Stats: 3,325,153 members, 8,420,577 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 03:37 AM

Omanzo02's Posts

Nairaland ForumOmanzo02's ProfileOmanzo02's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 (of 62 pages)

PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 9:26am On Dec 05, 2020
diordaves:
Australia is the world capital of bungalows. I mean fantastically designed bungalows. No where else in the world you can find superbly designed bungalows per square meter.

Give it to Down under when it comes to bungalows. I'm always blown away.

By God's grace, my retirement home will be a bungalow and I know where to go for the design.
Exactly, their bungalows are modest, not over exaggerated and don't need excessive space to site them, those on big lands are dawn with beautiful greens......my next builds will be bungalows.
That's where I took more interest in aluminium longspan.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 9:15am On Dec 05, 2020
diordaves:
We don't overbuild.

Down to the early 90s we built properly. Bang from the 2000s we underbuild now.

Low foundations

Foundations without german floor (DPC)

Iron and rubbish Asian doors everywhere

PVC ceilings (Dear Lord) everywhere

Inadequate columns and beams, some without lintel

Low mix ratio resulting in poor quality blocks everywhere.

Fake roofing sheets everywhere

You previously talked about your home gate with a certain requirement of ground beam. Is that overbuilding? Some said yes on this forum.

Do you more time? I can still go on and on if you do.

We don't overbuild. On the contrary, we underbuild for the most part, poor quality homes.
They are there for a reason!

PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 9:07am On Dec 05, 2020
diordaves:
Maybe Nigerians abroad. Majority of home base artisans and contractors are a different specie. Nothing wey you go tell me.
Anyone can cheat, doesn't really matter where he/she comes from,......what I hate about Nigerian artisans is trying to make argument that defies science and conventional procedures to convince you. Hence I prefer to speak with an architect or civil engineer.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 8:44am On Dec 05, 2020
n3xt:
I agree completely.

However, in one of my personal projects, I went for the lowest gauge in the market and till date there has not been any sign of visible defect or leakage.

I found out that the quality of job done by roof installers matters more than the quality of the sheets installed.
Lowest gauge or not as long the quanlity of production can withstand the test of time.
I once drove around in east of Sydney (most expensive neighbourhood of Australia) majority of the houses has aluminium longspan and they still look beautiful and classy, other part of the country likewise. Observation: not the qualities of materials used but how you used them, durability and quality can be found in all products in my opinion.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 11:38pm On Dec 04, 2020
davodyguy:
More than 60% of vehicles on Nigerian roads are used ('Tokunbo') Hence, not all will have user manual or service manual. Options for people like that is either:
1. Download the manual online
2. Rely on the 'expert' for such simple fix
3. Consult Youtube
Downloading users manual online is an option.
Like you said earlier simple fixes can be done this days by anyone, you don't need to be a pro or an expert to perform full diagnosis, all you need is just a Bluetooth enable smartphone and OBD2 scanner(onboard diagnosis) and you are good to go. You can diagnose, reset, activate and disable programme with it too.
Very relevant in the car/vehicle in case.

PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 10:48pm On Dec 04, 2020
davodyguy:
I like this your post.

I've been privileged to have traveled to at least one country in each of the 5 continents (based on 5 Olympic rings) and I can tell you that most people I've met are DIY.

December, 26 2019 I was in Paris (France) and the power in our apartment went out. I knew when other apartments around Vauban (Aulnay Sous Boi) had power, it would be a circuit breaker issue. In a foreign country, I opened the DB, saw the trip and turned the lights back on. That would have cost about €20.

3 days earlier, 23rd December, 2019 we were in Istanbul (Turkey). My wife slammed the door, without knowing the jam is unlocked. The hotel manager called a carpenter in Turkey, who opened the door and charged 80 Turkish Lira.

Sometimes, we should be able to do certain things.

At the Advent of OBD 11 vehicles in Nigeria, people get to scan their cars for ₦5,000 and if they had CEL on, they pay such for diagnosis.

