Stats: 3,330,841 members, 8,447,322 topics. Date: Saturday, 18 July 2026 at 06:29 AM

Etrange's Posts

Nairaland ForumEtrange's ProfileEtrange's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 (of 208 pages)

BusinessRe: Ethereum ‘Merge’ Officially Goes Live by etrange: 2:04pm On Sep 15, 2022
The producer-consumer relationship the rest of the world has with with Africa isn't gonna change anytime soon.
Jokes EtcRe: My Awful Job Interview Experience At NNPC Company Today by etrange: 2:03pm On Sep 15, 2022
The mod that pushed this to the frontpage should have enclosed the word "joke" in parentheses at the end of the title so people wouldn't be misled.
LiteratureRe: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Celebrates Her 45th Birthday Today by etrange: 1:59pm On Sep 15, 2022
meobizy:
Lol. If the white man didn’t celebrate her, she’d remain in Nsukka pounding loi loi for one Igbo businessman of a husband. Tems, I dey use eye look you.
Only extremely bitter people like to downplay other people's success by childish "IF statements". If it's easy to be celebrated by anyone, why isn't anyone celebrating you? Why hasn't anyone in your lineage been celebrated?

Anyway, she couldn't have remained there because she left Nigeria even before some of her celebrated books. So whichever way, she would have still been in the US writing novels and getting awards.

You can stay on NL and be hating while she's out there making a name for herself.
LiteratureRe: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Celebrates Her 45th Birthday Today by etrange: 1:51pm On Sep 15, 2022
Agugbadin:
Where is her medical doctor husband in this picture.
You, were is your wife? Does she know you're typing these comments?

How does this question you just asked now affect what the person you quoted said? Isn't it obvious you're just not happy with any positive comment here? Must her husband be in the picture? Is he a handbag? Did he complain to you? If it was the man, would you be saying "where his wife?"
LiteratureRe: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Celebrates Her 45th Birthday Today by etrange: 1:48pm On Sep 15, 2022
Listening to this woman speak is almost therapeutic. The way she speaks, the way she delivers her messages, her choice of words, her logic and her courage all make her outstanding. Even when she says something I don't agree with, I still respect her opinion. I remember the way she took on the French lady that asked if Nigeria had libraries.

Happy birthday to the smart, elegant and sophisticated Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.
CultureRe: 3 Cultural Activities That Need To Be Changed In Nigeria by etrange: 1:42pm On Sep 15, 2022
OP, regarding burials, those that have the money will always do what the poorer ones would consider extravagant. Yes, removing some mandatory payments might help, but at the end, you can't stop the rich from spending however they want. It's left for the not-so-rich to be smart enough to cut thier coats according to thier size.
CultureRe: 3 Cultural Activities That Need To Be Changed In Nigeria by etrange: 1:39pm On Sep 15, 2022
Eriggs:

What part of Nigeria is this rampant?
Nairalanders, over to you.

Genuine answers only please.
In the South, I guess. Burial ceremonies (especially for very old people) are like festivals.
Foreign AffairsRe: Schoolgirl Too Comfortable With SA President Ramaphosa In Viral Video by etrange: 1:34pm On Sep 15, 2022
Lol... South Africans on Nairaland always furnishing us with South African news. grin

We love you guys o
EducationRe: This Happened At My Children's School Today by etrange: 1:31pm On Sep 15, 2022
Is this primary or secondary school? In some schools, the the kid would be flogged for the parents' stubbornness. I like the fact that the head teacher acknowledge that it wasn't the kid's fault instead of taking it out on the kids. She was probably just complaining allowed out of frustration.
PhonesRe: Samsung Trolls New iPhone 14 by etrange: 1:20pm On Sep 15, 2022
Allison012:
Apart from sammy, which other android can troll iphone??
Android is an OS. iPhone is a device. You don't compare apples and oranges. Android does not need to troll iPhone, it wouldn't make sense. Android can troll iOS, Windows Mobile, etc. And Samsung would have nothing to do with that.
PoliticsRe: Between Seun Osewa (nairaland Founder) And A Northerner: Charles Ogbu by etrange: 8:37pm On Sep 14, 2022
Politics isn't my thing, so I try to stay away from it. But the truth is, the kind of posts made by the owner of Nairaland is deeply saddening and I'm saying this from a place of love. Seun is in a position to foster peace and unity in the already divided Nigeria, but for some reasons, he has chosen to enforce the division/hate instead. Given that he's got an ultimate control over this platform, such an attitude makes it easy to believe anyone that says the moderators have a bias against certain tribes. I hope he gives this a thought at least.
CareerRe: Study In Nigeria Or Travel To Asia To Work by etrange: 6:25pm On Sep 14, 2022
It's funny how the people that hate the West so much would rather go there than any other place. Lol.

