Stats: 3,148,406 members, 7,800,833 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 April 2024 at 07:35 AM

Exciton's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Exciton's Profile / Exciton's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 13 pages)

Phones / Re: Substandard Phone Causes Cancer – NCC Warns by Exciton(m): 10:36am On Sep 01, 2017
This is what happens when illiterates and frauds get to the top.

Your phones emit very low frequency radio waves. Each quantum of radio waves is too fücking weak to ionize organic molecules -- rip out an electron from a molecule, thereby creating free radicals, ions and other reactive sh!t -- that make up your body, not to speak of causing any sort of mutations leading to cancer.

Same goes for power lines and microwaves. Microwaves excite vibrational modes of organic molecules i.e little bits of your cells jiggle around at best, nothing gets ionized... no mutations!

There have been many studies on this issue and there simply isn't any strong correlation (not to speak of direct causation) in their data linking phones or microwaves or powerlines to cancer.

Education / Re: Private schools in Rwanda close down as public schools become more attractive by Exciton(m): 3:48pm On Aug 27, 2017
EZEIGBO1OFIMO:
I'm really considering homeschooling myself.

I don't think such is possible in Naija. At best, you can supplement your child's learning with online lessons on topics like DIY electronics, politics, philosophy and history that his/her agemates in developed countries are expected to know.
Education / Re: Private schools in Rwanda close down as public schools become more attractive by Exciton(m): 2:55pm On Aug 27, 2017
EZEIGBO1OFIMO:
haha, you still think this country is not doomed. Even the million naira schools are only teaching fake accents, I hear the teachers are paid terribly and the owners​ are tin gods.

Hehehe. But compared to Eritrea, who no longer have a single fvcking university (according to Aljazeera), there's still hope. grin

The scary thing is that many don't see anything wrong with the quality of our basic education. Even 17th century European nations had far better education standards than we currently have. The only thing we are stuck on is how to read and write.

As for those extremely expensive fraudster "international" schools where they pay in dollars but employ teachers from the same pool that the average Naija school employs from, I'd rather homeschool my child.

Education / Re: Private schools in Rwanda close down as public schools become more attractive by Exciton(m): 1:29pm On Aug 27, 2017
I can't believe some people are trying to rationalize why not even a single fvcking state (including Abuja) in Nigeria can't provide quality primary and secondary education while the likes of Rwanda can achieve such feat nationwide. Simple pry/sec school that doesn't require million dollar equipment... just good teachers, a roof, and basic supplies -- I couldn't give a sh!t if they sat on floors, as long as they've got great teachers to develop their minds.

It's a coincidence that I read just this morning that qualified Finnish teachers must have completed a 5 year Masters education programme after their first degree to teach at their primary/secondary schools. The programme has a 10% acceptance rate... that's how much they value quality education.

The question is what will it cost us to put up institutes such as these? Very little compared to the amount they steal or use to build a useless rail line from Kano/Kaduna to some shit-hole village. The honest truth is that no one gives a fvck about providing quality education to the masses. If they did, they'd already be restructuring the entire education system that's piss poor.

It seems all African countries (except the likes of CAR, Zimbabwe, DRC and Eritrea... our mates grin) will become developed long before Nigeria. We are utter failures.

Business / Re: The High Cost Of Red Tape In Nigeria by Exciton(m): 1:52pm On Aug 26, 2017
EZEIGBO1OFIMO:

The country is doomed,very doomed.
Even when Cambridge trained, MIT trained, Global technocrats come in, they are overwhelmed by the populace which they seek to improve, everything about our culture, language, and way of life has corruption and rent seeking as a way of life, The extended family, our most prized institution is the bedrock of corruption; whilst trying to placate 7 uncles, 40 under educated nephews and a horde of villagers who are supposedly your brothers, you find that you have to live above your means, and settle them, because apparently, they all "trained" you.
Moving beyond the extended family, We have a culture that is at best survivalist and has no futuristic theme;to illustrate, we used the grinding stone for more than a millennia, our forefathers. never bothered improving the grinding stone, they didn't envisage a future where the earth ran out c stone or where It would b necessary to grind large quantities, or that the time spent swinging with such vigor could be spent doing something else; insofar the grinding stone worked and was some kind of indicator of wealth, the African man was just satisfied with his grinding stone. Beyond the grinding stone in modern Africa, we have everyone here with useless survivalist dreams, Go to school, cram hard for the repeated past question exam, get a freeloader civil service job marry, give birth to more kids than you need, grow old collect pension,
and in between amass more money than your next door neighbor so can oppress him and chop life and flenjor.
. Nobody gives a crap about pollution, institution, anthropology, the rule of law, science, technology, even things as trivial as a simple park for relaxation, so far one is driving a range rover through the pot hole ridden rode, and buying overpriced real estate where open drainage exist, they are living the "LIFE". it's not just corruption, or the right people or intellectuals, it is us as a people its our way of thinking, of living, of interacting and ultimately dying. Our people have no drive, no passion, no quest for enlightenment, no soul.

