AreaFada2's Posts
Nairaland Forum › AreaFada2's Profile › AreaFada2's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 (of 609 pages)
hotseat:Yes, it is. The old cargo desperados can Kpai anybody outside their political clique that suddenly emerges and has a genuine chance of winning. And nothing will happen. Such a person won't have the money to splash or protection of state apparatus. If they bribe him with NNPC, NPA or any other lucrative position or money and refuses, dem go take care of am. It was for a lesser position than the presidency that Funsho Williams was kpaied. Even Bola Ige, a serving minister was eliminated and nothing happened. Harry Marshall, same thing. This is Nigeria. |
Bixati:ok |
Qatar2022:Your head dey there. Why did she abort the pregnancy? Is it that the baby is not his? Or she sees no future for both of them? Or the other relationship went wrong and taking it out on her hubby at home? Did she initially leave someone she was dating and loved to marry OP for whatever reason? She may now be regretting it. These are speculations of course but OP needs to investigate discretely. Certainly, she's reacting negatively to being found out over the abortion. No matter what, a woman shouldn't be secretly doing abortion after just two years of marriage. Not like they already have two or three kids. @ Lucaslookers, please also consider her mental health. Some women suffer from guilt and depression after abortion. If she has suffered damage to her reproductive system, she most likely won't tell you. |
Qatar2022:Your head dey there. Why did she abort the pregnancy? Is it that the baby is not his? Or she sees no future for both of them? Or the other relationship went wrong and taking it out on her hubby at home? Did she initially leave someone she was dating and loved to marry OP for whatever reason? She may now be regretting it. These are speculations of course but OP needs to investigate discretely. Certainly, she's reacting negatively to being found out over the abortion. No matter what, a woman shouldn't be secretly doing abortion after just two years of marriage. Not like they already have two or three kids. Please also consider her mental health. Some women suffer from guilt and depression after pregnancy. If she has suffered damage to her reproductive system, she most likely won't tell OP. |
samuk:The guy is a clown. He thinks he can order anyone around to do his bidding. The Igbo/Yoruba collabo over Benin Empire denial is very sweet, isn't it? Such collabo never leads to no good. Even way back Zik and Awo could not callobo to take 9ja forward. ![]() They will soon be at each other's throat over Tinubu's presidency, IPOB/ESN and their other divisive antics. Their tribal divisiveness is what they want to spread to Edoid people. Failed mission. I just come to laugh at them now and then these days. ![]() |
RedboneSmith:Oh, see who wants to impress me with French language. I laugh. ![]() It's like you know that your post deserves to be ignored. But I thought that having a chuckle is quite nice. ![]() Well, you may want to first ask Asari Dokubo (I'm not a fan of the guy) why he said that Igbo were Ijaw's slaves. Is your argument actually that Igboid people were not part of Benin Empire, that Igboid people were not sold wholesale during slave trade or that OLaudah Equiano lied? |
Jackandrose:Please see your doctor. Early diagnosis can save your organs from failure. Remember that aside your heart, your lungs and kidneys can also suffer greatly from cardiovascular issues. Failure doesn't mean that they will stop working right away but their functions can be compromised and become increasingly less efficient over time. It may get so bad that transplant will be needed. You cannot afford a late diagnosis, if indeed there is something not in order. The earlier you know what might be wrong, the earlier you can adjust your lifestyle, get medication or other necessary intervention, if needs be. No need to be afraid. |
Jameseddi1:You still did not get it. Leaders and merchants of some territories of the empire wanted the right to trade in their people. Colonies always had certain rights that they could negotiate with the centre to keep. Benin could not ban everything in remote colonies if their leaders wanted to keep those traditions or privileges. That was politics. If they won't be bought or sold by Benin people, Benin people would not be sold or bought, then that was politically fair enough as part of devolved rights. Ask yourself why most other tribes/kingdoms in Africa didn't have the vision to refuse to sell their people into slavery. Benin wanted it's core Benin Citizens as warriors and administrators of colonies. Benin was therefore way ahead. When I hear that Britain abolished slave trade in 1807 I laugh. Left to Benin, slavery would have stopped before plantations in Americas really began to be in