@OP, don't leave Nigeria without your first degree. Trust me, that certificate is key.
RomanceRe: I Stopped Replying A Girl I Used To Like Because Of This Text by etrange: 6:19pm On Sep 14, 2022
What if she didn't eat cause she lost her appetite? Or what if she was actually extremely poor and broke? Of course, it's possible she just wanted to cash out, but there are other possible too, and because of these other possibilities, I think you should have tactfully tried to find out what the real situation was. If I could help a friend with lunch, I should be able to that for a girl I like. Heck, I'd even help a stranger with lunch if I can ascertain they really can't afford it. It's only a problem when it becomes frequent. If she had said she was lonely, you would have offered to help.
AutosRe: How We Solve The Stress Of Buying Cars In Nigeria - Carmart BUY4ME by etrange: 5:56pm On Sep 14, 2022
BABANGBALI:
where is the receipt?
Hhmm... You either have no idea what sponsored meanings or you just want to engage in a childish argument. Whichever one, I'm done with you.
Ciao !
CelebritiesRe: Wendy Shay: Let's Swallow Our Pride And Ask Nigerians To Show Us The Way by etrange: 2:32pm On Sep 14, 2022
Kabirudeen25:
The other way round as in how? I have never heard any Ghanaian music in my life. That tiktok artist abi wetin b him name no dey hear 'swallow your pride' grin
Honestly, I don't engage in such arguments, but that guy must be high. It's not everything we must argue about. Ghanaians are trying, but Nigeria has clearly caught the world's attention and now African music is becoming mainstream. Instead of arguing this, they should join the ride and give honor to whom its due. This is what I like about Western Europe. Africans, on the other hand, are always dragging each other down. After, they'll claim pan-africanism
CelebritiesRe: Wendy Shay: Let's Swallow Our Pride And Ask Nigerians To Show Us The Way by etrange: 2:25pm On Sep 14, 2022
They came into Nollywood, learned the skills and went on to establish thier own movie industry. They're also doing good in music. Of course, Nigeria is huge and that means more talents and more output, but I'm proud of of Ghanaian brothers and sisters. They're doing well for a country that size. However, I don't understand this idea of denying the obvious. Nigeria has brought the world's attention to Africa via the entertainment industry. There's no point denying that.
PoliticsRe: Lawan: We Must Curb Corruption To Tackle Insecurity In Nigeria by etrange: 2:22pm On Sep 14, 2022
Same old story.
PoliticsRe: 2023: Place Peter Obi On Watchlist, Keyamo Tasks Security Agencies by etrange: 2:20pm On Sep 14, 2022
I listen to people and take people's opinions into consideration. I really don't belong to the "IDGF" team cause I do give a fvck when it matters. However, when the persons are paid to promote a certain candidate, team, ideology or narrative, then it becomes purely business and whatever they loses its value. I think it's only a shallow mind that would be swayed by some talking just to earn a living. The person talking may not believe in what they're saying.
AutosRe: How We Solve The Stress Of Buying Cars In Nigeria - Carmart BUY4ME by etrange: 2:12pm On Sep 14, 2022
sevo:
How much you pay the mods to move this ..... to front page??
It's a sponsored thread. They paid for it. And there's nothing wrong with that. Just like other platforms like Instagram and Co., Nairaland is also a business outfit and they accept sponsored threads.
AutosRe: How We Solve The Stress Of Buying Cars In Nigeria - Carmart BUY4ME by etrange: 2:09pm On Sep 14, 2022
BABANGBALI:
Seun, lalasticlala, Mynd44, Dominique and co, this na pure advert, have they paid you and why is it enjoying front page without paying for it?
It's clearly says sponsored thread. That means they paid for it.
TravelRe: Why Do Nigerians Abroad Stay Several Years Without Visiting Home For Once by etrange: 2:02pm On Sep 14, 2022
SergeantTitus:
Why do nigerians living abroad fail to come back to Nigeria even for Important things like their parents death, burial, brother's wedding etc? I also find it weird some remain there for 15, 20, 30 years without ever visiting home even if na just once.
Some of them are still illegal immigrants. So they wouldn't be able to return if they go to Nigeria. Some are abroad on a refugee status. A refugee is not allowed to visit thier home country. Some have family members and the cost of flight tickets for everyone plus thr cash at hand to settle those at home could be discouraging. Some want to really make it before going home so that those at home will not laugh at them. Some don't have anything to go home to. Then you have the last category of people, those awaiting a certain status (green card/PR or citizenship) and just want to complete the required number of days for this status before going back to Nigeria.