Haha! At the moment we are doomed, but I think you're a bit too harsh.

Sure, probably more than 98% of us have an extremely narrow worldview -- stuck in survival mode and not caring for science, philosophy, art, etc -- only getting to experience a very tiny percentage of what life has to offer. However, I believe a small percentage are rising out of that sordid way of life. The only question is how quickly will we reach the required level of enlightenment to rebuild our society and move forward. We aren't there yet but calls for restructuring is proof that we've started thinking.

By the way, thanks for the link you posted. Just finished reading it. Fvcking great! I just downloaded (illegally of course grin) Jason Brennan's book for later reading. But as the article cited, the major problem lies in the fine details of epistocracy, in detailing how exactly the intelligent people will be chosen in a fair and just manner. But as for us, developing countries, anything but the dumb masses making decisions will do! grin grin

Business / Re: The High Cost Of Red Tape In Nigeria by Exciton(m): 10:48am On Aug 26, 2017
One local newspaper found that the national parliament was in the process of creating 25 new federal agencies. Among them was a National Council for Research and Development, a National Research and Innovation Foundation, a National Research and Innovation Council and Federal Entrepreneurship Centres across the country.

Damn! This made me boil!!

This shows directly that our Constitution is sh!t; that it has no proper checks and balances in place for the three arms of government. The center has too much power and they can do whatever they like.

It's why corruption and "godfatherism" is rampant. No wonder the guy called it a patronage system of government.

But the important question is how the hell do we ensure the right people get into positions of power to make the necessary changes to our system of government in a peaceful manner??

We can never be a developed nation with this form of highly inefficient system whereby agencies are duplicated to "settle guys" which just creates a large workforce with zero productivity.

Culture / Re: Juju Claims Are Fraudulent: An African Fetish (Published In 1905) by Exciton(m): 4:14am On Aug 26, 2017
Haha. 15 pages arguing over that which is so fücking obvious!

I wonder when we'll dump all these supernatural BS and start thinking of real development.

Education / Re: Afe Babalola Rejects 120 Cut-off Mark For Nigerian Universities by Exciton(m): 12:48pm On Aug 24, 2017
kudosamass:
The present Administration is bent on destroying all sectors of the of the Nigerian Society with urgent intent. There is no type of measurement that accepts 30% as a pass mark. Let's restructure this Country so that any State or Region that wants to abolish Examination outrightly can go ahead without dragging others back. This centralism in everything is suffocating.
Those against Restructuring are actually the people recruiting members for the likes of Kanu. This Country is really frustrating!

Exact idea running through my mind.

Instead of them to work towards raising the quality of teaching for higher average national pass rates, the dumbfvcks are reducing the pass mark. 30% as pass mark is utter fvckery. It defeats the purpose of an exam. They could as well do away with the exam.

With little incentive to gain the global minimum level of knowledge that students in developed countries are expected to have through hardwork, we're only gonna build a dumber generation... liabilities incapable of driving us forward in development.

The idi∅ts ruling over us will send us into ruination!

Travel / Re: Bribe Collection At Murtala Muhammed International Airport by Exciton(m): 4:04pm On Aug 19, 2017
Ogbajie:

you couldn't have said it better. It's about a failed system as you rightly said.

People underestimate the power of systems. We define systems, consciously or not. But systems dictate human behavior, methods of production or creation of wealth, education level, culture, and ultimately, the success or failure of the group.

Travel / Re: Bribe Collection At Murtala Muhammed International Airport by Exciton(m): 3:19pm On Aug 19, 2017
majekdom2:
exactly, I was forced to think poverty is the reason but truly it is not. There are poor people with integrity. I don't know how this mindset started seriously. We have a serious social problem.