huge need of slaves. In the 1640s or thereabout. Some argue that Benin supported Eleko Kosoko of Lagos who supported slavery. Lagos as a colony reserved the agreed right to trade as it wanted. Benin had no reason to trash that agreement unless mutually renegotiated, not at the behest of Europeans. When the Europeans refused to buy Benin pepper, linen and other goods if Benin would not sell them slaves, Benin banned all trade with those Europeans. Yes, it led to economic decline of Benin while Oyo rose on the back of slave trade. Money/economic power is used to fund military to expand territory. Even till today. History is there to read. Remember that Oludah Equiano's case was even a raid in his village. Most likely by people who knew the area. It wasn't an area core Benin people lived close to. There were many illegal channels for slave trade, just like narcotics today. Banned by every government but still a thriving illegal trade. |
omonla10:Dude, where do they pay 50k/week on Uber? Lasgidi, Abj or Port? Just curious to know. Modified: I get it, for 2 cars. |
SirNewtonNG:I write because of cultured people quietly reading, so that a swearing uncouth agbero doesn't believe that he can intimidate reasonable people. Because 9ja is a place where thugs and touts run things, sadly. While you like insulting anyhow like a garage boy, you have not been able to dispute what a contemporary French explorer and trader, Mr Landolphe, said. In his diary, during his journey between Benin City and Gwatto (Ughoton) port, of the 100 or so slaves displayed along the roadside for sale, the slaves and the traders were majorly Igboid and Yoruboid subjects. No Benin people. What you forget is that all successful empires gave various degrees of autonomy to provinces/chiefdoms/kingdoms who had their norms and traditions. Empires that refused to do so often faced disobedience and uprising simultaneous in several colonies. Very costly to quell many rebellions at the same time. It's a pity many do not like to read anymore. Good to read about Egyptian, Greek, Achaemenid, Roman, Ottoman, and other empires. Of late, some crazy Igbo people try to cause animosity between Benin and other Edoid people. A lazy divide and rule tactics. . They should focus on their Biafra fight with Fulani and MURIC and leave others out.What you forget is that Benin people moved as far as Ghana. I have met many Ga people (principal owners of Accra) who confirmed their Benin origin. You were idiotic to read where I wrote that there were some raids in peripheral Benin villages. If in all 1,000 people were caught in those raids and assuming 500 survived the transportation and inhumane conditions to arrive in the Americas and if even just 250 managed to reproduce, don't you know how many thousands their descendants would be today? Yet, it would be miniscule compared to Igbos in Haiti/Tabago/Jamaica or Yorubas in Brazil and elsewhere. All Edoid people knew their relationship with Benin/monarchy, including confirmation of dukes/rulers of those places back then. Some may not know in the confused, messed up and distorted 9ja entity of today. |
Toks2008:Lol. She try sef with a cup of rice. Some say they began akara business with a single black-eyed bean. ![]() |
Dude, the situation will not change. The couple are not serious. They are leeches who freeload but will still never appreciate it. As much as you have helped them, the minute you stop, you will become a bad guy. If you marry and change, they will blame your new wife for it. The fact that there is a lady involved is very delicate. Be careful before you are accused of toasting the lady when you change. Best bet is prepare to move out and never lose guard in your new place. |
DrGoodman:So in essence, until Abraham and Sarah case happen again (although Sarah wasn't a grandma), we are really in for it. Chai! This na uppercut to presidency o. ![]() Don't put it beyond Nigerians o. Miracles dey supposedly happen in 9ja daily. Headlines like "Barren couple blessed with bouncing triplets after 30 years of marriage". And they say it with a straight face. No mention of IVF/ICSI or whatever. ![]() |
Passionate888:iramure is right. The meat is not that tasty. The grey smaller antelope is far tastier. Back in the day this red one used to be locally called deer and was very cheap to buy. Most people didn't like the meat. Not tasty although healthy. Porcupine, grasscutter, wild pig/boar and cane rat taste far better. |
StylesX:It's not that tasty. They call this deer locally. Antelope is the smaller grey coloured one. Antelope is a lot tastier. Back in the day many hunters/trappers won't even eat this deer. Not tasty. It's lean meat by and large and healthy meat. |
