Stats: 3,327,283 members, 8,430,181 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 June 2026 at 02:54 AM

Sterope's Posts

Nairaland ForumSterope's ProfileSterope's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 (of 222 pages)

PoliticsRe: Saying I Am "Quiet But Deadly" Is Wicked, Makinde Replies Fayose by Sterope(f): 12:04pm On Apr 16, 2021
The truth can be wicked at times, it is still the truth cheesy
BusinessRe: Ganduje, Others Reconcile Dangote, BUA Over Sugar Plant by Sterope(f): 6:19am On Apr 16, 2021
Nigerians are supposed to pick where Dangote ended. BUA must be refused another license.
EducationRe: UNICAL VC, Florence Obi Asks Final Year Students To Return To 200 Level by Sterope(f): 9:27am On Apr 14, 2021
Our security agencies will not arrest the former VC. He would continue to amass more wealth with his ill gotten wealth. No consequence whatsoever for ruining lives. The one after him will do the same and the next and the next and the next!
PoliticsRe: Private Refineries Licensed By DPR (full List) by Sterope(f): 7:56pm On Apr 13, 2021
Probably because demand still outweighs supply. It is up to government to give and enforce condition. Hold your government responsible.
cornelin:
Why are refineries that are meant to refine crude oil be given licence to import refined oil... What's the sense?
Later now, we will be hearing Dangote did not finish building his refinery but chose to be importing refined oil
FoodRe: The First Soup You Ever Made unsupervised; Share Your Experience. by Sterope(f): 6:58pm On Apr 13, 2021
It was Okro soup. I was about 7 years going on 8. My mum was away in the hospital. She just had a baby, my dad was always away at work.

The first and the second time I made it was under instructions from the our neighbor. She supervised the first two ones. The third time, I made it myself. She did not even ask me. I don't think she was at home sef.
FashionRe: Mass Production of Skimpy Clothes: Sisters How Have You Been Coping? by Sterope(f): 9:02pm On Apr 12, 2021
Yeah, I loved what I saw on Boohoo today kiss. I will definitely be buying from them henceforth.

I like sewing but it can be expensive and the finished product most times won't be worth the effort and the cost. I found the perfect fabric guy in Yaba when I was in Lagos.

PrimadonnaO:
I've not embraced sewing clothes.

My knowledge of fabrics is at best basic... I only know wool, cotton, silk, polyester. cheesy But in the Nigerian fabric world, there's organza, sequin, various grades of ankara, various types of lace, senator, etc. Headache o.

And then my few experiences with tailors. cry

And the stress of choosing styles, fitting and all what not. cry

Cost! To buy a fabric and sew a complete nice dress may end up costing you 15-18k and you may not like it.
Whereas I can use 8500 to 12k to get a really pleasing gown.
FashionRe: Mass Production of Skimpy Clothes: Sisters How Have You Been Coping? by Sterope(f): 8:05pm On Apr 12, 2021
Primark does shocked

My favourite store was Debenhams. Boohoo has taken over now cry. I was lost when I heard the news and I am still lost.

When I was in Nigeria, I bought materials and sew but it also brings another set of headache.

PrimadonnaO:
Primark, too.

That's why I like to personally stick with brands I know, and I'm comfortable with.

Once I find a shop that stocks my kind of clothes (H&M, River Island, Atmosphere, Zara, M&S, etc), I leave my umbilical cord with them.

The first time I moved to Lagos, I was frustrated. I used to think Lagos was the hub where I could get affordable quality clothes EASILY!

But the reality wasn't funny. You'll walk into boutiques and most of what you find are China or even market-sewn mass produced clothes.

They look flashy and nice... but the quality is nothing to write home about.

Sometimes I'll buy out of desperation, maybe because I really need it, but one wear and I already hate it. I end up giving them out.
FashionRe: Mass Production of Skimpy Clothes: Sisters How Have You Been Coping? by Sterope(f): 8:02pm On Apr 12, 2021
Primark does shocked

My favourite store was Debenhams. Boohoo has taken over now cry. I was lost when I heard the news and I am still lost.

PrimadonnaO:
Primark, too.

That's why I like to personally stick with brands I know, and I'm comfortable with.