It isn't about poverty. It's about human behavior dominated by greed in the absence of laws [or its enforcement] necessary to keep a group of people civil. People are naturally greedy. It's a hardwired evolutionary trait, among many others, we all have for survival. But when it comes to groups, such traits harm cooperation. It's why societies need laws and systems in place to minimize such for a more coherent group and to increase the group's chance of survival.

People in developed countries aren't better than us, it's not intrinsic. It's the same thing you see in post-apocalyptic movies -- with crumbled civilization or societies with no/failed governments. High crime rates, poverty, inequality, injustice etc... exactly like us! It's just a failure of the government.

All that you see at MMA are symptoms of a failed system that we run in Nigeria.

17 Likes 2 Shares

Foreign Affairs / Re: Police Put “Red Alert” On S.African Borders To Ensure Grace Mugabe Doesn't Flee by Exciton(m): 4:45pm On Aug 18, 2017
tdayof:
That woman has diplomatic immunity. Unless you want a diplomatic issue.

Lol. What power and influence does poor Zimbabwe possess? Nothing would happen if she were jailed. But of course that won't happen, most likely gonna end with out of court settlement.

Events / Re: Onoriode Samuel, Nigerian Man Marries Older Oyinbo Woman (Photos, Video) by Exciton(m): 1:12pm On Aug 17, 2017
DJInfluence:
Guy, you know every. Even if you want arrange marriage, who dash you 15K? No be garri na.

The funny thing be say, those wey dey run mouth here, if dem give dem grandma with one leg and no eyes, them go rush am. Who want stay Naija? you finish school no work, or you see work, pay no regular, or you see pay, your boss qualification no reach your own, or you are unlucky say all this happen to you at the same time grin grin. Make all man stay their lane and let the guy enjoy him chick.

Hahahahaha grin grin grin
Politics / Re: Public Officials Took N400bn Bribe In 1 Year – NBS by Exciton(m): 12:27pm On Aug 17, 2017
I went straight to the methodology wondering how they could miraculously get data on bribery and corruption because if it's calculable, then it's traceable and people should go to jail. However, it was entirely based on interviews.

Surely, people would tell the truth only for low level bribes. So, this is a very rough minimum value estimate at best. They should have included some form of indices for veracity of interview reports based on matching information from interviews in the same field.

NYSC / Re: Enugu Corpers Die On Their Way From Camp To Place Of Primary Assignment (Graphic by Exciton(m): 4:59am On Aug 17, 2017
Someone had his skull crushed and 70% of the comments have "Lord have mercy" in it.

Abeg what exactly is the mercy for? To reconstruct the skull and bring him back to life or to mercifully prevent such events in future? Surely not the latter cos people say this phrase every goddamn day on nairaland, yet pics of crushed skulls grace nairaland front-page every 2 to 3 days on average.

A really fvcking stupid and unnecessary statement. An empty platitude. If any of these people were my family member and someone told me this, there's a very good chance I'll shoot him!

Crime / Re: Lady Stripped And Beaten By Nigerian Soldier For Wearing Camouflage (Video) by Exciton(m): 2:50am On Aug 17, 2017
jakD:
There are several designed clothes in the market, why then would you choose to buy what willbring
you embarrassment!
Well, that was too much from the military. But why are the civilians remaining adamant from stopping to wear the camouflage? Even if the officers will be punished for the stupid act, the disgrace given to such civilian cannot be washed or erased.

51 likes and 4 shares... It's clear that a substantial chunk of the population has no fvcking idea what a civilized society ought to look like.

Politics / Re: Iron Ore Discovered In Cross River (Photos) by Exciton(m): 4:04pm On Aug 16, 2017
erico2k2:

we lack the technical know how,the FG in a sane environment would train people abroad to return home to practice, but NO they care about themselves only, but be rest assure all 9ja experts will return home and earn a living, we already seen that in the Music industry and this is fact.

Correct! A nation being ruled by people whose skulls aren't completely fvcking empty would decide that they want to be world/regional leader in some field be it some sector of manufacturing, extracting/processing minerals, IT, education... whatever. Then, they'd send the smartest people on training AND, most importantly, ask them/industry specialists to compile the list of needed equipment to set up their indigenous lab/companyor whatever + source for funding from national/international investors.