Babsojimjim:Your friend is a funny guy. He should be helping her pack her bag and baggage and ensure that he deposits her safely with her parents. Then immediately ask for refund of dowry (as a final traditional agreement that marriage is over). With a stern warning that should the girl suffer harm or abuse in a campus environment, the woman will pay heavily for it. Pay for girl's upkeep and education adequately. Then commence court divorce process without delay. No hard feelings. Let the woman get custody of the daughter because if the guy remarries, his new wife may not treat the daughter well. Only a very few women can treat a stepchild well. VERY few. Forget their religiosity and pretence. Forget about money spent on her education, Thank God he has a daughter from the marriage. Nothing lost. The pain will go after a while. Let the woman follow advice of her friends and live the new life she wants. Then good luck. |
Adakintroy:Only that you don't get to dictate the truth to the whole world, thank God. Different societies have their laws. There are folks who research these things for 40 years of their career. So I wonder where you believe that you got your "better" expertise about how life works from. Your post does not suggest proper exposure to different societies/jurisdictions for comparison. ![]() As for America, that is another matter. So you believe that if a parent carelessly puts a pistol under the pillow, a child of 9 finds it and shoots a neighbour's child with it, the parent (gun owner) has no fault? Your argument is similar to NRA supporters slogan that "guns don't kill people but people do". Because you mean that bad environment plays no role in influencing children into cults and society plays no role. No wonder 9ja let politicians get away with doing nothing. Wow! Well done. FYI, I live in a society where I want my taxes to be used to better the society, provide more security and promote societal cohesion. I exercise my right to vote against a govt that I feel has not done enough to improve the society by creating enabling environment/policies for jobs, health, security, education, etc. It is this quasi-extremist view that prevails in 9ja that will make it difficult to address the root causes of Nigeria's problem. We fail to learn from those that have managed to turn around previous basket cases/banana republics into progressive and working/prosperous societies. We stick to jungle justice, punish and beating up mentality. We make beating up and violence appear to be solutions but we only inculcate that violence in people. See the high level of violent crimes and domestic violence in 9ja today. Compare say Denmark or Japan with Nigeria, for example. Places where violence are frowned upon compare to us that see it as a solution. Dude: No child deserves to be killed. No child. If a child commits any atrocity, let them face the juvenile court to decide their fate. We are not in a medieval society. Na wa o. |
Adakintroy:Well, I live in an environment where kids of 11 are called minors and therefore unable to consent to most things. They don't have that mental capacity yet. That's how biology, society and the law put. They are still developing both physically and emotionally. For that reason they cannot by and large be criminally culpable. You cannot equate the responsibility of an adult with that of child. Fact. I know my privileges and obligations as an adult citizen. From paying my taxes and obeying the law to right to vote, etc. Kids don't. The question remains: If there wasn't a cult group in that boarding school, assuming you are right that he was in the cult, would he have been in the gang whether willingly or forcefully? No. It is sheer failure of society where cults thrive openly. Kids are just copying it. People can do their cult stuff quietly. nobody is saying they shouldn't but without violence. Another fact is whatever information Kemi has, she cannot be categorically sure because she wasn't there either and never ever met Sylvester. Safeguarding those who are vulnerable in an environment such as schools is a big responsibility in saner climes. Failure of which can easily send you to jail. You don't push the blame on the dead child. Nigeria needs to learn a lot about protecting children. Battered and abused children are a time bomb for any society: poor achievement, crime, drug abuse and mental health issues are some of the impacts that result from it. Take it from someone who knows one or two things about this topic. |
Adakintroy:Look, Nigeria and honesty are parallel lines. Yes, Kemi was insensitive in her approach because the loss is still too raw. There are cult groups in primary schools now, much less in secondary. Most likely, the boy was pressured into joining and may have initially resisted. He may have later yielded albeit under duress. This is the key point that Kemi missed: Why should an expensive boarding school provide an environment for cultism and violence to thrive? ? Why did they put money and reputation above the safety and well-being of kids? In all, all the kids are victims because that school environment provided the fertile ground for all that happened there. The worrying thing is that this may well be happening in many private boarding schools that are supposed to be better than public schools. Despite charging millions in fees. |
