourself A Free Lunch In Abuja by Abujafood(op): 11:49am On Nov 14, 2012
The contest is still on! Check back always on this thread for more updates!
TravelRules For Dealing With Cab Drivers In Abuja by Abujafood(op): 10:05am On Nov 14, 2012
Think ahead.

Think not for yourself alone but for the cab men, because most times, it seems they are zoned out; not in touch with the reality in front of them. The reality being road accidents and possible death.

Sticking to your Right of Way

Sticking to your right of way is not always a good idea. This might sound crazy but Abuja cab men do not know what another road- user’s right of way is. Call it ignorance or plain mischievousness, this beloved group of Nigerians technically do not “send”. So forget about insisting on your rights. They have nothing to lose by scratching their already pockmarked cab and your own.

Honking

Abuja cab drivers often and irritatingly so, have this habit of honking their horns at the slightest opportunity.
Normally, honking is for emergency situations, but no, not for these beloved members of society. Their horns are their most cherished possession. Why should you be grateful for the extra noise? Well it alerts us that they are around. It therefore says: “Get whatever you love- your car or your legs out of the way.” So appreciate the warning.

Ignore Harsh Words

Ignore their harsh words and insults. Their famous one- liners may range from lewd remarks about your gender to references to your poor parents being doomed for life for having given birth to you. As hilarious as most of them might be, the rudeness is most unnecessary. Reply with an equally insulting remark and risk a scene similar to Armageddon on the highway. So we suggest you drive away, as fast as you possibly can.

Stay Alert

Stay alert and aware on the road as the Abuja cab man can pop out of any corner, at any time ready to give you a memorable confrontation or a dent in the side of your car. If you forget, you pay; somehow.

http://www.abujafood.com/news-digest/bite/489-cab-drivers.html
PoliticsRe: How Do You Rate Nigeria's Press? by Abujafood: 6:30pm On Nov 13, 2012
Okija_juju: This post has been rated as an oxymoron

No pun intended
Of course it must always be you! The one and only full time critic of Nairaland!
AdvertsRe: Win Yourself A Free Lunch In Abuja by Abujafood(op): 5:34pm On Nov 13, 2012
Yesterday a winner emerged from our weekly free lunch contest! Hauwa Bawa won herself a lunch worth N2000!

Look out very soon daily prizes will be up for grabs!
PoliticsRe: How Do You Rate Nigeria's Press? by Abujafood: 5:25pm On Nov 13, 2012
With the exception of www.Abujafood.com and a few others, I'll say not too impressed! Not blowing my trumpet by the way, merely stating facts as they are.
PhonesRe: Port-Harcourt Student Wins MTN Aeroplane!! by Abujafood: 3:24pm On Nov 13, 2012
Wise move girl! Wetin you wan take aeroplane do before?
Jobs/VacanciesRe: Have You Benefited From Graduate Training Jobs by Abujafood: 3:16pm On Nov 13, 2012
Most of the Govt run graduate training programs especially those by NDE are waste of time. You're better off acquiring professional certifications or working for free to gain work experience with some companies!

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 (of 44 pages)