Within a few years or a generation, such goals could be achieved. But NO, we are being ruled by illiterates!
Politics / Re: Iron Ore Discovered In Cross River (Photos) by Exciton(m): 3:55pm On Aug 16, 2017
ITbomb:
Good development But my question is always, why waiting for outsiders to come and discover stuff in our backyard when we have research centres with PhDs and Profs.

Imagine our children reading in history books that China discovered iron ore in Cross River Nigeria as if we be mumu

Hehe! Which rubbish research centers do we have? Is it the ones with no/dead equipment? Also, it's really easy to know how poor our Profs are: just check their publication list, impact factor, and check the journals they publish their "work" in. Profs and PhDs who never publish in a high ranked journal, only shitty open access journals and other lowly ranked journals.
Politics / Re: Joe Igbokwe Speaks On 'buhari's Medical Leave & The Protests' On Channels -VIDEO by Exciton(m): 3:39pm On Aug 16, 2017
5DMindset:
This is why people need more education.

Human conviction is limited to their level of knowledge. Who ever thinks Igbokwe is right has very low mental fuel. A cerebral human will know that Igbokwe is emotionally handicapped and cerebrally deficient.

A character like Joe Igbokwe is supposed to be my houseboy, so I can teach him how to reason.

My exact line of reasoning. It's a wonder how people of low intelligence and moral standing get into such high positions. In a sane country, the fvcker ought to be doing some routine menial job.

He shamelessly meandered his way past the questions in a very dishonest manner by repeating the same drivel (interspersed with ad hominems) unconnected with the questions, and tried bullying the moderators and his opponent with his age. Very shameless old man.

I once read an article linking poor education/enlightenment in an area with low emotional intelligence and overall moral standards. Those guys might be saying the truth!

Family / Re: Man Sent To Prison For Failing To Marry A Lady He Got Pregnant In Lagos by Exciton(m): 9:19am On Aug 16, 2017
linearity:

The police have 48hrs to charge someone to court or they must release the person, unless they have a valid court order to hold that individual beyond 48hrs.

The instant case is different, the police has already charge this guy to court, however the mere fact that one has been charged to court means little in terms of guilt as the police/IPO have to prove their case beyond any reasonable doubt.

But, before the time for the IPO to prove their case, the court have to take care of some procedural items like bail for the accused. During bail hearing, the IPO cannot present their case or their evidence...all the judge know about the case at this time is that...Mr abc is charged with xyz. The judge does not know the true facts of the case or the actual actions the accused took for which he/she was brought to court...the IPO has to present all these when the trial begins...but if the accuse have a lawyer or if he/she is learned and want to represent him/herself pro-se, he/she can move a motion at the pre-trial hearing for the case to be dismissed...if the Judge agrees to hear the motion, this forces the IPO to present the facts of their case i.e. why is impregnating someone means negligence? It is at this point that the Judge can throw away the case and set the accused free.

However, if the accused does not have a lawyer and he/she is not learned enough to file a pro-de motion. The Judge will proceed with the bail hearing and will then set a bail...if the accuse meets the bail conditions he/she will go home that same day, otherwise they will be sent to jail until they can perfect their bail.

Once they are out on bail, it is now up to the IPO to move ahead and present the case or if an out of court settlement is reached, the IPO can withdraw the case.

I think in this case, the guy cannot be convicted as what he did, did not amount to negligence...it appear the girl or someone close to her have some type of advantage or favoritism at the Police, hence this charge was brought in the first place...even at that, a Judge cannot dismiss the case until the facts of the case are presented either through a pre trial motion the accused or during trials by the IPO.

Thanks for taking your time to explain these things. Now I have a better idea of the right procedure. I was just being paranoid with the oppression thing I guess.

One final question:

But upon hearing very flimsy reason that the unmarried man was arrested, shouldn't the judge dismiss bail hearing and call for an immediate pre-trial hearing? It seems the right thing to do IMO.
Family / Re: Man Sent To Prison For Failing To Marry A Lady He Got Pregnant In Lagos by Exciton(m): 5:50am On Aug 16, 2017
linearity:

The case has not been presented to the Judge for adjudication, they are just taking care of miscellaneous pre-trial items e.g. bail, etc.

Your outrage should be directed at the police especially the IPO.

The truth is, a bad belle IPO can charge you to court for anything and make you sleep in jail for a few nights unjustly and the Judge can't do anything until the case is presented to him/her either via the prosecution proceeding to trial or you hiring a competent lawyer to bring a pre trial motion on your behalf to throw the case off.