Only a very few first generation immigrants would refuse to go to Nigeria on the basis of "I hate that country". Forget everything we write here. Once you've stayed abroad for a few years, you'd miss Nigeria despite the fact that nothing works there.
Foreign AffairsRe: UK reminiscent of North Korea As The Queen's Face Occupies Every Where. by etrange: 9:16pm On Sep 13, 2022
jesmond3945:
I see you have degenerated into insult calling me a kid. Have a nice day young man.
There was never a discussion. I sincerely thought you had concrete some points only for you drag me down to childish conversations. Bye.
Foreign AffairsRe: UK reminiscent of North Korea As The Queen's Face Occupies Every Where. by etrange: 6:29pm On Sep 13, 2022
jesmond3945:
You don't expect me to post private emails from my organization here. It is not ethical. The Uk government would never come out and force businesses to do its bidding. It is a polite atmosphere. The leaders of these institutions will comply with directives and compel their organization to obey. The British would never do anything to hurt their monarchy, na were their mumu reach. The people who tried to do it were manhandled by the police and you never answered my question why supposedly a free society would hound their citizen when they have a completely different narrative. I repeat I will not post my organization's email here and you are free to believe anything you want.
Dude, I've explained to you why organizations are putting up the queen pictures a thousand times. You're deliberately not listening. Instead, you're arguing like a drowning man looking for what to hold on to. The way the police handled the protest, good or bad, does not in any way prove or disprove your claim of a secret email sent to businesses making it mandatory to mourn the queen contrary to the online memo. You're just throwing to see what sticks. You're grasping at straws.

If I were you, I'd delete all my posts on this thread cause they're all cringy. I wonder how you're not embarrassed arguing like a primary school kid. Are you the only one in the UK? Or you're the only ond courageous enough to mention this email, right? You had this email but instead of making a reference to it from the onset, you waited till the link you shared backfired. Lol... Like I said, you win. Please, leave me. I'm already embarrassed having this kind of childish conversation.
PoliticsRe: Nigerian Lady Finally Offers Her Kidney To Ekweremadu's Daughter by etrange: 6:11pm On Sep 13, 2022
SlavaUkraini:
Good Samaritan that wants nothing in return..

What a Kind Gesture..
Nothing? OK.
Foreign AffairsRe: UK reminiscent of North Korea As The Queen's Face Occupies Every Where. by etrange: 5:54pm On Sep 13, 2022
jesmond3945:
I don't want to share private emails from public institutions which I am privy of and were they have been instructed by Government officials to observe and partake in the national mourning taking place. You would also know that granted that fine prints might be in place in order to show that your freedom is guaranteed but in practice the powers that be would not fail to remind you they are in charge. If I may ask why is the police being handy against these protesters? Don't they have freedom of expression? Why are they being charged for expressing their views? You think any business would want to continue advertising when hidden sanctions might be slammed on them. You think a business would want to willingly loose money just to please the monarchy? You need to cool down on your naivety.
During festive seasons and other special events, these same organizations put up relevant signposts like Christmas greetings, LGBTQ flags, etc. for days, and they're not forced. But when it's the queen's picture, they must be forced and they must be losing millions. Have you ever asked yourself why organizations put up Christmas messages regardless of the belief of the business owners? You obviously don't run a business and you don't know a thing about PR.

According to you, the government sent out a memo and made it clear in the guidelines that the mourning of the queen is not mandatory. Then they sent a secret mail to businesses telling them to mourn the queen or get shut down. And then the businesses forwarded the emai to you. And you didn't make any reference to this email until you're cornered in an argument. Lol... I can't even argue with you at this point. This is becoming a primary school argument. You had the email the government sent to these public institutions, but to support your argument you naively sent me a link that contradicts your argument and when you're caught up in your own web, you're still wriggling. You really believe such a mail would be received and Brits would just take it? You know what, you win. The UK government is worst that North Korea. I agree.