Once I find a shop that stocks my kind of clothes (H&M, River Island, Atmosphere, Zara, M&S, etc), I leave my umbilical cord with them.
Foreign AffairsRe: Duke Of Edinburgh, Prince Philip Dies At 99 by Sterope(f): 7:56pm On Apr 12, 2021
They are primitive when you compare them us smiley. They lived their lives through trial and error They worked with what they had and but it was hard to plus there is no evidence that they lived longer than we do so it isn't a matter of fact.

FrLukas:
As a matter of fact, they did.

History has always portrayed the ancients as primitive cave dwellers.

Nothing could be farther from the truth.

The ancients were more advanced than we currently are and they knew how to prolong their lives over many centuries.

An art form completely lost to most of mankind.
FashionRe: Mass Production of Skimpy Clothes: Sisters How Have You Been Coping? by Sterope(f): 6:49pm On Apr 12, 2021
I know ASOS delivers to Nigeria. I will ask around for others.
pocohantas:
Any particular store you can refer a sister to?
FashionRe: Mass Production of Skimpy Clothes: Sisters How Have You Been Coping? by Sterope(f): 5:29pm On Apr 12, 2021
You could consider shopping outside the country during sales. Some may offer free delivery to Nigeria web you spend a minimum.
pocohantas:
Like, same useless clothes in different colours. Omo, I done tire o.

Sometimes I go to shop and they hand me these clothes, e dey be like make I beat person. I asked one how I will wear such at my age and level, I resemble 100l girl? angry angry
CrimeRe: Nero: 80% Of Nigerian Yahoo Big Boys Will Fall Back To The Street In 5Years Time by Sterope(f): 4:46pm On Apr 12, 2021
True and you are also missing one crucial fact. How many of them are rotting away in jail?

jaxxy:
Ure missin out many factors. It just takes one person in the links making a stupid mistake or being stupid and everybody comes crashing down. They hardly work alone.
BusinessRe: Sugar: Dangote Can Do More, BUA Has Not Done Enough - Chika Mbonu by Sterope(f): 4:38pm On Apr 12, 2021
Do you understand yourself?
winterfell007:
I don't give a Bleep if Dangote has done more backward integration programme (BIP) than BUA. All i know is that whenever that monopolist is involved in any industry, it's difficult to tell if it will be affordable for the common man, judging from the way he hiked the prices of cement, sugar and salts despite the fact that these items are produced locally and should be cheaper than imported ones, but it's not. Hence my support for BUA.
Dangote needs to be challenged and brought down at all cost. he only serves his selfish interest and the annoying part of it all is that he wants the market all for himself.
Please open our ports, let's import these commodities, it's obvious imports are a whole lot cheaper than the locally manufactured ones. Thumps up BUA for giving Dangote a good challenge. he can't have it all for himself. He can't!!!
CrimeRe: Nero: 80% Of Nigerian Yahoo Big Boys Will Fall Back To The Street In 5Years Time by Sterope(f): 3:54pm On Apr 12, 2021
It depends on the cash out and their spending habits as well.
jaxxy:
If they stop and invest they may get away with it but if they continue no matter the investment it will sink. Learn from invictusObi and hushpuppi
CrimeRe: Nero: 80% Of Nigerian Yahoo Big Boys Will Fall Back To The Street In 5Years Time by Sterope(f): 1:15pm On Apr 12, 2021
You know that is not true grin
PissfulProtester:
If you like, invest your ill gotten money in anything you want, you will still end up on the street. There is no way money gotten through cheating will take you anywhere
CrimeRe: Suspect Excretes 113 Wraps Of Cocaine Worth ₦423 Million At Lagos Airport by Sterope(f): 12:22pm On Apr 12, 2021
He is dead either way. Cocaine must be very light for a 1.750kg to be worth 423 million naira.
Christianity EtcRe: Pls Help! A Church Is About To Render My Brother Useless by Sterope(f): 11:30am On Apr 12, 2021
Actually no, his brother is not in the right frame of mind. There are people who are not pastors but that are also good at manipulating those who are simple-minded. It is our job to protect them from them.

quote author=Slimslimqq post=100715761]The problem here is not the church but ur brother.

he isn't a kid any longer, so he can make decisions by himself either good or bad hence his submission to the church.

But something I don't understand about some churches again is why are they looting the masses?

Are they not supposing to be enriching people?

Me Shar I trust myself, no matter what u tell me or I see, I can't be brainwashed by those fake men of God.