So, let's say an IPO wants to completely fvck someone up and doesn't present the case to the court for like a year or 10 years, is this acceptable? In essence, what's the max number of days (or centuries grin ) that police can lawfully hold a person without charges?

It seems Nigerian laws are solely designed to maintain the power and tyranny of a few over the rest.

Religion / Re: This Is How A Christian Should View Homosexuality by Exciton(m): 5:15pm On Aug 15, 2017
701ecilana:

Did you read what you typed? Read it again. You just buttressed my stance.

Yes, the government turned a blind eye at the time, but it's still that same government which abolished it. Some whitemen fought and died to deliberate the blacks in that same government.

Here sir, lets talk. In every society, we have different people with different ideologies and motives coming into power with their own private agendas, hoping to have people see things their way. Hoping to have people work for and with him to establish his policies. That was the case in time.

The people in government at that time knew exactly what was in the American constitution about human rights and Liberty for all men, but turn a blind eye and let evil prevail, that didn't mean the principles weren't there to check the menace.

As God has men who come into power and work to implement God's agenda on earth, so also satan has his. Anyone who stands for evil is of the devil. You don't have to believe it.

This thread is about the stance the Christians should take as regards the issue of Homosexuality. You are gay, that's you. I can't hate you, but i mustn't cease from letting you know the dangers that that posts to you both here and hereafter. I don't hate you, i can't hate you, but i hate the act you engage in, because its inhuman.

Even animals have never been caught having sex with the same sex. Maybe in America, but i grew up in a village were we see them doing their thing, and i have never seen it.

Now, that sister came up talking about the backwardness of Africans or Nigerians in particular who takes a stand against homosexuality, i went on to let her know that the USA ... was built on the Christian Principles. Those principles have been over the centuries inculcated into the mindsets of its citizens to the point that, without being watched an American can do the right thing.

She said, America was built on the backs and sweats of slaves, and i said no, that's not correct, because American government never at anytime sponsor slavers into the African continent to take slaves. If she had said, the government of the day turned a blind eye, this would ve been a different argument altogether.

The Communist system of Government can readily do that because everyone works for the government, no one has the power to go into personal ventures. But not a Capitalist America. Yes, the slavers built America with the proceeds from the slave Sweats, but it won't be right to put it on the government.

When godly people, who looking at the principles of Liberty and laws for every human being to live free, came into power, slavery was fought to a stand still.

Bros, the same people who fought against human rights to keep slaves bound, are they same who are still fighting today to destroy the society with LGBT.

The same people who wants to see the right thing taken away and the wrong thing established are the people behind the evil LGBT.

It's wrong to take another man as slave, but they stood for it tenaciously. It is wrong for a man to have sex with a fellow man, they stand for it and holds it down with rigor.

Satan hasn't changed.

As regards me strengthening your point with my last post, I knew that'll be your reply. But, the last paragraph was to make a mockery of your claim of the spotless civilized "Christian" West.

The rest of your post... well, to put it in the nicest possible way, it's mix of lies, fantasy, bigotry and utter fvcking paranoid BS.

I'm sorry but I have got neither the patience nor the calm temperament for all this. To make things simple, you should google part of the highlighted claims and read arguments from both sides in your free time. And please, for your sake, read some real arguments on the homosexuality issue. There's loads of really good ones online. The rest of the highlighted is just really funny stuff.

Your denial of the West's growth as a result of slave trade at the time is deeply insulting to say the least. Just as bad as your claim that freedom, liberty (and if we extend your line of reasoning, the universal declaration of human rights) are based on Christian principles.

Finally, I like how you side stepped my direct attack on your morals and then went on to repeat the same thing.
Religion / Re: This Is How A Christian Should View Homosexuality by Exciton(m): 12:23pm On Aug 15, 2017
701ecilana:

Low people attack personalities rather than issues.
Answer my question or shut the hell up.

Did the American Government at the time send slavers to the continent of Africa?

The Sugar Cane Plantations where these slaves laboured, were they owned the American government?

Instead of answering that you used the phone you stole and the data you stole money to buy to call me names.
Disease ridden homosexual.

I merely called you out on your dishonesty as inferred from your statements.