Now many DIY car owners have scanners and do resolve simple fixes themselves.

Yes, you need professionals at some point (cause I'm a chartered Consultant myself), buy not in all cases.

I use an SUV that has Oil Life gauge.
Anytime I change by Oil, I need to reset the Oil Life. Imagine how much a 'rewire' or mechanic would charge novice to reset such.
With YouTube, you can learn few simple fixes
The procedure to reset service intervals can be found in the vehicles manual.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 10:28pm On Dec 04, 2020
n3xt:
We went on break for a reason not because of cement or materials shortage. We’re resuming fully next Monday.

Cement for the main project is handled directly by the Ministry - no intermediary. I’m only coordinating cement supplies for all other service providers (block/brick makers, concreters, pavers, tradespeople, local suppliers etc).
I don't know if Nigeria government payment procedure and duration have changed, I have always avoided looking for work/contract with them.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02:
n3xt:
Even FG project is on hold. grin

I was shocked when I saw what’s left inside our store yesterday.
What happened to FG executive order to get priority supplies? If you can get lorry load I bet this is your chance to hustle for them but getting paid will be a herculean task. Capital and profit will go into bribe for processing and signatures.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 9:40pm On Dec 04, 2020
n3xt:
We’ve not had cement from Ewekoro in weeks until today and the guys are still coming back tomorrow as we’re planning to kick off Phase 2 of our project next week.

That’s a good one if we are getting cement from Sagamu and Ewekoro plant.

All my guys got at least a truck load of cement between yesterday and this evening.

Lemme kuku say “Better Months Ahead grin
That's seem a safer clarification lol, my project has been on hold because of this damnn situation, I hope supply depot will be getting their supply too.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 9:30pm On Dec 04, 2020
Thenext:
This stealing of a thing is in a typical Nigerian man(the one close to us are artisans), everybody are looking for shortcut to live big.
That’s why I stick to my Engineer, his service charge and that of his work craft( Bricklayer, carpenter, iron bender etc) is higher than what I see on nairaland but belief me my engineer will drop your last kobo for you. He will use best practice to reduce cost. So I don’t experience all this stealing of a thing. I sleep well when am home and I concentrate on my job at office while job is ongoing at my site.
This is the second house my Engineer is building for me and his honest and trust is second to none.
That's the route I take, I get and negotiate all inclusive charges, he works with his carpenter, iron bender, bricklayers, helpers etc, when I question the amount he will give a detailed clarification and being a technical person myself I can relate and understand the situation, he working for me to earn and make profit, that's not a crime.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 9:05pm On Dec 04, 2020
n3xt:
In another news, we were able to get trucks of cement from Ewekoro today.

Better days ahead.
Do you mean better days, weeks or months ahead? Even my supplier is not sure what assurance to give, the drama is getting funny.
PropertiesRe: How Much Is One Bag Of Cement In Your Area? by omanzo02: 6:38am On Dec 04, 2020
₦4000, Delta State.
TravelRe: Abuja - City Of Peace And Beauty by omanzo02: 12:49pm On Dec 03, 2020
SmartPolician:
Stop comparing Abuja to Lagos.
The only thing that brings people to Lagos is opportunity.
Apart from that, no rational human being should be living in Lagos
Choked up, thugs, dirty, lawlessness, overcrowded, etc.
Exactly, the opportunities are due to economic monopoly of the port, if Port Harcourt and Warri get the same attention, river Niger and river Benue developed to accommodate internal port and maritime transport most businesses will relocate and the country will have even spread of opportunities. Creating opportunities and wealth are not rocket science.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 10:23am On Dec 02, 2020
Chekitaut:
Where do you use such item? Brabus
Decking slab, flooring slab, concrete roads etc.