Krismas:Oh Boy, even Emperor Haile Selassie dismissed the myth of Sheba's son o. I don't think me and you know their history better. Assuming she did have Solomon's son, Ethiopia was already established and that son could not have been the father of all Ethiopians. It's like claiming that Oduduwa was biological father of all Yoruba. Not possible. Yoruboid people already existed long before Oduduwa. At most, some ruling houses and some nobles descended from him. Spiritual leader, perhaps. Ethiopia has well over 70 tribes of various origins, nothing related to Israel. Most who were proselytes were sneaked out decades ago during Mitzvah Moshe and Mitzvah Schlomo. Operations Moses and Solomon respectively by Israeli govt. Nobody said that there weren't Christians in 4th Century. Christianity got to Ethiopia in 1st century. In fact Philip baptised the Ethiopian ambassador/eunuch of Queen Candace before destruction of the last Temple in 70AD by the Romans. Acts 8: 26 narrates it well. Acts was reportedly written by Luke. |
Sadly in 9ja we conceal mental health issues due to stigmatisation. So, it's hard to rule out previous mental health issues. We should be more aware of delirium due to medical conditions/pain or treatment with medication. Opioids, anti-histamines/H1-blockers and benzodiazepines can commonly cause delirium not only in the elderly as expected but also in younger people, albeit not so common. Even H2-blockers for treating stomach ulcer have the potential to cause delirium. We also need to forget the idea that it is only an acute condition. It can wax and wane for months. People discharged from hospital can be at risk. Facing a massive life event such as marriage after discharge and moving to a new environment can be an additional stress to trigger it seriously. She might have prescribed benzos lately to sleep well or calm her nerves leading up to the marriage and put her at high risk of delirium. RIP to her. |
joyandfaith:Most modern lawyers educated in USA have Doctor Juris or JD including Obama, Clinton, etc. You never hear anyone call them Dr. Worse is honorary doctor degree holders using Dr everywhere. By convention, if you have an honorary degree, it should be: Mr Otapiapia Gbudugbudupreye DLitt (hc) Mrs Otutukpoyoyo Shekaugida Sambisa PhD (honoris causa) Otunba Ogedengbe Onyeagbulam Fapohunda. DSc (ad honorem) hc = honoris causa and equivalent to ad honorem, although ad honorem is not that commonly used these days. They are used mostly as suffixes. But in 9ja, we must prefix names with big titles. You see Engr, Arc, Pharm, Buildr, etc. Buildr for builder as a title cracked me up lately. ![]() What next, Herb (herbalist) Tradr (trader) or Posop (POS operator)? ![]() Op, PhD student/candidate is the current description. |
bluefilm:When a new variant is reported to WHO, if they confirm that it is really new, they give it a name. They use Greek alphabet names in this case. Omicron (om-e-cron) is letter O in Greek. It should have been N or Nu (New) in Greek but it would sound too similar to "New Covid-19", a term already used since the beginning of the pandemic all over the place. So they jumped N to letter O. In reality, there is another alphabet that they jumped between N and O, which is Xi. Calling it Xi might have looked too much like Xi Jinping of China may be? Although Greek Xi is pronounced as zz-eye. Dude, Covid-19 is real. If you haven't seen where it is treated you may not know. It is as true as people delivering babies or being rushed to hospital after RTA daily. |
Krismas:Lol, me to read up story? You seem to be confusing Christianity and early Abrahamic religion. Who was the first African/black Christian? Ethiopian proselytes didn't take monotheism to Okitipupa, Afikpo or Kafanchan. ![]() Igbo Jewish story of Gad is not historically or Rabbinically proven yet. Let us not bask in glory of Horn of Africa people who see themselves as very different from Sub-Saharan Africans (Southern and West Africans especially). By the way, I was taught by both Biblical and Talmudic/Rabbinic experts. Not everyone on Nairaland is writing from a face-me-I-slap you using candle light from Ikotun-Ijegun or Ahoada. ![]() |
Krismas:Hmmmm. Yet much later a whole King Solomon himself, who even had the benefit of unparalleled wisdom, historical knowledge and hindsight was influenced by the religions of his non-Jewish women. So Jews were working as educators of royal children in Egypt. lol. I know that religion and being objective don't go together. The oyinbo who brought us their religion are critically looking at themselves now. To me most things written in religious books are great. Good moral principles. But humans have turned it into business and politics. Some are even killing those who disagree with them on doctrine. |