Yes, 19th Century US economical approach was almost entirely capitalist; however, YOU KNOW (since you seem to know some history of this period), just like everyone else, that their government has legal political power to ban slave trade. A perfect example of government's incursion on free enterprise is the Prohibition.

You only pretend to be ignorant of the government's powers because it suits your narrative -- separating the acts of slave traders from the "Christian" government. This is proof that you're dishonest.

In fact, the US Fed. Govt. criminalized slave import in 1808 but didn't pass any law against domestic trade simply because it was economically profitable in states with cotton plantation + they knew these states would threaten secession if such a law were passed at the time. Even Britain abolished slave trade mainly on economical grounds: transitioning into the industrial age, ships were needed for cotton import (more profitable than slave trade) and they needed a robust workforce back in Oil Palm producing areas (and not out of it) to ensure high Palm oil for lubricants. Otherwise, the earlier 1776 motion moved in the House of Commons to ban slavery on the basis of it being "contrary to the rights of man and the laws of God" wouldn't have failed.

I won't even bother to respond to the name calling part. It's a waste of my time.

Religion / Re: This Is How A Christian Should View Homosexuality by Exciton(m): 1:33am On Aug 15, 2017
701ecilana:

You want us to do a lesson on Capitalist and Communist systems of Government?
Are you saying the American Government sent slavers to the African continent to take slaves for the purpose of labour to built the society or individuals did that?

Stop acting stupid. If those in government at the time were of better moral standing, they would have outlawed slavery and criminalised such acts. Such laws, at the time, would seriously affect the economy of these countries involved.

I hate intellectually dishonest people. Stop lying through your fvcking teeth!!

The purpose of an argument is not to win, it's to see reason and become a better person.

Religion / Re: This Is How A Christian Should View Homosexuality by Exciton(m): 1:26am On Aug 15, 2017
LightandDarkness:

Sigh. Not everyone is capable of a logical debate.

smiley

Hehehe. I don't know why you guys are wasting your time. I honestly find it hard to accept that a human being that can read and write can't see logic. In other aspects of decision making, they make perfectly logical decisions. Like I said earlier, these people you argue with are either very ignorant or extremely dishonest.

Although I saw a book by some moral philosopher talking about how the use of logical arguments isn't very useful against fanatics and people with strong cognitive bias. Maybe the techniques there will be useful to change such people's views.

Religion / Re: This Is How A Christian Should View Homosexuality by Exciton(m): 4:06am On Aug 14, 2017
Reading this thread, one can't help but conclude that the average Nigerian Christian/Muslim -- the kind that strongly professes belief in the existence of flying horses, demons, sodom and Gomorrah, rapture, eternity of pain and suffering, gays ending humanity etc -- necessarily falls into either of two groups: completely fvcking ignorant or extremely dishonest.

The scary part is the realization that they form the majority in our country. Probably more than 100 million!! No wonder our nation is sh!t.
Religion / Re: This Is How A Christian Should View Homosexuality by Exciton(m): 1:18pm On Aug 13, 2017
Fvcking disgusting christians and their hateful messages. Not very different from your Islamic brothers eh. One claims religion of peace, the other of love. Both do the exact opposite and ultimately seek total control over everyone's life.

If only Nigerians would spend more time on real books containing real knowledge than wasting their time on stupid fantasies, our society would be far better than it is.

8 Likes 4 Shares

Politics / Re: Why Army Has Not Staged Coup Again In Nigeria — Obasanjo by Exciton(m): 3:54pm On Aug 12, 2017
On assuming office as President, I decided to put an end to these incessant coups. I asked the military to submit the list of all officers who had either participated in coups in the past or benefited in the dividends of coups by being appointed to political office as governors or ministers.

“Not knowing what the list was meant for, the military faithfully compiled it and submitted to me as the Commander-in-Chief and chairman of the council of each of the arms of service.

Hehehe. What else could they think the list was for? Awards? Even an slowpoke would see through this move not to speak of military top guns.

If what he said is true, then, at best, it was nothing more than a ploy between him and those who compiled the list to get rid of those he saw as a threat or those that have slighted him.

Politics / Re: N17m SUV For House Of Representative Members By December by Exciton(m): 3:56pm On Aug 07, 2017
The problem with this country are not the ordinary citizens. It's the educated, the intellectuals or lack thereof that's the problem.