My father is a pastor also, and instead of collecting from people, instead he gives out.[/quote]
Foreign AffairsRe: Photos Of Nelson Mandela's Lookalike Go Viral by Sterope(f): 10:33am On Apr 12, 2021
I would hate to resemble a popular person.
SportsRe: Roy McDonough: UK's 'Dirtiest' Footballer Slept With Over 400 Women by Sterope(f): 7:00pm On Apr 11, 2021
Nothing impressive about this undecided
CultureRe: Alaafin Of Oyo Gifts Wife, Omowumi A New House - Pictures by Sterope(f): 8:37am On Apr 11, 2021
You want to be a bigot so much that you even lied. undecided
eminikansoso:
In this part of the country, we do not grab what does not belong us. Go East
BusinessRe: Share Your Experience Collecting Your Money Back From Your Debtors by Sterope(f):
The lesson is I won't be borrowing anyone that isn't my siblings a single penny again.
CultureRe: Alaafin Of Oyo Gifts Wife, Omowumi A New House - Pictures by Sterope(f): 5:40am On Apr 11, 2021
Stick to what you know, Olodo!
witworth:
like say he no fit get enough land even as from a royal family. You just talk without sense
CultureRe: Alaafin Of Oyo Gifts Wife, Omowumi A New House - Pictures by Sterope(f): 10:31pm On Apr 10, 2021
Let's ask Oyo people grin
franchasng:
is your land abi your father's land missing cheesy grin
CultureRe: Alaafin Of Oyo Gifts Wife, Omowumi A New House - Pictures by Sterope(f): 9:40pm On Apr 10, 2021
Whose land did he grab to build this house? undecided
CelebritiesRe: UN Rescue Service Affirms Legitimacy Of Ambassadorial Recognition On Tonto Dikeh by Sterope(f): 9:38pm On Apr 10, 2021
Someone needs to petition UN. What is this nonsense?

He however stated emphatically that the United Nations Noble Ambassador Awards is well recognised by United Nations, stressing that as one of the Executive Directors, he has the Mandate of UN to honour or recognise any institution or individual who merits such awards.
Christianity EtcRe: Should A Girl Bear Her Father A Male Child? by Sterope(f): 8:30pm On Apr 10, 2021
21ST CENTURY BIKO
LiteratureRe: Chimamanda Adichie: Don't Use Feminism To Justify Your Wickedness by Sterope(f): 5:01pm On Apr 10, 2021
I love the way everyone is convulsing. She was the same person that said this years ago:

Women are human, and I think that there are women who are good and kind, and there are women who are not, and that’s the whole point of being human. But there’s a discourse that says, “Oh, if women ruled the world, we wouldn’t go to war.” I don’t think that’s true. I have been to girls’ boarding schools. It’s not true!
I don't agree with everything she says but you have to look further for your villian or feminazi. smiley
PoliticsRe: Police, LASTMA, Agberos Threatening Our Livelihood, Tricycle Operators Lament by Sterope(f): 10:16am On Apr 10, 2021
Plus they pass the cost to passengers as well.

Collective effort is the only feasible solution.

Teespice:
As someone who uses public transport on a daily basis, the tales of woe from these drivers is very true. I feel sad each time these touts extort money from the drivers. at every bus stop, you see these dirty, scruffy looking guys with gruff voices screaming owo daa and other obscenities. God save the driver and he refuses to pay, its either they remove the door of the bus or the cover of the fuel tank, even wipers.

As at 10 pm at Jakande gate yesterday, these fools were still extorting money from drivers. my own is, where does this money go? or is it Mc Oluomo that is benefitting immensely from this extortion. No wonder the attempt to scrap them off the roads was vehemently kicked against.

it is well. this is a conversation that relevant stakeholders need to have in Lagos. it is becoming a case of monkey work, baboon chop. imagine making 7k everyday, by the time one buys fuel, eat and settle these guys. let us not talk of the emergencies that might occur on the road, what would be left for the drivers at the end of the day.

it is well.
CareerRe: Our Boss Asked Us To Resign Because We Refused To Take The COVID-19 Vaccine by Sterope(f): 8:15pm On Apr 09, 2021
How come your eyes hasn't led you to greater things like inventing something life-saving since you have eyes others don't have? undecided

planetx:
Covid just means Certificate of vaccination Identification and the 19 stands for AI (Artificial intelligence) If you think this vaccine is to protect you from a virus, I don't even know what to tell you and you are like the vast majority of people living in this world have eyes but cannot see. But very soon you will know what the real agenda is all about.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 (of 222 pages)