Igede are vibrant people in Benue State. They are Edoid people via Edo North to where they are now. They have faced marginalisation in Benue and have had to be resourceful and smart to survive and grow. When squeezed between Idomas and Tivs, it can't be easy. It's same problem minorities face across 9ja. The so-called big tribes would very much like to totally swallow up minorities, a modern colonialism at local level. They are increasingly reconnecting with their kilt and kin in Edo. |
Krismas:Look, go read the story of the god Horus and his parents Osiris and Isis. Pharaohs of Egypt traced their ancestry mythically from Horus. Including how Isis resurrected her husband Osiris from the dead. But Osiris said he could not live among the living anymore. Does this story sound familiar anywhere? ![]() Mind you, this myth already existed in Egypt before Moses was born there. Moses was educated by the very people at the top of Egyptian society: Officials at the Palace of Pharaoh because Moses was basically Pharaoh's adopted grandson. So Pharaoh had been educated about this Egyptian culture long before he began writing the Bible. Well, I will not tell you what to think o but you can reflect on it. ![]() |
Krismas:Karma is from Asia, especially Indian religions. Hindus, Buddhists, Sikhs and so on believe that actions bring effects later. Cause and effect basically. For example, those who did great and noble deeds in life may re-incarnate as great people and vice versa when they die. The Karmic cycle can go on indefinitely. African native religions have a similar concept, with different twists depending on local tradition. |
Jodha:Jodha, we understand the point you are making. To some extent you are correct. Even if a guy is rich, a lady would still want him to be decent, agreeable and cultured. Same way a guy would appreciate a pretty girl who is not rude, not olodo, doesn't sleep around and when she talks, it doesn't make one feel like a kpekpeye (duck) just pooped. ![]() The thing is guys are at the frontline of relationship's merciless jungle out there and their experiences with ladies' expectation have shaped their opinions. This is re-enforced by discussions among guys and their experiences seem broadly similar. Although a bit exaggerated at times See my dear, there are some ladies out there who work hard and they want to make it on their own and share responsibilities with their men. Commendable. But majority of women are not in this category. Many still feel that a guy must carry all the financial load but things have changed. 50 years ago, an average man needed to provide just shelter, food, clothing and school fees in a govt school for his family. O pari. Most households had no car. But now an average family needs a lot more. More fashion, expensive private schools, more ICT gadgets, Cars, DSTV, lots of bills, etc. Women now also work far more, meaning child care expenses to pay too. Yet, men must shoulder all the bills. Any self-respecting guy in 9ja is acutely aware that he is on his own in terms of financial responsibility as a father and hubby. So he needs to be financially buoyant before marrying. He also knows that most girls are sniffing out financially sound guys for marriage. He has no illusion whatsoever. Most girls don't even pretend about this any more in fact. Even if some won't say it openly, their very obvious actions and moves make it very clear. We need to evolve generally from "men must have money to finance the household" to "men and women must plan, grow and finance together". Sure, some women suddenly find themselves as breadwinners some years into marriage. Perhaps due to hubby's job loss, illness, etc. So na by force/unexpected. But 95% of ladies won't go into a marriage if they knew that the man would have no income a few years later. They won't. No matter how cultured and great the guy's personality is. We all know how emasculated most of such men become because the vast majority of women are not used to spending on men. They received money from their dad, boyfriends or sugar daddies throughout their life so far. To begin it in marriage when they thought they now have a licence to receive from their hubby cannot be easy. Although women often claim that the man's ego is to blame. ![]() It is very simple, if you are one of those exceptional ladies who don't see everything from the prism of money only, you need not worry about most men's belief. Be yourself and your man or future man will appreciate it and and hopefully it's a guy who deserves a woman like you. The taste of the pudding is in the eating. |
ok |
nairavsdollars: ![]() |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 (of 609 pages)