PropertiesRe: The Making Of The "Contemporary 6 Bedroom Duplex " In Anambra by omanzo02: 7:45pm On Dec 01, 2020
spyder880:
We keep buying and offloading more building materials, including the new gold dust, cement grin
You still find cement to buy in this era of hoarding and price hikes? It seems quotations will only be valid for 2 days if this situation persist.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 12:46pm On Dec 01, 2020
n3xt:
If you need cement for your tiles work, please get in touch on how to get Supafix for your project.

It’s far cheaper and more reliable!

You can also request for demo.
In another news, don't forget to ask about what's happening to critical cement issues on behalf of nairaland and when to expect stability.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 6:43am On Dec 01, 2020
n3xt:
Lovely. Thanks for sharing
However wall mount won't be firm or work well with our hollow block since the hammer driven wall anchor bolt need full and firm grip to withstand the weights, but I think it will work with solid block if properly installed.

PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 9:22pm On Nov 30, 2020
n3xt:
Let’s digress

Here’s something I’m working on this coming weekend. “Think Different”

By the way it’s not a bibeli and neither is it for the majority.

I just feel like doing cosmetic repairs and upgrades in my compound.
This is a kobokobo diy project. Not for the big boys grin
They comes in varieties depending where u want to mount them, on the ground, walls(for small space or garden), suspended and collapsible etc. Very useful on a chill sit out day and hangout with pals

PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 10:22am On Nov 30, 2020
n3xt:

A lot of people who do not understand NextHome’s concept end up wasting time, materials and resource.

You’re only enriching the artisans in your project and getting little value in return.

I just completed casting of 6 slabs and this is all I spent on carpentary formwork rental and workmanship - 80k

I’m 100% sure your carpenter won’t use the quality of Formwork we use on our projects and won’t be as fast. Also the savings realized.

The amount going into that stage of work in your quote is too much. Worse still you’re getting little value in return.
I would have prefer hiring if such exist in my region, I have wasted a lot of useful money on woods, thereby contributing to deforestation.
Christianity EtcRe: Qualification For Heaven by omanzo02: 4:58pm On Nov 29, 2020
shadeyinka:
Let's assume heaven doesn't exist

1. What is good?
2. What is the gain of life on earth?
Good (good belief) is something that's proven to be real and true occurrence scientifically and historically, and not just a mere tell tales.

Gains of life on earth are fulfillment of plans and purpose to improve yourself socially, professionally, economically and adding values in development of your immediate environment.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 4:44pm On Nov 29, 2020
michlins:
the bolded knocked me out completely
The bolded was classic and thoughtful, I was crucified for admiring it. grin
Christianity EtcRe: Qualification For Heaven by omanzo02: 9:31am On Nov 29, 2020
Lexusgs430:
No qualification..... Simply because, it does not exist......
They are wasting their precious life in earth!
Christianity EtcRe: Qualification For Heaven by omanzo02: 9:30am On Nov 29, 2020
Keep deceiving yourselves, heaven doesn't exist, make a meaningful use of your life on earth. Is good to believe in something but hypocritically believing in unfounded belief is time wasting.
PropertiesRe: The Making Of The "Contemporary 6 Bedroom Duplex " In Anambra by omanzo02: 9:16pm On Nov 25, 2020
spyder880:
Cleared area as they continue with the grass.......
Another bush meat in the horizon?
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02:
timileyinoyela:
Hello Guys My name is OLADIMEJI,OLAYEMI JOEL. I deal with Gerrard,rain water collector and aluminium roof you can also call me Seun roof. You can contact me for your aluminium,Gerrard,rain water collector ROOF. I also act as a roof consultant,simply tell us your budget and we will advise you on the best roof that suit your budget,we can also give you a rough estimate for your roof before you get to the roofing stage. U might ask HOW? it's our job. u can also send ur roof plan to us for your roof quotation without getting to the site.
Even if u don't have a house or building yet,you can refer someone to us.

Motto:HONESTY AND TRANSPARENCY.