The people are too poorly informed and weak to organize themselves to avoid direct control or manipulation by the elite. It's why we can only lament online. At best, a violent revolution by the idiot masses, take over by people with zero plan (E.g. the guys who want Biafra, led by a demagogue with no fücking idea what to do after Biafra gets realized), and a failed state with constant power grabs and no stability.

I don't see why those who understand how societies and government work, those who know how to build modern cities with a focus on people, can't get together to educate all of us for awareness and to garner support, to form meeting groups where they meet to discuss political ideologies and all the stuff necessary to take over and get things right. Instead, those with the knowledge are either collecting fat salaries or living in another country.

There's a huge intellectual void left after the generation of Soyinka and Achebe... or they're hiding.

Politics / Re: We Must Stop Producing More Babies And Create More Jobs says Senator Ben Bruce by Exciton(m): 3:56pm On Aug 06, 2017
abiodunalasa:

God bless you Bros...

Back in the University, we took an awareness tour to Oil damaged Ogoni in Bayelsa.
We met many of the impoverished community people. We met one man who is a fisher man. You can tell from the look on his face that he is poor beyond poverty. But then he has 11 children and a pregnant wife. I almost collapsed when I find out this. As if not enough, one of his daughter about age of 16/17 is already a parent too. She was put into family way by a neighbor who later ran away. They were all living in one rickety wooden house. I shed tears.

At that moment I knew that no matter how well planned our economic policies are, no matter how fast the pedal upon which our economy is riding... With these kind of careless and mindless child bearing, poverty and hunger will continue to be our permanent companion.

We wrote a proposition on this matter to the then House of Rep Member Hon. Ali Ahmad. But the proposition was dismissed upon religious ground and archaic tradions.
The proposition was seeking to lobby for a law on ONE CHILD POLICY las did in China, though its a modify policy one which to suit Nigerian clime. Our proposition was rejected because they fear it will not be popular among our illiterate people the vast majority of whom voted for them.

Till now, I believe this is the right thing to do. It is #TheRightSense .
Come 2019 the Right sense will prevail

IMO, like Macron said, it's a "civilitazional" problem. We are yet to form a coherent group with systems in place that compel the leaders to make long-term plans/decisions for the common good. It seems that the people who rule over us are a little better than stark illiterates. People say they don't care, I think they're unenlightened. Else, it will take a huge level of psychopathy and stupidity to ignore problems that endanger the future of one's kids.

It's why they only care for immediate personal gain like power and money to buy property in Dubai. They don't care to form a civic society with strong legal systems, jurisprudence, social justice, good education etc because they don't have a good understanding of these ideas to start with! Most of these idiots have never read a book on civilization, on how societies rise and fall etc. I think it's also why our laws and constitution are rife with ambiguity and contradictions.

Until the right people get into government and we restructure our government system, no one at the top will be inclined to give a toss about such concerns. Their primary concern is the enrichment of their pockets.

3 Likes 3 Shares

Religion / Re: Tithe, Vow, And Seed Sowing. Which Is Most Effective In Drawing God's Blessings? by Exciton(m): 9:58am On Aug 06, 2017
folakemigeh:
Tithing has been a miracle for me ever since i began tithing.

Well. I made a vow to continue to pay my tithe if God should give me a job in that particular year..

Just exactly one month after i prayed and made the vow, i was called by the HR of one reputable company.

The rest is history

Hehehe. One pastor somewhere is assured of monthly stipends thanks to your kind! grin grin

Celebrities / Re: Bizzyaski Bisola Ojikutu Explains Why Having Tattoos Is Not A Sin by Exciton(m): 4:04pm On Aug 02, 2017
xtervaganza:
Y'all Christian cvnts said tattoos are a sin referencing a Bible passage but y'all b1tches have sex like rabbits

Guess what your bible said about non virgins who get married?

This is what your bible said “she shall be brought to the door of her father's house and there the men of her town shall stone her to death. She has done an outrageous thing in Israel by being promiscuous while still in her father's house. You must purge the evil from among you.”

So let's start stoning all nairaland girls to death. Including your mothers and sisters too who got married being a non virgin.

Now you're angry? You see how stopped your bible sound now?

Now get on with it and get a life. Tattoos don't define you

Hehe. You should add that all those with tribal marks are gonna rot in hell... along with all the other crap in the OT that they never follow.

Their intellectual dishonesty and constant cherry picking is simply disgusting.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 13 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 128