I've argued a lot on Nairaland, but I've never had this bad.
HealthRe: Surgeons Struggle To Remove Live Snake From Woman's Ear (pictures/video) by etrange: 1:28pm On Sep 13, 2022
robinso01:
How's this possible? I mean how did a snake find its way into someone's ear?
Local man cannot can
Looks like the surgeon wasn't really eager to bring it out. It's as if he was more interested in entertaining he viewers. That makes wonder how authentic the video is. Almost everything we watch these are staged for clicks, likes and subscription. This is certainly one of them.
RomanceRe: Once A Lady Realises She Has A Killer Shape, The Next Agenda Is Prostitution by etrange: 1:18pm On Sep 13, 2022
Thermodynamics:
You sound intelligent, like a deep thinker.

If you don't mind me asking, are you a virgin?
Wow... lol. That's not a question you ask people, especially not strangers. Nevertheless, I'd have gladly answered you if this was a one-on-one conversation. But stating my virginity status on the world wide web would be an intemperance, don't you think?
Foreign AffairsRe: UK reminiscent of North Korea As The Queen's Face Occupies Every Where. by etrange: 1:00pm On Sep 13, 2022
jesmond3945:
It is safe to say you are just a gate keeper of her majesty government. Just look at these threads on frontpage, this is pure North Korea vibes
https://www.nairaland.com/7330229/several-people-arrested-uk-protesting
https://www.nairaland.com/7329324/people-complain-cant-access-services

If you are compelled to mourn a queen, then clearly your freedom to choose who to respect or not has been clearly taken away from you.

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/the-demise-of-her-majesty-queen-elizabeth-ii-national-mourning-guidance/the-demise-of-her-majesty-queen-elizabeth-ii-national-mourning-guidance

https://nationallegalservice.co.uk/uk-protest-rights/
Typical Nairalander's style. You guys love spaghetti argument. Once you're cornered, you find a way to wriggle into something else. How does the threads you shared suggest the companies were forced to mourn the queen or get shut down? You guys just stay in the comfort of your homes and make bold claims based on your assumptions and imagination and when confronted, you start grasping for straws. Do you know how long the anti monarchy campaign has been in existence? Please, say things you can defend or back up with evidence.

Like I said in my first post on this thread, there are people who don't subscribe to the idea of maintaining the royal culture, these people have always been there and it's not uncommon for some people in a country not to key into certain things done in the country. The validity of thier protest or otherwise has no bearing on the the fact that organizations were not forced to mourn to queen or risk getting shutdown by the government. They're doing it as a PR move for public image just like countries like the US, China, Russia and Nigeria are doing.

The link you shared clearly says there's no such obligation. Did you even read that or just saw the title and grabbed it to support your argument?

This is part of what you shared by the way:

Foreign AffairsRe: It’s Absolutely Impossible To Defeat Ukraine.- Russian TV by etrange: 10:06pm On Sep 12, 2022
OP, this video was very insightful. It's good to hear Russian citizens, analysts and top politicians talk about this war and Putin's ideologies and policies in general. I like the fact that both sides were represented in the conversation.

While the justification of the war is debatable, I noticed no one argued with the man that said that if this becomes a global war, Russia would be on the weaker side. At the moment, Russia is not 100% assured of China's support not withstanding the fact that China is a grand enemy of the US.

However, contrary to what the guy said, I don't think Russia is using the colonial war strategy (use of mercenaries) because of lack of mobilization. I feel Putin is only trying to reserve his army for a bigger war ahead. This is costing him a lot at the moment because mercenaries don't fight with passion, but it might still be worth it.

Thank you for sharing. Do you know how we can stream the channel online? Do they have a live channel on YouTube? Thanks again.
Foreign AffairsRe: Queen Elizabeth II's Secret Letter To Citizens Of Sydney To Be Opened In 2085 by etrange: 9:33pm On Sep 12, 2022
Nebes:
"Citizens of Sydney"

Maybe they've projected Sydney to be a sovereign country by 2085.
No, sir. The word "citizen" also means an inhabitant of a particular town or city. She speaks queen's English, remember? grin
Foreign AffairsRe: Queen Elizabeth II's Secret Letter To Citizens Of Sydney To Be Opened In 2085 by etrange: 9:30pm On Sep 12, 2022
afribookorg:
No be wickedness be this?
Most of us will not live to witness the content of the letter cry
Most of you? Lmao... you like aproko. Is it your letter? grin
Foreign AffairsRe: Queen Elizabeth II's Secret Letter To Citizens Of Sydney To Be Opened In 2085 by etrange: 9:29pm On Sep 12, 2022
Intriguing

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 (of 208 pages)