Contact me: OLADIMEJI OLAYEMI @SUIT 11 TRANS AMUSEMENT PARK BODIJA IBADAN. WE CAN WORK At any part of Nigeria.
Phone number:08068229185, WhatsApp line:07011079846
Oga, you need more than General Public Announcement to convince anyone here to patronise you. If you can open a personal thread to display your work and occasionally post some here, probably you could attract the curiousity of potential clients.

Just my 2 cent though.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 8:23pm On Nov 24, 2020
valencia2012:
Same folk who can get Canadian visa for anyone at a very cheap cost?
Oga i dey envy you.
Weldone. Only judge can God!
Only gullible people will fall for that trick, they thinks the embassy staff are fools or their fervent prayers will blindfold the visa officer.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 10:07pm On Nov 22, 2020
diordaves:
Apart from VI, Ikoyi, Central Lagos and maybe Lekki phase 1, can somebody educate me on the attraction of the island lands?

I'm thinking, why should I buy a swamp, wet land, or a mash for 5 million Naira and use another 12 million Naira to starbilize the land and build just the foundation?

I'm looking at photos being posted here of available lands in the island, to be honest, I'm not impressed not only with the quality of the land but also the quality of the area. I'm not even seeing the potential of any future quality well planned location.

Am I missing something? If you think I am, please educate. Or are there no more land in the mainland?
I have thought about that myself, I would rather look for something in mainland or in Ogun.
PropertiesRe: Current Prices Of Building Materials In Nigeria by omanzo02: 8:21pm On Nov 22, 2020
PropertyVendor:
No sir, We are based in Benin city, Edo State.
Do you guys deliver to Delta State?
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 7:43pm On Nov 21, 2020
rotecch77:
Really? builder posting as engr can be risk
Engineer with practical knowledge vs Builder with in-depth practical knowledge = Both can achieve outstanding results with a good experience on the job.
PropertiesRe: Enugu Hilltop 6 Flats Of 2 Bedroom Flats Construction by omanzo02: 4:56pm On Nov 21, 2020
spyder880:
Building is a frightening venture now, I bought a lot of materials for this house when it was cheap, but by the time we get to the decking level, the materials will be exhausted. I wonder what happens next.
Frightening is an understatement....the increase is not abating anytime soon and with the forcast Nigeria is now in recession.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 10:23pm On Nov 20, 2020
rotecch77:

You mean to say 50bags of 20kg to cover 100m2.

And yes bcs 1 bags of 20kg size will do 2msq plus waste.... minus and plus
I meant 50 bags lol.
PropertiesRe: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by omanzo02: 6:32pm On Nov 20, 2020
rotecch77:
Ok let’s use 100m2 of both wall and floor tiles as case study.

WALL TILING
Using of normal OPC cement for the job
Let’s assumed your wall is in a well level gauge.

No of cement(50kg) 20bag*3000=60,000
Plaster sand 2.5 tones —————-10,000
Total ——————N70,000.

FLOOR TILING
Assumed the floor is well balance
No of cement (50kg)40*3000=120,000
Sharp sand 20 tones ————-50,000
Total —————-N170,000

In summary
If it’s Wall tiling it will cost you some of N70,000( to cover 100m2 area.

If it’s floor tiling it floor tiling it will cost you some of N170,000 to cover 100m2 area.

Adhesive/ super fix
-No sand needed for the wall here.
-We are using good product of 2500 per 20kg here.
Calculation 100m2 area.
WALL
Nos of superfix(20kg)45bags*2500=112,500

FLOOR
Sand is needed here as leveling to desired height with normal OPC cement and this most be done earlier before using of this superfix.

Nos super-fix (20kg) 50bags*2500=125,000
Sand is need here

Sand 20 tones======N50,000
Cement 30bags*3000=N90,000
Total=N265,000

Summary of superfix-Wall. N112,500
Floor N265,000
Total N377,500
Do you really need up to 50kg for 100sqm? The application of adhesive I have see are not really much.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 (of 62 pages)